WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Leslie Nielsen Dead at 84

Posted: November 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Leslie Nielsen Dead at 84Submit Comment
Actor Leslie Nielsen, star of such comedies as "Airplane" and the "Naked Gun" series, died Sunday of complications from pneumonia. He was 84.

Nielsen died in a hospital near his home in Fort Lauderdale with family and friends by his side. He had been hospitalized for nearly two weeks prior to his death.

Nielsen came to Hollywood in the mid-1950s after performing in 150 live television dramas in New York. With a handsome face, blond hair and 6-foot-2 height, he seemed ideal for a movie leading man.

He quickly became known as a serious actor, although behind the camera he was a prankster. That was an aspect of his personality never exploited, however, until "Airplane!" was released in 1980 and became a huge hit.

The actor also had major roles in such films as "The Poseidon Adventure" and "Forbidden Planet" and appeared in many later television shows, including the cult hit "Police Squad."

Source: MSNBC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 91 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:45:40 PM

Dracula II:Deader and Loving It

KalVicious writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:45:52 PM

Aw. Rest in peace, sir.
velocityknown writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:47:07 PM

No! No! No! No! No! No! No!

RIP in great man.

Let's never forget this guy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LcKJdmXbBBc
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:52:48 PM

RIP great great actor. That really hit me because I'd always watch his movies when I was depressed. Thanks for the laughs.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:54:20 PM

Surely, you can't be serious!
buttabean writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:55:32 PM

:( :( :( :( :( Another one of my favorite actors passes :( He was so awesome :( Rest in peace
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:56:34 PM

R.I.P
the_dude writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:56:58 PM

Enrico Pallazzo... Dead at 84.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:00:19 PM

Sad, sad news, indeed. I was just watching the "Naked Gun" movied a couple of days ago. This man was one of a kind. Rest in peace, you brilliant bastard!
struck21 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:03:24 PM

One of the all time great actors. Sad to see you g. Rest in Peace.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:05:10 PM

R.I.P You will be sorely missed.
beepboop writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:05:30 PM

Oh :(
RIP Mr Nielsen. I hate to see him go.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:19:46 PM

He was a great man and he never will be forgotten...
R.I.P Mr. Nielsen... :'(
johnny_boy writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:23:15 PM

Such a sad tragic day. Very very funny man. Thanks for all the funny work you've put in, Leslie nielson. You will be missed. Rest in piece, sir.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:23:58 PM

R.I.P. Leslie Nielsen. You will make generations to come laugh with the films you left us.
oklahomaer writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:40:09 PM

It should of been Lindsay Lohan and not Leslie Nielsen.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:41:58 PM

Oh get f*cked.. This guy was alright..
m3talface writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:46:48 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
Frank4969 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:53:44 PM

Always made me laugh even in the most depressing of times. His comedic timing was truly remarkable. He will be missed greatly. A true comedy genius is dead. Rip buddy you will be missed!
PHURBY1984 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:09:20 PM

BEST WAY TO DESCRIBE HIM...A LEGEND... R.I.P.
Barney Stinson writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:17:54 PM

This is truly shocking news and I'm genuinely saddened by this news.

Rest in Peace sir and thank you for all the laughs!
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:38:42 PM

Oh damn! I really liked this guy.

His line to Priscella Presley:
'Mmmmm... nice beaver.'

Thx. for the laughs.

RIP Leslie.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:40:52 PM

Leslie Nielsen
Actor | Producer | Soundtrack

Leslie Nielsen was raised in Tulita (formerly Fort Norman), Northwest Territories. His father was a Mountie and a strict disciplinarian. His mother was Welsh. Leslie studied at the Academy of Radio Arts in Toronto before moving on to New York's Neighborhood Playhouse.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:42:12 PM

@eViL - 'tis true.

And don't call me Shirley.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:42:28 PM

Ba-rum-bump!
Mister Leary writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:49:31 PM

RIP His comedy is timless
holtlt writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:51:53 PM

He was the law
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:06:43 AM

We had better not lose Jonathan Winters anytime soon!

Yeah... this is crappy news today, indeed.
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:12:40 AM

RIP, You will be missed.
Syman404 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:13:49 AM

It's weird how me and a couple of friends had a Nielsen marathon this month, and then he passes. RIP Leslie, you were truly a comedic genius!
maddasahatter writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:25:39 AM

The world is a lot less funny now, RIP.
elstevo777 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:39:14 AM

and i was just telling some kids yesterday that should check out airplane and the naked gun series! an extremely funny man will be missed! i hope this is not a plot by Dane Cook to become the funniest man alive
OneTime writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:43:07 AM

RIP
Eben1277 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:05:06 AM

Terrible... RIP
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:05:40 AM

R.I.P
A cinema great.
kudanrt writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:12:48 AM

What the sh*t???? Dam really??? Man I used to crack up with his naked gun movies all the time
.. man I thought he was the funniest guy alive. :) dang.. rest in peace buddy... dang. Best wishes to the family.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:20:43 AM

I have feared this day some time now.

Rest in peace, Leslie, you have earned it.
the_dude writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:23:52 AM

One of those Deja Vu moments myself, when that stupid kid fell from a luxury box after a Lakers game I joked at work, maybe Frank got him with one of those cufflink rounds... Then the whole, I'm surprised/ happy he's still with us conversation followed. I never thought it would hit me this hard though, but ever since I was a kid I watched the Naked Gun movies, I feel bad the material he was in coasted off from there, but he was always spot on and seemed to be very well respected and liked amongst everyone he worked with. I'm very happy to see everyone else in this community pay their respects, he was one for the books.
whoever writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:31:48 AM

In memory of a great man of comedy -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJEmtLxkEoI
hunter207 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:56:59 AM

Heres to you Leslie. Another of the greats is gone
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:11:51 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qo7qoonzTCE
Pound for pound one of the funniest men to ever live IMO.
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:33:32 AM

Very Sad News and what great respect shown on here (see we are a good bunch really).

RIP Mr Nielsen

Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:41:19 AM

Great clips guys!

Wow... this news really makes for a crappy day.
The Ripper writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:43:00 AM

Wake me when George Takei goes. .
masht7 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:45:24 AM

Man, this guy used to make me sh*t my pants laughing. One of Comedy's best. He will never be forgotten.

RIP my friend.
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:49:01 AM

Ranger- It Surly does !!
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:58:31 AM

And don't call me Shirley.
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:02:52 AM

That Will never get old !!

Just found this Leslie screen testing for Ben-Hur, Bit long but it's good footage..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yV1gKKXZfvE&feature=player_embedded#!
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:17:16 AM

@tt - great clip!
Rambo writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:18:40 AM

R.I.P

what a great actor!You will be missed!!!thank you for some of the best comedies ever released from Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:21:36 AM

Any guy that can push OJ Simpson down a flight of stairs in a wheel chair and...

slam a door into Barbara Bush's face and...

make it with Priscella Presley is ok in my book.
Mudders writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:32:33 AM

some doped up mexican slashes the f*ck out of his mother and lives because a cop dont have the guts to shoot first ask later.....and this great man of comedy dies...someones upstairs is pullin on the wrong strings.

r.i.p. mr nielsen - gone but not forgotten
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:32:59 AM

Geez...

Only news that could cheer me up now would be to hear Dina Lohan was hit by a bus.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:33:49 AM

@Mudders - I know. I gave up trying to find such reasoning decades ago.
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:39:43 AM

lol OJ down the stairs, Priceless !!
AYT BALL writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:40:52 AM

RIP Mr Nielson, thanks for the laughs
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:42:00 AM

Roger Ebert called him "the Laurence Olivier of spoofs".

That pretty much sums him up perfectly ...
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:45:06 AM

Leslie on British morning TV !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5egaR4WvLPY&feature=related
AYT BALL writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:47:06 AM

Funny just aint what it used to be, dont wanna sound too old but makes me sad that kids today will probably over look alot of his work....keep it alive fellas, force your children to watch them! :-)
Rambo writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:48:33 AM

the only thing that could cheer me up is the death of Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer who killed the spoof genre with their poop movies.
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:54:46 AM

AYT-

I hear ya mate , As Rambo was saying kids of today will think sh*t like Epic, meet the spartains etc etc are how spoof movies are done.

my kids still watch Aiplane and naked Gun the comedy is timeless ..

Side note walking dead "awesome"
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 4:00:58 AM

*Airplane
AYT BALL writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 4:15:23 AM

@ Trailer - lol good man!! your kids will grow up to be fine people!

oh and ive got a day off due to the snow up here, just downloaded episode 5! :-D
ROCKY writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 4:28:11 AM

THIS IS SAD NEWS, THE MAN WAS A LEGEND BIG WEEKEND COMING UP, NAKED GUNS ALL THE WAY.RIP.
Ramrod writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 5:20:08 AM

had a feeling this was coming....rip
shamusot00le writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 5:25:38 AM

Goodbye Mr Nielsen. Wherever you are, I like to think you've forgotten to turn off your lapel microphone and someone somewhere is hearing something really inappropriate.

I hope at the end of his funeral service everyone freezes in place as the end credits roll, with perhaps a chimp just roaming around.

trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 6:32:04 AM

AYT- Nice, Thank god for the bloody snow then !!
raza12 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 6:57:40 AM

35 Facebook like? WTF?!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 7:41:49 AM

Rest In Peace, Mr. Nielsen

At least you died from pneumonia and not the Herpes that Mustache Rider is giving her county and community.
CandyRunt writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:04:25 AM

surely you cant be serious?!
Clarence Worley writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 8:25:42 AM

R.I.P. Thanks for the great laughs.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:08:43 AM

RIP to one of my alltime favs :(
teuperman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:51:20 AM

A true legend RIP
nicholas56 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:57:16 AM

oj should be dead instead of this great man. rip mr.Nielsen. you will be missed
Dre-EL writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 10:36:11 AM

Aww man I was just watching wrongfully accused over the weekend.

He will be missed.
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:32:33 PM

Lady'' Can i interest you in a nightcap?''

Les ''No thanks,i don't wear them''

Pissing myself.
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 12:55:54 PM

And now this?
Irvin Kershner - the man who gave us some of the most indelible moments in cinema history with The Empire Strikes Back - has died. He was 87.

Bummer
Rest in peace.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:56:13 PM

RIP Mr. K.

Jesus... all the real talent is dropping like flies. WTF?!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:04:00 PM

RIP mr. magoo...another legend dies, another unwanted talentless overhyped legend is born...in fact, i was listening to sublime on youtube, and somebody there commented 'why is it that all the best musicians die and we're left with artists like gaga and beiber?'...i wonder the same thing
AYT BALL writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:16:17 PM

sh*t! RIP Irvin Kershner, Empire was by far the best! :-(
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:38:24 PM

sh*tty day for film fans
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 2:52:32 PM

Rip sir...
I really don't know whether to laugh or cry.
because as sad as it gets, I remember some of his funniest moments and he always manages to make me laugh
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:09:53 PM

R.I.P. Leslie Nielsen, a.k.a. Frank Drebin. You will be missed.

"And, by the way, I faked every orgasm."
darkraven28 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 3:50:30 PM

f*ck youuuuuuu, DEATH!!!
TheMovieExpert writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 4:47:53 PM

R.I.P to a man who made us laugh.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 4:49:25 PM

I never enjoyed his humorous style, but he was a apparently good guy that made millions laugh, and he had a long full life, so take care and thanks for the fish, sir.
Champ1432 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 6:09:18 PM

Naked Gun movies and TV shows, Airplane, all classics. Some of the funniest stuff I've ever seen came from Mr. Nielsen.

R.I.P. to an amazing actor, everything seems a little less funny today. Sadly, I doubt we'll ever see that kind of comedy again.
bluemeenie writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:21:18 PM

Shirley, we all heard this by now...
bluemeenie writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 1:23:57 PM

I read in the tv guide this guy's ratings were falling for a long time now- they thought they would do better in the fall- but I guess not.
So the tv guide told me to kill him- that's a dangerous weapon that tv guide- eh?
myluna writes:
on November 30th, 2010 at 8:16:31 PM

The Naked Gun movies will forever be some of my favorites! Thanks for the sore sides from all the laughs you have brought to my life!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 2:59:38 AM

Guess he should have stuck with the lasagne & not tried the fish or chicken..

R.I.P Mr Neilsen.

Eventhough we all know you from comedy, some of us do remember your more serious work.

"Forbidden Planet" anyone??

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved