WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton Won't Make "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton WonSubmit Comment
Despite the fact that "Alice in Wonderland" grossed over $1 billion and has left the story open for a sequel, Tim Burton revealed that he will not pursue a second installment.

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Burton added that some movies should not have sequels. He said: "I got a lot of pressure to do a sequel to 'Nightmare Before Christmas,' and I just didn't want to do that, because some movies should just be left alone. I think it keeps their kind of spirit intact in a way."

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:45:54 AM

Not everything needs a sequel people!! The first one was pretty to look at, but the story was totally weak.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:51:23 AM

Well, even though Tim Burton has kind of Sold out in the last few years at least he understands sequels are not always needed.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:54:27 AM

Well, thank the f*ck christ for that.
oklahomaer writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:05:07 AM

At least The Nightmare before Christmas was f*cking awesome.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:40:48 AM

I wish Burton would do more original flicks again!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:11:40 AM

sh*t!

I thought it said he'd make Alice in Wonderland Squeal!


... reading glasses around here somewhere...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:07:21 AM

The film he made was already an unwanted sequel so shut up tim and make an edward scissorhands sequel "EDWARD SWISS-ARMY KNIFE NIPPLES" I don't f*ck about with my movie names...
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:16:48 AM

At least there's some one left in hollywood smart enough to realize that not all movies need sequels to em.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:48:28 AM

A movie that made over a billion dollars at the box office only cuz it was 3D,decides not to pursue a sequel. Now that's a smart decision by a smart director. Are you taking notes, James Cameron?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 9:24:40 AM

No,He's too busy getting a blow job from sam worthington
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:47:25 AM

Joel Schumacher is on Stand by !!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

Is that why he directed Batman 2
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:29:09 AM

it sucked, and was the worst movie I saw all year.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

"That's what the material does, it leaves it open for you," he said about the ending. "It's kind of like dreams. It leaves it open, as it should, for interpretation."

Good. So we can interpret sh*t as sh*t.

" Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland Sequel " should've read " Tim Burton Won't Make Alice in Wonderland ", but that's just sh*twater thats passed the cesspool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:06:40 PM

Fortunately, Disney has not asked him to consider an "Alice in Wonderland" follow-up. "That was smart of them. They saw that it was kind of its own thing," he explained. "They didn't push for it at all, which I thought was really amazing, and smart, and right."


That's what happens when you sell your soul off to Disney, Burton. You've gone from a creative individual with a unique style to becoming the Miley Cyrus of Hollywood directors ...

I mean, you went from Lisa Marie to Helena Bonham Carter ? What the f*ck were you thinking ?
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:39:19 PM

good...
they'll prolly make an "adventures of the mad hatter" film though. I mean.. who cares about alice?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:52:47 PM

I'm still scratching my head over the first one.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

Agree and that fact it's like the 6th Biggest movie of All-time ......

How did that Happen.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:16:14 PM

Yeah, it come and went, took over a billion with it, and I never even saw the film advertised or displayed at the theater.

It's like an old episode of Twilight Zone or something.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:30:28 PM

We even had problems here in the UK with Disney, They only wanted to show the movie for no more than 50 or 60 (something like that) days because they wanted to rush release it for blu-ray/dvd because they were worried about Piracy and a lot of the cinemas here didn't even show it..
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:01:42 PM

I guess one could say that discussing this film's success is like going down the rabbit hole.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:27:02 PM

Ha ha , You could say that...
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 10:31:35 AM

@realgirl76, Anung_Un_Rama, I resent that, it was not the worst movie ever. Dragonball: Evolution was. The story was amazing and the special effects were fantastic, are you kidding? And I loved it when not only Alice fought the Jabberwocky, she cut it's head off, which was pretty cool:) he didn't sell out, not how I looked at it at least. He made it in his original version and pretty creative at that:)
Personally, I would pay to see a sequel :)
indiepinup writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:24:00 PM

Great! 'Cause it SUCKED!!
onkelchrispy writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 1:48:55 AM

"because some movies should just be left alone"
Like "Willy Wonka" or "Planet of the Apes"...oh...wait...
reaper113 writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 12:53:06 PM

Tim Burton should just stop making movies in general.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 2:09:07 AM

Thank you very much, Tim!

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved