WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Bruce Almighty" Director Now Lives in a Trailer Park

Posted: November 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Bruce Almighty" Director Now Lives in a Trailer ParkSubmit Comment
Tom Shadyac, the director behind "Ace Ventura," "The Nutty Professor, "Liar Liar" and "Bruce Almighty," hasn't made a movie since his 2007 "Evan Almighty," but it's not due to lack of offers.

LA Times is reporting that Shadyac has sold his 17,000 sq ft mansion and has moved into a trailer park, where he sleeps in the bedroom closet. From that trailer, he has been giving away most of his money and possessions.

He doesn't own a cell phone anymore and won't fly first class on planes, despite taking private jets and staying in lavish hotel rooms just a few years ago. His goal now is to convince people to stop being competitive and aggressive, and to be less like Donald Trump and more like Ghandi. He's doing this through a new documentary called "I Am."

"I still have a lot of money that I don't feel is mine because it came from a competitive system that is helping, in its own way, to destroy the world," he said. "So the way I run the economy of my life is to take only what I need to live and funnel the rest to other people. If I make another film, all I need is a room, not a trailer. I've already got one."

At this point, he doesn't plan on getting any more work, since studios will likely not want to make the changes he wants. One of which is to make everything environmentally sound.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bacci40 writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:32:31 AM

shoot...if he wants to give away his money, ill be happy to take it off his hands

johnny_boy writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:48:59 AM

Idiot. You work your ass hard so you can make a lot of money and do all that. People who do nothing, ie Paris Hilton and Kardashian sister, get a lot of undeserved money and should be the ones really living on a trailer park
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:49:32 AM

I will take some too

Oh, just another nut in Full-of-crap-wood California
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 8:23:05 AM

He sleeps in the bedroom closet because the all the rooms in his house are full of meth and underage prostitutes from Tijuana.
Kurskij writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 8:26:45 AM

This. Is. Plain stupid.

There must be a "1-800-Wake-up-you-stupid-motherf*cker" line to explain this "suddenly enlightened" ones that if they really want to change something - they need the money and they need the popularity to make a difference.

He's a movie director for f*cks sake, he is not Carlos Slim or Oleg Deripaska - he isn't running an industrial empire that can in some way affect the ecology.

Wanna make a difference - look at Pitt. He is a star, he's got the money. What did he do when New Orleans went underwater? He took his money and built houses. Real buildings for real families. Also by doing that he attracted a lot of attention to the problem - so by the end of the day a lot of important issues were resoolved and a lot of families got a chance to start a new life. Also as far as I know he did it relatively quiet without "Hey, people, look how awesome I am" publicity.

That how you make a difference. As for Tom - that's the way you make people call you a lunatic.

But hey, he is a grown up man, acclaimed and successful at what he does, maybe he knows better?
CCBlev writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 9:08:46 AM

Tom tell Billy Ray Cyrus I said Hi.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:24:32 AM

@Kurskij: I agree with you. Good post.
rabid writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:40:00 AM

What a whiner. He could do much more good for the world spreading his money around than without. I think he's just built his stockpile and decided to be a homebody heroin addict the rest of his days.
rocketman writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:48:41 AM

Respect,he will be skint but respect.
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:22:41 AM

Maybe if he cuts his hair and loses that hat he might have a better look on life
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:26:06 AM

eccentric behaviour in hollywood whats new.
otis writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 12:21:20 PM

I need to update my death pool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 12:27:34 PM

He looks like Kenny G's gay(er) twin brother.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 12:36:05 PM

His goal now is to convince people to stop being competitive and aggressive, and to be less like Donald Trump and more like Ghandi.

Good f*cking luck, Mr. Hawking.

We live in a capitalistic, free-enterprise society that has existed and thrived for 200 years. Your f*cking minimalization theory and practice regarding your personal financial status doesn't mean jacksh*t regarding others in the financial community. If you really want to live minimal, go f*cking work as a fryer at a Burger King and see how f*cking long you'll be changing your f*cking tune and beg Jim Carey to hook you up with another bomb of his, like " I Love You, Phillip Morris" or "The Number 23", retard.
You want people to live more like Ghandi and less like Donald Trump ? f*ck you. I will gladly enjoy a Porterhouse steak and furnishings in an air-conditioned high rise with my own Japansese Geisha girl massaging my back and watching Critereon movies on my nice flatscreen for hours on end, rather than live in a stucco sh*tsty, existing on rice and watching flies f*ck, all the while demanding my freedom from an Imperialistic government who beats me constantly with canes because I am a different race and most of all, wearing nothing more than an oversized toga and a pair of Depends, because that's all I can afford. f*ck you.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 1:12:33 PM

God smites thee, almighty smiter!

Crazyhorse writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 1:32:10 PM

Maybe Joy Bayhar will join him
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 1:58:55 PM

Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 1:12:33 PM

God smites thee, almighty smiter!



@Ranger

Maybe God should just constantly fart on him.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 2:42:00 PM

In some ways, I agree with him, but the way he plays out his beliefs makes him look crazy. But hey, if someone wants to give up the Greed Creed, crazy or not, well, more power to him.

Besides, he should get credit for being the first American to realize he has enoough money and possessions. And...he never claimed he was doing this for other people, like Brad Pitt, who indulges himself in feel-good antics to appease his conscience and self-elevate his so-called spiritual role in the world.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 2:54:10 PM

Good post Mink. But Brad too gives (quietly) about a million $'s a month to charity (between he and the Mrs.). He and Anglie are FAR MORE generous than most of Hollywood, by a long shot.

minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 3:12:16 PM

Sure they are, but why do they give it away?

My mother had a saying, and it's probably the smartest thing she ever said: true giving HURTS.

Yes, it's nice they give lots of money away, but let me ask you soemthing: if you made say, 200 grand a year, and you occasionally shot a homeless guy a few c notes, does that make you 'generous'? No.

If you work a Burger King, and you toss some street rat a five, does that make you generous? Not really, and the only difference between the guy at BK, the guy that makes 200 grand and people like Brad Pitt is the scale.

It's like when Bill and Melinda Gates gave away millions and millions to some charity (they're own I think), and the newspapers and media gushed over their generosity. I wanted to laugh. Really now. The guy is worth some 50 billion in assets and cold cash, but he gives away what he doesn't need and what he could NEVER spend, and we're all supposed to bow before him?

That would be like me expecting an award or a commendation for dropping off my old TV to Goodwill and passing on the tax write-off because I'm such a 'generous' guy. (That also says something about Americans in general when the government has to subsidize 'charity' donations through tax write-offs so sh*t places like Goodwill can highball other people's junk while 'generously' employing the unemployable at minimum wage. Win, win win, except for the disadvantaged.)

What would have me cheering for these so-called generous people? If they gave up their wealth, at least for a while, for the billions of needy, if they lived in a comfortable home and dropped the private planes and the top-shelf amenities.

Sure, Pitt and Jolie are more generous than their neighbors, but does their giving hurt at all? Any? I don't think so. But they can trade that excess glut of wealth for feel-good sentiment, just like they do by adopting some other guy's African kids.

Really, I wish I was wealthy enough to feel that good about myself.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 3:13:12 PM

they're=their
Kurskij writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 5:44:33 PM

@Mink

"and the only difference between the guy at BK, the guy that makes 200 grand and people like Brad Pitt is the scale".

Amen to that. And that's the thing - you give 5 bucks to a hobo - he either buys himself some food or some booze. No one gives a f*ck apart from you (maybe you don't) and him (hell, he won't remember in 5 minutes).

When a celebrity or a public person gives money for charity or even participates in any such event (if it's not a public stunt), it's:

1. Scale, agree with that. Your five bucks buy a beer - their hundreds of thousands buy houses. Or food or medical supplies for hundreds or thousands of people.

2. Publicity. You give five bucks, or I do - no one gives a f*ck, cause no one knows. Not even a blimp on a radar. Public person gives or launches a charity event - the whole world knows. Look a Haiti, look at Indonesia.

Gates or Pitt or Buffett or Clooney or Jolie - I don't care why or for what reason this people do charity or adopt children. Publicity? Popularity? To raise self-esteem? I don't give a f*ck.

But IF this money and/or this events help someone and if these children are happy where they are - that's enough for me. Because if so - it works, it makes a difference.

No, it won't make world a better place if Jolie and Pitt adopt 10 more african children, but those children will live and people will notice. And maybe because of that someones 5 bucks (as opposed to mine going to a hobo) will be transferred to some fund - and will buy a bottle of water or a bag of rice for some poor sucker living in a place I possibly won't even hear about.

Don't know about you - but that's what it's about for me. I don't give a f*ck about why things are done as long as the results are positive.

DetroitFanRick writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 5:53:52 PM

hmmm, shades of Howard Hughes to me
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 6:44:34 PM

DetroitFanRick writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 5:53:52 PM
hmmm, shades of Howard Hughes to me


@Detroit Fan Rick

So he was pissing into Coca Cola 2 Liters, while editing Liar, Liar in the studio's editing room ?

... That explains a f*cking lot.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:30:18 PM

LA Times is reporting that Shadyac has sold his 17,000 sq ft mansion and has moved into a trailer park, where he sleeps in the bedroom closet.

Why ? Is the upper fold out bunk of his Shasta RV already occupied by the saran wrapped corpse of his grandmother, that he used to keep hidden in the root basement of his former mansion ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:34:48 PM

johnny_boy writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:48:59 AM
Idiot. You work your ass hard so you can make a lot of money and do all that. People who do nothing, ie Paris Hilton and Kardashian sister, get a lot of undeserved money and should be the ones really living on a trailer park

@johnny boy

To only be fair (with regards to Paris Hilton), this Weird Al celebrity look-alike has yet to be parodied by Banksy.

Kim Kardashian only has years left before Father Time starts to collect on her, like a debt collector ransacking Wesley Snipe's mansion.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:35:50 PM

@Mink - again... I hear ya.

Bottom line is... the 'gushing' the public does when the super rich do donate is just to send a message to the other super rich to follow suit.

Bottom line is... they don't have to donate a penny. Yes they benefit from the tax write-offs. But better giving it to the feds to continue tanking the US in an un-winnable war in Iraq and Afghanistan at the lives of dedicated service men and woman just to line Bush and Cheney's pocket rebuilding what they've destroyed with tax payers $'s.

The super rich could keep ALL their wealth, and just pay the tax. No charities would benefit. It's not the super rich that support these charities alone. It's Mr. John Q. Public donating $5 and $10 here and there is where the HUGE money can come from. If the likes of Brad and Angie give up 5% of their annual incomes... how many of the working-class can say they too donate their 5%?

Trump was on TV about 20+ years ago. A lady in the audience of this talk show asked about his charitable givings. He admitted one he donated to annually was the Veteran's Parade, $1 million every year. The lady asked: 'Well sir, with all your wealth, couldn't you give more?' He replied: 'How much do you donate?'

You could hear a pin drop.

Bottom line is, charities benefit from ALL donations. I don't feel the super rich should be punished for being so, because in the case of celebrities, it's people paying these celebs with their hard-earned money in movie ticket and DVD sales. These rich (in a lot of cases) have taken chances many others would take the comfort, tried & true, stable route. They succeeded where thousands before (and after) them failed. And yes, 'luck' plays a part in everyone's life. The old adage: 'I don't know if there's such a thing as luck. But I do know the harder I work the more luck I seem to have.'

I'm pretty sure all these charities are grateful for all their donations regardless of their origin. It all helps.

And Lohan is a whore.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 7:36:41 PM

To his credit, Tom Shadyac has finally shown what people in Hollywood have long suspected ....

Sean Young's penis.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 8:20:30 PM

Despite my long winded post (was interrupted with a phone call), I meant to add, it's corrupt governments the world over that keep people poor, not the super rich. It's a fact that such governments keep funds from charitable organizations reaching their intended people.

Kill all the politicians, and let's start anew!
darkraven28 writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 9:27:08 PM

And the curse of Ace Ventura continues.....
jdl107 writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 5:14:03 AM

Well money is the real killer of this Earth so.... f*ck it.

But why bother to spread the disease to others? Why not put it in a pile and f*ckin' burn it, then cook some food on the damn fire.

I like how he's....... being real. Brad Pitt CAN f*ck himself, he's still a publicity loving, first-class jet flying, make-others-shine-his-shoes enjoying son of a bitch.

Hopefully he realizes it's okay if people (sheeps) call him a lunatic, at least he's actually doing something about it. Which is forgetting and letting go of that crap cloth/paper sh*t. But...... hm. You need it, so, f*ck.

Hm, I guess you need a multi-million dollar campaign to convince f*ckin' morons that money is truly a sad, worthless commodity. Haha, that would be some f*ckin' irony.
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 1:27:24 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved