WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eli Roth Says Critics Always Claim to Hate Horror Films

Posted: November 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eli Roth Says Critics Always Claim to Hate Horror FilmsSubmit Comment
In an interview with the Sydney Morning Herald, director Eli Roth said that he hates the term "torture porn" and believes that the only critics who use it are the ones who are afraid to be associated with the violence in the films they're reviewing.

"I always found the term 'torture porn' absurd. I think it says much more about the critics who use it than the film themselves," he explained. "Very few critics will tell you their honest opinion of a [horror] film. They are so terrified that if they like a movie they will be associated with the violence in it."

Roth went on to use "Hostel: Part 2" as an example of a good horror movie that critics didn't want to give high marks to. He said: "Critics used 'Hostel 2' very much as a platform to espouse their own morality. They said 'I think this is wrong because I believe it's wrong to torture women.'"

"No sh*t. Who doesn't think it's wrong?," he continued. "But the very fact that I got such a strong reaction out of you means that on some level you were engaged in the story. You cared about the character and you were genuinely shocked by what you saw."

While it's difficult to prove whether critics secretly like some of the movies they trash, one example of what Roth is talking about is when Roger Ebert gave "Kick-Ass" a 1/5 rating just because an 11-year-old girl in the movie kills people and says naughty words. "I find 'Kick-Ass' morally reprehensible," he said.

Source: SMH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:28:24 AM

Shut up Eli you rear gunner Hostel 2 was sh*t it's called torture porn because that's all you are... a glorified porn director who uses knives instead of dildos. Can any one think of a film he's bought out where a girl isn't naked?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:13:50 AM

Roth went on to use "Hostel: Part 2" as an example of a good horror movie that critics didn't want to give high marks to. He said: "Critics used 'Hostel 2' very much as a platform to espouse their own morality. They said 'I think this is wrong because I believe it's wrong to torture women.'"


No Roth you are wrong there mate, the critics hated "Hostel:Part 2" because (to use the wise words of Paul Calf) "It was shiiiit!"
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:17:46 AM

I thought people just hated Eli Roth ...
masht7 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:22:25 AM

Not really Roth, look at 'Paranormal Activity'; the worst piece of sh*t that has ever been shown on a cinema screen but was praised by selfish unprofessional critics.
vwkombi writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:05:58 AM

Roth. Your films suck. Sorry dude, but it's true.

Roger Ebert gave a positive review to The Devils Rejects. The remake of the Crazies and Pirhana 3D all got mostly positive reviews.

You want good reviews? Make a good movie.

That is all.
sc_kg writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:10:07 AM

Roths "Rotten fruits" series was great and I still wait for his "Endengered Spieces". I think he's familiar with genre movies, but he gets carried away. If he makes a PG13 movie, he'll get to be more ironic and imaginative.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:57:10 AM

@cinema-can't think of any film where women aren't naked, and that's why hes in my good graces.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:17:17 AM

Trailer- LOl, I think even his mom hates him as well.
coldplayesence writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:21:30 AM

WTF is he talking about? Drag Me To Hell was praised by most critics, even with the whole horror/comedy thing.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:24:39 AM

He's just trying to make excuses for his movies instead of excepting that some of his movies are not liked. Hostel Part II was OKAY. I mean, it was well made and well acted. But it was essentially the same movie as the first one minus the suspense that movie was able to generate. Now Saw 3D is pure torture porn. That is NOTHING but torture. It is not entertainment. Not in my opinion. So there goes his theory.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:59:01 AM

@johnny- lol yeah he definetly knows how to save any terrible film... massive american bangers!
Hollywood1086 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:17:58 PM

um hostel 2 sucked, that's why critics don't like it. "torture porn" is appropriate for movies that have no substance, and just do things purely for shock value (aka hostel 1 and 2, tho hostel 1 was kind of decent). get over yourself eli, make a good horror movie that actually has a purpose and maybe critics won't hate it.
Jedimax writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:18:19 PM

Hmmm... I don't know tough debate. Obviously we all want to hate on Eli and I do think that most of the torture pron movies suck. That said Hostel 2 is a lot of fun, and a lot more lighthearted then the 1st one. Which has a comedic tone from the opening scene to the last and an interesting take on the genre. And I am saying that from someone who thought hostel 1 was really disgusting and that all saw movies even the first one sec.

On the other hand Shutter Island, Scream, The Descent, Let Me In- Have all received massive critical praise, and thats before we even touch foreign horror market Let The Right One In, The Orphanage, and even High Tension got good reviews from Chicago Tribune and Los Angeles Times.

I mean so Roth could just be making better movies.
Man in Black writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:04:15 PM

How about you expand your horizons and stop being a one trick pony , you want to be liked by critics branch out you hack , how many different shark movies did speilberg do after JAWS ? thats right NONE ! Maybe have an original idea like Nolan ( inception, layer cake ) but do the big boy movies ( BB, TDK ) yet do them well and do them justice so untill that days happens f*ck off .
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:49:39 PM

I didn't mind Hostel 2. Eli is right, to a certain point. Critics rarely give slasher films respect.
FBO writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:51:43 PM

Wow, what a d*ck. Hey eli, it's not just critics who think that your horror movies are torture porn. Maybe instead trying to find creative ways to show someone's disgusting death for entertainment, you should try to use suspense and character develipement.
c-prime writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:52:13 PM

@ trailertrash: Wonderfully said.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:56:10 PM

If Eli hates the term 'torture porn', then why did he create Hostel or Hostel 2, which incorporated torture into horror ? There has ALWAYS been torture in horror movies in the 80s, so he needs to shut his Beartrap Jew mouth up and take that python he was hugging in those PETA adds and stick it uncomfortably far us his retarded ass. He's a glorified piehole of a director who happened to have caught the peripheral vision of Tarantano and plans to ride that train all the way to the end of the line. He's going to wind up making made for cable movies for Cinemax, where they enjoy having subgrade schlock made with very little money and extremely little talent or script, that f*cking Hiebie little sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:58:57 PM

Eli Roth Says Critics Always Claim to Hate Horror Films ... no. They just hate you, Eli.
HideousSecretion writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 3:15:46 PM

Hostel 2 was a piece of sh*t. And sucking Tarantino's d*ck the past 5 years instead of working doesn't make you a super director.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 3:43:37 PM

Eli here's a horror movie for you to make. One involving you, Che and Che's dad.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 3:52:40 PM

Man In Black said it best: stop being a one trick pony. Or if you have to be a one trick pony, then make sure the trick is good every time you do it. I haven't seen Hostel 2 but even you, Eli, complained about it.

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 3:55:21 PM

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

I'm thankful to have found this site and been a part of this community. Warts and all.

(Settle down Jake_Awesomeness, COC, et al. I wasn't talking about your private parts)
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:09:16 PM

Yes Happy Thanksgiving to All you Folks on the other side of the pond !!

Horror - lol ,Good to have you on here too...
beepboop writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:34:18 PM

"Roth went on to use "Hostel: Part 2" as an example of a good horror movie"
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
holtlt writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:20:02 PM

It's all about the screenplay and script, nothing else matters
Taco writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:12:37 PM

Man did he ever miss the point. not the brightest are you Eli.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:49:54 PM

I would love to see a torture porn about the disembowelment and castration of Eli Roth,
directed by Herschell Gordon Lewis .... that would be just golden.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:54:35 PM

f*ck Thanksgiving.

If the Native Americans disemboweled and beheaded the Puritans and all of the following invaders who came to the New World,
we wouldn't have Kanye West dancing like a f*ckwad during the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade, Eli Roth and his retarded brain or some of these motherf*ckers who throw a comment in because they think we won't f*cking destroy them for their f*cking retarded syphillis induced nightmares of lives.

f*ck Thanksgiving.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:57:13 PM

I hope Eli winds up with a gas main near his house leak in gas and then some sh*tstain throw a lit cigarette near his garage and blow his f*cking retarded ass up, like the Nakatomi Plaza in Die Hard .... only, he doesn't get out alive ... rather, he gets roasted up in the air vent, like a basted turkey ....

f*ck Thanksgiving.
MyCircusLife writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:38:10 AM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

Besides whining about people like us who actually get to make movies for a living you might want to try masturbating with something other than purell when you post on this site. It just makes you sound so angry.
AYT BALL writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 3:50:31 AM

Eli Roth is a joke, hes trying to make out he made a good "horror movie" with hostel 2??! really?! nah torture porn was the perfect description for this crap, i have a strong stomach, i can watch gory sh*t or real life operations etc. BUT, i was angry watching Roths movies because it felt too much like he was trying every trick in the book just to disgust me, didnt work, just came across as childish.

When we were all teenagers and a mate said "hey ive got this banned horror movie its sick! wanna watch it?" we used to get all excited, we would watch them just to see what the fuss was about, were they any good? f*ck no! low rent crap! Roths just making these movies with a slightly bigger budget for the new generation of teenagers to show their balls by watching it. And for the record i actually quite liked cabin fever! all went down hill from there.

Roth your a hack until you prove otherwise.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 7:21:18 AM

MyCircusLife writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:38:10 AM
@Max Rockatansky Junior

Besides whining about people like us who actually get to make movies for a living you might want to try masturbating with something other than purell when you post on this site. It just makes you sound so angry.

@My Cyst-ic Lesions

I tried masterbating with that naked picture of your mom on Fat Whores Who f*ck Fruit.com, but kept throw up all the time.

Oh, and making that necropheliac movie with your rotting six year old sister doesn't count as a movie. It counts as evidence in a rape case on a corpse.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 7:21:58 AM

^ Correction : throwing
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 7:41:11 AM

MyCircusLife writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:38:10 AM
@Max Rockatansky Junior

Besides whining about people like us who actually get to make movies for a living you might want to try masturbating with something other than purell when you post on this site. It just makes you sound so angry.

@ My Corrosive Labia

Haven't you always heard it's rude to talk with your mouth full ?

Spit out all that Joel Silver c*m you've been guzzling first, before you open your mouth to speak.

Otherwise, it just makes you look like a porn version of a doc*mentary on Niagra Falls.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 8:10:27 AM

MyCircusLife < If there was ever proof positive that stem cell research is needed, starting with killing off all the retarded festus' born from inbred wedlock, here it is.
vaodsi writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 8:06:45 PM

actually it was the fact that we see her almost bludgeoned to death.....

not saying i agree with roger just saying he wasn't all uppity cause a little girl used some language.
It was cause he didn't like the violence perpetrated against the child.
MyCircusLife writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 2:08:36 AM

awww the 40 year old chump who makes far less money than i do decided to tell a mom joke and a redneck joke nice and early before work. didn't see that coming haha. very cute. insult me all you want bro. you poor bastards entertain the hell out of me.
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:44:37 PM

Eli Roth should spend more time trying to create a decent movie, and less time trying to defend the steamy piles of sh*t he has put out in the past.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 5:52:09 PM

Someone mentioned Crazies, a film that wasn't torture porn at all but a remake of Romero's 1973 film of the same name. Crazies was horror, yes, but the audience hardly saw more than blood, as there was no focus on disembowelments, the stitching of lips and torture with rusty implements. I rather liked the film, and was captivated by the story, even if it did veer into camp.

As for Roth, I can't say I hate the man, so I disagree with TT for sure, but I can agree with the sentiment that Roth is a 'one-trick' pony who makes one film after another depicting the useless and unpalatable debasement of women, so I think there's some concern for the man's obsession of defiling humans in the most horrific manners possible.

I think, then, by that psychological extension, some undesirable insight can be gained as as a partial depiction Roth's mind, and because of that, then perhaps I can say that I find him personally detestable. So I'm a little ambivalent on Roth personally.

I do believe though that a film that depicts the horrific brutalizing of people, without a story or any filmatic merit beyond shock value, to be the lowest possible level of film, even beyond pornography, as the latter does serve some natural and generally harmless purpose, whereas 'torture porn' only offers pleasures to those that possess an arguably disturbed and abnormal interest in the physical destruction of their fellow man.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 5:59:47 PM

"awww the 40 year old chump who makes far less money than i do decided to tell a mom joke and a redneck joke nice and early before work. didn't see that coming haha. very cute. insult me all you want bro. you poor bastards entertain the hell out of me."

Shut the f*ck up faggot. I'm already sick of listening you breath. No one gives a d*ck about how much money you make. You might make more than me, and I couldn't care less because I'm not some post-modern loser slave bragging about how much money I make on a website full of strangers. So just do yourself a favor and shut the f*ck up.

And no one makes you read Max's comments, so if you don't like them, SKIP THEM you stinking *sshole of a human.
trailertrash writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 8:51:50 PM

Couldn't have said it any better Mink..

Working at Blockbuster's doesn't count as "Making Movies" either , Just wanted to set you straight there, But it is a job but one you may not have for much longer though.
MyCircusLife writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 9:22:48 PM

keep it coming guys. some of this is actually pretty funny. expected mink to bring it and he's actually one of the only other people who post that has some sort of connection to the industry. well, off to make sure those post-prod punks at Furious FX are getting their work done on The Rum Diary for me. cheers losers
MyCircusLife writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 9:29:17 PM

never thought i'd have this much fun on a movie site. instead of being offended when people like all of you trash our movies we should just go to a site and mess with some miserable "unpaid" critics like yourselves. love you guys!!!
goatweasel writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 4:22:25 PM

@minkowski Your wise words make a lot of sense..MyCircusLife seems to elivate himself on interlect, money, with just a general all round superiority complex. makes me wonder why some one ofxuch interlect wealth and stature would would spend valuble time responding to "such loosers" I thought he would be making space stations or solving the string theory over a cup of warm coco .. just a thought
goatweasel writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 4:51:33 PM

hollywood is a business and formulaic. they make movies with 3d! flash! bang! explosion! with no or little plot, make there money and run! horror offers amazing potential but always seem to follow the mindless route... excessive gore, nonsense plots that make no sense terribly un natural human behaviour. this from directors who think they can make great movies because it turned a profit! so they are succesfull! in that they fufill there duty which is to make money.sad that no one dares or is allowed to put in a story line with flawless plots, suspense,less blood n guts and build a plot that has continuity.. any way what do i know , ive never made a film in my life...just a thought
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 8:21:48 PM

MyCircusLife writes:

on November 27th, 2010 at 9:29:17 PM

never thought i'd have this much fun on a movie site. instead of being offended when people like all of you trash our movies we should just go to a site and mess with some miserable "unpaid" critics like yourselves. love you guys!!!


It's a Cold Night In Sunday version of "Translate the Tard", ladies (My Circus Life), gentlemen and frreakoid, nebbish aborted sh*t stain (Mustache Rider, currently servicing truckers in the WaffleHouse and johns in the back alley, all for her next hit of crystal meth).

Enjoy!

" I (sure as sh*t) never thought I'd have this much fun (without oweing money for the pre-op transsexual to keep sodomizing my ass so much, I think I'm Al Pacino in Fisting getting f*cked in Central Park) on a movie site (this lapdog *sshole must be an L.A. transplant, since he didn't use the words "entertainment venue")! Instead of being offended (since the lobotomy my Mom demanded when I was four was successful), when people like all of you trash our movies (that I keep restocking in the entertainment section of Wal-Mart during three in the morning), we should just go to a site and mess with some miserable(,) 'unpaid' critics like yourselves (rather than service Roger Ebert, like we have to do. I mean, it's creepy sticking our d*cks into that mouth, with no jaw). (I) love you guys (and that is intentionally in a 'don't ask, don't tell, Abu Ghraibish donkey-sucking and f*cking off way)!!! "


Hate to f*ck with your little world ... actually, no. No. I don't.

Mopping c*m from Seventy year old accountants from the floors from secrective viewing rooms doesn't make you an 'insider' in Hollywood.

It makes you pathetic, turdbucket.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved