WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Will Stop Making Fairy Tale and Princess Movies

Posted: November 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Will Stop Making Fairy Tale and Princess MoviesSubmit Comment
Apparently the rumors that Disney Animation changed "Tangled" to be more boy-friendly by adding action scenes inspired by the "Jason Bourne" franchise, swapping out the title and adding a prince, were absolutely true.

The studio has revealed to LA Times that it will not make any more movies about fairy tales or princesses, since they alienate male audiences. Plus girls today aren't dreaming about becoming royalty. "By the time they're 5 or 6, [girls are] not interested in being princesses," said media critic Dafna Lemish. "They're interested in being hot, in being cool. Clearly, they see this is what society values."

So what kind of animated projects will Disney focus on? The studio currently has a new "Winnie the Pooh" film and there's talk of "Reboot Ralph," about an old-school video game character who deal with life in the Xbox era. Both are aimed at young boys.

This news only refers to Disney Animation projects and not Pixar.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:14:18 PM



The studio has revealed to LA Times that it will not make any more movies about fairy tales or princesses, since they alienate male audiences. Plus girls today aren't dreaming about becoming royalty. "By the time they're 5 or 6, [girls are] not interested in being princesses," said media critic Dafna Lemish. "They're interested in being hot, in being cool. Clearly, they see this is what society values."


Clearly the issue with todays female youth. I swear your 10 year old little girl does not need the words juicy across her ass in sweat pants you whore of a mother .

Have you been to a mall lately? Crazy

It's not the kids fault its the parents and companies like Disney who are now bending to this sh*t
What happened to the good ole Disney that made wholesome single parent movies , why they killed off one parent in most of there films is beyond me but it works
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:21:18 PM

As long as it doesn't involve Pixar... I don't give a f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:28:53 PM

"By the time they're 5 or 6, [girls are] not interested in being princesses," said media critic Dafna Lemish. "They're interested in being hot, in being cool. Clearly, they see this is what society values."

What BD said, except I don't blame Disney for turning five year old girls into little whores, I blame the stupidity of Americans, the encroachment of a debased Hollywood culture that can be found at every level from California porn shops to Main Street, Anywhere USA, and the increasingly mainstreaming of decadence as a vice rather than a virtue.

America, culturally, is well on it's way down the road to ruin. You can blame the 60s so-called 'cultural revolution' for that.

But who the f*ck am I talking to here on WP? Folks that would vote for pornstars in the next presidential election and kids that think cocaine should be sold next to the antacid tablets?

I'm wasting my time.
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:32:15 PM

This wont last long, when the money dries up they will get a clue
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 10:06:06 PM

So what ? They usually pull the old sh*t from the vault every decade or so, so they can replenish the blood of Walt Disney's cryogenically frozen corspe with the money of grubby American consumers.
telur writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 10:19:43 PM

I miss the 90's like Beauty and the Beast, Aladin, or Mulan
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 11:07:38 PM




Jasmine and Ariel give me a stiffie.



JohnZee writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 3:14:10 AM

Here's a good rule. Your little girl starts focusing primarily on being "hot" and "cool", that's around the time you need to seriously wake the f*ck up and severely question your own parenting skills.

Just another blatant example of a major film studio basing the decisions it makes on what their accountants tell them have the most potential to increase profits.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 3:43:53 AM

and I had sex with scarlett johanssen yesterday.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 5:09:52 AM

@mink- for what it's worth, your post spoke to me. It was great and I agree.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 9:16:58 AM

I blame America and the media
Hollywood1086 writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 9:58:24 AM

um...clearly whoever said this hasn't been to a disney store or disney world lately. the princess merchandise is the top selling stuff, especially the dresses and other clothing. and if you go to disney world/land, a huge portion of the kids you see are dressed as princesses, waiting in line to see the princesses and going to princess dinners, etc. what kind of idiot thinks that little girls don't care about the princesses??
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 10:47:21 AM

Sounds like bullsh*t. Disney will never stop raping the Brothers Grimm. They've built their entire empire upon it.
Rogue17 writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 3:26:12 PM

Disney your f*cking yourself! I have a five year old daughter and she loves the princess movies and is dying to see Tangled. She is not interested in being a slutty fashionista, or interested in being cool or hot. She loves the princess movies and watches them repeatedly along with all the Barbie Princess movies. You want to target a movie for boys make a movie for boys don't quit making movies for girls. Dafna Lemish your a corporate douche bag!
OzBox writes:
on November 25th, 2010 at 9:34:28 PM

Disney shoudl start making movies about Skanks and Hos, after all thet's how young girls dress to interpret modern fashion and sexuality for themselves. And the boys will like it too.
Toastwhisperer writes:
on November 27th, 2010 at 7:18:16 PM

I don't agree with ANYTHING that that lady say's. For one, I still want to be a princess. My 5 year old cousin want's to be a princess. My MOM want's to be a princess...and, when we saw the movie Tangled, there were just as many men and boy's as woman and girl's. Not to mention that my 29 year old MALE cousin WANTED to see it. And, my Grandpa WANTED to see it. So, Disney should make more princess movies. That is what they get all the money from. Because the princess movies are best.
struck21 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:28:41 PM

I am tried of CGI Disney. I miss the mystic of old days. Princess or whatever, stop with CGI everything.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved