WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" Opens to a Franchise Record

Posted: November 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" Opens to a Franchise RecordSubmit Comment
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" grossed an estimated $125 million at the domestic box office for a new franchise record and eighth-best opening weekend ever for any movie.

The seventh installment started by earning $24 million from Friday midnight performances, which is a record. Unfortunately, the film couldn't keep the momentum going, dropping 37% on Saturday and suffering another decline on Sunday.

Despite everything, "Deathly Hallows" will still likely become the highest-grossing "Harry Potter" film and has already taken an extra $205 million from international theaters. "Deathly Hallows: Part 2" is set to hit theaters on July 15th, 2011.

Warner Bros is already planning to convert the entire series into 3D and re-release the films in a limited theatrical run.

Meanwhile, Russell Crowe's "The Next Three Days" opened with a below-expected $6.8 million in fifth place. "It was a disappointing start, but because of the older audience make-up (83% older than 25 years old) and their movie-going habits we are hopeful the film will have solid playability," said Lionsgate.

Click here to read our "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:18:35 PM

Makes me wonder what pt 2 will do?
Rodan writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:05:00 PM

Am I the only one that think Rowling stole this sh*t? I mean, you can say she made it her own, but the template is almost the same as Ender's Game. And then there's that one book which a protagonist named Larry Potter which also has "muggles" in it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:41:49 PM

@Rodan

Hard to say, at this point. The whole mythos of how Rowling was struggling on the street and told this story to her children and wrote this is a nice story, in and of itself.

But this is Harry Potter ... what are you expecting ... Eudora Welty or Jane Austen ?

The fact that this franchise has outbeaten Lucas has high respect from me :

at least Harry didn't have to face a Rastafarian retard named Jar Jar.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:43:06 PM

CCBlev writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:18:35 PM

Makes me wonder what pt 2 will do?


@CC Blev

My smart-ass answer ? Finish part one.
Rodan writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:47:17 PM

Yeah, maybe I'm blowing it out of proportion. When you mentioned Lucas, it reminded of all the stuff he borrowed from the samurai movies and Kurosawa's stuff. Maybe there's no foul.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 12:01:12 AM

Rodan writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:47:17 PM
Yeah, maybe I'm blowing it out of proportion. When you mentioned Lucas, it reminded of all the stuff he borrowed from the samurai movies and Kurosawa's stuff. Maybe there's no foul.

@Rodan

Perhaps. Lucas admitted that he borrowed heavily from Kurosawa's Hidden Fortress for Star Wars : A New Hope. And he and Spielberg were film geeks chubbers for Kurosawa. Hell, who could blame them ?
Rodan writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 12:09:47 AM

@Max,

Surely not I. One of my favorite movies is "A Fistful of Dollars" which is copped from Kurosawa's "Yojimbo". And then I've heard "Yojimbo" was copped from Dashiell Hammett's "Red Harvest".
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 4:36:06 AM

The fact is most films and stories borrow from other sources. I think the reason most films get away with it is the general public don't watch films like we do, so they don't see similar plot elements between stories. However, Harry Potter still spun a different take on several different stories. It also helps that she was a damn good writer.
shayhiri writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:20:31 AM

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
at least Harry didn't have to face a Rastafarian retard named Jar Jar.

I thought I was named Shay?
Salvador writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 11:11:58 AM

Max Rockatansky Junior: I agree.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2010 at 12:19:00 PM

I always thought he was called: 'Harry Potter' because he has a fuzzy ass.

(Che... oh Cheeeeee. No worries... Che is on it!).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved