WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Reacts to "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Reboot

Posted: November 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Reacts to "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" RebootSubmit Comment
It was just reported that "The Dark Knight" producer Charles Roven has teamed with Warner Bros to reboot "Buffy the Vampire Slayer." Now, Joss Whedon (The Avengers, Serenity), who wrote the original film, has expressed his views on the reboot. He wrote:

"This is a sad, sad reflection on our times, when people must feed off the carcasses of beloved stories from their youths just because they can't think of an original idea of their own, like I did with my 'Avengers' idea that I made up myself.

I always hoped that Buffy would live on even after my death. But, you know, AFTER. I don't love the idea of my creation in other hands, but I'm also well aware that many more hands than mine went into making that show what it was. And there is no legal grounds for doing anything other than sighing audibly.

I can't wish people who are passionate about my little myth ill. I can, however, take this time to announce that I'm making a Batman movie. Because there's a franchise that truly needs updating. So look for 'The Dark Knight Rises Way Earlier Than That Other One And Also More Cheaply And In Toronto,' rebooting into a theater near you.
"

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 6:04:34 AM

I do understand him, but at the same time he does throw stones in a glass house. Even though he makes up a new story to the Avengers, it is not his concept. The foundation has already been paved. He just do hos own take in a given universe. Just as they do with this Buffy reboot.
boogiel writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 7:46:57 AM

"This is a sad, sad reflection on our times, when people must feed off the carcasses of beloved stories from their youths"


My sentiment exactly
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 8:08:47 AM

" I always hoped that Buffy would live on even after my death. "

Well Josh,

If you go hang yourself in a closet right now, I can go to my movie rental place, pick up the Buffy the Vampire Slayer box set of seasons that were recorded on DVD FOR PROSTERITY and watch them ... TECHNICALLY PAST YOUR f*ckING, FAT, PASTY CORPSE, you f*cking twat.


" I don't love the idea of my creation in other hands " - Hypocritical AND ironic (as Freudian pointed out), since your doing The Avengers, which is not your creation .... Sayyyyy, you even worked on THE X-MEN for a WHILE with John Cassidy, you overexposed little f*ck, so don't you EVER bring up that kernel from your steaming pile of bullsh*t again!

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 8:09:32 AM

^ BTW, Luke Perry ... what were you thinking ? Seriously ?
trailertrash writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 8:21:06 AM

Getting into kristy Swanson Knickers if he had any sense !!
trailertrash writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 8:22:18 AM

Which i doubt !! So who the f*ck knows..
Dre-EL writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 8:52:41 AM

LOL. Joss is so funny.

You guys sound as if you take him seriously, you do know he was kidding about the whole thing?
mariachi writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 9:01:59 AM

***********************************
Allow me to decode what Joss said for the dumb sh*ts that didn't realize he was joking:

While it makes me uncomfortable that my work is being handled by people other than me, I have no room to criticize. I'm directing The Avengers for christ sake. Plus, how can I hate people that like my work enough to want to revisit it?

Was that clear enough for you? Should get some crayons so you can color it in?
mariachi writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 9:12:28 AM

AAAAND for those of you that don't know, the original Buffy movie was a far cry from what he called for in the script. The execs didn't listen and the movie failed. Then Joss made the show with his original vision and it went on for SEVEN SEASONS. Now after Joss did all the leg work, the studio wants to come in and abandon his vision once more and make what I'm sure will be a more Twilight-y version of it.

I can't wait for this ridiculous vamp craze to die out.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 9:17:33 AM

I don't love the idea of my creation in other hands, but I'm also well aware that many more hands than mine went into making that show what it was. And there is no legal grounds for doing anything other than sighing audibly.

We picked up on his sarcasm as he was laying it on pretty thick but the comments are on the fact that he would even sigh audibly

We don't like loud sighers
trailertrash writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:30:02 AM

mariachi -

Looks like your the only one that really cares about this sh*t dude !!

But thanks for the Explanation and everyone here has moved onto paint by numbers now, So you can keep your crayons no need to share them...
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:40:22 AM

@mariachi

Take your box of crayons, open it up, take out two crayons, sharpen them up nice and sharp and jab two of them deep into your eyesockets, Corky.

Oh, just so you know, Down Syndrome test-tube baby, I'm just joking.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:42:19 AM

" I can't wait for this ridiculous vamp craze to die out. " - mariachi

And we can't wait for you to expire in your garage, with the engine running and the windows of your Pinto rolled all the way down either, Mariachi

CandyRunt writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:42:54 AM

This man is truly a creative genius and he's got it right!

what this shows is that most of the so called Buffy 'Fans' are illiterate and cant be asked to read season 8!

it sickens me people! gawdd!
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:43:46 AM

If they think they can trick Buffy fans into seeing this new film, they will be sorely mistaken. Whedon fans will be the last people to fill theatre seats for this. In their heads, the show never stopped. It simply rolled into the comic books, where Whedon does still exercise his legal rights to craft Buffy stories. Seriously, it never ended. They started the comics at Season 8 which jumps ahead of the series a couple years.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 12:44:23 PM

ust because they can't think of an original idea of their own, like I did with my 'Avengers' idea that I made up myself.

He's a very sarcastic person, he's clearly making fun of himself slightly. But, I still whole heartedly agree.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 12:44:32 PM

just because they can't think of an original idea of their own, like I did with my 'Avengers' idea that I made up myself.

He's a very sarcastic person, he's clearly making fun of himself slightly. But, I still whole heartedly agree.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 1:10:39 PM

Hi pot meet kettle. f*cktard! You can not claim the AVENGERS as your idea not even close to your idea.
JohnZee writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 1:46:12 PM

Poor Joss Whedon. Woe is him...

Cry me a river fatty fat fatty. Maybe you should dress yourself up in your prettiest
big- girl panties, oil yourself up, and watch old gladiator movies with a random homeless person of your choice...

...Just joking Joss, and hope that didn't go over your head, you know me joking being leaps and bounds over anything you could possibly understand you ignorant, c*m-sucking, far less talented then your Whedonites make you out to be...

...Still joking Joss. And I'm sure you are fully aware that you're my favorite turd, and I would never ever sh*t you.

You work in Hollywood you overly emotional c*ntslap. You know the land of the recreation, remake, and presentation of the old into something new so the rubes won't realize its the 20th movie version of "The Virgin Spring".

...If you are a "Buffy" fan that doesn't deserve to have a red hot poker repeated jammed up your ass until you have some sort of creepy religious/sexual epiphany than I apologize.

...Apologize that there are so many damned hardcore fanatical c*msuckingly rabid Joss Whedon "Buffy" fans that could possibly get you thrust into that same line.

You know the line where someone takes a red hot poker and repeatedly jams it up your ass until you have some sort of creepy religious/sexual epiphany...

Because that would be intolerant, and that would be wrong.



FBO writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 2:01:15 PM

I love this guys sarcasm, this is freaking hilarious!
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 6:52:02 PM

I was working up a laugh until he ruined his little monologue with the Batman punchline.

He might make for a decent author, but his joke delivery sucks.

Like we care what the f*ck happens with Buffy anyway. Unless you're GAY, that is.
The Derp Knight writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:05:43 PM

Whedon is good people. If he's not a part of the reboot it'll probably be faggy beyond all belief. I picture it essentially being more of a Twilight reboot.

I'll go back to reading Season 8 now...
ChristianNYC writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:21:06 PM

I hate eveyrone here who replied. f*ck YOU ALL!!!hahahahah

Does that really mean I love you? Or Seriously despise you?
ChristianNYC writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 11:21:44 PM

Joss Whedon jokes like a twat though

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved