WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox Suing Woman for $15 Million for Posting Scripts Online

Posted: November 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox Suing Woman for $15 Million for Posting Scripts OnlineSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has filed a lawsuit for $15 million in damages against a New York woman, Patricia McIlvaine, who put up roughly 100 scripts online without authorization.

On her personal website, McIlvaine describes herself as a "struggling screenwriter who sells flowers over the phone by day and writes scripts by night." She says she collected scripts that were already posted on the web and made a free online library of scripts in order to assist other screenwriters.

According to the complaint, McIlvaine's actions "interfere [with] the costly and carefully designed creative processes that produce finished works ready for public consumption. They harm the fans who do not want their enjoyment of a movie or television show to be spoiled by knowing the story ahead of actually being able to watch it."

The lawsuit mentions various scripts including "Aliens," "Edward Scissorhands," "Wall Street," and "Glee." It also mentions the leak of the script for the "X-Men" sequel "Deadpool," which isn't scheduled to be released until 2012.

McIlvaine is already soliciting donations for a legal defense fund.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:42:10 PM

"According to the complaint, McIlvaine's actions "interfere [with] the costly and carefully designed creative processes that produce finished works ready for public consumption. They harm the fans who do not want their enjoyment of a movie or television show to be spoiled by knowing the story ahead of actually being able to watch it."

I think that if people don't want an upcoming film ruined, they shouldn't go looking for the films' script...

This is just another reason to totally hate FOX.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:53:01 PM

Fox Suing Woman for $15 Million for Posting Scripts Online - She should be suing them for such sh*tty scripts.

I mean, it is FOX.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:53:42 PM

Wolverine : Origins.

The punchline ? Their ya go.
Inception writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:02:39 PM

@ Max: LOL, true.

20th Century Fox can shove all their future projects up their ass.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:27:51 PM

If people want to help this lady, they should get something going that demands FOX back the f*ck off, like a boycott or a petition. I'm so sick of these *ssholes.

And anyone notice that Immigration and Customs Enforcement, the wing that deals with anti-piracy, is now umbrella'ed under the Homeland and Security Act?
kudanrt writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:33:07 PM

Ooooo my gosh it so ruined there movies now and so ruined my movie expirience... jeez these f*ckin people... if it was already posted on the net then why is she to blame... jeez and 15 million??? What are they tryin to make up for all of the people that think there movies suck balls and then come back and try to claim how much money thay made from the movie?? There so full of sh*t that's to much money to be suing for. I mean she is a strugglin screen writer... sounds like she pretty much can berly pay the bills... that's crazy... ok I've said what I had to say ha ha ha.. whew!! Lol
buttabean writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 10:11:42 PM

I heard about this yesterday. She lives 10 minutes away. Retarded because the whole reason they post scripts is for learning purposing to create a writing style that will sell.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 11:35:49 PM

Hey if we got those scripts in time and was able to put or 2 cents into em, they woulda been better movies.
billofill writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:48:23 AM

From my understanding there is actually good buzz for Deadpool, and after that sh*t film Wolverine Origin or what ever they should be paying the bitch.
darkraven28 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:17:50 AM

Do I sense a complete lack of a crime in the description of the lady's actions in the article? I mean, what she did was like re-arranging my sock drawer, which I'd be annoyed about but I wouldn't sue for 15 goddamn million.
darkraven28 writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:22:30 AM

Then again, after re-reading the srticle, I've had second thoughts. This lady, if she wanted to be left alone, should have looked over what she was compiling and checked the scripts against movies that were already made or not yet released. Had she done that, no one would have cared because movie like Aliens and Edward Scissorhands are 20 some years old and EVERYBODY knows what happens in those films. Me personally, I'd give her a slap on the wrist and send her on her way.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 4:37:02 AM

I'd give her a slap on the bum (if she's hawt... and drunk and horny).
johnny_boy writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 5:11:18 AM

I would like to sue Fox just for having film rights to any comic book adaption.

And Fox, if anyone is leaking anything online, I'm sure it's some short Mexican dude who Probaly was your janitor like the first time around with XMO:wolverine
bluemeenie writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:39:27 PM

"McIlvaine is already soliciting donations for a legal defense fund."

I'm suing her for doing that-

Scott Baiowulf writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 3:20:35 AM

1st off this must be the richest flower sales girl in the world if theyre trying to get 15 mil from her... second maybe fox should focus on making non sh*tty movies instead of suing some girl who puts crap online... seriously can we just get rid of this sh*t pile fox.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 9:10:04 AM

She gets f*cked up the arse by midgets on a daily basis
gotsghostrider writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 11:39:16 AM

I've really only been hearing good things about the Deadpool script so I'm not too worried.
batdump writes:
on December 2nd, 2010 at 12:20:47 PM

Dammit. now Im not gonna get to enjoy Edward Scissorhands! damn her script posting! guess I shouldnt have read it before seeing it... and maybe I should have seen it when it came out... and she is the only person to post that or any other script online! damn her. I hope she gets hanged!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved