WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terry Crews on Being Part of "The Expendables"

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terry Crews on Being Part of "The Expendables"Submit Comment
I (Alex) recently had the chance to speak to Terry Crews about "The Expendables," which is now in stores on DVD and Blu-ray. The actor spoke about how he met Sylvester Stallone, realizing that his life will never be the same and which action stars he would like to see in the sequel.

How did you find out about "The Expendables"?

I heard about it in Variety and they were talking about putting together this whole thing. It was weird. Back then Forest Whitaker was in it and a lot of the names that you see there, and I was like 'Man! I would love to do something like that.' And I've known what was going on for a little while, at least a few months before I got the call.

Where did your character's name (Hale Caesar) come from?

That's Sly. He has names like Toll Road (Randy Couture) and Lee Christmas (Jason Statham), Hale Caesar (Crews). He wanted it not to be so serious, but at the same time, he wanted the thing to have an archetype of quality where the bad guys are really bad and the good guys are not very good either. He created a movie that everyone could get with, because you could recognize yourself in any of those characters.

Did you know Stallone before this?

No, not at all. I'm a big fan. "Rocky 3" is one of my favorite films of all time. He changed the game in so many ways. To get the call from him... I'll never forget the meeting. Go down to Beverly Hills, sit down in this dark room, he's sitting in his glasses and he's like (Stallone's voice) 'Come over here.' And I'm like 'Wow.' You're meeting with the man. It's an honor. Sly is a living legend. I think people underappreciate what he has done. It's just like Jerry Lewis. He's underappreciated for what he did for film itself, not just comedy. He changed how movies are made. Same thing with Stallone. How action films are made, right now, came from the way he did it.

You know Arnold Schwarzenegger, right?

The first movie I ever did was an Arnold Schwarzenegger movie called "The 6th Day."

Did Stallone talk to you about bringing Arnold onboard?

We talked. I remember him talking about how he was trying to get the deal done. Because while we were doing it, we heard that there was a possibility. And he is like "I'm trying hard to make sure this happens." We already shot our parts, and then they did it. They all met together; him, Arnold, Bruce [Willis]. And Arnold is one of my favorite people of all time. That guy has done so much for me. I've been blessed by the trinity of action. I'm good friends with Bruce. It's wild right now, because it's hard to imagine as a kid that I would know all three of them and be cool with all of them. It's kind of sick. I still pinch myself all the time.

A lot of fans were also happy to see you in the movie.

I have to say... It was weird, because I knew I had a lot of fans that like me in comedy, but the question was always "What's he doing here? The other guys like Dolph, I can understand that. But why put Terry Crews in this mix?" And the best thing about it was when Sly gave me that scene and really put me in the mix like that. It all became painfully evident. It's like being the #1 pick and have everyone doubt you, like "What has he done before?" And then you get four sacks in your first game. And then everybody goes "Oh, I get it." That's what Sly did for me and now there's just no question that I belong in "The Expendables" mix. And it's a wonderful feeling.

Before the movie came out, Life Insurance put together a chart showing the body count of each actor.

(laughs) I [saw that]. I had two.

You had two kills, now you're at about a thousand.

(laughs) I know, and in one scene. Let me tell you, I like my movies like that. I was so happy and I'm not going to forget it. And I knew life would change when I was at Comic-Con and they showed [my scene] and then people went insane. When I came through with that gun, people lost their minds. My wife was there and I was like "Honey, I don't think it will ever be the same again." And she was like "I know! I know!" It was one of those moments. Everybody has a moment and Comic-Con was it for me.

Do you prefer action or do you still likely comedy? (via Dre-EL)

I love film, I love it all. "White Chicks" for me was my comedy "Expendables." I just want an iconic moment in film. It doesn't matter if it's action, horror, comedy. It's the same feeling. It's the same euphoria that comes with having a moment like that. With me in the car with Marlon [Wayans] singing that song became an iconic moment for people. They're very rare to come by and I have been blessed to have more than one. Even Cheeseburger Eddy [from "The Longest Yard"] and even "Friday After Next," being with Katt Williams, he's a hood legend.

In the hood they still call me Damon from my character in ["Friday After Next"]. I'm forever Damon, because it's so ingrained in people's minds and that's what you want to do as an actor. That's why I don't really have a preference. If I'm doing action, I PROMISE you I'm doing action all out. I did a movie called "Gamer" with Gerard Butler last year and we put it down. Not a lot of people got to see it. It wasn't a commercial hit, but I think even now people are recognizing it and going "Oh, they're going back to it." That's the best feeling about putting stuff out. A movie like "Idiocracy" that never gets played, all of a sudden becomes cult classic. People watch it again and again and again. It's another iconic character that people quote. I get my lines shouted at me when I go to the store. It's that kind of thing. It's a good place to be.

Will you be in "The Expendables" sequel?

Oh yeah, whenever they get their sh*t together, I'm all in. I'm signed up. I would do it for free, but my agent won't let me. That's for real. I'm not even kidding you. But my agent would never let me do that. But they got me, they don't have to worry whether Hale Caesar will be in that movie or not. I don't play that game. I would do everything that I'm doing for free anyway. I'm doing it out of love. I just have the honor and privilege to be able to get a check. But I would be doing this for two dollars an hour. I'm serious.

What action stars did you look up to growing up that you would want to see in "The Expendables 2"? (via angryblackman, trailertrash)

I want to see [Jean-Claude] Van Damme. I want to see Mr. T. I want to see Wesley Snipes. I want to see Steven Seagal, and I want to see Chuck Norris. To me that would be just awesome. The more the merrier. There is no overkill in this sucker. The whole thing is overkill already. Can you imagine Chuck against Sly. That's like the ultimate cage match. We should do "The Expendables" live (laughs).

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:46:05 PM

I forgot the guy was even there. Lundgren, Stallone, Li and Statham, yes, but Crews? Can't seem to recall his scenes. Oh well.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:02:29 PM

Well Jesus Mary mother of God private pile!
We took the time to come up with all those questions and you use 2? Good job.....Francis
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:02:48 PM

Terry Crews, the crew's most Expendable member.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:23:47 PM

@Minkowski

Come to think of it, he never really had much screen time in the film!

But he still a champ
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:26:45 PM

With the arms of an 800 pound gorilla, he's probably anything and anywhere he wants to be, IMO.

I say give the guy his own action flick to test the waters, see if he can do a better job than Johnson or Cena. He couldn't do worse.
telur writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:11:22 PM

He's one the only black dude in he movie right? Like Jet Li the only yellow dude
mrstretch writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:46:49 PM

Terry Crews is the man
whoever writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:04:27 AM

You have to hand it to the guy, his next director could ask him to swim a crocodile infested river of sh*t and he would still come out the other side smiling!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:17:32 AM

Still an awesome dude!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:23:23 AM

Now he is a top man.

Why can't some of the inbred f*cks in the acting community be like him...(Fox & Lohan I'm looking in your direction)
Ari Gold writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 12:48:01 AM

@Alex

HAHAHAHA "You know Arnold Schwarzenegger, right?"

Crews is a beast!! He looks like he'd eat a whole cattle farm for breakfast! Give him that super hero movie that Old Spice guy wanted!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:14:43 AM

Can you imagine Chuck against Sly. That's like the ultimate cage match. We should do "The Expendables" live (laughs).

Nobody wants to see a second long fight that ends up with Sly with no internal organs left and Chuck with an out of date carcus to devour.
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 8:35:50 AM

Seems like a cool guy and is just as bigger fan of Action movies, sly, bruce etc as we (well most)are by the sounds of it ....
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 8:36:32 AM

The Expendables sequel, I'm all in. I'm signed up. I would do it for free, but my agent won't let me ...

LOL !!!
Dre-EL writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:23:57 AM

Terry Crews just went up 2 notches in my book. That was a great read Alex thanks for having my question answered again.

Gamer my not have been a great movie or commercial success, but, TC psychotic performance was cool to watch, one should check out the DVD and see him talk about his method.
One of my favourite TC moments was his guess spot on "My wife and kids" as an physical trainer, had me rolling on the floor with laughter (In Deed).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 2:26:03 PM

Wasn't he the one Expendable made to go pick cotton outside the perimeter of the bad guy's mansion, in turn for his freedom eventually by taking the Underground Railroad ?
angryblackman writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 2:55:09 PM

I f*ckin love terry crews haha
darkraven28 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 7:23:06 AM

Terry Crews did seem to have the LOUDEST f*ckING GUN ON EARTH in the last part of the movie. My speakers send you a shout out, Mr. Crews!

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved