WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Five Directors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
May 6th, 2015
Disney Confirms "Indiana Jones 5" Will Happen
May 6th, 2015
Watch Arnold Schwarzenegger Act Out Scenes From His Best Films
May 6th, 2015
First Look at Andrew Garfield in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
May 6th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Sherlock Holmes in Second "Mr. Holmes" Trailer
May 6th, 2015
Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
May 5th, 2015
Second "Star Wars" Spin-Off is Boba Fett's Origin Story
May 5th, 2015
More Great Vanity Fair's "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Photos
May 5th, 2015
"John Wick 2" Announced, Keanu Reeves to Return
May 5th, 2015
"The Simpsons" Renewed for Two More Seasons
May 5th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Opens to $188 Million, Fails to Beat "The Avengers"
May 4th, 2015
Official Photos From "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film, with Will Smith and Margot Robbie
May 4th, 2015
Vanity Fair's "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Magazine Cover
May 4th, 2015
Trailer for Marvel's "Black Widow" Film is Here!
May 4th, 2015
Trailer for Simon Pegg's "Absolutely Anything" Sci-Fi Comedy
May 4th, 2015
Hulk Was Supposed to Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
May 3rd, 2015
First Look at Young Jean Grey and Jubilee in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
May 3rd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off
May 2nd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Franchise Getting Female Version and "Men in Black" Crossover
May 2nd, 2015
Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
May 2nd, 2015
First Official Look at Stephen Amell as Casey Jones in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
May 2nd, 2015
Bizarre Photos of Robert De Niro and Zac Efron on "Dirty Grandpa" Set
May 1st, 2015
First Look: Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"
May 1st, 2015
Four "Fantastic Four" Character Posters Revealed
May 1st, 2015
Trailer: Tom Hardy and Tom Hardy as Twin Gangsters in "Legend" Thriller
May 1st, 2015
Photos: Very Heavy Jonah Hill on "Arms and the Dudes" Set
May 1st, 2015
Trailer for Vin Diesel's "The Last Witch Hunter" Supernatural Film
Apr 30th, 2015
First Look: Stephen Amell is Casey Jones in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
Apr 30th, 2015
"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex
Apr 30th, 2015
Trailer for Nicole Kidman's "Strangeland" Thriller
Apr 30th, 2015
Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin
Apr 29th, 2015
Photos: Ben Affleck Spotted on Set of "Suicide Squad"
Apr 29th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Apr 29th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck on Turning Down "Superman" Reboot

Posted: November 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck on Turning Down "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
When Christopher Nolan and Warner Bros were searching for a director to take on the "Superman" reboot, many helmers were considered including Ben Affleck, who turned the opportunity down.

Now in an interview with Deadline, Affleck revealed that his decision not to take the job had a lot to do with his experiences working as an actor on "Daredevil."

"The one benefit of having done all kinds of movies as an actor is, you learn the pros and cons of being tempted to do a really big movie because it costs a lot of money," he explained. "With 'Superman,' I think they're going to do a great version. Chris Nolan is brilliant and they've got a great director for it."

Affleck continued: "I'd love to do something like 'Blade Runner,' but a lesson I've learned is to not look at movies based on budget, how much they'll spend on effects, or where they will shoot. Story is what's important. Also, there are a lot of guys ahead of me on the list to do epic effects movies."

Since a rough version of the "Superman" script was already in place around the time Affleck was in talks, it sounds like he was not pleased with the story and the direction of the film.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 10:08:23 PM

He already paid his dues by acting as depressed and suicidal George Reeves in Hollywoodland. And as much as people would love to see him do Superman (producing moguls in Hollywood), he should develop the noir genre that he's doing with Gone, Baby, Gone and The Town.

He mentioned he would like to take a hand at a Phillip K d*ck movie (easy, Mustache, d*ck was an author, not your next john for crack), like Blade Runner. That could sound interesting.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 11:37:43 PM

WP may have a point where affleck has read a rough draft and not liked the story. Then again he's read scripts to plenty of films with bad stories that he starred in so really, what does he know?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 11:51:20 PM

johnny_boy writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 11:37:43 PM
WP may have a point where affleck has read a rough draft and not liked the story. Then again he's read scripts to plenty of films with bad stories that he starred in so really, what does he know?

@johnny boy

I think it's been enough time to let the bedsores from Gigli to heal with salve.


But you have a strong point.
manichispanic writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 1:03:34 AM

oh no!
manichispanic writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 1:03:44 AM

NOT
rocketman writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:09:30 AM

Knows his comic book onions too,not much faith in this Superman rush job,i'm willing to enjoy don't get me wrong but it seems that they are more concerend about getting a film out before a deadline than making a great film.Supes is an American icon like Coca Cola or Rock n Roll,he deserves better.
vagos1268 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:34:49 AM

respect
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 3:58:23 AM

Yep, respect... well said. Nice to read Ben is this modest.

@Max - agreed.

@rocketman - Supes does feel rushed, doesn't it. The vague, grasping at straws. Ugh!
trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 5:16:11 AM

The guy sure has turned his career around, Those dark days of Gigli (Pacino still hasn't recovered from that turd of a movie yet he was only in for a minute or so)and being called Bennifer seem a distant memory now, good for him.

Nice to see him showing some humility here.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 5:46:00 AM

Affleck was the bomb in Phantoms!
Rambo writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 6:13:27 AM

I'll never forgive him for 'Armageddon'.he ruined this movie.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 6:28:07 AM

Just watched him in Pearl Harbor today actually. And I'll get slammed for it (because it's a Michael Bay film), but I enjoy that movie. It really shows the devastation those young service men and women endured on that day.
rocketman writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 7:24:27 AM

He was great in Dazed and Confused.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 7:50:32 AM

"It really shows the devastation those young service men and women endured on that day."

LOL, yeah and then the film went on for another hour with some bullsh*t 3-way love story and quite possibly the most pointless scenes Alec Baldwin has ever filmed in his life. Sorry man, I'm not bashing it because its a Michael Bay film. Its just a REALLY sh*tty script and display of acting with about 20 minutes of outstanding action and effects. One of Bay's worst films imo.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 7:59:24 AM

BTW, I think B-fleck just knows the limits of his skills behind the camera. He's still kind of a newcomer at directing, and though he's shown some promise he obviously knows that a project this big is not something to be taken lightly. I can definitely respect that.

Dirty Harry said it best "A man's got to know his limitations."
buttabean writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 9:59:49 AM

About arnold. lol I could see him acting as the terminator killing zombies then turns into a zombie
LeeMaca writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:00:51 AM

Gotta admit I like Affleck and i'm one of those guys that enjoyed daredevil (the directors cut what much better than the cinema release) although i've never seen Gigli and probably never will
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:38:24 AM

Smart move Benjamin, Smart move indeed. Now about that pesky "Garner" issue you seem to be having.
Malignant Corpse Fart writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:24:17 AM

@buttabean

If Ah-nold turns into a zombie, it's only because he's had practice married to that necropheliac despot, Maria Schriver.
Malignant Corpse Fart writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:25:56 AM

When Casey Affleck overdoses on heroine, with his gay-porn Polaroids laden around his junky corpse on a seedy, stained mattress in a Boston suburb motel, let me know.
BitterPeace910 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 11:56:51 AM

He should stick to directing he is much better at that then acting.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 1:02:13 PM

@SAC - true (about the 3-way romance). But it's a movie and not a doc*mentary (not telling you anything you don't already know). Same formula used in Tombstone and Titanic. Historical accuracy suffers whilst the girl always have 2 men tripping over them. Same love triangle (min.) in Legends of the Fall. Apparently guys in movies can't find their own chick.

@Lee - same... never seen Gigli... never will.
jgrantt18 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:23:14 PM

I like Affleck way more behind the camera than I ever did in front of it; he seems to have some real talent. I'd like to see him tackle a bigger movie (even though I do love the crime movies he's been putting out) just to see what else he has up his sleeve. And by bigger I don't necessarily like a Superman type deal. If he did a District 9 or Moon (big sci-fi themes on small budgets) it'd be interesting to see how he works it. I'm glad he stuck to his guns and didn't sign onto a movie like Superman because he wouldn't have had a lot of creative input and would have just been making someone else's vision.
trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 3:29:35 PM

Ranger - Agree , the Pearl Harbor Attack was spectacular (the Pearl Harbor attack is Bay's best work visually i think)and very tragic.

It was the love triangle for the 1st part of the movie just dragged IMO, Like Titanic forget all that love sh*t, you just want to see the carnage of the Boat sinking !!
Eben1277 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 4:17:40 PM

Does anyone know who the chick is in Big_Daddy's avatar GIF?
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 4:20:36 PM

Wow. Ben Affleck, Amerrica's favorite bad actor whipping boy, and favorite with theladies apparently but I digress, directs one or two decent films and everyone is ready to lick the man's balls dry of sweat. Jeses.

The guy was a HORRIBLE actor, starred in some of the worst films, was a total douche in nearly every film, for example Good Will Hunting (and it's Howard Zinn ambience), but now he's making some ok films as a director.

Ok, I get it, I guess. But I don't think it was so much humility with the guy as a realization he was never seriously considered for the job. I think he knew that, and I think he also knows what he can and can't do, while also talking about himself of course.

And for the record, Pearl Hrabor, the bombing depiction aside, was terrible. Sorry. SOme good wartime camerawork, yes, but the story was godf*cking-evil-awful.

And I did not care for Gone Baby Gone either. The direction was fine, I guess, but the story left me in dire need of some milk and cookies.

Haven't seen The Town, but I would opine that perhaps Ben Affleck might take on a sequel to the Boondock Saints. He might have some ability there, especially considering the weak second film, so there's not far to go but up.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 4:24:55 PM

"Since a rough version of the "Superman" script was already in place around the time Affleck was in talks, it sounds like he was not pleased with the story and the direction of the film."

That's the biggest load of supposition I've read in a while, Alex, and it sounds like you're talking out of your ass on that one.

And I quote: Do not make an assumption, cause when you make an assumption, you make an ass outta you and umption!
darkraven28 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 4:39:24 PM

I think the WorstPreviews guy twisted Affleck's words a little bit with that last statement. Affleck did NOT say he was displeased with the story or direction of the film. He said he was a story first kind of director, which is not the same thing. Affleck also emphatically said that Nolan is brilliant and that Nolan and Snyder will do a great version of Superman. What I felt based on what Affleck is quoted on in that article is that he was saying he's seen the effects movie thing from the actor side and he knows what it's like and he understands how it's tempting to work on such films. But that he's just not interested.
markoz writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 7:29:19 PM

@Lee

I agree with you

Ben Affleck has just grew in my eyes
teuperman writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 9:53:49 AM

Probably wasn,t Drunk enough to understand it
Champ1432 writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 6:36:46 PM

Someone in Hollywood realizing story is more important than effects? Am I hallucinating? Did that just happen? I think I need to go lock myself in a bunker now, things are bound to start blowing up any minute.

Gotta give him props for his attitude toward this, and I like the humility as well. Really liked The Town, I think Affleck could be on the way to becoming a pretty darn good director. His acting has been hit or miss, I suppose, but I can definitely forgive him for that if he keeps up his recent work.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow

"Guardians of the Galaxy 2" to Begin Shooting Next February

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Ed Skrein Confirms He's Villainous Ajax in "Deadpool"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved