WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Richard Kelly Wants to Make "Southland Tales" Prequel

Posted: November 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Richard Kelly Wants to Make "Southland Tales" PrequelSubmit Comment
Director Richard Kelly revealed that the reason "Southland Tales" only grossed $370,000 at the box office and has a 36% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes is because audiences were viewing the last three of six chapters of a graphic novel and may have had trouble understanding what they were watching.

Kelly (Donnie Darko, The Box) recently spoke to Kevin Smith, stating that he already has a script for a "Southland" prequel and is now trying to figure out a way to develop it. He said:

"I knew that people wouldn't understand 'Southland Tales' unless they read the graphic novels. But I still to this day feel like 'Southland Tales' is an unfinished film, and if it takes me until I'm in a wheelchair breathing oxygen, I'm going to figure out how to advance the graphic novels further whether its trying to put them together as a low budget animated film, whether it looks like 'Waltz with Bashir' or it looks like one of 'The Animatrix' prequels. I still want to figure out a way to tell the entire 'Southland Tales' story over six chapters because I think it would make a lot more sense to people and I think people would reassess the entire film and what it is."

Trailer:


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:49:41 PM

No, goddamnit. No more SOuthland Tales and no more Richard Kelly.

Yes, he had something of a cult hit with Donnie Darko but he's squandered that good will with every other film he's made, including Southland Tales which was an incoherent abomination with not one redeeming feature, save that it eventually ended and The Box, a film that did to Matheson's short story what 1408 did to King's.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:57:57 PM

Q. How many people saw The Box, when it came out in theaters ?

A. ...


Thought so.
Monash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 10:40:17 PM

But it made so much sense

Why wouldn't a van float so conveniently that a youth would pull a rocket launcher from it to explode a blimp?

That movie was a good as a nipple on a bat suit
Trentsteel writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 2:09:02 AM

Just let it go, dude.
Man in Black writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 2:35:08 AM

I refused to watch this abortion after my brother told me it gave him aids for just renting it ... yet donnie darko was good hell its one of the few films i had watched twice back to back .
darkraven28 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:10:01 AM

And Richard Kelly screamed:

f*ck YOU, COHERENCE! f*ck YOU, INTERESTING CHARACTERS! f*ck YOU, PLOT! f*ck YOU, THREE ACT STRUCTURE! f*ck YOU, LOW ASS GROSSES! I CAN DO WHAT I WANT!!!!! EVEN IF NOBODY WATCHES THE sh*t ANYMORE.

Kelly's quotes in that article are complete and utter bullsh*t. And it just sounds like a desperate ploy to compare Southland Tales to the Star Wars saga, where we in fact DID see the latter trilogy of the two first out of the gate and we UNDERSTOOD IT JUST FINE. I didn't need to know that Darth Vader banged Natalie Portman to get his kids. But it's still there, for whatever it's worth. But for the love of God, will somebody just stop this maniac from making another Southland movie. It is just not necessary, unless Richard Kelly is captured by Frank Darabont and is forced to learn how to actually write a script.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 5:16:53 AM

I would like to thank Cameron Diaz. I Probaly would have watched the film if she didn't spoil the ending. Thanks, sweetheart. Now eat some chocolate and enlarge your breast and ass. You are Latina for gods sake.

raza12 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 5:26:40 AM

Why didn't he just start with the first three in the first place?
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:31:13 AM

@Johnny

The Cam man was not in the film, How did she spoil the ending? Just curious.

I may or may not have contributed to that 370,000
lawman writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 11:14:37 AM

With 370,000 in box office takes, exactly HOW many people DIDNT understand the movie? 3700 if its 10 bucks a ticket. More people watch me take a sh*t in the mornings! Stop trying to come up with reasons OTHER than your movie tastes penis!
darkraven28 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 7:54:44 PM

I'd rather just watch The Rundown again. After all, it's the better of the 2 films starring The Rock and Sean William Scott.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 10:32:27 PM

This movie was way more confusing than eraserhead.Screw the prequel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BIG TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 1:02:05 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved