WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Can "Toy Story 3" Win Best Picture Oscar?

Posted: November 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Can "Toy Story 3" Win Best Picture Oscar?Submit Comment
Walt Disney Studios Chairman Rich Ross feels its time for animated films to be seriously considered for Best Picture Oscars and not just let them compete in the Best Animated Picture category. And this year "Toy Story 3" is not only the highest-grossing movie ($1.06 billion) but is also the best-reviewed (99% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes).

"We're going for the Best Picture win," he explained. "We wanted to have the best movie and the reviews have clearly said that and it's the number one box office hit of the year so I'm not sure why we would not go for it all."

Ross added: "The theory is pretty simple for us. It's thrilling that there is a separate category for animation and that allows animated movies to be recognized but for some reason an animated film has never gotten Best Picture and I always wondered was there not an appetite? We decided this year we have the biggest and best reviewed film of the year. If not this year, and not this movie, when?"

Looking at the odds of "Toy Story 3" winning Best Picture, it likely won't be able to do it. Many believe that "The King's Speech," "The Social Network," "Black Swan," "True Grit," and "127 Hours" stand a better chance.

Disney has already launched their "for your consideration" campaign that will attempt to associate "Toy Story 3" with previous Best Picture winners like "Shakespeare in Love," "Silence of the Lambs," "Titanic," "Forrest Gump" and many others.

New ads will be coming out until February, but we already have a few of them for you to take a look at. Check them out below.

Oscar Campaign: (click to enlarge)


Source: Deadline, ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Lederhosen writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 3:56:26 PM

No!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 3:57:25 PM

As good a movie as it was, I dunno about it being so good as to be nominated/winning best picture.
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:23:19 PM

If Shakespeare in Love can win the best picture Oscar over Saving Pirvate Ryan then anything is possible i guess ...
sc_kg writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:49:52 PM

Yes. I hope so.
FBO writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:55:39 PM

Very good point TT, of course i have yet to see a movie that one the best picture award that was actually the best movie that year. And the academy seems to like bigger budget indy films as of lately
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:07:30 PM

Trailer-Good call! I think either it will be 127 hours or The Social Network.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:21:01 PM

@tt - no sh*t! How pathetic was that?!

Rambo writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:24:02 PM

its a children movie.i don't think so.I put my money on 'Inception' while 'the fighter' could be a second option.
Rambo writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:29:54 PM

oh,and 'true grit' also possible.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:33:11 PM

... and Machete.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:40:00 PM

... for this reason alone!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIxs1_kYB8Q
Lederhosen writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:07:07 PM

@ranger. What a great scene even though the movie, for me, failed. It started off great but then went down hill.
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:12:16 PM

Nice Machete clip !!

Don't forget Tom Hanks beat Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction to win best picture with Forrest Gump (boxoffice talks) as well.

Who can second guess (in all categories) what the Academy thinks anyway.

Toy Story has broke the Billion dollar mark at the boxoffice which will have an influence im sure.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:12:17 PM

I haven't even seen it yet. I figure theater price for the ticket would have disappointed me. I'll just await the DVD on sale. Good for a laugh.

PS: I don't know who figured intestines come out of the chest right below the diaphragm, as opposed to just above the groin area (obviously below the stomach)... but, whatever... lol. A guy doing the Batman thing was good enough to almost over-ride that little detail.
velocityknown writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:26:58 PM

@Ranger

I saw it today, it was very good. Though, I don't consider it as good as the first, it was definitely one of the top movies of the year. I recommend seeing it as soon as you can.

Btw here are my way too early Oscar predictions:

Best Picture: The Social Network
Best Director: Toss up between David Fincher or Chris Nolan
Best Actor: James Franco; 127 Hours
Best Actress: Natalie Portman; Black Swan
Best Supporting Actor: Geoffrey Rush; The King's Speech
Best Supporting Actress: Annette Benning; The Kids Are All Right
Best Original Screenplay: The Kids Are All Right
Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:37:47 PM

Toy Story 3 is a shoe in for animated which is a bit of a shame, there is no way in hell TS3 should even be considered running for a Best Picture Nomination.
thomas deadison writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:43:06 PM

Absolutely. There is no reason it shouldn't stand a chance to win Best Picture. It has some competition, but I'd say it's certainly a contender. The movie's nearly f*cking perfect.
thomas deadison writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:46:35 PM

Dave,

Why shouldn't it be nominated??
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:46:53 PM

@Velocity - thx. my friend. I have heard nothing but great things of this Toy Story!
achoo writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:52:12 PM

harry potter and the deathly hallows part 1 will win best picutre
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:58:05 PM

@thomas

I don't think it is worthy of an Oscar for Best Pic, of all the "TS's" the third was the worst one for me, if they wanted to give it to "TS" then the first should have won it.

And also "Toy Story" and most animated movies are aimed and children so in a way they cancel themselves out from being moinated for Best Pic.

I have no doubt that you and many others will correct me on my statement but I stand by what I have said.
telur writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:01:03 PM

its funny, what do you expect?

Best Picture: Toy Story 3
Best Actor: Tom Hanks (Toy Story 3)
Best Supporting Actor: Tim Allen (Toy Story 3)
Best Actress: Joan Cusack (Toy Story 3)
Best Original Screenplay: Toy Story 3
Best Music: Toy Story 3
Best Costume: Toy Story 3

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3 too!

Can you imagine that?
Eben1277 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:20:37 PM

I haven't seen it, but if it's really that good than I think it deserves to win, regardless that it's aimed at childrten.

My Oscar pics:

Best Picture: Expendables
Best Director: Robert Rodriguez - Machete
Best Actor: Danny Trejo - Machete
Best Actress: Lisa Ann - Lust Bite
Best Supporting Actor: Dolph Lundgren - Expendables
Best Supporting Actress: Michelle Rodriguez - Machete
Best Original Screenplay: Inception
Best Adapted Screenplay: Harry Potter
Best Animated Film: Superman/Batman Public Enemies (I think that was this year)
Eben1277 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:22:12 PM

I'm on the fence with supporting actress, I liked Charisma Carpenter's performance very much as well
vaodsi writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 12:51:07 AM

could... but won't.

when an animated movie wins best picture it will be a foreign or indie film or both.
i.e. persepolis, waltz with bashir, the illusionist... or something from studio gibli
secondbest writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:11:55 AM

Why even have a Best Animated Feature Film category if animated films just end up getting nominated for Best Picture?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:59:18 AM

It could, it shouldn't, it would, but it won't.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:08:07 AM

It better f*ckin win somethin!
Rambo writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 4:47:27 AM

I would be really disappointed if 'social network' wins best picture.this movie was boring as hell.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 5:21:49 AM

Dave's right Toy Story 3 was the worst of the trilogy, the end was epic but the story line was too similar to ts2 and it wasn't as funny as the others.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 5:34:41 AM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 5:21:49 AM

Dave's right Toy Story 3 was the worst of the trilogy, the end was epic but the story line was too similar to ts2 and it wasn't as funny as the others.


@cinema

thanx, I knw without that ending the film is bad.

Lederhosen writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 11:50:17 AM

I am not a fan of Toy Story. I thought the first one sucked so I din't see 2 or 3...IMO. The Expendables, my favorite so far this year for the money, won't win a damn thing. I hate the Oscars anyway; haven't watched it in years...don't care.
thomas deadison writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 12:20:57 PM

Animation isn't a genre, it's a medium. They can still be nominated for Best Picture. Beauty and the Beast did it. The animated category is separate for a reason, and for that sole technical aspect. Animation is still a form of storytelling. It's like saying a movie can't be nominated because it's black and white. It's still a movie with a script and a director. I'm not saying it should win, but with ten slots open, of course it should be in the running.

At the very least, my money's on Best Original Screenplay.

I can't even believe this is a debate.
Kurskij writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:10:13 PM

@velocity

Nice list!

Ficher is pretty much a tie for Best Director Award.

Wally Pfister will once again fight against Anthony Dod Mantle and win almost 100% (I mean come on! Inception! Hotel Fight!Mombasa chase!)

Franko vs Firth on the other hand... Both are getting raves, but the Academy may think that Firth is "due" while Franco is not.

And Annette Benning will be pushed for a leading category I think.

At least the Cohen Bros. most likely won't get anything this year - I still can't get over the fact that "No country for old men" robbed "There Will be Blood" for best picture.
Chewbacca writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:05:09 PM

It was a very deep and heartfelt film. It will get Best Animated Picture no doubt. No doubt. But Best Picture? I can see a nomination but the best film of the year IMO was 127 Hours. James Franco should get Best Actor too.
velocityknown writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 6:02:31 PM

@Kurskij

Thanks. I see what you're saying about Firth, but the Academy might realize it's been years since they've honored someone young who wasn't a nominee vet, that's what I'm hoping for anyway.

Benning should concede to Supporting, with Portman in the running for Lead I don't think she has a chance at that statue.

And I agree with you about the Coen Brothers, the No Country for Old Men win was a f*cking abomination. That was the worst Oscars in a long time.
Kindlegolas writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 6:04:49 PM

I want it to win just to listen to James Cameron cry that Avatar didn't win it last year
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 7:31:53 PM

Can "Toy Story 3" Win Best Picture Oscar?

It will have tough competition.

Especially with such powerhouses as Black Swan, The King's Speech and The Social Network (among others).
technoreaper writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 2:25:47 AM

Ummmmm...NO! Toy Story 3 shouldn't get any sort of Oscar for Best Movie or Writing. Only the emo/hipster crowd would ever pull for something like that. You know, the people that thought WALL-E was the best movie ever? Whatever, give me a break.
velocityknown writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 3:00:40 AM

By the way, just saw 127 Hours:

FUCCCCCCKKKK! Remember when Spider-Man came out and everyone thought James Franco was a bad actor? Guess it was a hoax. Blew me away. I was physically exhausted after seeing that movie. Go see it now, WP cohorts.
Ranger writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 3:16:30 AM

I've heard people say that about Franco (bad actor). I have liked the guy in anything of his he's been in. Spidey movies, The Great Raid. He was amazing playing James Dean. Plus the guy knows his career is solid enough to go do a soap opera and go back to school... so, kudos to him.

Good to hear you enjoyed the movie Velocity.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 3:48:01 AM

I saw him in the James Dean bio-pic and seriously it was like watching James Dean, he is a very underated actor and is now finally getting some credit.
Rambo writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 3:55:00 AM

so whats everyone best movie of the year so far?
Ranger writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 4:00:37 AM

The Expendables for me.

Because I'm old school and it succeeded on what it set out to be. And I was the first to coin the phrase:

'The (An) Expendables-Class Erection!'
(sample usage: 'Dina Lohan's death would give me an Expendables-Class Erection!')

Something I'm quite proud of (coining that... not just the erection).

lol.
Ranger writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 4:01:29 AM

And I haven't seen Inception because I'm just going to buy the DVD. But I already know that's #2 (or #1)... for me.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 4:14:44 AM

Top three in no particular order..

The Social Network
Inception
The Expendables

at this monent they are the only ones that I seem to remember because they were good.
The Derp Knight writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 4:22:04 AM

ahem King's Speech Cough

That'll win it.
json_bongolan22 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 8:55:41 AM

..its a strong competition 4 d oscars best picture,,,but i bet inception breaks d legacy of filmaking...it will win d top..
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:39:30 PM

I thought the movie sucked and I hope it doesn't win.
thinkvideo writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 5:23:14 PM

It won't win.

Tom Hanks acting was rather wooden.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 6:17:38 PM

It will never happen because Hollywood elites view most 3G films as little more than futuristic full-legth cartoons, and in some cases, rightly so.

I would imagine that the Social Network will take some awards this year, and predictably one of them might be Best Picture.
struck21 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 6:01:44 PM

Secretariat deserves Best Picture. Basing Best Picture on profits, as Disney seems to do, is wrong. It is a better movie then Alice and Wonderland or Toy story.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved