WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tron Legacy" Tracking Very Poorly

Posted: December 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tron Legacy" Tracking Very PoorlySubmit Comment
Disney has spent $200 million developing "Tron Legacy" and probably just as much on marketing, but according to preliminary surveys, the movie is tracking significantly below expectations.

A movie usually makes a third of its total domestic gross during the opening weekend. Experts believe that "Tron Legacy" will have to debut to over $50 million just to put the film on path to at least make its money back. And at this point, tracking suggests that the movie will gross only $35 million during its first weekend.

Studios know that tracking numbers are not always correct. Just last weekend, Disney's "Tangled" took $69 million but was tracking at around $40 million. So there's still some hope for "Tron Legacy."

Question: Do you plan on seeing "Tron Legacy" when it hits 2D and 3D theaters on December 17th?

Click here to read more about "Tron Legacy."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Trentsteel writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:33:56 AM

What the hell is tracking?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:42:30 AM

Tron looks sh*t anyway there's nothing I'm excited about, Bridges young cgi face looks terrible, the acting looks terrible, the story looks terrible. f*ck tron right in the ear
WV-Films writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:57:10 AM

I'm sure it'll do fine. There's nothing else coming out.
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:04:39 AM

I think the young CHI Bridges looks cool. It not perfect but it shows we're not far off. I'll see Tron sure. But I'll be honest nothing about it looks groundbreaking.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:22:15 AM

Question: Do you plan on seeing "Tron Legacy" when it hits 2D and 3D theaters on December 17th?


Answer: I honesty say I don't know. This might be a low rental for me. From Wal-Mart's two for $10.00 bin.
Frank4969 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:24:40 AM

HELL NO!
Wallace writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:39:13 AM

@ Trentsteel:
According to Box Office Mojo, tracking refers to theatrical box office earnings. Additional sources of revenue, such as home entertainment sales and rentals, television rights, product placement fees, etc. are not included. All grosses published reflect domestic earnings, i.e., United States and Canada, unless otherwise noted.
Tracking a movie before the release does basically mean that you're trying to figur out how much money your film will make (first weekend, 10 days, during its entire run).
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:00:12 AM

As WV-Films said, there's nothing else in the theatres. In pure extravaganza TRON is alone this season. Maybe Narnia can offer some competition, but remember that the last one didn't do well. Yogi Bear is aimed at a different crowd. Left is Little Fockers and Gulliver's Travels, both can be runaway hits and steal some crowd from TRON, but Meet the Fockers was really bad (how many people want to see more) and Gulliver has, despite some awesome supporting actors, every possibility to be a new Land of the Lost.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:03:33 AM

I'm f*cking going even to see it in 3-D IMAX....Olivia Wilde in 3-D = Yum


Tell them to track this
And by this I mean my nuts




SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:13:19 AM

That's right folks, Tron: Legacy is a box-office bomb even before it's out yet.

How f*cking impatient are we that we have to "track" what a movie is going to make a full 3 weeks before opening?
Rambo writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:14:43 AM

it's not too late to call Dustin Hoffman for additional scenes shoots
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:15:06 AM

CGI bridges looks good until he starts talking, his mouth still looks liek a rockstar game character
LeeMaca writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:31:37 AM

nope!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:34:05 AM

Question: Do you plan on seeing "Tron Legacy" when it hits 2D and 3D theaters on December 17th?


Do bears sh*t in the woods?
Do Catholic Preists abuse boys?
Do Welsh men shag sheep?
Do Hillbilly's marry their sisters?

You see where I am going with this...









YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM GOING TO SEE IT!!!!!

just in case you are wondering.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:58:13 AM

The young Bridges actually works for me especially in the context of the film's narrative. Remember, this is supposed to be a virtual world made up of programs and users. The Construct has created an evil program version of its original creator as it remembered him from the first film. Its face is smooth and flawless but almost too perfect to be natural and real. Its a great contrast to the real Bridge who appears old and grizzled but obviously very human even though he lives in this virtual world. IMO the digital Bridge looks a little creepy and unreal but makes sense for the environment and context of the story.

As for TRON's success, I question the audience base for the film. TRON is a cult classic, but if you're under the age of 30 and not just a big film buff you may not have any emotional connection to the original. You didn't play the "arcade" games (which were badass for their time) and might not value its place in film and gaming history. If not, then you might not be that excited about a sequel that was almost 30 years in the making. The 16-25 yo demographic might not support a sequel to an original they don't appreciate. The film's success is a toss up if you ask me, but I'll be there on opening night for sure.
velocityknown writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:01:44 AM

The original film made 33 million on a 17 million dollar budget.

I'll never understand what the hell Disney was thinking ordering a $200 million sequel almost 30 years after the original became only a CULT hit. That's like 30 years from now someone orders a sequel to Serenity.

I smell a flop, people are trying to call it this year's Avatar. But that statement has a few things going against it:

1) It doesn't have "From the director of Titanic and Terminator" attached to it
2) It's a sequel which is sure to alienate some people
3) The one big star in it isn't advertised well in the trailers
4) Just not as much as hype around it.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:10:59 AM

@Sac

Nice post. Agreed
freshfromthedeli writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:19:54 AM

No interest. Might see it on dvd.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:20:47 AM

IMAX 3D it's happening. Claudio Miranda and TWO Jeff Bridges? I'm there.
Taco writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:39:55 AM

I see this making close to 60 million opening. Family movie with special effects during the holiday break equals money!!!!$$$$$
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:47:47 AM

I'll see it in 3D, hell yea
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:49:09 AM

3D sucks thats all I will say on the subject

wait one more thing

3D sucks, stop doing it, it hurts my wallet, my eyes, and makes the film worse too
Phil writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:54:15 AM

Hell, I'll even see it in 2D and 3D. Saw a screening about a month ago and it looked awesome!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:44:01 AM

SAC- That's a fair point mate i suppose their could be a reason to make Jeff Bridges look a bit computer generated as it fits perfectly with the storyline i just don't think it was an intentional thing i think if they could they'd make him look as human as possible. And your comment about the age thing is also true I'm 19 and i had barley ever heard of Tron so when i heard about this film I wasn't excited at all.
KindredMac writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:45:39 AM

@SACdaddy:
I totally agree with you on the look of Jeff Bridges' evil counter part.

I think this movie will do just fine. It looks exciting and intriguing. If snot nosed Teens and Early 20-somethings can't appreciate it then they can f*ck off.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:47:46 AM

@Phil

you lucky bastard!
atn5022 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:08:42 AM

@trentsteel

tracking has to do with presales and some polls conducted by the studios asking interest in the film by consumers
Dre-EL writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:09:39 AM

Absolutely gonna see this.
Snootch writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:17:48 AM

I predict a $65 Million opening weekend, no worse. My reasoning....I am a douche who can make stupid guesses with no consequences cause its the internet...and because of the gut feel that there are plenty of 80's leftovers like myself who have been waiting for a new Tron which will make it a surprisingly big release.

Also I thought the marketing scheme for Tangled sucked and had the movie look like a non Disney film and more of a Dreamworks piece but yet it did incredibly well and somehow Disney was right. So since they have been marketing so much for this since early in the year I will give them the benefit of the doubt and assume it will do well.

And yes it if it bombs I will find this post in 2 weeks and personally call my sell out as an ass.
Mighte Migit writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:07:21 PM

im defentily seein tron legacy
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:24:28 PM

yes tron legacy will definatly make at least 50 million in its weekend debut.
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:38:51 PM

@ Snootch

65 million is a good estimate. also do these tracking numbers also calculate in the fact that it comes out during a holiday? everyone sees a movie around christmas time and if you would have to pick any of the movies that are coming out during that time, that was made for an audience of all ages. it would have to be tron legacy. who ever is doing that tracking is a fool.
reaper113 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:39:36 PM

No.
Odd writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:51:37 PM

Im going to see it opening day.. just because something in a movie "looks" a lil shoddy doesnt mean its not a good/great film. You've still got music, story, and acting to fill the void.

As for the younger audience not really caring about this? Hmm not to sure about that as the Disney Studio is promoting the hell out of it, a website, new books, new toys (wish they had these when I was lil), games about/of it, and they also got quite a few other things like clothing, motorcycle jackets and other gadgets. Also I see the trailer for it alot. So I think itll do pretty good opening weekend and so on.. who gives two sh*ts about tracking...
rocketman writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 1:25:53 PM

The old one looked sh*t when i was a kid and this looks much the same with more CG.Won't get on Bluray,just not interested.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 1:31:47 PM

This will get me into a theater (most movies don't... I just buy the DVD if interested), as I have some loyalty to the first TRON and what it did for movie-making back when. I'll even pay the 3D up-charge.

But ANY company arrogant enough to lavish $400 MILLION on a movie deserves to get nervous (and even screwed) when it's time to sell tickets.

Many fans are even going out of their way to support low budget indie movies. What did Paranormal cost to make... $25? And look at the trainloads of cash that brought in.

Disney... as much as I like you for bringing back TRON bigger and better... your arrogance warrants you take a kick to the twat!


Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:28:03 PM

I haven't heard from anyone around me that they aren't unbelievably excited to see this movie. And isn't tracking where they estimate how much money a film will make based off online ticket receipts and stuff like that?
rabid writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:28:48 PM

it looks like it could be decent, but I was never a huge fan of the original. For me it's a rental.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 4:33:21 PM

how=hope Alex. Looks like you need an edit button too.

And I told you people this would happen. But do you listen? Of course not.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 4:37:10 PM

"How f*cking impatient are we that we have to "track" what a movie is going to make a full 3 weeks before opening?"

Umm, tracking is a well-known and accepted method of statistically predicting box-office revenues, and it's part of the biz for a reason: it works more often than not.

I would suspect then, judging by your comments Spooky, that you have a better way for the film industry to run their business? If so, please do share, not just with us, but them as well, so as to revolutionaize the business and make yourself a billionaire.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 4:49:14 PM

"I think this movie will do just fine. It looks exciting and intriguing. If snot nosed Teens and Early 20-somethings can't appreciate it then they can f*ck off."

I'm neither, but I have zero interest in this film, nor do I care for the first film which was outdated in 1990, and I found the story to be reliably boring, and laughabe to boot. How did they get into the computer again? Through the floppy drive?

Disney makes, and has ALWAYS made very sorry sci-fi films. They just don't know how to do them right, because they refuse to rely on a scientific appreciation for the story, and instead they treat technology like magic as seen by fools.

Yeah, the original Tron was a breakthrough in the age when everyone thought a Mac II was a supercomputer, but that's not enough these days, and obviously Disney knows it.

That's why they spent hundreds of millions making the CG in Tron Legacy every bit as 'cutting edge' as the first Tron was back then, because they think that's what sold the first film. The're following an aoutdated, outmoded and erroneoius formula for BO success.

I think they forgot that what sold the first film was primarily story, coupled with a new-age fascination with computers, a fascination that simply does not exist any more, and I think they've potentially lost some of the story momentum with the new film.

Thus, I predict no instant classic on Tron Legacy.

And yes, in general, the people who do the tracking aren't 'idiots' just because their research doesn't show what you hope to see.

That's like Christians dismissing biological evidence that doesn't factually support creationism.

On the other hand, like someone said, nothing much is in theaters during the period, so we will see if people flock to Tron Legacy out of desperation.
manichispanic writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:08:50 PM

i'm gonna see it at midnight.
JoeCanton22 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:19:29 PM

Tron:Legacy will actually maybe underperform due to Yogi Bear.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:12:13 PM

@Mink - '...they forgot that what sold the first film was primarily story, coupled with a new-age fascination with computers, a fascination that simply does not exist any more...'

Me thinks you hit the nail on the head as to why this movie will end up doing only ok. Arcades were huge back then... and home computers were still 'exotic.'

minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:24:04 PM

Thanks Ranger.

In all honesty, if it does well, fine. I really don't care, but I'll say the odds are against a BO hit, unless I'm missing something.

Lots riding against this film, from the release date to the dated material and the enormous price tag. None of the actors are BO draws, and the director is a virtual unknown.

The only way I can see it working is through a combined lack of solid competition and an influx of people who liked the first film.

Also, as an aside, did anyone know that the Tron Legacy director is also doing the remake of Disney's The Black Hole, which was a terrible film, even back then, and certainly does not deserve a remake? I smell Disney Desperation.
frost-ogre writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:40:04 PM

Oh,yeah! Only end-of the year movie I've been looking forward to.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:40:25 PM

Who would'nt want to see a sequel to a sci-fi classic. I'm definetly seeing Tron:Legacy in 2D because 3-D is really starting to PISS ME OFF!!!
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:14:05 PM

@minkowski,

I agree that "Black Hole" sucked; but isn't a bad movie more "deserving" of a remake, provided you can take a cool concept and execute it better? Now I'm not saying the "Black Hole" remake will be good, I'm just saying that sometimes lesser-known or less-than-great films provide more viable remake fodder.

Also, in answer to the article: No, I have no desire to see Tron: Legacy in theaters. It looks like a "maybe" rental.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:33:07 PM

Maybe this whole "it's been 25 years; lets make a sequel!" bullsh*t just needs to stop. At least they were smart with the still mostly crappy Lost Boys sequels and put those direct to video.
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 12:51:34 AM

i hope to see it, but if ppl are still rewatching tangled and harry potter kinda like how loser kept on seeing avatard, but hell idk if it will do good
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 1:10:19 AM

ah and i dont think it will bomb because the prices of 3d tickets
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 1:50:50 AM

AIDS
trailertrash writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:36:09 AM

I'm sure if the movie is any good it will make money.

Still not sure if i will watch it at the cinema though.
hoohoo3000 writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 10:52:25 AM

I just don't get people my age this year. People told me they thought two of my favorite movies of the year, "The Social Network" and "Scott Pilgrim" looked stupid and they weren't planning on seeing them. Tron looks awesome to me. The effects look great, Olivia Wilde looks great, and the soundtrack sounds awesome. What's the deal? I"ll be at the theaters opening day.
batdump writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 1:46:35 PM

I think Disney made a mistake by completely hiding the original under a bed like some deformed step child they didnt want anyone to know about. everybody knows that when a sequel comes out, u push the original to hype up interest in the sequel. if kids havent seen the original, and no longer have the means to now, why would they give a sh*t about the sequel besides for its effects?
rabid writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 2:20:30 PM

i watched Social Network and Scott Pilgrim, and I'd agree that they were both fairly stupid. Scott Pilgrim had its fun moments but I felt like I was trapped in a girly teen film.
Atemisk writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 12:24:48 AM

@trailertrash: And there is a fatal mistake: making an assumption based on logic where people are concerned. Lots of "good movies" don't make money. Lots of Great movies don't make money. And what does make money? Twilight... 2 hours of teenage idiots crying AND NOTHING ELSE. There's lots of other movies that prove it too but i think that says it pretty well.

As for the question: Yeah I'll see it... f*ck 3D though, useless gimmick bullsh*t.
GIST writes:
on December 3rd, 2010 at 5:43:31 PM

I've said it before and I'll say it again. I'm only going to watch it to support Daft Punk.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved