WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jack Sparrow from "Pirates of the Caribbean" was Named After Hugh Jackman

Posted: December 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jack Sparrow from "Pirates of the Caribbean" was Named After Hugh JackmanSubmit Comment
We just posted how Disney didn't like Johnny Depp's performance as Captain Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean," and now comes word from writer Stuart Beattie (Collateral, GI Joe) who said that Hugh Jackman was first considered for the role.

"I initially wrote that character with Hugh Jackman in mind," Beattie told PopTarts. "Hence the name Captain JACK Sparrow."

At the time, Jackman was a prominent actor in Beattie's homeland of Australia, but was not yet well-known anywhere else, which prompted Disney to find another actor to play Sparrow.

Beattie added that despite "Pirates" being a massive franchise, it took a while to convince the studio of the potential. "I spent ten years pitching it to Disney and they weren't interested," he revealed. "Then finally, I got a call to come back in."

Source: FoxNews, PopTarts


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:02:47 PM

I thought the PotC ride has been around for over 40 years.
Matiax writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:13:17 PM

Hey, he said "wrote that character with Hugh Jackman in mind", not "named the character after Jackman", those are two different things.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:16:53 PM

The Jack in Jack Sparrow was named after hugh Jackman, who really, who gives a Flying Dutchman of a f*ck?
johnny_boy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:51:53 PM

I feel so much smarter for knowing this. This frivolous information will help raise my IQ a couple of points.
Foxyllama5 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:17:55 PM

@Matiax "I initially wrote that character with Hugh Jackman in mind," Beattie told PopTarts. "Hence the name Captain JACK Sparrow."

Looks like He said he did... Stuart Beattie said that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:25:36 PM

who gives a sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:05:17 PM

Jack Sparrow from "Pirates of the Caribbean" was Named After Hugh Jackman

It's a good thing Hugh's last name wasn't Jack Off. Man, that would've been embarrassing, right Disney ?

It's a small world after all in Disney. Only, gays aren't allowed.

They should've named Sparrow after Alfred Hitchc*ck and named him Sparrow c*ck.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:07:09 PM

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:02:47 PM

I thought the PotC ride has been around for over 40 years.


@Spooky

You're probably right. God knows the last movie felt like you sitting there and watching it for 40 years.


Oh, and welcome back to the fray!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:08:24 PM

If Hugh Jackman's name was Hugh d*ckman, would Disney ever have considered, since we've recently discovered they are homophobic ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:09:36 PM

Beattie added that despite "Pirates" being a massive franchise, it took a while to convince the studio of the potential ... and yet, they had Full House and Bob Saget hosting America's Dumbest Motherf*cking Jackass Videos.

Hunh. Go figure.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:10:39 PM

Boy, those coke and sex orgies they have at the Disney estate must be legendary.

Wonder if they get the wives to dress up like Disney CosPlay (for the swinger sessions) ?
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:13:33 PM

Swear to God...

I just took a sh*t, and cared more about my wiping technique than I do this news.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:43:21 PM

Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:13:33 PM
Swear to God...

I just took a sh*t, and cared more about my wiping technique than I do this news.

@Ranger

Forget the 'three sea shell' technique.

It's painful.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:51:36 PM

Still waiting for Sandra to show me how those work.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:52:01 PM

Then I'd return the favor by leaving some crustASStions on her ass.
otis writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:55:05 PM

What is this guy doing talking to poptarts? And how come when I talk to my food people move away? I have things to say too, dammit!
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:58:54 PM





(Ranger slides his food tray and himself away from Otis).




trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 4:29:42 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqm1EGtuQgQ&feature=related
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 6:23:43 AM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

Disney are "homophobic"? (Bullsh!t word that doesn't even make sense.) Really??!! Disneyland's "Gay Day" and Pixar's "It Get's Better" video seem to suggest that they're pretty much up the fag brigade's ass, so to speak. It's sick that they're promoting homosexuality to children.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 6:33:53 AM

When did the first Pirates Of The Carribean actually start shooting? Because the first X-Men movie came out in 2000 and Hugh Jackman became a huge star worldwide pretty much overnight because of it. If Pirates Of The Carribean started shooting after X-Men was released (which is likely since the first POTC was released in Summer 2003) then it's hard to believe that Disney thought that Hugh Jackman wasn't a big enough star.
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 8:18:43 AM

Knew a girl who had little sparrow tits once ..
billofill writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 11:01:52 AM

So the role went from Hugh Jackman, to Bill Murray to that faggot from 21 Jump Street? AHHHHHHHH HOLLYWOOD SO f*ckING WEIRD.
Matiax writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 6:11:59 PM

@Foxyllama5

It didn't has that part yesterday!... I think. Or I read it half asleep.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved