WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

More "Superman" Plot Details Revealed

Posted: November 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
More "Superman" Plot Details RevealedSubmit Comment
What's Playing website got its hands on the character breakdown for the upcoming "Superman" reboot that was sent to casting agencies this week, revealing that Clark Kent will get involved in a battle between two tribes in West Africa.

Plot: Clark is a young journalist traveling the globe, who would rather solve problems and help people without resorting to using his special powers. When he is compelled to use his secret powers to intervene in a crisis in West Africa, Clark returns to Smallville to learn more about his origins and the hero he was born to be.

The site added that Anne Hathaway is contender to play Lois Lane in the film. Filming begins in June and the movie is set to hit theaters in December of 2012.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: What's Playing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 95 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:45:11 PM

Sounds 173% legit. I believe it completely.
funkymonk writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:56:56 PM

i can dig that. bring it on i say!
funkymonk writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:07:44 PM

I believe in Zack and Chris to make a great movie, visually and storywise.
At least... much more than some other directors around.
ChristianNYC writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:13:45 PM

BORING
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:36:25 PM

sounds good so far.
JohnZee writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:43:19 PM

Sounds pretty interesting, especially since it is a much adventurous and dramatic take on Clark Kent than The Reeves and Routh movies, as well as a good portion of the Smallville TV show.

Which probably means that if they are taking the mild mannered, relatively non-dramatic part of his dual-persona up that many notches it makes me wonder what they'll do with the heroic "adventuring" part.

Also love the part that they remembered that Superman is a hero of the entire world and not just the United States.

And I'd love to see a young war correspondent Clark Kent.
ChristianNYC writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:52:43 PM

Still BORING

You guys who find this interesting must be buffoons....Pot Smoking Buffons at that
billofill writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:53:36 PM

Soooooooooooooo Superman Birthright why arent they saying this ?
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:23:16 AM

Sorry folks. This is PISSING ME OFF!!!!!

Superman... that DOESN'T WANT TO USE HIS SUPERPOWERS?!?!?!?!?

He's wants to backpack around Africa, hug a tree and eat granola?!?!?!?!?

That's it... I'm so done with this character, it isn't even funny!!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:26:21 AM

We've spend the past 9 f*cking years seeing this superhero find himself on SMALLVILLE!!!!

What's the sequel? 'Superman cruises the Blue Oyster Men's Club!'?!?!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:26:38 AM

spend = spent
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:27:08 AM

SUPERMAN: BIRTHRIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:28:24 AM

Hollywood is so scared to FINALLY make a 'SUPER' - Superman movie! WTF... GREEN LANTERN will take us places Hollywood has NEVER let Superman go.

Hollywood... fondle my balls and suckle my sh*t-chute!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:31:40 AM

Folks liking this... this 'Birthright' story from the graphic novels. Great... leave it there. I don't want to pay and watch Clark go 'find himself' for 90 minutes. Jesus Hollywood... come up with a NEW STORY ALREADY!!! They have produced Superman since 1938! And you can't come up with a Superman movie original story?!?!

Roses are red...
Violets are blue...

f*ck off and die Hollywood!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:38:11 AM

OMG! There's a trailer out for this movie ALREADY!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5Pjo0WjBcs
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:38:58 AM

Cross-marketing with Marvel is a savvy move!
SaulSilver writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:40:53 AM

f*ck you Christian. What's wrong with Smoking Pot?
However, I may disagree with your opinions on that...I do not disagree with you about this plotline for Supes. Hopefully this is all stuff that occurs really early on and isn't the central theme of the film.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:41:07 AM

Really folks... this looks like it's gonna suck!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YG_XLkDGpFM
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:43:12 AM

@Saul - re: 'Hopefully this is all stuff that occurs really early on and isn't the central theme of the film.' --- I hope you're right. Because 90 minutes of the Last Son of Krypton backpacking through Africa playing Mr. National Geographic would really suck the hind tit!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:53:40 AM

I goggled Superman:

Definitions of superman on the Web:

* demigod: a person with great powers and abilities


NOTHING said about Clark f*cking backpacking anywhere!!!!
Mudders writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:08:35 AM

it sounds like a bunch of tree hugging hippy crap to me.

like ranger said this is smallville all over again...i dont need to see 9 yrs condensed into 100mins to see something ive already seen.

superman without powers is like jenna jamieson without a p*ssy....or lohan without sobriety....it just aint right
Mudders writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:09:52 AM

*with sobriety i mean
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:12:59 AM

If we see Superman save another f*cking cat from a tree...

I'm going to track Kal-El down, put on my kryptonite work boots. And give him a great big swift kick to the c*nt!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:18:20 AM

This is going to suck!

The trailers I posted above don't lie!
heelswin writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:23:20 AM

I just want to see a Superman movie where Supes kicks the sh*t out of somebody. Anybody. I want to see Superman doing awesome superhero sh*t, not just saving people and shielding people from bullets. I want an hour and a half of Superman and like 20 minutes of Clark Kent.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:24:28 AM

What he said!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:29:03 AM

SUPERMAN fighting TO THE DEATH:

Darkseid, or...
Solomom Grundy...

What about Kandor?
Why not have him appear in Green Lantern on OA as a guest speaker (film him from the back because we don't know who the next Supes is).

MOVE planets!
Fly through the sun to clean his uniform.

You know... SUPERMAN sh*t!!!!!


Backpacking?! Jesus... now I've read it all.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:29:23 AM

Ahhh... Solomon.
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:13:30 AM

If I was superman and anne hathaway was lois lane I would f*ck her all day and screw the world.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:33:06 AM

Indian Superman and Indian Spider Woman LOL !!!!
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:54:02 AM

Rambo - Yep !!

http://evilbeetgossip.film.com/2008/09/25/anne-hathaway-loves-anal-sex/
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:11:43 AM

ChristianNYC looks like a sad Spock.
FBO writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:01:45 AM

i lose more and more faith in this project ever time more news is released.

I really wish Singer could have done his Man of Steel concept where superman fights brainiac
bacci40 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:15:39 AM

if this isnt bullsh*t...it should be

sounds retarded
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:01:30 AM

So they are acting as though "Superman 1&2" nver happend??

Not really bothered about them riding roughshot over "Superturd Regays"
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:05:29 AM

@tt - nice!

http://youporn.com/watch/21492/anne-hathaway-bijou-phillips/
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:19:59 AM

@Ranger- Don't sugar coat your feelings mate lol,

Superman as a character is boring. What's good about a character that basically can't die unless you stab him with his own planet... they plot is basically a dulled down version of Chuck Norris' autobiography. CINEMA IS DEAD!!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:25:20 AM

lol... true.

But Hollywood (with the exception of Super 1&2 with Reeves / screenplay by Mario Puzo), has done LITTLE to show the general public a REAL Superman movie. The man should be saving solar systems. Not working for a newspaper with staff that can't put together when Clark and Superman both show up the same day after BOTH being away for 5 years.

And this story they're proposing. Hollywood thinks the fans tore Singer's rendition of Supes a new *sshole? Wait 'til they pay for 90 minutes of he sitting in the dirt amidst a pack of baboons all eating termites off a stick from their respective mounds in the Serengeti! Fans will burn that director's house to the ground... WITH HIM IN IT!
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:32:40 AM

PLUS there's that much more interesting trilogy story out there somewhere, whereby Earth's sun dies, and Supes can't stop it. Does he stay as the sun goes red and strands himself here out of loyalty, or does he bugger off to greener pastures in another solar system? That alone is way better than this safari crap they're shoveling.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:30:40 AM

Yeah that's a fair point with a character that is essentially one of the most powerful super heroes of all time they need to reflect that with the scale of the movie and the things he uses his powers for. Forget about Lex Luther and bring in some one with super powers who is an actual match for him. Hollywood are just obsessed with these reboots since Batman begins they're actually so retarded it's painful.
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:23:19 AM

Wow this is sh*t! Wait for it, wait for it. There it is, new's that Lex Luthor will once again be the villan.
raza12 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:35:59 AM

Anybody else think that they're making this a bit TOO much like Batman Begins?
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:50:50 AM

Ranger - I thought so to ...

Lovin the ranting on Superman my friend.

Having never read a Superman comic i can only go on the movies and anything close to the 1st two Christopher Reeve movies with a new villian would be just fine in my book.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:58:31 AM

So basically they're remaking 24: Redemption and replacing Jack Bauer with Clark Kent/Superman? WTF??!!
rocketman writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:14:29 AM

Sounds sh*te. Superman is a f*cking p*ssy,if it wasn't for his powers he would be Ned f*cking Flanders.
Whats with all the shoe gazing Superheros latley America? What happened with emo Spidey? Captin America can't even be patriotic anymore,Wolverine has turned into a f*ckin shampoo advert? I don't recognise these guys anymore
Roll on Judge Dredd,bad f*cker all the way.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:23:32 AM

Bad f*cker all the way !!

Was that the Stallone Dredd lol
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:39:17 AM

Ranger -

19 years today Freddie Died, can't believe it's been that long ..

One of the greatest events Wembley has ever seen (other than MAN UTD winning there and England in '66 of course)

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=freddie+mercury+wembley+1986&aq=1

Great Respect here today a lot of the radio stations have been playing a lot of Queen songs throughout the day.

RIP Freddie Mercury: The Great Entertainer
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:53:55 AM

Holy...

Yep... greatest voice in R&R ever!

Great respect yes.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gyh1igHm7LI

RIP Mr. Bad Guy!
http://l.yimg.com/fv/xp/reuters/20101109/01/2068326495.jpg?x=400&sig=rKWKtuffJW0laz.Rx_ig4g--
rocketman writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:54:08 AM

@Trailer
Never happened man,never happened. Seriously though,Superheroes seem to have been neutured and turned into fairys more concered about their on off girlfriends,wouldn't mind if we got to see some tit too. Suckerpunch babes could show these faggots a thing ot two.

And the new Dreddy film is violent as f*ck going off the script,badass ;)


Just ignore the last effort...
rocketman writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:55:08 AM

19 Years? f*ck me(not you Fred)
billofill writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:17:13 AM

Ranger you do realize Its like one issue out of maybe 12 that he's in Africa Finding himself. It's a pretty good Story that would leave open for Metallo being created by Luthor if they play their cards right. Even with out Metallo the story leaves open for a End battle with guys in robot suits and sh*t. And a Giant Robot Spider or Ant for Jon Peters..........
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:31:00 AM

@bill - I did not know that. As I did post (as someone else commented as well), if it's that short... fine. Not guys in robot suits... Iron Man(ish?). Are they made of kryptonite to battle the Last Son of Krypton? And we know how well a robotic spider worked for Will Smith in the Wild, Wild West! Out of respect for Reeves, I'll of course wait and see that they hatch this time. Hollywood doesn't have balls anymore.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:31:43 AM

@tt - sent out my annual Freddie email to all friends (they've come to expect that by now... lol).
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:40:15 AM



Superman will never be the movie we all want it to be he is to iconic as a wholesome,good natured, patient hero and
Any iteration of him as otherwise would be an abomination to the original character and the hero the world knows

On a different note I would like to see him superf*ck Anne hataway in her brown eye .....for fun and all
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:42:37 AM

I second that!
rocketman writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 11:56:17 AM

Rumors of a CG suit like Green Lantern,Nolan and Snyder not so keen but WB are?
iseb =source
CommZod writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:14:13 PM

I love all the people flaming this for no reason. You really think they would make a Superman movie where he isn't Superman for most of it? This description sounds just like the beginning of Superman: Birthright, imho the best Superman origin written. Its everything told in a modern context that works very fluid and leaves out the whole destruction of krypton. Also the only Superman story I've read that I would be ok with them allowing Lex to be the main villain. People need to do their research before they start spewing bags of flaming sh*t
rabid writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:24:52 PM

It does sound like bits of Birthright.
That is a good thing.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:47:47 PM

This sounds exactly like the Superman : Birthright plotline (if you've read the limited series) .... Okay. I'll see how this plays out.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:52:09 PM

^ Sorry, I've been watching a In The Heat Of The Night marathon, so my witty repoirte has been dulled by Sonny Rollins' acting and the lame 80s scriptwriting ....

Normally, I would agree with Ranger regardind Hollywood raping the corpse of the SUPERMAN : BIRTHRIGHT storyline, but it could be a hell of a lot worse :

It could've been UWE BOLL's SUPERAWESOMEMAN, MAN THAT IS FROM THE DAY AFTER TODAY.
flash80z writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 12:56:38 PM

I agree i want to see a battle similar but better to the end battle in the last Matrix movie where Smith drove Neo all the way from the sky into the ground and leveled a building and scattered cars for blocks. Not this sentimental finding himself crap....i want ZOD, Darkeid, Doomsday, Parasite etc....i want an epic battle, someone who threatens Earth in a way that Supes is forced to put away the kid gloves and go all Mike Tyson to defend the planet.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:20:20 PM

@Max (and others) - Birthright may be great (it sounds like a refreshing change). But in 90 minutes they have to blow the audience away... Superman style. Birthright, great for a mini-series, graphic novel (or straight novel). But I don't hear how they could reduce that 12-part series into a 'bit at the beginning of the movie (without hacking the details to bits).

As for Flash80z's post above mine re: Matrix battle... EXACTLY!
Bunny X writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 1:46:44 PM

I really didn't need to post on her since @Ranger you said it all.

I am beyond annoyed about this and have lost ALL faith in superman EVER being portrayed on the big screen correctly.
As great as 1 & 2 were, they still did not have him push to his limits. Ok big deal, he spun the Earth around backwards to save Lois......hoo-f*ckin-ray.
Superman is iconically speaking, the greatest hero in history. And they have him doing less sh*t than a Tier 3 character from a Tier 3 comic. It's absolutely disgraceful.
flash80z writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:12:36 PM

Wish there was a way to send all of this input to Warner Bros. so they stop with the stupid ideas. They have been butt raping the concept for Superman ever since Supes 1 & 2. I cant believe they almost made the Will Smith or Nicolas Cage ideas in the 90's, that just goes to show they dont respect the material or the fans. Read up on the ideas they had for those and it will make u sick, in one Superman didnt even have the ability to fly
rabid writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:20:53 PM

Here's how I'm picturing it will go... Take bits of Birthright and cram them into Superman: Earth One, replace the generic alien world conqueror with Brainiac.

I'm sensing this film will be about his inner conflict about taking on the role of protector. I predict he'll spend most of the film staring at the suit but not putting it on.
rabid writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:26:22 PM

Superman couldn't always fly. When he first came on the scene, he could only leap tall buildings in a single bound.
flash80z writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:27:16 PM

If so i'll spend most of the film cussing at the screen and hoping for reimbursment of my $9
flash80z writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:32:33 PM

Yes, but the Superman everyone on earth with a brain stem wants to see is a Superman that flies and has his full arsenal of powers and they want to see him fight another super powered being in a monumental battle, not another soap opera (aka Singer's) or another Lex Luthor themed movie (we get it, he's reeeeaaaal smart and has lots of green rocks) its boring and been played out
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:41:36 PM

@rabid - sounds good. But that deciding on his destiny was brain-washed into his head by Jor-El on that multi-year flight to Earth. That conflict shouldn't exist. Clearly some tree-hugger wanted to arrogantly 'refresh' his origin. It may look good (nay, great) in a 12-step mini-series. But as Flash and Bunny and others have added to my comments... Supes is meant to change the course of mighty rivers, faster than a locomotive sh*t. I personally don't care for much else. Take Superman 1&2, and the best traits of Singer's version (and there were many) and take it up 20 notches! THAT's what SUPERMAN is all about.

Hey... have some on here (besides me) see that 4 year old re-release, Donner cut of Superman II? He turns back Earth's time AGAIN! I liked that version. Just like the re-release of 'Highlander'... those extra scenes filled in some story blanks nicely.

@Flash - I'll try to forward these comments to the power's that be on this 'idea' they have of Superman.
Bunny X writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 2:57:54 PM

I swear, if I were running the studio, I would call up the guys from the DC Animation team and have them pen, storyboard, and cast the Superman movie. Bruce Timm and his crew there are the only ones who have done Superman, and other DC heroes ANY .......justice (no pun intended).
The Superman cartoon series was done brilliantly. They put each character out there correctly and handled each one great. Even when tasked with handling all the heroes in the Justice League and Justice League Unlimited series, they pulled it off.
And now that they're in animated movie mode since all the series are done, they are doing even better. Hell, they made the damn WonderWoman animated movie interesting.
These guy know the material and ALWAYS deliver. I think they're best talent aside from their stellar voice casting would be that they can take multiple stories from the comics and craft them seamlessly into an episode or series or a movie. They give the fanboys what they want and still manage to appeal to mainstream folks not fully familiar with the material.
WB needs to pull their collective heads out of their collective pussies and realize that Superman needs to be done onscreen correctly or people will be done with him on the big screen.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:14:54 PM

@Bunny - were you my twin separated at birth?

I was just saying to a best friend last week (his son got hooked in the latest animated Iron Man series) commenting how well (most of) these animated series are... and a LOT truer to their character than the movies. Now... if ANYone comes back saying filming real life is tougher than animated... bullsh*t (for one!), it's called CGI (look it up!), and 2. It's NOT the special effects lacking in the real super hero films... IT'S THE STORY!!! C'mon Hollyweird, grow a pair and make Superman SUPER!!!
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:35:59 PM

i could see this being interesting. the problem with supes is it's like cheering for god. You know he's gonna win. He simply is too powerful. That's why superman return bored me to sleep.
i like the idea of superman in a real world conflict, not some cheezy lex luther scheme.
Is it an origianl idea?
hell no! It's a comic book movie and they are all the same f-ing story!
man/boy gets super powers and with great powers comes great responibility, the villian catpures his girlfriend and says "CHOOOOOOOOSE!!!"

and he says "I choose... Buzz Lightyear!!!!"

ANd the villain says "WHAT! That's not a choice!"

anyhow, I like the idea of superman going tribal.
He need to fight in africa, in a loin cloth, with war-paint and body piercings after he is inducted into the tribe. Then he needs to be called the "White demon!"
and he'd say... "No... I'm jewish."
then he goes out and eats a lion for breakfast and finds honey comb inside it.. (and nobody is going to get that biblical Sampson reference)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 3:59:45 PM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:19:59 AM

@Ranger- Don't sugar coat your feelings mate lol,

Superman as a character is boring. What's good about a character that basically can't die unless you stab him with his own planet... they plot is basically a dulled down version of Chuck Norris' autobiography. CINEMA IS DEAD!!


@CinemaisDead

He can also die from a change of the sun from yellow (which helps to recharge his power like a battery recharger) to red. The problem with coming up with a Superman movie is very, very simple :

Superman is the perfect hero. In composure, in charisma, in leadership skills, in powers, in impermiability, in immortallic idealism ...

look at Kingdom Come. When the destructive forces that Batman's cronies cook up to kill all the super-abilitied heroes comes out of the woodwork to destroy them, who is left at the thermonuclear Ground Zero ? Clark. And his guilt. MOST OF ALL, his guilt.

Richard Donner, damn him, created the best and foremost movie adaptation which proved best that you would 'believe a man can fly'.

Christopher Reeves BECAME Clark Kent (with Brandon Routh doing a pretty good followup) and Margot Kidder, Gene Hackman and the rest of that superb cast carried us as kids along for the creative, action-oriented and suspenseful ride.

The only Superman movies I would watch would be from two plotlines carried through by DC Comics in the past :

Red Son :

Superman: Red Son is a three-issue prestige format comic book mini-series published by DC Comics that was released under their Elseworlds imprint in April, 2003. Author Mark Millar created the comic with the premise "what if Superman had been raised in the Soviet Union?" It received critical acclaim and was nominated for the 2004 Eisner Award for best limited series.

and

Kingdom Come. But Alex Ross has done a more spectacular job (with Easter Eggs included within the series, nonetheless!) to dominate any version brought to screen, Zach Syder-version included.

Snyder is probably going to go the Donner root and try to bring a bit more realism to Superman, because 50% of the story is Clark himself. Superman/Clark Kent is the Waltons of the superhero community and you can't separate the man from the hero as easily with Superman as you can, say Spiderman or Green Lantern.

One more thing, all you had to do was remove the glasses and discover Superman. How f*cked up a secret identity was that ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 4:01:28 PM

And I say Chuck Norris should be Kraven the Hunter in tracking down Spiderman :)
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:07:07 PM

Sounds like a terrible idea.

And Anne Hathaway as Lois Lane? Ugh. I'll never stop seeing her as the doe-eyed urchin in The Devil Wears Prada.
Frank4969 writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:07:26 PM

Sounds like boring sh*t! No action and all talk
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:09:29 PM

If anyone wants to read Superman:Birthright, just do a Google search for superman, birthright and hotfile.

I'd post the link, but Alex would delete it.
bspence writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:14:31 PM

im not judging it until theres a villain named and full plot. because batman begins only said a batman origin film, then the dark knight only said the sequel to batman begins that will see the joker as the villain. then look at how much more story and action was put into both films. i still have plenty of faith in chris, zack, johnathon, and david. theres almost no way you can have this team and deliver a sh*t fest. i just dont see it. my only concerns are with the villain they pick. lex will obviously most likely be in it but god he better not be the main villain or the only villain. we need;

metallo, brainiac, darkseid, doomsday, lobo, grundy, parasite.

id like to see any of them. top pick to be honest would be metallo. they can keep lex and an origin story as well as have someone supes can throw around. then move onto the bigger badder bad guys later.

for example if theres 3 movies. start w/ metallo or brainiac in this. then move onto doomsday for the second. then finish it w/ darkseid and/or lobo.

hell put 2 villains plus lex per film and do it like batman. persona, maturity, then the crime role would always be lex.

officialy i think this would work best with 3 villains. lex would always be there as the crime lord. then have a somewhat minor villain for the first half as a bigger tougher bad guy is built up through talk and becomes the main threat of the film for the 2nd half.

ex.
superman - lex, metallo, brainiac
superman 2 - lex, parasite or grundy, doomsday
superman 3 - lex, lobo, darkseid
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:37:03 PM

Actually I think that is where a lot of these films are going wrong to many villains pick one per movie 2 tops
Hell in most of the comics heroes usually fight a villain per ....of course that is the simple side of my brain talking as I love a good solid inter weaving story arc with good character development and phenomenal graphics with a great sub plot leading into a second film
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:46:44 PM

The first film should naturally involve his origins, and a fight with some villain that taxes Superman's abilities to the limit. A catastrophic fight would proivde the film's climax. Superman finding who he is and striving for acceptance among mere humans would be the the theme. Budding love with Lane would of course figure into the picture. Perhaps end the film with an after-credit Doomsday teaser.

The second film should deal with Superman's mortality, or lack thereof. He's enjoying life, evereything is great, but the brightest day comes before the darkest dusk, and Superman ends up confronting Doomsday, who kills him after an apocalytic battle. The theme of the second film is loss, and that even the mightiest heroes can and will die. Give the audience an after-credit scene of a man in shadows watching monitors, perhaps spying on Lane and crew, and catching up on the news. Imply slyly that the man is in fact Superman, somehow undead.

The third film should open up the story, making Doomsday a shocktroop for the take over of earth by the elemination of it's one true defender. Bring in Mongul, or Darkseid or some other off-world evil persona. Brainiac would work. Tie them somehow back to the detruction of Krypton. The theme: rebirth, spiritually and physically. The rising Phoenix. The evolution of a man-god. Half the film should be spent preparing for Superman to reclaim his role, while the villain assaults earth's defensive forces. A rising interplay and intertwining of increasing tempo spent on the quickening return of Superman and increasing action should dominate the film.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:51:59 PM

Also, killing Superman in the second film's final act would coincide with the death of Batman's reputation and livlihood in TDK, and with Batman set to 'rise' in the third Nolan Batman film, this further mirrors the return and rebirth of Superman in HIS third film.

So you have a thematic symmetry that carries over for the films that also works in another way as the two superheroes are often portrayed as both complementary and opposite.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 5:55:09 PM

Ranger-

That's a great clip 80,000 (plus) People totally mesmerized by him...

Tis a rare thing indeed..

They just don't make them like that anymore, If they did we wouldn't have to suffer artists(use that term loosely) like justin bieber and reality music show contestants !!

Rocket - lol, I hope the new Dredd can live up to your expectations my friend and Rob schneider doesn't have a Cameo in it.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:04:55 PM

"Superman couldn't always fly. When he first came on the scene, he could only leap tall buildings in a single bound."

That's great Rabid as I didn't know that, but I don't believe anyone would want to see Superman impersonate a super-sized flea.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:19:11 PM

@tt - he was an original for sure.

@bspence & mink --- I like your ideas. A hell of a lot better than the tripe they're troweling (although that's not saying much as the studio's idea is THAT bad... but my compliment is sincere nonetheless).
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:25:11 PM

Does anyone notice that this film's theatrical release just so happens to coincide with the Maya's predicted date for end of the world?

Mere coincidence? I think not.
gunfighterii writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:25:15 PM

1) For anyoine who is having doubts the plot revealed is ony the 1st act of Rebirth! so the whole film (if based on Rebirth) wont just be soul searching

2) When ever has Zak made a soul searching film??? thats right never so THERE WILL be action

3) Zak has mentioned that the new film wont be entirly based on an allready existing comicbook adaptation

4) How are you even complaining?!?! Zak&Chris are both legends...Superman is in safe hands
gunfighterii writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:30:14 PM

But then again if it doesnt have Chris Reeve in it ppl QQ anyways..time to get over it and move on tbh :/

Have some faith
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 6:40:51 PM

Good post and info. I'm working on the faith Bro... working on it.
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 7:22:33 PM

West Africa, do what

Whats he going to do swat giant mosquito's and gather tribal machine guns and throw them into the sun

Rang help me out here I just got slapped hard in the face and am now delusional after reading this crap
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 7:32:09 PM

Can't help buddy. I'm still stunned by their plans as well.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 8:31:24 PM

It sounds like politically-correct crap whereby Superman saves lives in a Darfur-type situation, rather than battle meanies from outer space, which IMO just sucks because Superman is escapist fantasy, not a tool of the United Nations in averting human catastrophes.

I mean, sure, if Superman was real, Darfur would have never happened, but that's not the point. People read Superman to see him do what we can only imagine for ourselves, and I can understand if most comic book readers would rather fight, as Superman, villains like Brainiac than tribal leaders with machine guns.

As someone else said, this sounds supiciously like 24:Redemption, and I wasn't keen on the idea then.

Besides, why the hell is Superman, at that age, engaging in soul-searching? Shouldn't he do that LATER after he get's burnt out being super? Doesn't the soul searching come after you've lost your spirit? Isn't he a little on the young side to be so disheartened?

This entire premise, admitted vague and on the skimpy side, sounds STUPID, and though I'm sure it'll work out in the end, with Nolan (not 'Chris', you pretentious twats who don't know Nolan from Don Knotts) writing and Snyder supplying the visuals, I have less faith than I did before, based on what's been made public.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2010 at 10:33:25 PM

'(not 'Chris', you pretentious twats who don't know Nolan from Don Knotts)' --- lol.
JohnZee writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 1:46:17 AM

You know the thing is, I just don't see Zack Snyder basing the entire movie on this single plot point. It is probably just going to be in the very beginning, just to establish where the character was at the moment before he became Superman.

It is simply that. Something happens there that makes him come out of the shadows and start doing the Superman stuff.

It is a bit political. But hopefully far less that Marvel being ashamed of the possibility that an American soldier during World War 2 that has super powers, and is given the name Captain America would have even the slightest iota of a patriotic streak in him.

And if Snyder dwells to much on this political Africa thing, it will kill the movie. Just as much as Christopher Reeves going around in Superman IV dealt a serious blow to that movie's possibilities of being remembered as anything other than a mistake.

This is just the smallest little tidbit of the entirety of the plot for this new Superman movie, and I think that it won't be what the whole movie will be about. It is just a small taste, and specifically a tasted that doesn't reveal jack and sh*t about the entire movie.

Personally I don't want a verbatim retelling of Birthright. But I also don't want a verbatim retelling of Man of Steel or even the new Superman: Earth One.

But a movie that contains certain elements from the best of the best Superman origin stories, plus other ideas and concepts from the comic book that Snyder and Nolan would work well presented on film, now that's the sort of Superman movie that I want...

One that can take its place rightfully alongside Superman 1 and Superman 2.

And personally I would have to go with Bunny on this, because the Bruce Timm animation projects always seemed to present the type of Superman that I would love to see on film. And the very thought of Nolan and Snyder bringing Bruce Timm in at the very least as a consultant would be an excellent idea. As an example of how to present Superman on film.

And finally an image that I hope more will enjoy than not..

http://yfrog.com/f1supermanbatmanasschecksj
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 6:32:25 PM

Good post John.

In addition to that picture... where's the subsequent one showing Batman's head flying off his shoulders... lol?
edjr977 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 8:33:13 PM

Throw in a villain like Darkside and it could interest me.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved