WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terry Crews on Being Part of "The Expendables"

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terry Crews on Being Part of "The Expendables"Submit Comment
I (Alex) recently had the chance to speak to Terry Crews about "The Expendables," which is now in stores on DVD and Blu-ray. The actor spoke about how he met Sylvester Stallone, realizing that his life will never be the same and which action stars he would like to see in the sequel.

How did you find out about "The Expendables"?

I heard about it in Variety and they were talking about putting together this whole thing. It was weird. Back then Forest Whitaker was in it and a lot of the names that you see there, and I was like 'Man! I would love to do something like that.' And I've known what was going on for a little while, at least a few months before I got the call.

Where did your character's name (Hale Caesar) come from?

That's Sly. He has names like Toll Road (Randy Couture) and Lee Christmas (Jason Statham), Hale Caesar (Crews). He wanted it not to be so serious, but at the same time, he wanted the thing to have an archetype of quality where the bad guys are really bad and the good guys are not very good either. He created a movie that everyone could get with, because you could recognize yourself in any of those characters.

Did you know Stallone before this?

No, not at all. I'm a big fan. "Rocky 3" is one of my favorite films of all time. He changed the game in so many ways. To get the call from him... I'll never forget the meeting. Go down to Beverly Hills, sit down in this dark room, he's sitting in his glasses and he's like (Stallone's voice) 'Come over here.' And I'm like 'Wow.' You're meeting with the man. It's an honor. Sly is a living legend. I think people underappreciate what he has done. It's just like Jerry Lewis. He's underappreciated for what he did for film itself, not just comedy. He changed how movies are made. Same thing with Stallone. How action films are made, right now, came from the way he did it.

You know Arnold Schwarzenegger, right?

The first movie I ever did was an Arnold Schwarzenegger movie called "The 6th Day."

Did Stallone talk to you about bringing Arnold onboard?

We talked. I remember him talking about how he was trying to get the deal done. Because while we were doing it, we heard that there was a possibility. And he is like "I'm trying hard to make sure this happens." We already shot our parts, and then they did it. They all met together; him, Arnold, Bruce [Willis]. And Arnold is one of my favorite people of all time. That guy has done so much for me. I've been blessed by the trinity of action. I'm good friends with Bruce. It's wild right now, because it's hard to imagine as a kid that I would know all three of them and be cool with all of them. It's kind of sick. I still pinch myself all the time.

A lot of fans were also happy to see you in the movie.

I have to say... It was weird, because I knew I had a lot of fans that like me in comedy, but the question was always "What's he doing here? The other guys like Dolph, I can understand that. But why put Terry Crews in this mix?" And the best thing about it was when Sly gave me that scene and really put me in the mix like that. It all became painfully evident. It's like being the #1 pick and have everyone doubt you, like "What has he done before?" And then you get four sacks in your first game. And then everybody goes "Oh, I get it." That's what Sly did for me and now there's just no question that I belong in "The Expendables" mix. And it's a wonderful feeling.

Before the movie came out, Life Insurance put together a chart showing the body count of each actor.

(laughs) I [saw that]. I had two.

You had two kills, now you're at about a thousand.

(laughs) I know, and in one scene. Let me tell you, I like my movies like that. I was so happy and I'm not going to forget it. And I knew life would change when I was at Comic-Con and they showed [my scene] and then people went insane. When I came through with that gun, people lost their minds. My wife was there and I was like "Honey, I don't think it will ever be the same again." And she was like "I know! I know!" It was one of those moments. Everybody has a moment and Comic-Con was it for me.

Do you prefer action or do you still likely comedy? (via Dre-EL)

I love film, I love it all. "White Chicks" for me was my comedy "Expendables." I just want an iconic moment in film. It doesn't matter if it's action, horror, comedy. It's the same feeling. It's the same euphoria that comes with having a moment like that. With me in the car with Marlon [Wayans] singing that song became an iconic moment for people. They're very rare to come by and I have been blessed to have more than one. Even Cheeseburger Eddy [from "The Longest Yard"] and even "Friday After Next," being with Katt Williams, he's a hood legend.

In the hood they still call me Damon from my character in ["Friday After Next"]. I'm forever Damon, because it's so ingrained in people's minds and that's what you want to do as an actor. That's why I don't really have a preference. If I'm doing action, I PROMISE you I'm doing action all out. I did a movie called "Gamer" with Gerard Butler last year and we put it down. Not a lot of people got to see it. It wasn't a commercial hit, but I think even now people are recognizing it and going "Oh, they're going back to it." That's the best feeling about putting stuff out. A movie like "Idiocracy" that never gets played, all of a sudden becomes cult classic. People watch it again and again and again. It's another iconic character that people quote. I get my lines shouted at me when I go to the store. It's that kind of thing. It's a good place to be.

Will you be in "The Expendables" sequel?

Oh yeah, whenever they get their sh*t together, I'm all in. I'm signed up. I would do it for free, but my agent won't let me. That's for real. I'm not even kidding you. But my agent would never let me do that. But they got me, they don't have to worry whether Hale Caesar will be in that movie or not. I don't play that game. I would do everything that I'm doing for free anyway. I'm doing it out of love. I just have the honor and privilege to be able to get a check. But I would be doing this for two dollars an hour. I'm serious.

What action stars did you look up to growing up that you would want to see in "The Expendables 2"? (via angryblackman, trailertrash)

I want to see [Jean-Claude] Van Damme. I want to see Mr. T. I want to see Wesley Snipes. I want to see Steven Seagal, and I want to see Chuck Norris. To me that would be just awesome. The more the merrier. There is no overkill in this sucker. The whole thing is overkill already. Can you imagine Chuck against Sly. That's like the ultimate cage match. We should do "The Expendables" live (laughs).

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:46:05 PM

I forgot the guy was even there. Lundgren, Stallone, Li and Statham, yes, but Crews? Can't seem to recall his scenes. Oh well.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:02:29 PM

Well Jesus Mary mother of God private pile!
We took the time to come up with all those questions and you use 2? Good job.....Francis
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:02:48 PM

Terry Crews, the crew's most Expendable member.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:23:47 PM

@Minkowski

Come to think of it, he never really had much screen time in the film!

But he still a champ
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:26:45 PM

With the arms of an 800 pound gorilla, he's probably anything and anywhere he wants to be, IMO.

I say give the guy his own action flick to test the waters, see if he can do a better job than Johnson or Cena. He couldn't do worse.
telur writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:11:22 PM

He's one the only black dude in he movie right? Like Jet Li the only yellow dude
mrstretch writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:46:49 PM

Terry Crews is the man
whoever writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:04:27 AM

You have to hand it to the guy, his next director could ask him to swim a crocodile infested river of sh*t and he would still come out the other side smiling!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:17:32 AM

Still an awesome dude!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:23:23 AM

Now he is a top man.

Why can't some of the inbred f*cks in the acting community be like him...(Fox & Lohan I'm looking in your direction)
Ari Gold writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:48:01 AM

@Alex

HAHAHAHA "You know Arnold Schwarzenegger, right?"

Crews is a beast!! He looks like he'd eat a whole cattle farm for breakfast! Give him that super hero movie that Old Spice guy wanted!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:14:43 AM

Can you imagine Chuck against Sly. That's like the ultimate cage match. We should do "The Expendables" live (laughs).

Nobody wants to see a second long fight that ends up with Sly with no internal organs left and Chuck with an out of date carcus to devour.
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 8:35:50 AM

Seems like a cool guy and is just as bigger fan of Action movies, sly, bruce etc as we (well most)are by the sounds of it ....
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 8:36:32 AM

The Expendables sequel, I'm all in. I'm signed up. I would do it for free, but my agent won't let me ...

LOL !!!
Dre-EL writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:23:57 AM

Terry Crews just went up 2 notches in my book. That was a great read Alex thanks for having my question answered again.

Gamer my not have been a great movie or commercial success, but, TC psychotic performance was cool to watch, one should check out the DVD and see him talk about his method.
One of my favourite TC moments was his guess spot on "My wife and kids" as an physical trainer, had me rolling on the floor with laughter (In Deed).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 2:26:03 PM

Wasn't he the one Expendable made to go pick cotton outside the perimeter of the bad guy's mansion, in turn for his freedom eventually by taking the Underground Railroad ?
angryblackman writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:55:09 PM

I f*ckin love terry crews haha
darkraven28 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 7:23:06 AM

Terry Crews did seem to have the LOUDEST f*ckING GUN ON EARTH in the last part of the movie. My speakers send you a shout out, Mr. Crews!

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved