WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton Won't Make "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton WonSubmit Comment
Despite the fact that "Alice in Wonderland" grossed over $1 billion and has left the story open for a sequel, Tim Burton revealed that he will not pursue a second installment.

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Burton added that some movies should not have sequels. He said: "I got a lot of pressure to do a sequel to 'Nightmare Before Christmas,' and I just didn't want to do that, because some movies should just be left alone. I think it keeps their kind of spirit intact in a way."

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:45:54 AM

Not everything needs a sequel people!! The first one was pretty to look at, but the story was totally weak.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:51:23 AM

Well, even though Tim Burton has kind of Sold out in the last few years at least he understands sequels are not always needed.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:54:27 AM

Well, thank the f*ck christ for that.
oklahomaer writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:05:07 AM

At least The Nightmare before Christmas was f*cking awesome.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:40:48 AM

I wish Burton would do more original flicks again!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:11:40 AM

sh*t!

I thought it said he'd make Alice in Wonderland Squeal!


... reading glasses around here somewhere...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:07:21 AM

The film he made was already an unwanted sequel so shut up tim and make an edward scissorhands sequel "EDWARD SWISS-ARMY KNIFE NIPPLES" I don't f*ck about with my movie names...
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:16:48 AM

At least there's some one left in hollywood smart enough to realize that not all movies need sequels to em.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:48:28 AM

A movie that made over a billion dollars at the box office only cuz it was 3D,decides not to pursue a sequel. Now that's a smart decision by a smart director. Are you taking notes, James Cameron?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:24:40 AM

No,He's too busy getting a blow job from sam worthington
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:47:25 AM

Joel Schumacher is on Stand by !!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

Is that why he directed Batman 2
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:29:09 AM

it sucked, and was the worst movie I saw all year.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Good. So we can interpret sh*t as sh*t.

" Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland Sequel " should've read " Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland ", but that's just sh*twater thats passed the cesspool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:06:40 PM

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."


That's what happens when you sell your soul off to Disney, Burton. You've gone from a creative individual with a unique style to becoming the Miley Cyrus of Hollywood directors ...

I mean, you went from Lisa Marie to Helena Bonham Carter ? What the f*ck were you thinking ?
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:39:19 PM

good...
they'll prolly make an "adventures of the mad hatter" film though. I mean.. who cares about alice?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:52:47 PM

I'm still scratching my head over the first one.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

Agree and that fact it's like the 6th Biggest movie of All-time ......

How did that Happen.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:16:14 PM

Yeah, it come and went, took over a billion with it, and I never even saw the film advertised or displayed at the theater.

It's like an old episode of Twilight Zone or something.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:30:28 PM

We even had problems here in the UK with Disney, They only wanted to show the movie for no more than 50 or 60 (something like that) days because they wanted to rush release it for blu-ray/dvd because they were worried about Piracy and a lot of the cinemas here didn't even show it..
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:01:42 PM

I guess one could say that discussing this film's success is like going down the rabbit hole.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:27:02 PM

Ha ha , You could say that...
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:31:35 AM

@realgirl76, Anung_Un_Rama, I resent that, it was not the worst movie ever. Dragonball: Evolution was. The story was amazing and the special effects were fantastic, are you kidding? And I loved it when not only Alice fought the Jabberwocky, she cut it's head off, which was pretty cool:) he didn't sell out, not how I looked at it at least. He made it in his original version and pretty creative at that:)
Personally, I would pay to see a sequel :)
indiepinup writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:24:00 PM

Great! 'Cause it SUCKED!!
onkelchrispy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:48:55 AM

"because some movies should just be left alone"
Like "Willy Wonka" or "Planet of the Apes"...oh...wait...
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:53:06 PM

Tim Burton should just stop making movies in general.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:09:07 AM

Thank you very much, Tim!

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved