WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dolph Lundgren Answers Your "The Expendables" Questions!

Posted: November 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dolph Lundgren Answers Your "The Expendables" Questions!Submit Comment
On Friday, I (Alex) had the chance to speak to Dolph Lundgren (The Punisher, Rocky 4, Universal Soldier) in an exclusive interview about "The Expendables" (in stores on DVD and Blu-ray on November 23rd), and asked him the many questions WP users had for him. Read the Q&A below, which includes questions about whether he would be able to beat up Jet Li in real life and who he would like to see brought on for "The Expendables 2."

MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD:

How did you find out about "The Expendables"?

What happened was Stallone called me out of the blue and just said (in Stallone's voice) 'Hey Dolph, you know. Here's a script, you know. Ay yo, check it out.' So I checked it out and then I checked out the character he told me to look at, Gunner Jensen, the crazy Swedish psycho who drinks too much and kills people. And I thought 'Ok,' I understand why he called me, I can do this. And that's what happened.

Did Stallone send you a finished script or just an outline?

It was a finished script and I think at the time he had Jason Statham signed and Jet Li was about to be signed. So it was kind of early.

When was the last time you spoke to Stallone before that?

It was probably a couple of years before that. We ran into each other a couple of times here in LA for dinner or a drink. And we were just talking about the old times. And I didn't know he was working on 'The Expendables.' I had seen him at the 'Rocky Balboa' premiere, which I guess was two years before that. But now we're closer and I just saw him yesterday.

Did he ask you to do anything to play Gunner, maybe drink more?

(laughs) He didn't have to ask me to do that part, I'm Swedish. He basically wanted me to work on the character. Originally, [Gunner] was more of a drug-addict, talking faster and kind of more erratic. There was a lot of physicality that we worked on. Some of that ended up in the movie, some didn't. But the essence of the guy [remained]. The fact that he has a lot of problems and kind of a loner, he lost his friends and he just can't help himself. You know, he's stupid.

Stallone really hit the gym, did he ask any of the actors to do the same?

Yeah, he did. He asked everybody. We always stay in shape anyway.

Since Jet Li is also an action star and you beat him up twice in the movie, did he have a problem with that?

He did a little bit. But to be realistic about the whole thing, if it was a real fight, he would have a bit of a problem (laughs). I have the height advantage.

Do you think you can take Jet Li in real-life? (via Dre-EL)

I think I have a fair chance.

Is there a chance that Jet Li will come back as the bad guy in "The Expendables 2," since he talks about needing money all throughout the first movie? (via AYT BALL, Ranger)

I don't know if Sly has thought of everything. I heard various versions. I'm sure most of the guys will be back, I don't know how many will live through the next picture, including myself. I think [Bruce] Willis will be back. There will probably be some new guys in it. I really can't say.

Everyone was hoping that you and Stallone would have a fight scene. Was this something that was discussed or is planned for the sequel?

I don't know. He did shoot me. I kind of like the fact that we're on the same side and then we go on opposite sides.

Why do you think there are no real tough guys in Hollywood anymore? (via Big_Daddy)

Society has changed. Look at John Wayne and Robert Mitchum, they were guys who would have bar fights and carried real guns on the set. It was a different era. People fought in the second World War. Jimmy Stewart bombed in missions over Germany and was shot at by real bullets. Can you imagine some movie star today flying over Iraq and going in there getting shot at for real? That would never happen. They were just much tougher people. That rubbed off on the cinema.

Now you send certain people to fight and other people to make movies. Back then, it was the same guy doing two things. When I started I was a fighter first and then I became an actor. Steven Seagal was an aikido instructor. Arnold [Schwarzenegger] was Mr. Universe. [Jean-Claude] Van Damme was a fighter. Times are just changing, that's all.

Do you think CGI plays a role in that by making it easier to do certain things? (via Cinemaisdead, bspence)

It certainly does, yeah. With CGI you don't need to have the actor do a lot of stuff. Between CGI, quick cutting and using doubles, you can put anybody in there and make them look like an action star. When you put them up against other people, then you see the difference.

Which tough guys would you like to see brought on for "The Expendables" sequel? (via bandolero999, AYT BALL, Kurskij)

Maybe Arnold [Swarzenegger]. He's a very charismatic guy and he's a great action star. People would love to see him. I think someone like [Jean-Claude] Van Damme, certainly. There are other people like Chuck Norris, Vin Diesel, young guys like The Rock. Before you know it, they also become old school.

What about Carl Weathers? (via bandolero999, minkowski)

Carl Weathers would be cool.

You can beat him up again.

(laughs) Yeah, I can kill him again.

There were two more "Punisher" movies since yours, what did you think of them? (via bspence)

I hate to tell you this, but I didn't see either of them. It's not that I didn't want to see them, I just wasn't interested. It didn't seem like something I would want to watch. I don't watch that many movies.

Have you heard anything about the new "Masters of the Universe" movie?

No, I haven't. I heard some rumors, but I haven't heard anything in a while.

Would you do a cameo?

Yeah, I guess I can slip on the outfit again (laughs).

Were there any roles you passed on and then regretted? (via trailertrash)

Not really, no. I never look back and regret things.

Do you know when "The Expendables 2" may begin filming? When the script is due?

I don't know all the official dates, I just know that we may be shooting late spring/early summer next year.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 7:29:02 AM

Duel wielding mini guns? you were supposed to ask if we will see any,oh i give up...
Ari Gold writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:36:48 AM

He seems like a decent bloke. I wonder what he is like in person..
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:47:42 AM

^ Big Blonde and swedish
velocityknown writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:38:16 AM

Seems like a cool guy.
I'd like to see him kill Carl Weathers in the Expendables 2 for some reason haha.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:50:38 AM

Good stuff Alex. .........

Seems like a nice guy

Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:51:40 AM

Alex,thank you for the effort :-)I personally hated 'the expendables' but it was nice to read.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:52:36 AM

And if you ever have to interview Lindsay Lohan , be nice if she could answer some of questions too ... f
Lederhosen writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:01:14 AM

Nice interview Alex. The Expendables was by far my favorite movie this year. Can't wait for the DVD on Tuesday. I don't understand how any man could have disliked this movie, but hey, everyone is entitled to their opinion.
CCBlev writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:08:25 AM

Too bad I thought about it too late. Woulda been cool to ask him about Brandon Lee in real life, and if he thought Brandon woulda been a great addition to The Expendables cast.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:11:58 AM

He would have been great in the Expendables mate for sure...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:13:37 AM

Great job, you (Alex)! I wish I had an opportunity to post a question, but by the time I got to the thread, all of the ones I would have asked were posted. Also, nice job on the questions to everybody that contributed!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:19:16 AM

Favorite Dolph movie - "I Come in Peace"


"... and you go in pieces." KABLAMMO!
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:34:52 AM

That was a good movie (called Dark Angel here)outside of The Expendables and Rocky 4 most likey my favorite of his too...
Kurskij writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:05:07 PM

^Joshua Tree.

Bad movie, but for some strange reason one of my favorites of his.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:14:21 PM

Nice job Alex.

You can tell Dolph IS 'Old School.' He didn't have to bash anyone in the interview to make himself look better. He's too classy to play 'secret, secret, I got a secret' and let some little tidbit about the sequel get out. ALL failings of younger, immature 'stars' today, that are more famous for their off-screen antics then their actual acting jobs. Nice he credits the guys he did out of respect: Stewart, Mitchum, Wayne... TRUE giants in the biz! Even if he saw The Punisher movies (not saying he's fibbing), to saw you never saw them is a far better reply. And I actually believe him. Successful people don't waste time nor wallow in regret... they just live. So good for him.

Dolph is a class-act!

Looking forward to the sequel.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:22:30 PM

Kurskij -

Nearly said the same movie myself, I'm sure the reason for that was Kristian Alfonso ....

Ranger- Nicely said ..
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:24:24 PM

Thx. tt.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:33:40 PM

I had so many awesome questions and only one was asked? Oh, Alex, you shame me.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 6:48:25 PM

really awesome alex! hope we get more opportunities like this in the future.
Gates writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:11:33 PM

@mink

Asking whether or not Carl Weathers is in the sequel is very important. lol
DavidsoMighty writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:56:18 PM

The only question I have is if he is going to be in the prequal to the 6th sense.
ShizPaf writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:19:25 PM

Excellent interview sir. Very enjoyable. I've always thought that Dolph is a much better actor than the Governator.
Rodan writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 3:41:30 AM

His response to "Why do you think there are no real tough guys in Hollywood anymore?" is pretty sad, because he's right. Times really have changed.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 5:41:33 AM

I be lookin' for Josey Wales!
That'd be me.
You're wanted Wales.
You a bounty hunter?
Man's gotta do somethin' for a livin'
Dyin' ain't much of a livin' boy.
Dre-EL writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 5:03:39 PM

Nice Job Alex, thanks for getting my question answered.
Whats up with Terry Crews?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 4:30:07 AM

BOO YA!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved