WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daniel Day-Lewis to Star in Steven Spielberg's "Lincoln"

Posted: November 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daniel Day-Lewis to Star in Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
Two-time Academy Award winner Daniel Day-Lewis will star as the 16th President of the United States in DreamWorks Studios' "Lincoln" to be directed by Steven Spielberg.

"Daniel Day-Lewis would have always been counted as one of the greatest of actors, were he from the silent era, the golden age of film or even some time in cinema's distant future," said Spielberg. "I am grateful and inspired that our paths will finally cross with 'Lincoln.'"

Based on the best-selling book, "Team of Rivals," by Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Doris Kearns Goodwin, the screenplay has been written by the Pulitzer Prize winner, Tony Award winner, and Academy Award nominated writer Tony Kushner (Munich).

It is anticipated that the film will focus on the political collision of Lincoln and the powerful men of his cabinet on the road to abolition and the end of the Civil War. Filming is expected to begin in the fall of 2011 for release in the fourth quarter of 2012.

Click here to read more about "Lincoln."

Source: DreamWorks


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 12:45:36 AM

Daniel Day-Lewis is one of the best working actors today, him as Lincoln is gold.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:04:03 AM

I can definetly see this.
BobMcBob writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:42:04 AM

Ben Kingsley needs to play Mary Todd Lincoln
Rodan writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:12:29 AM

masht7,

Agreed. I am convinced there isn't a role he can't pull off.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:05:05 AM

Agreed Daniel Day-Lewis is a Class act ..

The guy should be making more films (his choice not too), My left Foot was an ok film but his performance was one of the best i've ever seen and deserved his oscar.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:08:12 AM

Maybe it's just me but I'm really not interested in a Lincoln movie.
Valandir writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:30:19 AM

Daniel Day-Lewis is one of my favourite actors of all time. Like Rodan already mentioned I really think there isn't a role he can't pull of, he's always brilliant. Also, agreeing with Trailertrash that "My Left Foot" isn't the best movie ever but Day-Lewis gives an amazing performance.

You just have to respect the guy. Anything with DDL I will definitely see!
leezy84 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 6:50:20 AM

he even made nine bearable...should of won an oscar for bill the butcher too, to make it 3...DDL is a legend
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 6:52:17 AM

Sure, it's a nice casting and all, but wouldn't you rather have seen him as JW Booth?
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:18:12 AM

@mash

Well said

Pig Newtons writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:30:28 AM

Sigh.

I love Daniel Day Lewis, but this news kinda disappoints me, tbh.

I just don't see him as Lincoln. Liam Neeson however, was the best choice. He's even got the height required to play the 16th prez.
Pig Newtons writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 10:33:33 AM

@Freudian: I agree..Liam Neeson as Lincoln and DDL as John Wilkes Booth.

Another guy I could see playing John Wilkes Booth is Will Patton. Or perhaps even Stephen Lang, from "Gettysburg" and "Avatar".
OneTime writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:48:08 PM

i smell oscar
BigUnit writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 11:46:15 PM

love daniel day lewis, but can someone please tell me what was with the movie Nine?
Monash writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 2:08:38 AM

@Pig Newtons
agreed

It's not that i don't think he'd be great in any role he does its just he doesn't take on that many roles and it seems a bit of a waste to play this character as oppose to someone who wouldn't otherwise exist without DDL.
Plus we all know he plays one hell of a mustached villain
dimesforever0 writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 12:24:10 PM

This is purely hearsay. It won't happen: Spielberg is already directing three features at the moment, and has two others lined up next. This will never get made.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 1:04:03 PM

He's more Lincolnesque than even Sam Waterston, which is saying quite a bit.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 1:04:29 PM

^ Maybe even Henry Fonda

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved