WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton Won't Make "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton WonSubmit Comment
Despite the fact that "Alice in Wonderland" grossed over $1 billion and has left the story open for a sequel, Tim Burton revealed that he will not pursue a second installment.

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Burton added that some movies should not have sequels. He said: "I got a lot of pressure to do a sequel to 'Nightmare Before Christmas,' and I just didn't want to do that, because some movies should just be left alone. I think it keeps their kind of spirit intact in a way."

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:45:54 AM

Not everything needs a sequel people!! The first one was pretty to look at, but the story was totally weak.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:51:23 AM

Well, even though Tim Burton has kind of Sold out in the last few years at least he understands sequels are not always needed.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:54:27 AM

Well, thank the f*ck christ for that.
oklahomaer writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:05:07 AM

At least The Nightmare before Christmas was f*cking awesome.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:40:48 AM

I wish Burton would do more original flicks again!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:11:40 AM

sh*t!

I thought it said he'd make Alice in Wonderland Squeal!


... reading glasses around here somewhere...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:07:21 AM

The film he made was already an unwanted sequel so shut up tim and make an edward scissorhands sequel "EDWARD SWISS-ARMY KNIFE NIPPLES" I don't f*ck about with my movie names...
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:16:48 AM

At least there's some one left in hollywood smart enough to realize that not all movies need sequels to em.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:48:28 AM

A movie that made over a billion dollars at the box office only cuz it was 3D,decides not to pursue a sequel. Now that's a smart decision by a smart director. Are you taking notes, James Cameron?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:24:40 AM

No,He's too busy getting a blow job from sam worthington
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:47:25 AM

Joel Schumacher is on Stand by !!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

Is that why he directed Batman 2
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:29:09 AM

it sucked, and was the worst movie I saw all year.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Good. So we can interpret sh*t as sh*t.

" Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland Sequel " should've read " Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland ", but that's just sh*twater thats passed the cesspool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:06:40 PM

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."


That's what happens when you sell your soul off to Disney, Burton. You've gone from a creative individual with a unique style to becoming the Miley Cyrus of Hollywood directors ...

I mean, you went from Lisa Marie to Helena Bonham Carter ? What the f*ck were you thinking ?
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:39:19 PM

good...
they'll prolly make an "adventures of the mad hatter" film though. I mean.. who cares about alice?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:52:47 PM

I'm still scratching my head over the first one.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

Agree and that fact it's like the 6th Biggest movie of All-time ......

How did that Happen.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:16:14 PM

Yeah, it come and went, took over a billion with it, and I never even saw the film advertised or displayed at the theater.

It's like an old episode of Twilight Zone or something.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:30:28 PM

We even had problems here in the UK with Disney, They only wanted to show the movie for no more than 50 or 60 (something like that) days because they wanted to rush release it for blu-ray/dvd because they were worried about Piracy and a lot of the cinemas here didn't even show it..
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:01:42 PM

I guess one could say that discussing this film's success is like going down the rabbit hole.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:27:02 PM

Ha ha , You could say that...
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:31:35 AM

@realgirl76, Anung_Un_Rama, I resent that, it was not the worst movie ever. Dragonball: Evolution was. The story was amazing and the special effects were fantastic, are you kidding? And I loved it when not only Alice fought the Jabberwocky, she cut it's head off, which was pretty cool:) he didn't sell out, not how I looked at it at least. He made it in his original version and pretty creative at that:)
Personally, I would pay to see a sequel :)
indiepinup writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:24:00 PM

Great! 'Cause it SUCKED!!
onkelchrispy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:48:55 AM

"because some movies should just be left alone"
Like "Willy Wonka" or "Planet of the Apes"...oh...wait...
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:53:06 PM

Tim Burton should just stop making movies in general.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:09:07 AM

Thank you very much, Tim!

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved