WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Djimon Hounsou on Live-Action "Black Panther" Movie

Posted: December 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Djimon Hounsou on Live-Action "Black Panther" MovieSubmit Comment
Djimon Hounsou (Blood Diamond) recently provided the voice for the title character in an animated "Black Panther" TV series. And now, in an interview with io9, he revealed that he would be interested in playing T'Challa in a live-action film.

He said: "He's a king, he's a man of the people, and he's very powerful - he challenges himself throughout his kingdom, and I think that's rare when the king puts his own life [on the line] and challenges [people] to beat him, in order to see [who's] the best out there. He's really cool. He comes from a world in Africa that is cool, and has all those minerals and it's very exciting. It's just a matter of time for that to be realized."

Hounsou added that the animated series was used to see how much interest can be conjured up for the movie. "That was the idea: using it as a leverage to tell a feature story," he explained.

In recent months, there have been several hints that Marvel will eventually make a "Black Panther" movie, with the latest rumor stating that Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (GI Joe) is in talks to play the lead.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:41:59 AM

I thought brad pitt was interested in taking a superhero role since his third world children are begging him to star in one well here's ur chance
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 7:54:57 AM

say Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje fast and it sounds like token black guy
SACdaddy writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:25:10 AM

I like Mr. Echo (LOST) but Hounsou would make a much better superhero. Echo would be a great villain though.

I have to admit I'm really not that familiar with Black Panther, but then again I wasn't too familiar with Blade either before its release. The first two Blade movies turned out to be my favorite Marvel based films ever made. They were wildly creative, extremely entertaining, bloody as hell, and somewhat groundbreaking (incorporating a martial arts superhero before the Matrix made it popular). If Black Panther has any of that going for him then maybe this can be another surprise hit. Then again, I'll take almost anything over another cocaine driven Iron Man installment or another sh*tty Spider Man/HULK reboot.
Bunny X writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 9:56:23 AM

Hounsou would be great as Black Panther's father and Chiwetel Ejiofor would be great as the Blank Panther.
Adewale (GI Joe) would make a great Man-Ape who is a great villain. He stole the throne while BP was away by bathing in the blood of a rare white gorilla and eating its flesh gaining incredible strength and invulnerability.
Cast those three and the movie will work fine. Just don't let Tyler Perry direct!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 10:15:23 AM

i vote for Jake Gyllenall.
bspence writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 11:41:59 AM

theyve been talking about black panther since xmen and spiderman. there were originally i think 9 movies marvel had planned which, if i remember right, were xmen, xmen 2, spiderman, hulk, daredevil, punisher, captain america, black panther, and dr. strange.
dont get me wrong id love to see a black panther movie made especially with djimon as the lead. i always pictured him in that role since i saw him in blood diamond back when that came out. but im just saying that if theyve been talking about it since like 2000 or 2001, then IF it happens itll be sometime between avengers and avengers 2 or after avengers 2.

but just for fun ill take a wild guess and say 2014 or 2015 will be the release if they ever make it. any takers?
warlord writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:04:11 PM

now that marvel made nick fury a black guy make black panther a white guy fair's fair
atn5022 writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:32:38 PM

my vote is for "The Real Triple A" thats what his twitter account is called ;)
FBO writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 12:43:27 PM

Call me crazy, but I want to see Push 2
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 1:36:46 PM

I will go on this audition and if I don't get it, I will play the racecard
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 2:14:05 PM

IF Djimon can lose the french accent he would be a good choice. Someone regal is a little outside his usual roles but I think he can manage.
nope.com writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 3:29:36 PM

well at least he's not playing the race card and trying to make Spider-man black
nobody's stupid enough to do that

... oh wait
koul writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 3:58:48 PM

who wants Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbeje. if you do then you f*cking suck so much balls. Djimoun Hounsou is the perfect choice for Black Panther not that other guy
koul writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 4:00:07 PM

@ FBO you are so stupid. that movie sucked so much and you want a second part to Push?
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 4:39:54 PM

"He's a king, he's a man of the people, and he's very powerful - he challenges himself throughout his kingdom, and I think that's rare when the king puts his own life [on the line] and challenges [people] to beat him, in order to see [who's] the best out there. He's really cool. He comes from a world in Africa that is cool, and has all those minerals and it's very exciting. It's just a matter of time for that to be realized."

Uh huh. A man of the people. Isn't that what the non-white people of Zimbabwe called Robert Mugabe?

'Man of the people', folks, is a euphemistic code word for 'third world dictator'. So scrap that immediately.

And yes, Africa is very 'cool' if you don't live there and you just catch some f*cking politically-correct TV special on Nat Geo. But it's a very, very harsh f*cking realm, full of diseases like malaria, AIDS and that 'cool' and trendy little viral infection known as Ebola.

Yes, and the constant warfare, genocide, famine and all around general hell on earth, along with the widespread lack of both running water and indoor plumping makes it all the more attractive. Especially if you're white.

And that boys and girls, is the reason the Europeans didn't colonize Africa, though they should have for the sake of all Africans.
Bunny X writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 4:58:24 PM

Simply put Hounsou would be too old to portray BP especially in an origins movie which this would be. Like I said, he'd be great as the father. Because the father is still a force to be reckoned with. He's not some feable king who has lost more than just a step, passing his crown.
If my main choice for BP, Chiwetel Ejiofor is up in years too much for this, then a good replacement would be Michael Ealy (Flash Forward, Takers) or maybe Columbus Short (The Losers). But I still like Ejiofor for Black Panther.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2010 at 8:23:41 PM

Not sure white America is going to dig a comic-book movie with the same name as a radical black political group that often advocates killing whitey, but hey, in the name of science, I say give it a try.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 3:00:39 AM

I reckon Seth Green or Alex Winter.
Frank4969 writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 6:48:36 PM

One question? Will Ben affleck be playing the panther? Or is that racism.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved