WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Mendes to Direct "James Bond 23" Late Next Year

Posted: December 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Mendes to Direct "James Bond 23" Late Next YearSubmit Comment
Composer David Arnold just confirmed that he and Daniel Craig will be returning for "James Bond 23," and now comes word from Kate Winslet that her husband Sam Mendes (Road to Perdition, American Beauty) is still on board to direct.

She told The Daily Mail that production will begin at the end of 2011 and she is already planning to move their two kids to the UK for the duration of the filming.

"Sam is doing the next Bond film and we'll all be in England if that happens," she said. "It's such a massive commitment for him and it's not fair for him to commute backwards and forwards to New York from London. It would be impossible. The children will be there with me."

The site also mentioned that producer Barbara Broccoli has had meetings with Mendes to discuss casting.

Source: The Daily Mail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:29:08 AM

I just don't get it.why not Martin Campbell?why experiment with all kind of directors that don't have any experience with action movie?
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:36:07 AM

Good news The Bond movie is moving forward.

I like Sam but not sure on him as a Bond director.

I would rather see Campbell return or even let John Glen have another go at making a Bond movie.

For Your Eyes Only is still my favorite Bond movie and his last effort Licence to kill was very underratted IMO and he knows the character and the series inside and out.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:38:38 AM

But as long as Craig stays on as Bond. I just hope they get the film made..
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:39:45 AM

Rambo- Yes i agree Marc Foster was the same and QS was pretty average at best..
pH0u57 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:47:45 AM

soo.. when are all blu-rays coming out then?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:25:26 AM

Although I love Sam Mendes work up til now, I'm still a little skeptical about this. He just doesn't seem like the right fit for the job. I'd like to see someone like Kathyrn Bigelow get her shot at Bond. She has an eye for good action and may be able to bring back that pop element of coolness that the character's been missing in the latest films.
Aaron writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:41:36 AM

Yeah, Mendes is one of my favorite living directors, but I'm not sure about bond.. we'll see..
sc_kg writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:55:20 AM

"kits"?
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:06:35 AM

I think Craig is one of the best Bonds to date. I found myself more intrigued with the "origins of Bond" feel his movies produce where as with the previous installments ( keep in mind I'm 33) your kind of just along for the ride
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:15:16 AM

Seems ok choice, but can Mendes do a good old Bond movie..maybe and that is a very big maybe.

@tt

Goldfinger is my favourite, and Liscence to Kill is very underated, also did you know that "L2K" was ment to be Dalton's first Bond, "LD" was written for Moore but he quit before it went into production.

My favourite Bonds from each of them.

Connery- Golfinger

Moore- Live and Let Die (View to a Kill is a guilty pleasure)

Dalton- Liscence to Kill

Brosnan- Tomorrow Never Dies

Craig- Casino Royale (I know he has only had two but it is better than Qauntum of Solace)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:28:06 AM

Golfinger= Goldfinger

f*ck ME!!! we need an edit button, or maybe I should stop grooming asian girls while typing on here.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:38:09 AM

I'm not gonna get myself worked up for this, Casino Royale was truly amazing, the best bond to date, and Martin Campbell's direction was perfect for an action movie of that caliber. With the same script team coming back for QoS and Daniel Craig returning, I didn't think much about changing directors from Campbell to Marc Forster. I like Forster's work so I thought he could do a good job. Wrong. I don't need Mendes to blow me away, I just need him to not let me down.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:52:10 AM

dave- I didn't know that....

I always felt a View to a kill was one too many James Bond films for Roger Moore (as did Moore before he signed on) , it was still a fun movie though and who wouldn't jump into bed with Tayna Roberts and get paid for it too !!

Connery = Goldfinger/ (soft spot for Diamonds are forever as well).

Dalton= LtoK

Brosnan= Golden Eye, thought he was a very good bond but the movies were only so so IMO

George= OHMSS lol , which i did like and that guy took some seriously wrong career advice after that movie came out, Thats for sure.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:55:11 AM

STOP grooming asian chicks !! thats not very James Bond lol

Murphy- Nicely said fella
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 9:19:33 AM

Yay, I'd like to see Craig get one more shot at being Bond. Campbell needs to come back. Goldeneye and Casino were some of the best Bond films.
darthraige writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:12:22 AM

Will Bond just f*cking die already!
darthraige writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:13:31 AM

I can't understand a f*cking word Craig says in these Bond films. He mumbles the sh*t out of these words. It's f*cking annoying.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:18:47 AM

Quantam of Solace was like taking a boiled egg to the nuts
FBO writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:54:58 AM

QoS SUCKED. I was pissed that I paid money to see it, so I am not going opening day when this comes out
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:09:29 PM

Get rid of Daniel Craig. Worst. Bond. EVER! Just bring back Pierce Brosnan or go with Clive Owen.
rocketman writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:20:39 PM

Mendes will be fine,American Bueaty is a fantastic film and i can't wait to see what he does with Bond.
Spielberg for the next one though.He needs it as much as Bond ;)
rocketman writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:22:11 PM

And Craig Fassbender is the next Bond or there will be f*cking trouble!
rabid writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:27:37 PM

I agree that Daniel Craig makes a weak Bond. I accepted it for the first film, because Casino Royale was such a classicly Bond script and a great origin story, but the sequel left me numb. 2 films is good enough for Craig. Find a better fit for the next one.
JonDrama writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:28:14 PM

Didn't Kate Winslet split from Sam Mendes? How would she know what he's up to?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:50:46 PM

@Smile... I've been saying the same thing for several years. Craig is ok but Bond was made for Brosnan. He embodied the character better than anyone since Connery. He just had the misfortune of getting the role after all the Flemming material was done. He had sh*tty writers and directors too. If they ever go to an older Bond, I want Brosnan back.

Owen was my choice to follow Pierce. He was a little gritty but was actually closer to the hard drinking cooly confident Bond of Casino Royal imo. With that hundred mile stare and that million dollar voice Owen would have brought an edge and a presence to the role much closer to Connery's Bond. Craig lacks this presence on screen so they've had to overcompensate his character with Bourne like hand to hand combat and action. They even tried to turn him into f*cking Jackie Chan in the opening scene of Casino Royal, and though it was entertaining, it definitely didn't feel like Bond.
rocketman writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 2:01:04 PM

Gotta go with Fassbener for a new Bond after,looks more like the books.Small scar on face and a bowtie and thats 007
http://www.listal.com/viewimage/148284
BurmaShave writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 2:56:43 PM

Everyone try to remember that Mendes made ROAD TO PERDITION, one of the most surprisingly badass movies of the decade. He can certainly handle violence. As for the complex set-pieces those will be done by other units anyway. And he's great directing performance. I think it's an interesting choice.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 3:18:18 PM

Uh, QoS suffered from a poor script, not from the direction, so I wouldn't bame the change in director for the second film's suckage. The script team simply got lazy or dropped the ball somehow.

"Golfinger= Goldfinger

f*ck ME!!! we need an edit button, or maybe I should stop grooming asian girls while typing on here."

Been saying that for YEARS, but no one listens. Alex is too busy inventing news and dropping Lohan stories to do anything worthwhile.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 3:43:06 PM

So, basically no new Bond until 2013 at the earliest.

Good job MGM!
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 5:12:08 PM

2013 if we're lucky with MGM involved.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 5:16:50 PM

Rocket -

If they did change Craig, Michael Fassbender is a good choice (even though he is half German playing a British spy lol)

Did you ever watch Eden Lake ?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 5:33:40 PM

I'm definitely looking forward to a new Bond film. As long as it's more along the lines of "Casino Royale", which is my favorite Bond after Connery's "From Russia With Love". I wouldn't mind if they lightened the tone a bit with a bit of old-fashioned 007 humor.

It'd also be nice to see a Bond film where 007's mission doesn't devolve into a "personal vendetta". Every film from "Licence To Kill" to "Quantum of Solace" has had Bond's mission become personal. While that doesn't make them bad films, I would like to see a return to the 007 who is out saving the world because it's his job, not because of some personal investment in either an old flame, friend, or foe.

The only other thing I'd really like to see would be the return of actual threatening villains and formidable henchmen for Bond to fight. The villains have been the weakest part of Craig's Bond films, IMO.

Champ1432 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:02:13 PM

Well, it sucks that they won't even start filming for a year, but it's good they've got the ball rolling. Also stoked for Craig to return. I did love Brosnan in the role as well, and was sorry to see him go, but I think Craig fits this "new" style Bond very well. SAC makes some good points, I do agree Owen would have a bit better stature or presence on screen than Craig, but overall I'm still happy with Craig. Just glad things are moving forward.

@Trailer: Totally agree with you on View to a Kill, Moore hung on just a little too long with that one.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:09:30 PM

I'm not sure Owen can do the polished, refined British type Bond often exemplifies. He's almost always playing some grungy guy with a gun.

And I don't really think he fits the look either, not with Ian Fleming's original vision anyway, just because he has a British accent and might look smashing in a suit.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:11:57 PM

sam mendes makes pretentious doo doo
Rambo writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:39:40 PM

MGM f*cked this franchise.
rocketman writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:48:45 PM

@Trailer
Got Eden just not watched yet.
Bonds half Swiss and thats next door to Germany so i can live with that.
Wonder how long untill Bond is labled as the EU's super spy by Br
rocketman writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:50:20 PM

...by Brussels
Edit function.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:13:06 PM

lol

It won't be long before that happens !!

007 the EU speical agent, licence to do not a lot...

That will be the correct thing to say, as we are all one happy family now !!

Watch that Eden it's pretty good..
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:29:52 PM

Fleming wanted Cary Grant, Stuat Granger, David Niven or even Richard Burton as Bond and wasn't happy about Sean Connery being cast in the role until he saw Dr No.

Mink - i'm not sure about Owen either, I like the guy but i'm not sure he could be James Bond ...

Champ- He did , but i can let him off that as he is my favorite Bond then it's Connery for me.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:45:43 PM

@ Trailer- Yeah, a lot of people seem to say Moore is #1 or #2 for them as Bond. Personally, he was never my top choice. I don't have anything against him, and I think just about all of his Bond movies are very good overall, I just don't think he fit the role as well as Connery or even Brosnan actually. Just a personal preference I guess.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:51:40 PM

Champ - It sure is , Even Roger Moore has said Connery was his favorite Bond, For me i grew up watching Moore so he just edges out Sean for me.

Who ever plays James Bond it's a great film series and i hope MGM sort their mess out and get the next movie made..
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 9:21:07 PM

Is this the one where James steps on a rusty nail and gets a bad case of tetanus and lockjaw ?
ROCKY writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 9:25:08 PM

I can't beileve people think brosnan is better than craig.The new Bond's are mighty..but i agree with Rambo,Martin Campbell all the way.......
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:15:59 PM

Thing is guys, if Moore hung on too long and should'nt have done "View to a Kill" then whou could have?

I mean "LtoK" was the Bond Dalton wanted to do, the no nonsense Bond who just kicks the sh*t out of every and anyone.

What actor in the early 80's could play the Bond in "TLD", not many around who could pull it off.

I can see how some people want Clive Owen and yes he would be good, but he is too rough looking, with Bond you still need someone who is basically a pretty boy.
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:18:51 PM

So which one of these films screams Bond director? American Beauty, Road to Perdition, Jarhead, Revolutionary Road, and Away We Go. Not terribly exciting about this choice. But I'll go see it. I'm glad they kept on Daniel Craig. Wish Martin Campbell was coming back. Casino Royale was the sh*t.
rabid writes:
on December 4th, 2010 at 12:12:35 AM

Russell Brand should play 007.
With Jonah Hill as Q.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2010 at 4:59:40 AM

I wonder if MGM is just saying this to keep investors at the table to look at buying them out.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved