WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Joker and Batman Team-Up in Original "Batman 3" Story

Posted: December 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Joker and Batman Team-Up in Original "Batman 3" StorySubmit Comment
We just reported on a ShowbizSpy article which states that director Christopher Nolan is planning to use unseen footage of Heath Ledger as The Joker in "The Dark Knight Rises" in order to wrap up that storyline.

Moviehole decided to check the validity of the story with its Warner Bros sources. The reply was "It's just not real," adding that the original plan was to have Ledger reprise the role, but Nolan is now completely against using computers to resurrect the actor.

The source went on to say that Ledger was set to play The Joker in a scene, which would have showed the character in prison becoming an unlikely aide to Batman (similar to Clarice and Hannibal Lecter in "Silence of the Lambs"), who would have been on a mission to stop Two-Face. That storyline has obviously been thrown out.

As always, both websites use some unknown sources to get their information, which means that none of this is confirmed. Stay tuned.

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PirateDave128 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:27:04 AM

Again, we already knew this information as it was mentioned way back in 2008 after Dark Knight was released.
We knew the planned storyline was to have Joker acting as a Hannibal esque character and that this storyline was thrown out for obvious reasons.
STOP RE-POSTING OLD BATMAN 3 RUMOURS THAT HAVE ALREADY BEEN DENIED!
Trentsteel writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:35:39 AM

I still hope they do it. Just one scene even. It's been done convincingly with movies like The Crow.
sc_kg writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:07:03 AM

That I f*cking understand. Batman 3 needs different gravity. And this would be perfect.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:31:20 AM

The source went on to say that Ledger was set to play The Joker in a scene, which would have showed the character in prison becoming an unlikely aide to Batman (similar to Clarice and Hannibal Lecter in "Silence of the Lambs"), who would have been on a mission to stop Two-Face. That storyline has obviously been thrown out ... as would have Nolan by screaming Bat-philes that would tear him limb from torso at the Comic-Con. WTF ?

Wasn't Joker responsible for numerous tragedies, including the paralysis of Barbara Gordon and the death of Jason Todd, the second Robin ?

If this would have happened .... I would have said, " Way to f*ck with continuity. "
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:48:18 AM

There never was any idea from Nolan to piss on Ledger's legacy by using unseen footage or CGI-face. Just stop with all The Joker-news, they aren't real.
Monash writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:50:44 AM

Batman needed Joker's help to stop a guy who died the previous movie? yeah good source
RapeVanDamn writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:59:01 AM

I hear Nolan is casting Joseph Gordon-Levitt with lifts in his shoes as The Joker and is going to credit his performance as Ledger's.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:05:29 AM

I hear they are going to replace Bale with Will Smith
otis writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:07:08 AM

@Rape

Yeah? Is that what you hear?
otis writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:08:17 AM

I hear a far-off bell ringing.

At a boy, Clarence!
RapeVanDamn writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:19:42 AM

Otis, I heard it from a very reliable source, myself...and I've never lied to myself. You can take this one to the bank!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:35:22 AM

I just wanna know who the villans are before I go apesh*t.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:44:22 AM

I heard

Woody Allen will play the Riddler

Lindsey Lohands will play Scarecrow

Bridget Neilson will play Two Face


Am I missing someone?
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:00:40 AM

I hear Nolan is not directing it anymore and the new director, Roger Christian is moving forward with replacing the bat suit with a new and improved Terl Suit complete with 7 foot lifts for Bale/ Will smith and that that most of the suit, if not all will be in cgi but that is if it TRACKS well.

Also they will be selling sonic ears at the 3-d showings so you know what the bats will be saying
sc_kg writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:04:43 AM

@Crazyhorse

I know it was a joke, but Woody Allen would make great Ventriloquist.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:11:50 AM

sc_kg

Your right, he would also be better playing a Mime, though staying quiet might be tough for him

I wonder if there are any villians that are Mimes
KindredMac writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:49:17 AM

if it tracks well.... heh heh heh....
rabid writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:27:05 PM

I still wouldn't mind seeing a scene of that sort. They never have to show his whole face, just a bit of eyes through the prison door and a sound-alike voice.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:30:50 PM

You know they really need to get their heads out of the CGI gutter which has to me become a very a low form of filmmaking. Just put an actor with a similiar physique as ledger and who can do the voice in a shadowed prison cell. It look frikkin' creepy as hell and keep with Nolan's concept of the Joker's unknown origins. I think it be a good send off to Ledger's character.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 4:31:26 PM

Because Heath Ledger killed himself, apparently we won't see another on-screen live action joker for two decades out of 'respect'.

This Ledger worship is getting absolutely ridiculous.

"Wasn't Joker responsible for numerous tragedies, including the paralysis of Barbara Gordon and the death of Jason Todd, the second Robin ?

If this would have happened .... I would have said, " Way to f*ck with continuity. "

Actually Max, Joker has 'aided' Batman a numer of times, in various ways, to a varying degree of 'cooperation', and yes, the Joker was responsible for a number of crimes, like paralyzing Barbara Olsen and and killiing her mother, along with the murder of Jason Todd and even the death of Batman's parents, according to the first Burton film, but those are all in different continuities that have little to do with Nolon's separate vision.
sully writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:32:17 PM

max is this all you do all day
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:40:23 PM

^^At least he contributes, sully, instead of taking the time to bitch about those who do...
Champ1432 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:49:50 PM

Have to agree with Mink on this one.

Ledger gave an outstanding performance in The Dark Knight, and I liked his work in several movies. But because he died, he's now almost a deity? No one can speak an ill syllable of him, and the Joker is now untouchable as a character? The Joker is one of the, if not THE, main Batman nemesis (everyone marvel at my grasp of the obvious lol). For him to be "unavailable" now because the actor that portrayed him died before his time is senseless to me. Again, Ledger's portrayal was stellar, nothing bad to say about it at all. But it's not as if someone else couldn't do a good job as well.

This man did not die in defense of his country, or rescuing babies from a burning house full of wolves.

I'm not saying we need to trash him, and that's not my intent at all. I just think it's ridiculous that because someone popped a few too many pills, we can't have the Joker back. If the story calls for it, and it would make for a good script, then they should give the part to someone else.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:01:20 PM

"Have to agree with Mink on this one."

Usually people that agree with me end up in the shower under the scalding hot water for hours. I hope you fare better.

But...thanks for manning up and having the balls to do so. It's about time someone said what needed to be said on the Ledger issue, other than me that is.

Every day, honest, hard working people die either in the service of their family or doing their job.

Heath killed himself popping pills because he couldn't handle the stress of being famous and wealthy and popular.

Damn. Kick me in the nuts, but I just don't feel sorry for him, and because of his weakness, the audience is deprived of the Joker, Batman's perfect nemesis.

I just have no sympathy for the situation, regardless of the issue of respect for the dead, which is besides the point.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:18:53 PM

I like how this WP article claims the Joker and Batman were originally intended to 'team up'.

What? How's that again? The title makes it seem like they were Riggs and Murtaugh, The Lone Ranger and Tonto, the black chick and the predator from AvP.

That's a false image to sell. Batman visits the Joker in Arkham. They chat. Batman gets some information. Maybe. Or he just gets his head screwed with, but regardless, that is NOT a team up.

Very misleading on your part, Alex.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:50:09 PM

sully writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:32:17 PM
max is this all you do all day

@sully

No. I also enjoy watching whining, drooling, crapping babies learn how to use the Internet, type out words and make a completely nonsensiqual sentence.

Thank you for meeting such expectations.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:09:17 PM

I consider this irony.

If Brandon Lee and Heath Ledger has NOT died (for the sake of arguement regarding the subject matter of this article), would it have as much impact ? I mean, sure, Heath made the Joker his own (and I really won't go into the medication and suicide post production) to such an extent that he had problems mentally coping with such sadistic a character (like if Robert Deniro, a method actor, had taken the Hannibal "The Cannibal" Lecter character from Silence of the Lambs), but if he had lived ... or if Brandon Lee had made The Crow and survived (for the hypothetical sake of the question), without ever dying from the prop gun ...

would it have made such an impact with the target audience it was MARKETING for ?

No.

In acting, you have to separate the character from the actor. To use my former example, Anthony Hopkins played Hannibal " The Cannibal " Lecter and had used his acting resources and theater training to not only make the character created by Thomas Harris memorable, but also icon ... HIS. So that when you say Hannibal Lecter, his vision should spring to mind.

That being said, Heath did the same with the Joker. But the difference, as pointed out by Minkowski, is that Jack Nicholson did HIS version of Joker, Mark Hammill has done his wonderfully vocal spin on Joker and now the late Heath Ledger did his.

But that means that Hannibal Lecter, Eric Draven or (in the case of current relevance) US Marshall "Rooster" Cogburn.

So could anyone else play the Joker (with lots of talent) ? Yes, sure, of course. Could they do the exact say gestures, vocal inflections and cadence as Heath ? With training sure. Will they be seen to be good as Heath ? That is contingent on Ledger fans, post mordem.

But if Nolan wanted to do this, it certainly would fit within the contextual continuity of his version of the Batman Universe.
kudanrt writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:11:26 PM

I hear nic cage is takin over for christian bale!! And tim is directin instead of nolan!! Its true its true!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:13:50 PM

sc_kg writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:04:43 AM
@Crazyhorse

I know it was a joke, but Woody Allen would make great Ventriloquist.

@sc kg

Yeah, he could have Soon Yi sitting on his knee, singing " My Ol' Kentucky Home " (with c*m dribbling out her full mouth), while drinking her urine from a glass.
mandevil13 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:39:00 PM

I know all you guys are going to hate me for this, But I think that Joseph Gorden-Levitt would be a perfect replacement for Heath as the Joker. He is a damn fine actor and in a way looks a little like Heath. I know that he worked with Heath before, and he would be able to pay heath a great tribute with his performance. I just think that the Joker is too big a character to leave out of the Batman universe.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:27:13 PM

Not the greatest idea but still sounds good.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved