WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Hated Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean"

Posted: November 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Hated Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean"Submit Comment
During an interview with Vanity Fair magazine, Johnny Depp revealed that Disney hated his portrayal of Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean," despite the fact that Depp was nominated for a Best Actor Oscar for that role.

He said that the studio "couldn't stand" his interpretation of the character and one executive even asked if Sparrow is supposed to be gay. Depp told her that "all my characters are gay," which "really made her nervous."

Apparently only Disney doesn't like Depp as Sparrow, since the first three films grossed around $2.7 billion and a fourth installment is currently in development.

Source: Vanity Fair


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 6:26:18 AM

Typical studio execs, don't know brilliance when they see it.
PirateDave128 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 6:42:28 AM

Old news, and I think Disney must have warmed to the portrayal by now as they did give him $55 Million to star in the 4th Film
boogiel writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 6:44:41 AM

"Depp told her that "all my characters are gay," which "really made her nervous."

Spot On.

johnny_boy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:04:32 AM

I'm not a fan of depp A's sparrow but will admit he does his job well. Execs wouldn't know talent if it bit them in the ass.
Farradin writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:47:41 AM

Stupid B*tch! Why would she think he was gay when he spends the whole movie perving on Knightley.
funseeker writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:06:04 AM

Did they have scripts in parts 2 and 3 or were there just random scenes?
Doc_Harley writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:15:45 AM

Johnny Depp is my hero.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:09:31 AM

Funny, He was the only good thing to come out of that series...... except for Knightly.

Knightly is major f*ckable
Monash writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:20:12 AM

Did they not see several whores slap him?
I'd hate to know what he was paying them for if he was gay
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:37:45 AM

^ make up that he didn't return
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:24:42 AM

Imagine that. Bet they love it now.
mrstretch writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 10:40:10 AM

I hate disney for making these movies because they suck balls.
darthraige writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:45:23 AM

These studio execs, or c*ntS, no nothing about movies. Just sign the f*cking checks.
darthraige writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:45:47 AM

*know
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 12:03:51 PM

I bet he could tell that female suit today, that he is gay and he's been rapeing Disney every since the first installment for every penny they are worth.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:11:00 PM

I call bullsh*t. Disney died in '66.
bluemeenie writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:18:23 PM

Several Disney execs wanted to change the name to Butt Pirates of the Carribean..which made them very nervous too...
bluemeenie writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:20:38 PM

He meant 'all his characters are happy'....happy people make Disney nervous...
BobMcBob writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:56:40 PM

how can anyone hate him? a clean-cut Johnny Depp looks better than most women
Ramrod writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 2:47:19 PM

does seem gay tho
FBO writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 3:21:36 PM

Old News, he said this right after the first one came out. And Jack Sparrow isn't gay, he's hibitually drunk.
Rambo writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 3:22:04 PM

bloom's character was gayer
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 3:37:37 PM

Any character Bloom plays is gayer.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 3:42:35 PM

hello
thinkvideo writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 3:46:14 PM

bluemeenie - "Butt Pirates of the Carribean"

hahahahahahaha
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 3:49:20 PM

Bloom as Bloom is gayer
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:04:03 PM

Disney is discriminating in having gay characters ? Didn't we always suspect Donald and Mickey knocking boots ? That would explain Mickey's falsetto and the reason why Donald never says anything with a clear throat.
Wallace writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:05:50 PM

Thats "news" from July 2006, Empire magazine by Ian Nathan. Nice work, WP.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:06:42 PM

lol.
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:29:40 PM

Well Disney cast another person as captain sparrow see how well that does for you, you dopes

I hear a person standing in line for 3 hours wanting to play the hobbit is looking for a part

minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 5:49:13 PM

Alex is only reporting what Vanity Fair recently reported, so blame VP instead of WP, folks, though I guess Alex could have done a little fact checking, but hell, this is a movie site and not the NYT. Oops, bad example.

Anyway, like others said, Depp was the only thing worth watching in those films, and I can hardly see how he was gay, just fashionably flamboyant and eccentric, which, back in the time period these films are supposedly set, was hardly equivalent to being a homosexual.

Really, it's just a case of an unimaginative and closeminded exec transferring her modern biases onto a far removed historical period. Rather ignorant attitude IMO.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:39:43 PM

These executives should just stick to what they're good at... bad judgment, greed, bean-counting... and leave their nose out of the creative process. Because if they WERE any good at it, they'd be in front of the camera like Depp making the HUGE cash!

I haven't heard them complain about the $2.7 billion they've banked because of Depp, nor any comments from them as to his Oscar nod(s).

If they had half a brain, they should be embarrassed for even uttering such ungrateful comments.

Disney = Douches!
darkraven28 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:50:22 PM

And Depp laughed all the way to the bank because the franchise is HIS now. No more Orlando Bloom bullsh*t. Though I have to say I'll miss Keira.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:01:37 PM

Why miss her? You can have her every night. Just post a life-sized image of her on the wife or girlfriend's face. And call her Keira-baby when you do it. I'm sure they won't mind if you cut holes for the mouth and nose.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:05:22 PM

I haven't heard them complain about the $2.7 billion they've banked because of Depp, nor any comments from them as to his Oscar nod(s).

That's what the Disney kin wipe their asses with every year.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:14:52 PM

This back-stabbing of their golden goose Depp is beyond belief!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:16:43 PM

Disney : When you miss the days of the Third Reich and mass genocide for ethnic cleansing, count on Disney.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:43:18 PM

@Ranger

I bet it went like this
" depp who is gay?"

" no worries we still have
Mickey,minnie,pooh( ha pooh) daisey the duck, both of them. the dogs the dwarfs the princesses ( all of them) peter pan and tink the lost boys, all of pixar most of 3-D and just for sh*ts and giggles those amusement park things"
Snootch writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:08:53 PM

Eisner was a typical exec douche with no vision and almost destroyed Disney single handedly. He is a guy who thought nothing of letting Pixar go off on their own. Nice move d*ck!
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 9:45:24 PM

Uh, Pixar was it's own company until bought by Disney, and they did pretty well up until then. In fact, one could argue that Pixar has suffered since being acquired by Disney.

Now, from a business point of view, yeah letting Pixar go wasn't a good idea.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 3:23:31 AM

"all my characters are gay" hahaha what a response. Depp is my second fav actor behind daniel day lewis. way to go johnnnny!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 6:09:30 AM

Disney Hated Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean"


...and this is coming from a studio which thinks "Toy Story 3" is an Oscar worthy Best Picture winner.
goatweasel writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 5:06:44 AM

Hmmm I wonder if they hated him after the films + merchandise made $2.7 billion.... I have never met a pirate in my life( well there was that one time in somalia but i digress) I suppose an ideal Disney 'jack Sparrow' would be blonde with blue eyes with a california tan, talking with a warm deep voice looking clean like from a swedish health spa! Oh that would would have worked... who ever had the insight to let depp run with that character, made that film a box office smash...those execs should have the balls to appologise and say that they were utterly wrong with there ideas asbout the character and admit they have no idea what they are doing...and that there ego's are out of control and that they are silly and smell....now theres a film right there.....tards!
Atemisk writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 6:14:13 PM

Just further proves that studio execs don't know sh*t about sh*t. The movies wouldn't have made that much money without Johnny Depp's Sparrow. While they would have still made some money, maybe enough to make a second of them, they wouldn't have even come close to what they have made now.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved