WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton Won't Make "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton WonSubmit Comment
Despite the fact that "Alice in Wonderland" grossed over $1 billion and has left the story open for a sequel, Tim Burton revealed that he will not pursue a second installment.

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Burton added that some movies should not have sequels. He said: "I got a lot of pressure to do a sequel to 'Nightmare Before Christmas,' and I just didn't want to do that, because some movies should just be left alone. I think it keeps their kind of spirit intact in a way."

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:45:54 AM

Not everything needs a sequel people!! The first one was pretty to look at, but the story was totally weak.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:51:23 AM

Well, even though Tim Burton has kind of Sold out in the last few years at least he understands sequels are not always needed.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:54:27 AM

Well, thank the f*ck christ for that.
oklahomaer writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:05:07 AM

At least The Nightmare before Christmas was f*cking awesome.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:40:48 AM

I wish Burton would do more original flicks again!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:11:40 AM

sh*t!

I thought it said he'd make Alice in Wonderland Squeal!


... reading glasses around here somewhere...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:07:21 AM

The film he made was already an unwanted sequel so shut up tim and make an edward scissorhands sequel "EDWARD SWISS-ARMY KNIFE NIPPLES" I don't f*ck about with my movie names...
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:16:48 AM

At least there's some one left in hollywood smart enough to realize that not all movies need sequels to em.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:48:28 AM

A movie that made over a billion dollars at the box office only cuz it was 3D,decides not to pursue a sequel. Now that's a smart decision by a smart director. Are you taking notes, James Cameron?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:24:40 AM

No,He's too busy getting a blow job from sam worthington
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:47:25 AM

Joel Schumacher is on Stand by !!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

Is that why he directed Batman 2
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:29:09 AM

it sucked, and was the worst movie I saw all year.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Good. So we can interpret sh*t as sh*t.

" Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland Sequel " should've read " Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland ", but that's just sh*twater thats passed the cesspool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:06:40 PM

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."


That's what happens when you sell your soul off to Disney, Burton. You've gone from a creative individual with a unique style to becoming the Miley Cyrus of Hollywood directors ...

I mean, you went from Lisa Marie to Helena Bonham Carter ? What the f*ck were you thinking ?
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:39:19 PM

good...
they'll prolly make an "adventures of the mad hatter" film though. I mean.. who cares about alice?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:52:47 PM

I'm still scratching my head over the first one.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

Agree and that fact it's like the 6th Biggest movie of All-time ......

How did that Happen.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:16:14 PM

Yeah, it come and went, took over a billion with it, and I never even saw the film advertised or displayed at the theater.

It's like an old episode of Twilight Zone or something.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:30:28 PM

We even had problems here in the UK with Disney, They only wanted to show the movie for no more than 50 or 60 (something like that) days because they wanted to rush release it for blu-ray/dvd because they were worried about Piracy and a lot of the cinemas here didn't even show it..
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:01:42 PM

I guess one could say that discussing this film's success is like going down the rabbit hole.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:27:02 PM

Ha ha , You could say that...
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:31:35 AM

@realgirl76, Anung_Un_Rama, I resent that, it was not the worst movie ever. Dragonball: Evolution was. The story was amazing and the special effects were fantastic, are you kidding? And I loved it when not only Alice fought the Jabberwocky, she cut it's head off, which was pretty cool:) he didn't sell out, not how I looked at it at least. He made it in his original version and pretty creative at that:)
Personally, I would pay to see a sequel :)
indiepinup writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:24:00 PM

Great! 'Cause it SUCKED!!
onkelchrispy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:48:55 AM

"because some movies should just be left alone"
Like "Willy Wonka" or "Planet of the Apes"...oh...wait...
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:53:06 PM

Tim Burton should just stop making movies in general.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:09:07 AM

Thank you very much, Tim!

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved