WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Stephen Fry as Mycroft in "Sherlock Holmes 2"

Posted: November 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Stephen Fry as Mycroft in "Sherlock Holmes 2"Submit Comment
SplashNews were able to snap some photos of Stephen Fry (V for Vendetta) on the London set of the "Sherlock Holmes" sequel, in which Fry plays Sherlock's older brother Mycroft who possesses deductive powers exceeding even Sherlock's. Check out the photos below.

In the new movie, Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr) and his sidekick Dr. Watson (Jude Law) join forces to outwit and bring down their fiercest adversary, Professor Moriarty (Jared Harris).

The sequel is once again directed by Guy Ritchie (Snatch) and is scheduled to hit theaters on December 16th, 2011.

Set Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: SplashNews/a>


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Charlie9 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:00:52 AM

Ledge
j-man writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:25:47 AM

^ couldnt have said it better
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:38:21 AM

"...possesses deductive powers exceeding even Sherlock's"

how is that even f*cking possible? lol
Doc_Harley writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:18:35 AM

Excited about this movie. Although I agree Ted about exceeding Sherlock's abilities. It's going to be interesting.
trailertrash writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:38:22 AM

The guy is a class act and is a good addition to this ...
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:14:22 AM

The sequel is once again directed by Guy Ritchie (Snatch) and is scheduled to hit theaters on December 16th, 2011.


No wonder I liked the first and couldn't figure out why? I was not aware he directed the first film. Guess I was blinded by the light of RDJ star on the rise.

He is the dude, who plays a dude, pretending to be another dude!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:50:50 AM

I liked the 1st, this is gonan be good
WV-Films writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:15:54 PM

and exiting a victorian era car....
The Derp Knight writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:28:26 PM

Honestly, wasn't terribly impressed with the first one. Bit ol Stephen is always a pleasure.

In related news, A Bit of Fry and Laurie is on Instant Netflix.
Champ1432 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 6:23:47 PM

Excited for this!! I think it's going to be really good.

How awesome is it to be RDJ right now? Getting to play two awesome franchise characters.

Loved the first Holmes, can't wait for this one!
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:00:01 PM

Ok, so we have Robert Downey Junior returning in a sequel to the first film, and Ritchie ie once again directing? I'm there, though like others, and as I stated once before in the original Sherlock Holmes 2 thread, IIRC, I don't much care for this addition to the cast in the form of Sherlock Holes' better brother, which to me sounds like a cancerous infection of character bloat, but I do think a few comedic comeuppances for Holmes are desperately in order, and would add to the film's rather hilarious story.

I do wonder though: who will play Moriarity? Like the end of Batman Begins, heralding the arrival of the archvillain The Joker, the first Sherlock film prepared the way for Moriarity, and though I would rather have Holmes go up against Moriarity WITHOUT the complications of his brother, complications actually missing from the original Doyle stories IIRC again, I do hope Holmes and Watson alone lead the way and I hope someone good plays Moriarity.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:20:51 PM

@mink

how about brody I think he could pull off the character and would mesh well with the current cast
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:31:02 PM

Slap a goatee on him and he could work, but I do think he might be a bit too young, as I imagine Moriarity as soomething of a nearing middle-aged Professor type. That, and I'd keep seeing him as he appeared in Predators, talking like Duke Nukem and killing everyting that moved. Needless to say, he impressed the sh*t out of me on that film.

Oh sh*t, I just looked, and accoring to IMDb, Jared Harris is taking the role. NOT my first choice, nor my second or third, or....I thought they were looking at someone else?
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:39:18 PM

^ fine
How about Sir Connery for 10 points Alex!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:45:26 PM

@Big Daddy

Do you really want August Dewinter as the Holmes villian in this one ?

Or how about Allen Quartermain ?

Those were the last two characters Connery played in quite awful movies.

When it comes to Mr. Fry, as a British actor, Mr. Fry is everything that epitomizes an excellent comedic, theater trained actor.

That being said, that photo made me think of that photo of him as Oscar Wilde, in the red suite and locks.

I hope, for God and Country, Sir Fry (Yes, I am well aware I am not bloody certain he's been given a knighthood by the Queen, but if not, he damn well sure have been given one by now.) can pull it off.

Otherwise, it'll look like a d*ckens version of Deliverance between Downey Jr. and Fry.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:51:03 PM

^ God, that scene with Connery walking among a British version of a high school "United Nations" electorate ( in 'The Avengers' ... and for those who only read Marvel, this is based on a surreal British spy show from the 60s set during the Cold War and starring the quite sexy Diana Rigg back in her high cheerleader/karate kicking days and Patrick MacNee, before assisting Roger Moore in A View to a Kill, against Christopher Walken as a Bond Baddie who learned his grooming tips from Simon Labon, not the Marvel superhero team) and hitting that globe into the camera with his cane ....

that made me want to sh*t on his Aston Martin and severely recall his License ... to Ill.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:53:59 PM

minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:31:02 PM
Slap a goatee on him and he could work, but I do think he might be a bit too young, as I imagine Moriarity as soomething of a nearing middle-aged Professor type. That, and I'd keep seeing him as he appeared in Predators, talking like Duke Nukem and killing everyting that moved. Needless to say, he impressed the sh*t out of me on that film.

Oh sh*t, I just looked, and accoring to IMDb, Jared Harris is taking the role. NOT my first choice, nor my second or third, or....I thought they were looking at someone else?

@minkowski

A goatee on Stephen will just make him look like that bastard crazy general (along with the handlebar, WW I mustache, of course) from Blackadder Goes Forth.

And if I want to see Baldrick, I'll just ask Google for photos of Mustache Rider, during her days as a carny freak in Romania.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:55:33 PM

^ Oh. You meant Jared Harris.

Sorry.

He looks a little like a British David Hyde Pierce to me.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:00:29 PM

I'm confused. Weren't we talking about Adrien Brody as Moriarity, or was that in a parallel universe?

My head hurts. Nappy time.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:04:28 PM

Lol
You said professor type I said Sir connery
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:07:50 PM

@ max

Connery could pull it off have faith in the old boy .....although I do believe his shadow would cast over the movie way to much
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:07:52 PM

I call your bluff and raise you a Gene Hackman.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:32:16 PM

@minkowski

Only if he (Gene Hackman) wears that frizzy wig from Superman and Ned Beatty is his wacky assistant (provided he's still alive).

Sorry to confuse you earlier. I thought you were talking about Stephen Fry having the goatee, then Jared Harris.

Alex, could you mail Mink some Aleve and a glass of water ?
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 3:28:16 AM

always get tricked into thinking its the futurama fry... damn you hollywood!!!!! *shakes fist in anger*
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 8:21:24 AM

I see your Hackman and raise you a James Gandolfini
Odd writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 12:25:47 PM

Why not just have "The Dude" - Jeff Bridges as Moriarty..hes got a beard, shave it down to the goatee. lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved