WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Gosling on Being Fired from "The Lovely Bones" for Being Fat

Posted: December 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Gosling on Being Fired from "The Lovely Bones" for Being FatSubmit Comment
During the pre-production phase of "The Lovely Bones," director Peter Jackson signed Ryan Gosling for the lead role. But right before shooting, he replaced the actor with Mark Wahlberg. Gosling has now opened up about what happened.

"We had wildly different ideas of what the film should be. I was 150 lbs when he hired me and I showed up on set 210 lbs," he explained. "We had a different idea of how the character should look. I really believed he should be 210 lbs. I was melting Haagen Dazs [ice cream] and drinking it when I was thirsty. I really believed in it, I was excited about it. And I showed up [on set] and they said 'You look terrible.' And I said: 'I know, isn't it great?' [They replied:] 'No, it's not. Hit the treadmill.'"

Gosling went on to say that he could have just lost the weight, but he and Jackson disagreed so much about the direction of the film, it was better for Gosling to just pass on the project.

"It was a sign of much deeper things, the way I saw the character vs how Peter saw the character," he continued. "We didn't talk very much in the pre-production process. It was a huge movie and there were so many things to deal with and he couldn't deal with the actors individually. I just showed up on set and I gotten it wrong. Then I was fat and unemployed. [But] it never really became about the weight, because the weight was just indicative of the bigger misunderstanding about the character."

Click here to read more about "The Lovely Bones."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RobertHolik writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:12:53 AM

The movie was sh*t anyways. Ryan Gosling could have saved it.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:26:22 AM

The Lovely Big-Boned.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:36:37 AM

I reckon this bloke would make for a great Bourne like character. He doesn't seem like the kind of person to be interested in something like that though.
otis writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:49:46 AM

That's why you ask production before making vast changes to your appearance. What they see when they cast you is what they like, or else they'll let you know what to amend.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:10:58 AM

I agree with Gosling. The character should of had more depth as Marky mark all ripped up is not believable as a middle class family man. Not saying all middle class middle aged family men are fat but most are a little heavy. Or maybe I am saying that Gosling would of just been better in the role period as I have a deep hate for the funky bunch and his lack of.....everything
Valerie writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:27:57 AM

Huge respect for him after reading this, and i love that he didnt cave in and just lost the weight! And as we all saw, that was a f*cking badly made movie, and Whalberg couldnt be more miscast for it!
BigUnit writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:48:29 AM

i respect Wahlberg and enjoy most of his movies, but this was one role he couldnt really fit in. Made The lovely Bones seem less seriouse then it was sappose to be. If Gosling woulda been casted the film would have been much better, more realistic.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 9:21:57 AM

O well, moving on the next thread.
FBO writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 11:46:00 AM

Gosling is a movie making stud. I loved both Fracture and Lars and the Real Girl. Why do Canadians make the best actors?
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:03:37 PM

Although actors should of course be able to express their opinions while making a movie at the end of the the day they should just shut up and do what they were paid to do, act! "Oh, boo hoo, my idea for the character is different to the director's. I don't wanna play it the way they want. I quit!" Pathetic!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 2:08:22 PM

Their loss losing him. he would have given it more weight. It needed it even if I found it passable.
Jojotocujo writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 3:06:22 PM

Gosling really dodged a bullet here. I don't think anything could've saved that movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 3:13:27 PM

Ryan Gosling is FAT? Do you people take a look at the sh*t people shovel? He's 6 foot one, at even at 210 pounds, that's hardly fat. I've weighed that much at that height, and I got looks when I took my short off, and not the oh gross looks, and I'm hardly all muscle.

This guy must've been sporting a potbelly through a wife-beater. Either that, or 'fat' means not having 1% body fat, a condition you can get only through strenuous body training.

Furthermore, who the f*ck is Jackson of all people to call someone fat? He's the epitome of the pot-belly calling the kettle black, f*cking fat Wiki.
pomme writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 3:16:12 PM

i totally disagree with him:the character was not blond-haired or fat (in the book)and he was too young
Champ1432 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 4:59:14 PM

I give him credit for sticking to his guns, I think he definitely would have made the movie better, like him as an actor.

Maybe next time, it wouldn't be a bad idea to check first before gaining 60 pounds, that's kind of a lot. lol Oh well, I'm sure he had fun eating all that ice cream. Mmmmmmmm....... Haagen Dazs.......
Bunny X writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 5:17:49 PM

I have all the respect for Ryan as an actor. He's one of the few young ones out there that gets it. But I can't understand why he would make that kind of assumption even though it was a good one. It's not your call and your not at that level to where they would defer to your judgement.
In hindsight, I guess it did work out for him in the sense that he held on to his beliefs. But ultimately, he didn't work so it's not much of a win since integrity still doesn't pay the rent.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:15:59 PM

mark wahlberg sucks at playing anything other than an *sshole cop. gosling would've saved the movie, definitely.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:18:00 PM

oh and minkowski, i think you meant to call Peter Jackson a 'Kiwi', not a user-created reference webpage (ie a Wiki). LOLERS
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:24:50 PM

Wiki, Kiwi, he's still a fat bastard calling other people...fat.

I hope he never gets The Hobbit made. Not like I want to see that crap anyway.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 6:28:35 PM

The guy hasn't had a good, original film since The Frighteners. Now all he makes is sh*t that he can take home for filming in New Zealand. It's like he's an extension of the NZ Dept. Of Labor (or equivalent).
Charlie9 writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 7:00:02 PM

Agree with Gosling but he's naive, why not forward the idea before he started putting on the weight, not after weeks or months, then turn up on the day
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:05:00 PM

Hey Ryan,

Maybe by being fat, you made Peter Jackson jealous that he couldn't go to Ben & Jerry anymore, since his doctor kept him on that tofu and rice cake diet.

Don't feel bad.

Peter will die from a terminal disease today and diabetes and high blood pressure will appear like paradise compared to it.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:10:59 PM

Hey Ryan,

At least you don't have to make excuses about your movies. And you never tell us to say "Hi" to anyone, either.

Also, you didn't star in Max Payne, The Happening or i óż huckabees
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 8:17:54 PM

* correction, if I may,

I "Heart" Huckabee

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved