WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer for "Serena," with Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For "Playing It Cool," Re-Teaming Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie
Sep 13th, 2014
James McAvoy Will Finally Be Bald in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 12th, 2014
Theo James to Star in "Underworld 5," Kate Beckinsale NOT Returning
Sep 12th, 2014
Mark Ruffalo Begged "Star Wars: Episode VIII" Director For a Role
Sep 12th, 2014
Photo: Tom Cruise, Simon Pegg, Jeremy Renner and Ving Rhames on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Sep 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 12th, 2014
"Married With Children" Spin-Off in the Works
Sep 12th, 2014
Official Photo of Batmobile From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Sep 11th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Sony's Decisions Hurt "The Amazing Spider-Man 2"
Sep 11th, 2014
Photos: Haley Joel Osment is a Nazi in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Sep 11th, 2014
James Bond Villain Richard Kiel Dead at 74
Sep 11th, 2014
New Poster For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Sep 11th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone's "Rambo 5" Gets a Title
Sep 10th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 10th, 2014
Photos: Batmobile Spotted on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 10th, 2014
Will Spider-Man Appear in "Sinister Six"?
Sep 10th, 2014
First Look at Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 10th, 2014
Orlando Bloom May Return for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Sep 10th, 2014
"23 Jump Street" is Moving Forward, Writer Hired
Sep 9th, 2014
Denzel Washington Wants to Play James Bond
Sep 9th, 2014
Michael Douglas Won't Wear Costume in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Sep 9th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton Won't Make "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton WonSubmit Comment
Despite the fact that "Alice in Wonderland" grossed over $1 billion and has left the story open for a sequel, Tim Burton revealed that he will not pursue a second installment.

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Burton added that some movies should not have sequels. He said: "I got a lot of pressure to do a sequel to 'Nightmare Before Christmas,' and I just didn't want to do that, because some movies should just be left alone. I think it keeps their kind of spirit intact in a way."

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:45:54 AM

Not everything needs a sequel people!! The first one was pretty to look at, but the story was totally weak.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:51:23 AM

Well, even though Tim Burton has kind of Sold out in the last few years at least he understands sequels are not always needed.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:54:27 AM

Well, thank the f*ck christ for that.
oklahomaer writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:05:07 AM

At least The Nightmare before Christmas was f*cking awesome.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:40:48 AM

I wish Burton would do more original flicks again!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:11:40 AM

sh*t!

I thought it said he'd make Alice in Wonderland Squeal!


... reading glasses around here somewhere...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:07:21 AM

The film he made was already an unwanted sequel so shut up tim and make an edward scissorhands sequel "EDWARD SWISS-ARMY KNIFE NIPPLES" I don't f*ck about with my movie names...
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:16:48 AM

At least there's some one left in hollywood smart enough to realize that not all movies need sequels to em.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:48:28 AM

A movie that made over a billion dollars at the box office only cuz it was 3D,decides not to pursue a sequel. Now that's a smart decision by a smart director. Are you taking notes, James Cameron?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:24:40 AM

No,He's too busy getting a blow job from sam worthington
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:47:25 AM

Joel Schumacher is on Stand by !!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

Is that why he directed Batman 2
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:29:09 AM

it sucked, and was the worst movie I saw all year.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Good. So we can interpret sh*t as sh*t.

" Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland Sequel " should've read " Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland ", but that's just sh*twater thats passed the cesspool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:06:40 PM

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."


That's what happens when you sell your soul off to Disney, Burton. You've gone from a creative individual with a unique style to becoming the Miley Cyrus of Hollywood directors ...

I mean, you went from Lisa Marie to Helena Bonham Carter ? What the f*ck were you thinking ?
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:39:19 PM

good...
they'll prolly make an "adventures of the mad hatter" film though. I mean.. who cares about alice?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:52:47 PM

I'm still scratching my head over the first one.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

Agree and that fact it's like the 6th Biggest movie of All-time ......

How did that Happen.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:16:14 PM

Yeah, it come and went, took over a billion with it, and I never even saw the film advertised or displayed at the theater.

It's like an old episode of Twilight Zone or something.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:30:28 PM

We even had problems here in the UK with Disney, They only wanted to show the movie for no more than 50 or 60 (something like that) days because they wanted to rush release it for blu-ray/dvd because they were worried about Piracy and a lot of the cinemas here didn't even show it..
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:01:42 PM

I guess one could say that discussing this film's success is like going down the rabbit hole.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:27:02 PM

Ha ha , You could say that...
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:31:35 AM

@realgirl76, Anung_Un_Rama, I resent that, it was not the worst movie ever. Dragonball: Evolution was. The story was amazing and the special effects were fantastic, are you kidding? And I loved it when not only Alice fought the Jabberwocky, she cut it's head off, which was pretty cool:) he didn't sell out, not how I looked at it at least. He made it in his original version and pretty creative at that:)
Personally, I would pay to see a sequel :)
indiepinup writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:24:00 PM

Great! 'Cause it SUCKED!!
onkelchrispy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:48:55 AM

"because some movies should just be left alone"
Like "Willy Wonka" or "Planet of the Apes"...oh...wait...
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:53:06 PM

Tim Burton should just stop making movies in general.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:09:07 AM

Thank you very much, Tim!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved