WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Joker to Return for "The Dark Knight Rises"?

Posted: November 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Joker to Return for "The Dark Knight Rises"?Submit Comment
At the end of "The Dark Knight," The Joker may have been apprehended, but the storyline was definitely not resolved. It seemed like Heath Ledger was going to reprise his role, but the actor ended up passing away.

During interviews, director Christopher Nolan has been saying that he will not try to bring back The Joker for the third "Batman" film, but it seems that he may have to in order to wrap up the storyline. ShowbizSpy has learned that Nolan is now planning to use unseen footage from Ledger's performance for "The Dark Knight Rises."

An insider revealed: "The idea is to use these fragments of cut scenes and use CGI to have The Joker appear one last time. Chris wants some continuity between movies and for the franchise to pay tribute to Heath and his portrayal of the Joker. It would only be a fleeting moment in the movie and would only be included with the full consent of Heath's family."

Source: ShowbizSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:26:58 PM

Sounds ook, I guess, but god help me if the Dr. Strange script is a reality and not some jaked up falsehood like I hope.
beepboop writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:27:19 PM

Use unused footage, whatever, but don't pull a Tron2 and add a CGI Ledger face. It even looks absolutely awful on the living.
telur writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:31:47 PM

If Heath Ledger on The Dark Knight Rises, he need to be payed. Who going to have his money?
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:32:20 PM

I remember reading a concept story a few years back saying that the movie opens up at the trial of The Joker. We'll see if that's still in the works.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:32:46 PM

Give it to Sam Worthington. He deserves it.
sc_kg writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:51:48 PM

I'm glad they passed on Riddler, because the basic question "Who is Batman" was the agenda of Joker in "Dark Knight". They need completly different gravity. And Doctor Strange is not the right choice. I like this chcaracter, but is still too close to Riddler. But still, even if he's main antagonist I have faith in both of Nolans and Goyer.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:53:03 PM

This is EXACTLY what I f*cking LOATHE about Hellyweird. The rumormill on movies, such as "The Dark Knight Rises (which sounds like a really bad Vixen Video high budget porn) ", makes me feel like I'm downing months of that Lemon Cleanse and sh*tting out all the tapeworms attached to the inner walls of my stomach, which flush out with all the cinematic feces I have to be exposed to by TMZ, Hollywood Insider, Extra!, The Hollwood Reporter and the granddaddy of them all, Variety (Magazine) (I think that's the name of the official trademag for the industry) ...

This is another bullsh*t rumor. Nolan has confirmed time and time again : THERE IS NO f*ckING JOKER IN THE THIRD MOVIE OF HIS BATMAN TRILOGY.

And now he's using cutting room floor footage aka deleted scenes for 'flashback' sequences for the third movie ? How f*cking bass ackwards retarded would that sh*t be ?

So far Nolan hasn't pulled any unstrategized sh*t in doing his movies. This sounds too unstrategized (or a move to anticipate Hot Topic! geeks to come fill asses in seats for "lost footage" of the late Heath Ledger).


Cut the sh*t already, Hellyweird.
Sinestro writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:55:17 PM

Did you really think Prey was such a bad concept, Minkowski? It wasn't really a bad story at all. As far as this goes, just let it be, we (Batman fans) had a great Joker and there's no need to f*ck around with it. He passed away, let it rest.
crimsonshaft writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:04:17 PM

Just as long as they do it better than the sopranos
rockkillers writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:06:56 PM

I think it would be cool to briefly show the joker using old footage. I'd like to see that skateboarding footage I read about. The Prey script seems like it could be good, but I'm not looking forward to seeing any sort of catwoman, sounds horrible.
Sinestro writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:28:01 PM

I don't see why, she's just a world-class thief. She's not gonna have a tail and funny ears, if anything she'll wear some kinda stealth suit and lightweight night-vision goggles. I mean Scarecrow, Joker and Two-Face are far more cartoonish and outlandish even when approached realistically. Selina can still be Catwoman without having any kind of mask, make up or CGI burn scars.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:44:53 PM

Sinestro writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:28:01 PM

I don't see why, she's just a world-class thief. She's not gonna have a tail and funny ears, if anything she'll wear some kinda stealth suit and lightweight night-vision goggles. I mean Scarecrow, Joker and Two-Face are far more cartoonish and outlandish even when approached realistically. Selina can still be Catwoman without having any kind of mask, make up or CGI burn scars.


@Sinestro

Like Adam Hughes covers. More realistic.
Baby D writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:45:04 PM

At least they're not having somebody else play the Joker. Nobody can replace Heath Ledger in that role.
Sinestro writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:01:11 PM

Yea, Max, like the Hughes covers. Well, except we can't bring back Audrey Hepburn from the dead at her prime to play her, but her character can be easily done without being ridiculous about it. She's normal, she's not a whack job like the Arkham crew.

Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:09:04 PM

If he does he is just trying to get that 100 million boost of ticket sales ledgers "last" performance would bring to the table

And good ole nolan or "chris" as everyone calls him wouldn't do that .....or would he ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:09:13 PM

I don't know about anyone else, but I'm awaiting the reveal of a fourth movie based on that Hemmingway classic, " The Dark Knight Also Sets ".


*crickets chirping*


Ahem!


Mooooving on!


Sinestro writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:01:11 PM
Yea, Max, like the Hughes covers. Well, except we can't bring back Audrey Hepburn from the dead at her prime to play her, but her character can be easily done without being ridiculous about it. She's normal, she's not a whack job like the Arkham crew.

@Yeah, and she's gotta have a Cassandra Peterson/Elvira rack. A nice set o' tits.

Tig ol' bitties, as they used to say.

http://www.lanceagena.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/CW51.jpg

She kinda resembles Carla Gugino.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:09:51 PM

^ Or ... dare I say, a bit like Gina Gershon ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:11:21 PM

Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:09:04 PM
If he does he is just trying to get that 100 million boost of ticket sales ledgers "last" performance would bring to the table

And good ole nolan or "chris" as everyone calls him wouldn't do that .....or would he ?

@Big Daddy

If he's as smart/calculating as we all guess him to be ... count on it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:12:17 PM

^ Then again, we are playing Hollywood's favorite parlour trip ... "Speculation : The Board Game" ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:13:14 PM

^ That's like saying Hollywood plans to have Yatzee : The Movie

*blinks*

Nahhhhhhhh......
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:15:01 PM

crimsonshaft writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:04:17 PM
Just as long as they do it better than the sopranos

@crimsonshaft

I agree. That ending couldn't have been more hamhanded than if they scored it to the Rolling Stones "Fade to Black".

.... Unless they came back later and pulled a "Bobby Ewing in the Shower".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:16:01 PM

Can anyone look at that photo of Heath Ledger from " The Dark Knight " and NOT think of the Steve Miller song ? ... " Some people call me the space cowboy ... "
holtlt writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:30:42 AM

One name: Joeseph Gordon-Levitt, i can really picture him doing Heath's role and following up legacy
dorkus1226 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:44:49 AM

@holtlt
i agree, but not necessarily acting-wise. they look like they could be brothers!
OneTime writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:57:46 AM

dammit heath why did u hafta die...
SaulSilver writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:58:12 AM

f*ck footage!
All that is necessary...would be Batman breaking into Arkham or meeting Gordon secretly at Arkham(He is a fugitive and all)
And one nice sickening Ledger Joker laugh in the background.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 1:17:24 AM

I think John Glover could be a pretty good Joker. Not in The Dark Knight Rises though obviously as he's too old.
Damon242 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 1:28:46 AM

Somewhat contradicts Nolan's previous statements that the Joker would not appear in the third film in any way.

I don't buy it. Not one bit.
rocketman writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 1:33:10 AM

f*cking OLD NEWS came out over a year ago.We may hear Jokers voice in Arkham as Bats walks past his cell was the story.
c-prime writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:06:53 AM

I don't understand this at all. The Joker's storyline in "The Dark Knight" was resolved just fine. There's no need to carry it on any further. NO NEED. He incited mass chaos (albeit temporary) and fulfilled his objective of subverting Gotham's DA. And then he got apprehended again (presumably for good, at least as far as the remainder of Nolan's story is concerned). All that's left to do with The Joker in the next film is to make some brief mention about where he is incarcerated. That's it, that's all. There's absolutely no need for a CGI Joker, Ledger stand-ins, or any adulterated option like that. I repeat, his storyline was effectively resolved.

Honestly, if Christopher Nolan was going to be struggling so hard to settle on a villain for the third movie, he should've just set up Two-Face's incursion into villainy at the very end of "The Dark Knight" (instead of early in the third act, then hastily killing him off in the finale). That was my expectation right before I saw the film. Sure, it ended nicely, but you're left with a craving to witness Dent wreak even more havoc. Keeping him alive to be the main villain in the next film would've satisfied that desire and raised the stakes for Batman as effectively (if not more so) than any alternative direction they opt to go with.

Still, my hopes are high. I have scant fears that this sequel will be letdown.
SaulSilver writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 3:17:34 AM

The laugh from the bowels of Arkham is all that is necessary.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 3:49:51 AM

The only way to do it appropriately would be to show one of the Joker's videos from TDK again or just use the laugh. But....do..NOT...recast. That's so wrong. But I figure that since Nolan has made about 2 billion dollars for WB with the recent Inception as well as TDK, then hopefully they're not trying to force him to put Joker in in a disrespectful way.
CandyRunt writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:49:25 AM

what happened to Nolan not liking CGI? i think the fact that he flipped a huge truck without CGI proves it, stick to your guns mother f*cker!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:16:02 AM

Most of the people on here have said what needs to be said and have said it before.
PirateDave128 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:25:18 AM

THIS IS EXCEEDINGLY OLD NEWS! Old news that Nolan has already denied. Why are you re-posting old Batman 3 rumours that have already been denied by either Nolan or David S. Goyer?
mdubiel24@gmail.com writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:01:45 AM

Christopher Nolan wouldn't put it in the film if it didn't work. I think that they definitely need to work out something to place the Joker in there for a breif minute because theres no doubt Heath would of reprised his role whhich would make the third epic despite were all in order for a movie of our lives. Christopher Nolan is one of the greatest director/writers of all time. I love his style and all of his movies. But overall I think somehow a quick Joker cameo would be a great scene
rabid writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:31:13 PM

I figure that at least the sight of Joker in the film is a given.
holtlt writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 3:32:58 PM

@SaulSilver...I think that would be terrific and fair enough
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 7:36:32 PM

I consider this irony.

If Brandon Lee and Heath Ledger has NOT died (for the sake of arguement regarding the subject matter of this article), would it have as much impact ? I mean, sure, Heath made the Joker his own (and I really won't go into the medication and suicide post production) to such an extent that he had problems mentally coping with such sadistic a character (like if Robert Deniro, a method actor, had taken the Hannibal "The Cannibal" Lecter character from Silence of the Lambs), but if he had lived ... or if Brandon Lee had made The Crow and survived (for the hypothetical sake of the question), without ever dying from the prop gun ...

would it have made such an impact with the target audience it was MARKETING for ?

No.

In acting, you have to separate the character from the actor. To use my former example, Anthony Hopkins played Hannibal " The Cannibal " Lecter and had used his acting resources and theater training to not only make the character created by Thomas Harris memorable, but also icon ... HIS. So that when you say Hannibal Lecter, his vision should spring to mind.

That being said, Heath did the same with the Joker. But the difference, as pointed out by Minkowski, is that Jack Nicholson did HIS version of Joker, Mark Hammill has done his wonderfully vocal spin on Joker and now the late Heath Ledger did his.

But that means that Hannibal Lecter, Eric Draven or (in the case of current relevance) US Marshall "Rooster" Cogburn.

So could anyone else play the Joker ? Yes. Could they do the exact say gestures, vocal inflections and cadence as Heath ? With training sure. Will they be seen to be good as Heath ? That is contingent on Ledger fans, post mordem.

But if Nolan wanted to do this, it certainly would fit within the contextual continuity of his version of the Batman Universe.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:36:27 PM

Joker Or No Joker I still want Black Mask as the primary villain SCREW Hugo Strange!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved