WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Bob Thornton Says Hollywood is Making Bad Movies

Posted: November 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Bob Thornton Says Hollywood is Making Bad MoviesSubmit Comment
In an interview with The Telegraph, Billy Bob Thornton blamed video games for turning the public into movie-goers who no longer expect any real story or lessons in their movies.

"We're living in a time when we're making - in my humble opinion - the worst movies in history," he said. "They're geared toward the video game-playing generation. And these video games, which I'm on my son about constantly, these games are people killing for fun, and I think traditionally in movies, there's always been some kind of lesson in the violent movies."

Ironically, Thornton is currently starring in "Faster," one of the most violent films of the year. But he says that it's more than just violence.

The actor explained: "This movie doesn't say, 'Oh, here's this fun guy and we're going to do this tongue-in-cheek character right out of a video game who likes to destroy things' and all this kind of thing. This movie actually shows what prisons create, what murder creates. It shows this perpetual, violent string of events."

Source: Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:39:52 AM

Because Bad News Bears, School For Scoundrels, Mr Woodc*ck, Eagle Eye and Armageddon were oscar worthy? I'm pretty sure Call Of Duty has a better story line, cahracter development and action scenes than all of the above.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:40:18 AM

*character
johnny_boy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:11:51 AM

Yeah. Granted he may be right but you can't talk crap when your previous roster of movies are terrible.
masht7 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:19:05 AM

Billy Bob Thornton is in my good books again.
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:41:53 AM

Billy Bob Thornton is Making Bad Movies.
Damon242 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:04:41 AM

I really hate how people generalize video games as just shooters with storylines just about killing people.

There is such a thing as an RPG, for starters.

And he is right about the worst movies bit. Generally, video games have better storylines than most movies.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:21:14 AM

No, we're "killing" non-living enemy characters made of pixels for fun, dumbass!
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:02:43 AM

Dunno anout you lot ,but i don't kill for fun,i train for armageddon.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:13:42 AM

I have always respected Billy Bob, but stop complaining about video games. As Damon said, many video games have way better storyline than most recent movies. Blame on them who the blame belongs: Money-whoring film studios.
boogiel writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:26:52 AM

for once, I agree with BBT
JohnZee writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 8:25:55 AM

First of all the Call of Duty video games are an huge exception to the usual very crappy writing that goes into most other video games. And even than they aren't that great. Certainly not when it comes to the exact flaws that Thornton was stating. And as far as I know he wasn't pointing his finger at that one particular video game franchise.

And I don't see how this is different from Mark Wahlberg or James Cameron having critical opinions on other subjects. So if you defended either of their critical statements but think that Thornton in this case is an ass, that I'd wager that makes you much more of an ass.

As far as RPGs, yes there is some story to most of them, but at best they are the equivalent of the most shallow overly violent D&D games. Giving just the most basic of taste of what the RP in RPG actually means. And also even sadder that once again someone is trying to make the claim that video games have better stories.

Patently ridiculous, if that was true than why is it that one of the lowest rungs of modern day cinema are movies made from video games? By that argument if the source material really was leaps and bounds better storytelling than the average movie, than that would mean that the movie based of most video games would be much more critically acclaimed and profitable, but yet in truth the exact opposite is usually always the case.

Don't tell me, each and every bad movie based on a video game was the fault of the movie makers because they did not adapt from the video game verbatim. Or maybe the had the wrong actor cast, but if they had just been designed animation from the game designers than they would have been major blockbuster successes an Oscar contenders...

...Yeah you go with that.

Thornton sees a problem that is there, but he is citing only one of multiple factors that is causing those problems. And probably because it sounds like his son is a bit of a video game junkie. And a father bitching and complaining about the things his son is into is as old as time. And certainly doesn't make him a bad guy.

So stop the whining over someone's criticism of video games. Not all of us are into that sort of thing, and I am sure that there are plenty of things that Thornton does that most video game fans would be shocked and disgusted by.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:14:23 AM

Ugh. I just hate it when people bitch about how bad movies have gotten. I just don't agree with that assessment. Movies are great. I love movies. Always have and always will. I actually think 2010 has been a pretty darn good year for movies. Best year since 2005 IMO.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:19:47 AM

This has to be one of the worst years. I haven't been to the theatre hardly at all this year. BBT is right though.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:23:20 AM

well i'm not sure video games are fully to blame, I mean he's right movies these days are only skin deep most of them, you don't seem many truly great films, most of them are blockbusters or CGI and don't get me rong I like those movies but I wish I could see more movies like Oldboy or JSA which have great characters and great storylines with messages.

I like to be entertained but sometimes I like to think about what the movie is saying. Most films now have no message they are pure candy for the eye.

Nice one Billy Bob, I like your style.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:26:47 AM

*wrong and *you don't see

I wish you could edit these posts incase you make a typo. I'm affraid of those typo sharks that bite you in the ass and don't let go until they have drained all your blood.
darthraige writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:53:52 AM

No, not bad movies, f*cking awful movies. Bunch of c*nts running the studios now. f*cking women, in, suits.
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:30:48 AM

He's not been the same fun guy since he stopped DP Angelina with her brother some years back !!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:55:49 AM

SHUT UP JOHNZEE WITH YOUR ESSAY. Obviously video games lack a deep story line if you were sitting there watching people talking all the time you'd be bored sh*tless. There is no direct correlation between the increase of popularity in video games and decrease of quality in films.
Sinestro writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:14:33 AM

What a f*cking windbag this guy is. He is contributing to the "problem." And is it just me or do the vast majority of people who have something bad to say about video games are the people who do not play them and do not understand them?
Blank x25 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:25:36 AM

He's right to an extent. Most people wouldn't know a good story, plot, character, etc. if it pissed on their shoe.


And Call of Duty BLOWS. Sorry to be the one breaking the news.
Sinestro writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:27:17 AM

I think the point people are trying to make John, is that Billy Bob shouldn't be trying to put the blame on an art form (yes, it's a f*cking art form) he doesn't fully understand. These modern story-driven action video games (GTA/Call of Duty/Gears of War/Halo/Deus Ex/Half Life) are emulating the story-telling of films, not the other way around. A game's main purpose is not to tell a compelling story but to provide fun and addictive game-play. Most gamers didn't need more than a simple "THANK YOU MARIO! BUT OUR PRINCESS IS IN ANOTHER CASTLE." as an incentive to carry on. Movies are getting sh*ttier because movies are getting sh*ttier, and because people like Billy Bob Thornton keep pushing them out in troves, not because his f*cking kid is a goddamn noob-tuber in Black Ops.
Blank x25 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:28:18 AM

JohnZee, video games are fine. Nothing wrong with them.

But Call of Duty being the exception or best at anything is beyond laughable. If you think THAT is the exception for good story telling in games, please go back to NES.
Longo12 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:29:14 AM

Well seeing as most movies now aren't even original stories, like remakes and sequels and adaptations. Video games are mostly sequels too, but they're more original and interesting stories in my opinion
Sinestro writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:36:31 AM

Call of Duty games are fun and well made. You can't f*ck with that, dude, there are millions of people playing that sh*t on a consistent basis day in and day out. It's not like a movie that can sell a sh*tload of tickets on hype alone, these games get re-played daily. But you are 100% ABSOLUTELY RIGHT in saying that the COD franchise is NOT an exception when it comes to sh*tty story-telling. The story in COD is more cinematic, yea, but not very well thought out. It's all over the place, but again, it's ok, people don't play COD to find out what kind of emotions run through the head of Soap MacTavish. They wanna shoot things dead. And where did we all learn to love that kinda sh*t? Oh yea, f*cking action movies from the 80's! I can't believe he said there was always some kind of message to the old action movies. lol. What a bitch.
ChainsawX writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:36:21 PM

if someone can prove to me that jack the ripper played grand theft auto and that insipired him to kill hookers then i will buy that video games are the cause of all the violence in this country
ChainsawX writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:37:53 PM

although props to billy bob to actually watch what his son plays unlike a lot of parents in the country
Man in Black writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:57:24 PM

Thanks for the news flash turbo , now stop feeding in to the sh*tty movie factory and read a script before you cash the check ie: Sling Blade and dare i say Armageddon ( yes i like that movie ) and stop blaming video games you sound like the mass public just after Columbine " what were they listening to what games were they playing " the answers KMFDM and Doom , it was 1999 Halo and COD wasn't a game coders wet dream YET and KMFDM is the bees knees its 1000% better then that boy band sh*t they were shoving down our throats in the 90s ! Also like Chainsaw said what was Jack the ripper playing and ill add what was Vlad the impaler playing ? ( stepping off soap box )
Atemisk writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:18:36 PM

@ChainsawX: Best arguement ever

While I agree that we're currently making some of the sh*ttiest movies in history, I don't agree it's because of games. In some respect I don't think that's really his fault, it's a bit of a generational gap. But the really great games typically have a story that will kick the ass of virtually any movie ever made.

Don't get me wrong, there are of course the movies whose brillance will shine over even the best games but similiarly to those brillant games, those brillant movies are far and few in between.

He's just doing the same dumbass thing that all the people that make these statements about video games are doing: Giving an opinion based on extraordinarily limited information, and passing their ignorance onto the world. Still far and away one of the best examples of which I believe is the game Bully. The "Columbine Simulator" as it were... If you know what I'm talking about, then you should know what I mean. If not, look it up it's rather interesting and quite frankly one of the accusations that got Jack Thompson disbarred.
FBO writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:33:21 PM

i am going to have to agree that movies are crap because hollyWOODY is going for quantity instead of quality. I also fell inclined to say that imo video games make for a dumber generation. Don't get me wrong, i have a 360 and i play... less than an hour a day. Talking to people in the real world would be better if kids learned manners from their parents instead of xbox live.
Also, xbox live would be better if parents didn't let their smartass, obnoxious, pre pubecent, loud mouth, f*cktarded children, who don't know the proper context of a swear word, play a game that no 13 year old should be playing.


Now, to all you little boys with voices so high that you sound like little girls, the next time i get on mw2 and hear you saying; You cheat, You cheat, you shot me in the back cuz your a coward," or "No england is better, No america is better, No england is better" or "i am going to kill you in real life!!" I swear to Budda, i'll find a way to strangle you with the wire from my wireless controller, i don't know how it's going to happen, but believe you me, it's going to f*ckin' happen!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 2:01:43 PM

Really, Billy Bob ? Really ? Man, you are really putting that Mensa membership into full use, aren't you, Brainiac ?

Hey, we didn't make you sign your Hanc*ck on Eagle Eye ... or Mr. Woodc*ck.

So shut your trap and use a napkin. You have a bit of producer's c*m on the corner of your mouth, f*cknut.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 2:03:19 PM

It also shows a quick paycheck for both Billy Bob and Dwayne.
Man in Black writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:13:04 PM

@ FBO - great post
FBO writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:28:37 PM

@MiB - thanks, i'll be honest, i kinda went into a rant at the end of that, but very few things piss me off like a group of pubs trying to yell over each other after ever match. I've never once heard something intelligent come out of a screaming pubie on xbox live.
Charlie9 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:29:06 PM

Billy Bob Thornton's face is in the dictionary next to Hypocrite. Idiot.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:51:09 PM

I can't/won't blame Billy Bob for any bad movies (I like him so I don't feel there are many) he's been in. For the pay these actors get... I'd wade in sh*t up to my knees (sort of like dealing with lurkers on here). And the man gave us 'Slingblade' and nailed Jolie in the crapper ('til she couldn't 'sh*t straight for a month!)... so kudos to whatever this guy says.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=evM0CxF7HRk

trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 4:59:07 PM

I hope that's a link to him nailing Jolie in the crapper .....
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:09:36 PM

Saw 'The Rock' on Leno the other night. The film clip he said was his favorite from the movie.

It was Jr. High School writing and acting AT BEST!!! It was actually painful to watch! Even the 60 seconds the clip was... was predictable! He can't even play angry well. Meaning Putzman will give it an 9/10.

And Billy Bob... if your kid is playing video games too much... and you're the father, and not doing anything about it... how do YOU spell 'enabler?!' If you're not part of the problem, you're part of the solution. Nice work on nailing Jolie... but c'mon!
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:15:42 PM

So what your saying is The Rock is not ready to be an Expendable yet or is that ever !!

Putzy gave 7/10 so it has to be crap right ..
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:55:48 PM

@tt - could have been. Didn't sound like it (unless they dubbed her).
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:56:19 PM

LOL... did he REALLY give it 7/10?

Oh, this I have to check out.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:59:57 PM

Oh f*ck... he did too! LOL!

And The Expendables remains (in his eyes) 3/10.

Yeah, ok. Whatever.

Even I will say The Expendables (and I love it!) would be (seriously) and 8/10 at MINIMUM. But because it so well succeeded at it's intent (80's, action-star, mindless explosions, etc. yet STILL had a story) for that a 9/10 (10/10 in my eyes because it did succeed). But 3/10, yet 7/10 for Faster?!

Oi!

Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:03:10 PM

The clip shown on Leno started at 1:30 of this trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Buf4_Crt27c

Sweet he kills a guy right on the operating table. So... ok... great points for that!
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:05:33 PM

1:03 of that trailer. If there girl in that scene is reading this... call me!

I'll eat your ass corn!
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:19:24 PM

And if she calls god damn she had better be wearing that outfit (or less)
!! HAWT !! HOTTY !! TOTTY!!

Carla Gugino is the 2nd reason to watch this movie .....
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:21:40 PM

3/10 The Expendables

7/10 Faster

I know we have gone over this ground before , But what is that guy on !! (other than the Dwaynes d*ck)
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:29:29 PM

His Dad's!
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:32:53 PM

Nice one Dwayne ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvbs4PlUqHU&feature=related
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:35:17 PM

He's got more pricks than a second hand dartboard ..... Boom Boom !!!
holtlt writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 7:16:54 PM

No sh*t...? f*cking Hollywood, it was about making art, it's now about making publicity, which makes sh*tloads of money...who dosen't want to be rich? period
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:02:55 PM

What are you f*cking complaining about, Billy Bon(g) Thorton ?

Are you cooking up Tacos to pay off a college tuition for graduating knowing a 2,000 year old dead language ? Are you having to work on the corner of the street, slinging smack or selling oranges to guys in their cars ? No ? Then shut your f*cking c*ck-rocket-landing pad, before the sperm you've been sucking off start drooling down your chin ... just bend over, drop your BVDS and take that producer's c*ck deep in that cornholed ass of yours ...

f*cking sh*tstick.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 11:11:31 PM

Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 5:09:36 PM
Saw 'The Rock' on Leno the other night. The film clip he said was his favorite from the movie.

It was Jr. High School writing and acting AT BEST!!! It was actually painful to watch! Even the 60 seconds the clip was... was predictable! He can't even play angry well. Meaning Putzman will give it an 9/10.

And Billy Bob... if your kid is playing video games too much... and you're the father, and not doing anything about it... how do YOU spell 'enabler?!' If you're not part of the problem, you're part of the solution. Nice work on nailing Jolie... but c'mon!


@Ranger

I tell you this, here and now ... if Putnam got laid, the reviews would be a hell of a lot f*cking better.

Dwayne has turned into his own worst enemy ... he HAS become a jabroni and has shown that his c*cksucking days are just c*mming .....

Dwayne 'The (C)ock' Johnson is the Tawney Kittean of action guys .... and that's not a good thing.

Billy Bob, when you get an XBox and buy the Sam Kinison Drug Extremity & Sex Game ... THEN you f*cking tell me video games are a problem ... and frankly, nailing Jolie isn't that big a f*cking deal .... you waive a corndog to any Appalachian hickbillie woman and they'll f*ck you sidesaddle SANS the traditional rubber, motherf*cker ...
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:10:33 AM

lololol.

'The c*ck' Johnson... I've posted it here before on WP. The guy must have the WORST manager in the business. The fact his agent wasn't washing Sly's car at first wind of The Expendables... f*ck, Sly picked non-acting, non-action stars and overlooked The c*ck completely! Bandaras' career NEVER recovered since doing Spy Kids, and it's slowed The c*ck's career to a stand-still, right after he dropped the torch Arnie almost literally passed him in that movie. WHAT OTHER ACTOR has Arnie done that for? NONE! And The c*ck STILL f*cked up that honor!

As for video games causing more kid crime... yeah, I don't believe that much either. It's parents using the video games as electronic babysitters and ignoring their kids which has led to some of it. Grab a kid committing vandalism... and first words out of his mouth... 'I was bored!' Bored?! BORED?! These f*cking days with all the sh*t and gadgets on the go. Bored my ass.

When I was a kid. If you did something to someone's property... they came out and hit you. Then took you home. Then the parents had another round.

My cousin threw a snowball at a house once. He had to shovel their walk for the entire winter!

As for Angelina. Yeah... easy mark. If she'll f*ck her brother, she'll f*ck anything. Sorry Billy Bob.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:16:55 AM

Note - the above post isn't judging (parenting), it's just and opinion and/or observation.

The opinions in that post do not reflect those of WorstPreviews.com nor it's staff or family members.

WorstPreviews.com in no way endorses the views of Ranger.

JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:22:57 AM

"Videogames are too violent!" Says the sado-masochist who used to wear a vial of his fellow sado-masochist wife's blood around his neck...
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:37:27 AM

LOL... I was just thinking about their vials of blood during my last post. Too funny.
Mudders writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 5:04:10 AM

hollywood replies: we already know that...thanks for the $$$$
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 6:23:26 AM

Note - the above post isn't judging (parenting), it's just and opinion and/or observation.

The opinions in that post do not reflect those of WorstPreviews.com nor it's staff or family members.

WorstPreviews.com in no way endorses the views of Ranger.

Haha love it mate ^
SACdaddy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 8:54:12 AM

Audiences take what Hollywood gives them. BBT is right in the sense that there is a sh*tload of crap being produced, but he's demonizing the wrong industry (sort of). Almost every popular game out there is based off a conventional Hollywood film that has done very well at the box office. For example, Medal of Honor ripped Saving Private Ryan, Cain and Lynch/Army of Two and many others were birthed by HEAT, Doom/Halo are rooted in the Alien franchise. Point is without these films these games might not exist or wouldn't have as big of a following. Really where would the FPS market be without Golden Eye?

So how does this effect the decisions being made in Hollywood? Producers are very shortsighted these days and only see the profits being made off the gaming industry without realizing where these games' popularity is rooted or originated. As a result we've seen less attention being devoted to character development, narrative, and plot, and more of a devotion to visual effects, first person action (ie shaky cam), and ultra violence. This is NOT the gaming industry's fault. Hwood producers just aren't smart enough to realize that their films provide inspiration for these games, not the other way around. They don't have to dumb down films for audiences because they love VGs. The audience will love an intelligent well crafted film (like Inception), just f*cking give it to them for Christsake and let the gaming industry copy it for a profit.

Billy Bob is right about Hwood producing sh*t, but he's wrong (imo) for demonizing his kid's love for games. Plus, as many of you have already said, who the f*ck is he to throw stones while contibuting his rapidly declining acting skills to the problem? The man stopped being a serious actor almost 10 years ago but has still managed to cash a boatload of checks dialing in lame performances in a bevy of the same kind of uninspired films he seems to be criticizing.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 12:46:53 PM

@Cinemaisdead - lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 8:38:37 PM

Just saw Faster. Pretty f*cking stupid and boring. Still not the kind of movie thats going to boost the Rock's sputtering career. Billy Bob was one of the worst things about it.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 9:30:26 PM

@SAC - thx. for the review (seriously). When The Rock said on Leno his fav. scene was on the clip he brought... and it sucked THAT BAD. Then I knew.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 7:39:17 AM

Ranger: No problem, I guess someone had to pay the $20 (yeah I paid for my girl to go drool over the Rock for 120 minutes) and bite the bullet for the rest of us. Oh well, at least the Battle LA and Cowboys and Aliens previews looked good on the big screen.
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:48:09 PM

There are many great movies that have come out in the past decade, he just wants to complain so he can plug his sh*tty movie.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 5:30:43 PM

Thorton would know, wouldn't he?
bacci40 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 5:36:56 PM

he is right...and wrong

its the economy...stupid

there is no industry that is more risk aversive than hollywood

and so...they are going out of their way to make movies they believe will sell to the core audience...18-25 year old males...

hollywood has always made violent movies...many, with absolutely no lesson

the problem is...quality...and until the global economy improves...we will be stuck with a series of remakes and dumbass movies...with a couple of quality ones thrown in so that the suits still feel that they are doing important work
struck21 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 6:08:22 PM

I can't argue with him. All movie goers seem to want anymore is the Micheal Bay formula. Horrid script + Horrid acting + Horrid Director + Hot chick + Loud Noises. Every time I come on this site to check the news, it's all "Remake" "Part 4" "Reboot". The last time there was an original idea in Hollywood, the internet was still a thought in Al Gore's brain.
Mister Leary writes:
on November 29th, 2010 at 1:48:53 AM

In other news....Hollywood says Billy Bob Thorton is making bad movies

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved