WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Racist "The Hobbit" Casting Agent Fired

Posted: December 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Racist "The Hobbit" Casting Agent FiredSubmit Comment
A few days ago we reported that a woman of Pakistani origin attended a casting audition in New Zealand for "The Hobbit." She stood in line for three hours and was then told that her skin color is too dark to play a hobbit. As a result, the woman claims that this is racism.

A casting agent placed ads in newspapers stating that he was looking for extras with "light skin tones." He was then heard telling the crowds: "We are looking for light-skinned people. I'm not trying to be - whatever. It's just the brief. You've got to look like a hobbit."

A spokesman for Peter Jackson's production company said that no such instruction was given to the casting agent, adding: "The crew member in question has been dismissed from the show. It's something we take very seriously."

The spokesman went on to say that everyone meeting the age and height requirement are allowed to audition. In the end, it's very likely that only white actors will be chosen and this is just Jackson's way of avoiding the race issue. In the process, a casting agent's reputation has been destroyed.

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: The Australian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 76 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:52:29 PM

"In the process, a casting agent's reputation has been destroyed."

And you helped by labeling the casting agent 'racist' in your title?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:52:38 PM

So now that Hollywood is race-blind, does that mean we'll see Nicholas Cage play Martin Luther King?

Or or, Forest Whittaker playing Abraham Lincoln?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:53:53 PM

And yeah, what Mink said.

This casting agent is in no way, shape or form "Racist"

Was the casting agent for the LOTR racist too?
dwight writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:57:29 PM

It is racist. I can understad if she was blue black, but a lil off tone come on there is somthing in Hollywood called f*cking make up!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:02:48 PM

I agree the casting agent is not racist and I feel bad. Where the agent messed up was by declaring he only wanted light skinned people. He should just say "hey i need hobbits" and after wading through a bunch BS like that woman(seriously she thought she could be a hobbit?) hire the ones that looke the part.
shayhiri writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:24:54 PM

Guys, how can you live with this "political correctness"? It's insane.

In Bulgaria we would have just laughed off the bitch. "Hahaha, look at you, you're a gypsy, go away."
shayhiri writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:28:59 PM

And gypsy girls are good for one thing only. I've boinked hundreds of 'em.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:41:18 PM

^^Is there a woman in Bulgaria that isn't a whore?
DesignaCoda writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:42:03 PM

Doesn't this mean JRR Tolkien is a racist too?
shayhiri writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:44:00 PM

Hardly.*

My mother, probably.

But y'all know what happened to her.

------------------------
* And that's exactly what's great about the place.
shayhiri writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:44:59 PM

Was answering the mink.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:54:27 PM

Just goes to show you there's no justice. Goddamn you affirmative action. I'm trying out for Malcolm X. Once they tell me I can't cuz I'm not black i'll shout out racism and get the job.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:57:05 PM

I hope that this pakastani bitch gets stoned when visiting her native country just for showing her stupid face!
Sinestro writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:12:14 PM

So... If I'm a director who wants to make a Viking movie, I can't instruct my casting agent to tell Terrence Howard and Will Smith to stop auditioning because they don't look the part? That is some bullsh*t! I better see some white dudes with spears and goat skin shields the next time they make a movie about Zulu tribes!
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:25:58 PM

I feel a lawsuit coming from the casting agent .....where the f*ck are you wiki leaks! I want the truth!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:34:25 PM

wow, let fun begin.
McD writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:47:26 PM

let's get some white people to show up and try out for Tyler Perry's next movie. we'll see how that goes...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:12:58 PM

Finally! Now we can get some hoodie rats to take a 9 up in th' bitch and take out Gandalf ... Doug Henson lovin' motherf*cker!

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:14:11 PM

So does that mean Pauley Shore can finally live his dream and play Chicken George or Uncle Tom ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:14:45 PM

Gary Coleman's corspe for the Verne Troyer story!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:15:41 PM

They probably didn't want to tell her she smelled like feet, when she hadn't tried on the hugh prosthetic feet yet.

Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:16:06 PM

Shay... you're actually a riot! lol.

As for this. Yep... give them (ANYone playing the racist card, not just this fat, short, brown, smelly whore) an inch... and they'll take in your whole c*ck!

Nice going Hollywood. PC people are their own WORST f*ckING ENEMY!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:17:30 PM

A spokesman for Peter Jackson's production company said that no such instruction was given to the casting agent, adding: "The crew member in question has been dismissed from the show. It's something we take very seriously."

Because at the end of the day, you need an actor that will get squashed to three feet by a computer program and has to wear big prosthetic feet with thousands of yak hairs sown in and put on their resume that they indeed played a hobbit.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:18:12 PM

Could she see the woman's skin tone behind her burkah ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:19:23 PM

Did the lady who f*cking auditioned even WATCH the Lord of the Rings ? Or did she think they were shooting in Bollywood ?

There were no motherf*cking musical and dance numbers, bitch.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:21:55 PM


shayhiri writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:24:54 PM
Guys, how can you live with this "political correctness"? It's insane.

In Bulgaria we would have just laughed off the bitch. "Hahaha, look at you, you're a gypsy, go away."

@shayhiri

It was the cross-eyes, buck-teeth and the exceptionally long nose and ear hair, hunh ?

How f*cking insensitive.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:23:00 PM

Why is it every Guiness World Record holder for the longest (and most disgusting) f*cking ear hair and fingernails come from there ?

Can't they afford f*cking clippers, for f*cks sake ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:24:31 PM

The race card is like any other card out there on the market.

Only with a lousy credit limit and a percentage rate that makes even that horse face Sarah Jessica Parker go, " f*ck that."
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:25:19 PM

How many Osama Bin Ladens does it take to hide out in Pakistan after initiating terrorist activities ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:26:11 PM

Pakistan : A vacation paradise, if North Korea is fully booked.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:28:10 PM

minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:52:29 PM
"In the process, a casting agent's reputation has been destroyed."

And you helped by labeling the casting agent 'racist' in your title?

@minkowski

It's Worst Previews.

They are still working from the used books " Setting Up An Entertainment Website For Dummies " and " The Idiots Guide To Sensationalistic Headlines! "

Oooooh. Both a scorcher.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:28:33 PM

Pakistan : A vacation paradise, if the outhouse is occupado.

Caveman 007 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:29:38 PM

This is bullsh*t. Peter Jackson is full of sh*t. If we are to take him seriously then why did he only pick white people for the first three films. What a fake.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:32:47 PM

Caveman 007 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:29:38 PM
This is bullsh*t. Peter Jackson is full of sh*t. If we are to take him seriously then why did he only pick white people for the first three films. What a fake.

A. They were the only ones who could order his food through the drive-through and not expect snot or flies from the workers.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:42:09 PM

The casting agent destroyed his own reputation. His actions resulted in his being fired. End..of..story.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:42:48 PM

@Max - can't wait!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64AQ3BzhWKI
pnkntndr writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 12:39:23 AM

Dwight, You're a c*nt
rocketman writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 1:32:57 AM

Whats he done? nothing as i can see other than doing his job.
Hobbits are white,based on the English steryotype of the English gent.Thats the whole f*cking point.If i keep as a white person being branded racist im going to start acting like a REAL racist goosestepping motherf*cker.Might as well get hung for a sheep as well as a lamb right?
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:11:08 AM

Rocket - That was a long time ago ,back in the day when we didn't know what a Pakistani was, can you imagine England without them now !!

Who would clean our cars in supermarket carparks or sell us over priced (and out of date) bread and milk ...
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:12:23 AM

Shay- LOL as Ranger said your a riot ...
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:20:58 AM

lol...

Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:23:45 AM

Jumping from Pakistan to India...

If there's a 'Slumdog Millionaire 2' casting, I'm flying my white ass over there insisting they give me a lead role! Yeah... that would go over well.

Movie characters ARE racial stereotypes. We ALL know this except some little Pakistani lady and JACKSON'S ENTIRE PRODUCTION COMPANY!!!

Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:29:54 AM

I really don't want to see whitey play: Muhammad Ali OR Malcolm X OR Dr. King anymore than I want to see a black guy play Bond (ok, honestly I care a little less of Bond as he's actually fictitious, but historically he's been white bread so leave laying dogs like and all that).

I will say this casting agent should have just dismissed her with all the other rejects without even speaking to her (as I doubt he did any of the others).

This PC sh*t is out of hand. Black comedians making white jokes. Whitey can't make black jokes.

Try running a show like 'All in the Family' (still the 2 best leads in TV history, IMO) these days. Yeah... good luck with that!

Check out - 3:53 of this video. One of the funniest lines ever!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-b5jSzWff0


trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:30:08 AM

lol !!

Don't forget your ornamental mark on your forehead my friend .....
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:32:16 AM

How did Judd Nelson get past the casting director for New Jack City ???
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:38:00 AM

That is a great Clip and line ....

Sammy is the man no doubt about it, can you imagine that being made today ....
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:40:16 AM

@2:56 Priceless.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbdg95Abw_8&feature=related
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:42:37 AM

lol

Nice comeback from Sammy as well !!
imasexyotter writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:44:10 AM

I wanted to comment on the PC bullsh*t...but everyone said all the things I was thinking...thank god.....
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:44:33 AM

@tt - nope, but I wish someone would.

Sammy was amazing! Good sport with Archie.

They're both gone, as is Leslie Nielsen...

And we're left with the Lohan's & Kardashians.

f*ck me.
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:46:53 AM

I know it just doesn't seem fair does it ..
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:51:13 AM

just watched the rest of both those clips good start to the day cheers, Carroll O'Connor (great actor) reminds me of Alf Garnet over here ... Very funny both shows ..
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:51:50 AM

Nope.

G'nite Hollywood... I LUV ya!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGUJ66LG9LI
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:53:15 AM

Will Google Alf tomorrow.
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:56:28 AM

And this show was on prime time BBC 1 made by the BBC ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYegEtok6Yo
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 3:58:39 AM

lol.
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 4:02:03 AM

HAHAHAHAHA !!

Love that clip...

Sandler did a nice job of using that gag in The Wedding Singer too..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKNKVzVAqUk

Trentsteel writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 4:44:21 AM

She's not racist.

She probably assumed that's what they wanted and most of us would have.
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:30:53 AM

No, she's not a racist (at least in this instance we know of), but she is either a sh*t-disturber or she can't read (the ad placed asking for lighter folk). Even the casting agent (or whomever) reiterated that to the crowd.

Hey, if I go to the car lot to buy a sports car, and the salesman keeps shoving a truck at me... I ain't buyin.

There are people out there that just LOVE to play the race card and seek out instances just like this to stir up some sh*t (maybe for a $ payout?). And as I posted above... were they to have a casting call for the lead of Dr. Martin Luther King... I wouldn't waste anyone's time dragging my white ass there.
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:42:16 AM

Yep, I bet the next piece of news we hear is about the lawsuit she has just filed against the film production for racial discrimination.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:42:35 AM

save me a spot in that lin ranger...or we can bring a tent and some food and make sure we are there first.
The_Zizzler writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:46:05 AM

H
The_Zizzler writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:49:33 AM

The casting agent is a professional who should have exercised due care and attention when placing the ad.

He may not have been racist but the AD content was controversial and should not have been worded like that or not worded at all.

He is an author of his own misfortune (literally).
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:57:50 AM

So now we know why John Rhys-Davies hasn't been signed up yet! If you don't know what I'm talking about just scroll down to "Gimli raises axe for Western civilization" in this article:

http://www.decentfilms.com/articles/lotr_junket.html

Also, isn't it a bit hypocritical to be politically correct about race yet they cast (and are now still casting) regular sized people for hobbits and dwarves then digitally shrank them (and sometimes used camera tricks) instead of casting midgets and actual dwarves??! Actually, that's not entirely true, they did cast midgets and dwarves for stand-ins and stunts. I guess that's all they're good for then is it?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 8:07:50 AM

After reading all this, I'd love to hear you guy's opinion about Johnny Depp being cast as the most famous screen Native American in film history. Would a casting director have been labled a racist if he told Johnny he was too white for the part?
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 9:13:16 AM

Got to say SAC as a white guy i think if Johnny Depp was told his skin colour wasn't right for the role then so be it.

I don't think that would be Racist at all.

If Bruce Willis went for the part of say Malcolm X or Jesse Jackson and was told NO Thankyou your skin colour isn't the right colour for the part, That's not racism IMO Thats just common sense..
SACdaddy writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 9:46:31 AM

So its also common sense that Hobbits are white? It so funny how the argument always turns into a what if a white guy was cast as a famous historical black figure. Not only would it be a ridiculous concept to change history so blatantly, but it would also be ridiculous if ONLY black people had a problem with the concept.
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 10:29:27 AM

You right on the historical black figure argument.

I wouldn't want a Black man to play a historical white figure either it would be pointless and why would you want to change history.

I must say i couldn't care if a Hobbit is Black , white, Brown or yellow.

But if it was a White person being turned away from the audition and not a Pakistani because of the colour of his or her skin would a white person say that's Racism.

I don't know..

I know it's something i myself wouldn't think of.

Anyway thought all you black guys were to cool to play little hobbits anyway..
Frank4969 writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 10:51:02 AM

GAY!
billofill writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 11:08:22 AM

Why didnt they just cast her as a Stump or an Orc Body or something?
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 12:46:50 PM

@SAC - good points. But in old Earth (fictional or not), people didn't get around much (let alone the isolated villages). Some villages, countries were all white. Africa was all black. Modernization of travel is what stirred the mix. I'm fine with it. But you can't honestly say you could see a black actor cast as George Washington anymore than Bruce Willis (good example tt) playing Malcolm X.

And The_Zizzler and a couple others on here had it correct. While the casting agent may not have been racist... he could have handled this a lot better (and I don't mean by tippy-toeing aroung... just better).
funseeker writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:23:43 PM

Yes, a lot better, he should have said you have too small feet for the role ... and nobody gets fired for being a 'feetist'
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:58:33 PM

Not yet anyway.....
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 7:23:38 PM

"So its also common sense that Hobbits are white? It so funny how the argument always turns into a what if a white guy was cast as a famous historical black figure. Not only would it be a ridiculous concept to change history so blatantly, but it would also be ridiculous if ONLY black people had a problem with the concept."

Yes, Hobbits are white, unless I missed something where Druid and Norse folklore somehow explicitly calls for Africans. That might work in a Roland Emmerich film, but not elsewhere.

And black people have been making a number of historical non-black figures black for ages, including Cleopatra, Nerfiti and especially Jesus Christ, so I don't want to hear that claptrap from you, Sacdaddy.

"It is racist. I can understad if she was blue black, but a lil off tone come on there is somthing in Hollywood called f*cking make up! "

If a white guy wearing blackface showed up for a film ccallin for black people, the sh*te guy's career would be over in a heartbeat.

Use your brains people!
Ranger writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 3:21:01 AM

@funseeker - if your comment was a sarcastic joke, fine. If not (and just asking because it's unclear to me if it was). If the casting agent dismissed her because she was too short, why should that not be offensive to her yet dismissing her for her skin tone be? And if you dismissed a midget (oh whatever... 'a little person') for height they'd raise a lot bigger stink than dismissing one for their skin tone.

In short... people can make anything a big deal.

Hobbit's are white, little brown lady. Suck it up! When they cast for the Sammy Davis Jr. bio, I PROMISE I won't show up for an audition.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 2:16:06 PM

WTF? This is f*cking stupid and I feel sorry for that Casting agent. This PC sh*t has been taken out of hand because the majority of people are extremely sensitive morons.

Oh so I guess they have to sit through bullsh*t casting for Superman because some people think Superman should be of color? Retarded. I'm Hispanic for the most part and I would be pissed if I saw a Hispanic looking Superman. The part is the part and aren't hobbits Caucasian, aka white little people?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved