WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Lucas to Bring Back Dead Actors for New Movie

Posted: December 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George Lucas to Bring Back Dead Actors for New MovieSubmit Comment
The Daily Mail caught up with Mel Smith, the actor from "The Princess Bride" and director of "Bean," about lots of topics including his experience directing "Radioland Murders" for George Lucas.

"The film was a disaster," he said. "George doesn't understand comedy, so the movie flopped. At least it taught me how to use CGI. George is obsessed with it and used too much in the last two 'Star Wars' films which I thought were ghastly."

Smith added that Lucas has big plans for his next film. "He's been buying up the film rights to dead movie stars in the hope of using computer trickery to put them all together in a movie," he explained. "So you would have Orson Welles and Barbara Stanwyck appear alongside today's stars."

Source: The Daily Mail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:24:52 AM

Leave it George....just leave it
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:29:28 AM


This only makes sense, since Lucas wants to revive his dead connection to fans.

George doesn't understand comedy ? I beg to differ. Jar Jar Binks was the funniest, racist thing to come from the fat man in quite a while.

Smith added that Lucas has big plans for his next film. "He's been buying up the film rights to dead movie stars in the hope of using computer trickery to put them all together in a movie," he explained. "So you would have Orson Welles and Barbara Stanwyck appear alongside today's stars."

He's been talking to Ted Turner again. Bad, George, bad!
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:48:19 AM

George Lucas-

Please see Marilyn Monroe Archive for Porn
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:32:48 AM

Alias Smith & Lucas
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:35:08 AM

With this news i'm hoping for ....

Different Strokes: The family Reunion
DesignaCoda writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:55:40 AM

You have to admit it's an interesting concept, bringing actors back from the dead. Look at "young" Jeff Bridges in Tron 2.

On a related note: Every time I see pics of George Lucas it seems his gullet grows bigger and more jiggly.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:57:22 AM

Bring back Jesus!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:01:02 AM

And before you say anything YES jesus was an actor, he was impersonating the son of an imaginary man constructed to control society
pH0u57 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:16:37 AM

Ghey!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:24:02 AM

cinema-that's awesome lol
Ok George I wanna see John Wayne in The Expendables 2 then.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:44:50 AM

bad- cheers man, john wayne sounds like a good choice to he can fight jet li he'd love that lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:44:50 AM

Knowing George , He's thinking about bringing back Peter Cushing and Sir Alec Guinness, for some Star Wars New Hope Special Ed in 3D with bells on....
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:47:22 AM

John Wayne would be the Daddy of the Expendables for sure ....
nicholas56 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 10:07:06 AM

he just wants more money for a hack up movie he has in mindor to make another star wars moive give up lucas you have no new ideas for anymore good movies anymore
telur writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 10:58:08 AM

is he jews?
Salvador writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 11:14:23 AM

Of course George is obsessed with CGI! We knew that. It's all he cares, not cinema.

My god, WTF is Lucas thinking now?
bspence writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 11:48:08 AM

Bruce Lee. Expendables 2. Make it happen. Nuff said.
bspence writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 11:48:36 AM

Oh and Michael Jackson. Zombieland 2. Make that one happen as well.
bspence writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 11:53:37 AM

I do agree though that george just aint george anymore. Indiana Jones 4...Star Wars 2 and 3...
ill admit that i liked phantom menace, while there are SEVERAL things i didnt like about it it was still a pretty solid star wars film.

if any other star wars movie is made, then i want to see it directed by JJ Abrams and tell the story of any of the 3 sith wars or the mandalorian wars. Basically Knights of the Old Republic with some bounty hunters thrown into a sequel. lucas can produce and come up with the story, considering it already exists, the entire star wars universe does as far as all media goes, this one being games and books. but otherwise bring in someone who can actually write a script and let abrams direct. if he revived star trek the way he did then theres no reason he couldnt do the same here.
warlord writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:06:28 PM

hay cinemaisdead smile god love's you .....i think your a *sshole
bspence writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:08:22 PM

^
agreed.
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:29:37 PM

John Wayne in The Expendables?!

I' m ty p ng w ith my er ec tion ri gh t no w!! !
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:32:49 PM

Hey George.

How about bringing back your dead career first?

How about a movie about getting your neck trimmed of that extra 20lbs?! Call it:

'The Poseidon Hindenburg 1.800.f*ckin' Jenny!
FBO writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:57:38 PM

Michael Jackson in Zombieland 2, brilliant! It could be a cameo of him holding an aborted zombie baby from a catholic nun over the railing of his second story hotel room
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 1:13:17 PM

Wait!

Let me get this straight...

Mel Smith is blaming George for a movie he (Mel) directed?!

And goes further to say that George over-use of GC ruins movies yet...

Mel wants to make a movie using CG to bring back dead stars to the screen?

Did I get all that right?!

rabid writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 1:13:56 PM

I could see it working. Working with dead actors was one of the big incentives when CGI first came on the scene. Remember the Tales from the Crypt episode starring Humphrey Bogart?
Then Rich Little was going to play George Burns in another Oh God! movie, but his family sued to stop it from happening.

and yes, i was thinking the same thing.
Whacko Jacko in Zombieland chasing after little kid zombies.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 1:43:45 PM

Sweet. George Lucas isn't just satisfied by having these people already turning in their graves, he will make them stand up. Now that's determination people!
TeemSelami writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 2:02:33 PM

Lucas is the Architect
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 2:09:15 PM

It's a testament to how terrible and insane Lucas is that I don't doubt this at all. Someone stop him before we see an "updated" Star Wars: A New Hope with Humphrey Bogart and Claude Rains watching the Millennium Falcon fly off from Mos Eisley.
Kurskij writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 2:31:21 PM

George Lucas to Bring Back Dead Actors for New Movie

Normally I would be surprised to read something like that after a hangover.

But, hey, it's George Lucas!

"George Lucas f*cked a squirrel to death!" - yeah, yeah, what's for dinner?
Kenny writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 2:33:40 PM

Bringing back dead actors sounds trippy.
George could start with dead porn stars and then go from there. Dead porn stars, what a waste...
Here's a little tribute to the dead hookers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0q_VGacfNk

Dead bitches, man, what a waste...
Kurskij writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 2:40:06 PM

@tt

Knowing George , He's thinking about bringing back Peter Cushing and Sir Alec Guinness, for some Star Wars New Hope Special Ed in 3D with bells on....


Golden!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 3:15:24 PM

TT-lol would that be a xmas special too?
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 3:42:24 PM

bring back jaden smith!!!oh wait...wishful thinking...
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 4:07:26 PM

@Kenny - great link!
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 4:11:36 PM

"And before you say anything YES jesus was an actor, he was impersonating the son of an imaginary man constructed to control society"

I'd hope so, because they didn't have the concept of English Law that we all so much take for granted back then. Recall that without control, you get anarchy, and if you don't know, that's a bad thing, especially considering that people are naturally predisposed to acting on their darkest desires.

The concept of 'god' is a highly useful tool in societies without an involved sense of secular justice, and one could argue that it remains so even in the highly 'modern' world.

But to the very young, the thought someone would tell them not to do something because it's unwise or wrong, for whatever reason, is the new blasphemy, because we all know teenagers and young adults are the wisest people on the planet....right? I mean, they make the BEST decisions...lol.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 4:20:09 PM

Anyway, this is nothing new or special. What Lucas is doing is anticipating the future. While Cameron is busy selling us on 3D, George is working in a filmatic direction many people predicted more than twenty years ago: virtual actors.

I myself once told someone that we might one day see Arnold movies with a totally virtual Schwarzenneggar, still young and bursting with muscles. I said that YEARS and YEARS ago. To me, it seemed natural and absolutely unavoidable.

And with the advances in voice synthesis, I would also predict simulated near-perfect voices of long dead actors.

In other words, what Lucas is doing is, FINALLY, the right damned thing. As much as he normally sucks, he's finally doing the right thing, compared to Cameron who's just lost in his own pathetic narcicissm.

So imagine a time when all the old dead actors are resurrected. New Cary Crant films, new spins on old movies, gestalts where Wayne battles mutants, or kicks ass along side Steve McQueen. Where George Peppard and Hepburn come back for a sequel to Breakfast at Tiffany's.

The possibilities are truly endless and far more interesting thatn f*cking 3D! And in the hands of the right directors and writers, miracles could be made that would forevere change cinema.

And I can imagine the legal side, where an actor sells the rights to his or her image for future movies made AFTER his death. lol. Fascinating!
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:13:17 PM

Mink -

Must say i would rather see the likes of Steve McQueen or Paul Newman staring along side stars of today than another 3D Avatar movie any day of the week.

Kurskij- Thanks mate ..

BadChad - (not CC lol) Oh Yes a special Christmas Edition..
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:15:27 PM

Well, buddy, you got at least TWO more Avatar movies coming soon, so enjoy!
beepboop writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:27:25 PM

I hope virtual Kinski destroys that CGI crap from the inside.
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:27:37 PM

Deep joy , Think i would rather watch The Phantom Menace again ..
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:39:32 PM

I think I want Cameron to start making everything. All movies, all tv shows, all commercials and music. All 3D Na'Vi all the f*cking time. Because the way it's going, that's what'll happen, So I'm just preparing myself.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:42:17 PM

"I hope virtual Kinski destroys that CGI crap from the inside."

I don't think you understand where cinema is going. This isn't just Cameron crap, this is about films that are INDISTINGUISHABLE from real footage. And that's the amazing thing that's going to happen. It won't be 'CG crap' because you won't f*cking know it's CG.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:44:52 PM

I think that's what hurt Avatar, aside from the sh*t-script: realistically portrayed characters that still looked fake because of the unrealistic characterizations Cameron insisted on using. And the floating mountains.
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:55:32 PM

Just seen this on the TV !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRonRGEVyT8

Yeah what was with those the floating mountains anyway !!

minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:09:01 PM

Dunno, TT, but Cameron was clever enough to call the much needed mineral 'unobtanium'.

Here's some 'information':

http://james-camerons-avatar.wikia.com/wiki/Hallelujah_Mountains

Someone with not one ounce of brains is trying to explain the floating moutains my using the Meissner Effect. LOL.

Yeah, because that would work on a planet, and on something called unobtanium, which must be magical to have such a stupid name and also make mountains float.

Even Disney can do better than the crap Cameron shovels. Notice how everything pre-Titanic was fairly well-grounded? Save the frozen tsunamis in The Abyss of course.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:09:58 PM

"On January 25, 2010 in China, hundreds of locals in ethnic Tujia costumes "officially" renamed the Qiankunzhu mountains after the Hallelujah Mountains as a tribute to Avatar."

That's just f*cking sad.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 11:34:53 PM

So, George is going to do a movie starring a CG Barbara Stanwyck and Marilyn Monroe in a 3D digital porno extravaganza but the voices will be done by Ben Burtt????!! Paging my psychiatrist!! George wants to rape my eyeballs and ears!!!! Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!
Aaron writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 12:59:23 AM

@mink

Anarchy (as a social system) doesn't necessarily mean chaos.

And to say that people are naturally predisposed to acting on there darkest desires is a pretty huge assumption/blanket statement.

English law is only so useful as it's people will abide by it. In that sense you could say it's a placebo.. that being the case - the ratio of people that act on their darkest desires vs. those that don't in our current social system is a pretty fair indicator of what would happen without law.. granted you could say our "placebo" is fear as a deterrent.. I tend to think people just can't be bothered.. of course there's no way to really prove it without an A/B comparison.

An absence of a third party moral authority (or in this case a means of controlling a given societies sense of ethics) doesn't mean we all devolve into the worst versions of ourselves.

Any relativist will tell you that a pretty strong sense of ethics can come from self preservation..

People like to use and think of a christian god as a necessary crutch.. I really don't think we're given enough credit. We would and could function without it.

ON TOPIC:

The idea has potential, but I unfortunately don't have much faith in Lucas..
Aaron writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:02:53 AM

Also:
"I think I want Cameron to start making everything. All movies, all tv shows, all commercials and music. All 3D Na'Vi all the f*cking time."

Funniest thing I've read on here in a long time. :D
flammablezombie writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:43:39 AM

If he made a movie with dead stars battling each other with lightsabers in Hell..I'd watch it.

Mix together people f*cking in the background, PLENTY of lightsaber slaughter, lots and lots of fire, loud music, and if they gave free beer coupons with every showing...I'd watch it in 3-D.

It'd make a sh*t load of money.

Call me, George.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 9:04:55 AM

@bspence and warlord- If you're christians... forgive me! Oh no you can't because you're ignorant c*nts! I wouldn't want people who believe in god to like me they're living in the stone ages.

@Mink- The concept of 'god' is a highly useful tool in societies without an involved sense of secular justice, and one could argue that it remains so even in the highly 'modern' world.

I think people have something inside them that wants them to believe in a higher being and maybe it does exsist. But this human god that people imagine with his human son jesus... that's just silly. Breaking away from the belief is, in my oppinion, a form of evolution. To be able to not do bad things for no other reason that you know it's wrong makes you a much stronger person than these religious whacks!

Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 9:23:54 AM

and its AN ass hole you retard thats what happens when you go to sunday school instead of real school you bible basher!
bluemeenie writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:57:16 AM

Bring back Kershner to save Star Wars
beepboop writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 5:17:18 PM

"It won't be 'CG crap' because you won't f*cking know it's CG."

It will be crap however it looks like. Removing the human from the actor is stupid.
All digital movies with deceased CGI actors is nerd fiction, not the future.
rabid writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:58:01 PM

it still requires an actor to capture the performance. And it's hardly science fiction, since several films, tv shows and commercials have already pulled it off.
Forrest Gump did it and it worked beautifully. Tales From the Crypt has done it. So have Pizza Hut, CocaCola and Coors beer commercials. Star Trek Deep Space 9.
Then there was Arnold's face in Terminator Salvation. Nothing too farfetched about it really.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 3:17:10 AM

Oh dear me.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 11:33:21 AM

f*cking Lucas... The darkside of greed has long ago taken him over.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved