WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Wesley Snipes Going to Prison for 3 Years

Posted: November 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Wesley Snipes Going to Prison for 3 YearsSubmit Comment
A federal judge rejected Wesley Snipes' demand for a new trial and ordered the actor to surrender to the US Bureau of Prisons to begin serving a 36-month prison sentence for tax-related crimes.

The 48-year-old Snipes, who has appeared in such movies as "Jungle Fever," "White Men Can't Jump," and "US Marshals," was convicted in 2008 of three misdemeanor counts of willfully failing to file federal tax returns. Prosecutors contend he obstructed the IRS and attempted to avoid paying millions of dollars in federal taxes.

While Snipes could challenge Hodges' latest ruling and ask the US Supreme Court to review his case, he would likely await the ruling from a federal prison cell.

I guess this means that Snipes won't appear in "The Expendables 2."

Source: Sun-Sentinel


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 12:46:13 AM

Simon Phoenix, you have been sentenced to 3 years cryogenic stasis for violation of the income tax code. Have a nice day.
mally writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 12:52:45 AM

He won't be appearing in "The Expendables 2" but I'm sure he can make his own movies while spending time with general population. These include but are not limited to:

1. The Expendable
2. Blade IV - Ass Blood
3. Black Man Can't Walk
4. The Fugitive in the Shower
5. Jungle Fever II & III
5. Demolished Man
6. Passenger 57 in Cell Block 16B
7. The Art of War IV: Gripping Pain
8. Tax Evasion = Ass Invasion
masht7 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 12:55:32 AM

He should join a cell with Nicholas cage.
holtlt writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:00:33 AM

How come has Tom Sizemore evaded prison time more than Snipes?
BobMcBob writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:47:37 AM

Ving Rhames needs to get arrested as soon as possible so that they can recreate the fight scenes from Undisputed
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:39:34 AM

"Where's the soap?"

"Yes it does, doesn't it!"
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:43:01 AM

I guess his movie "Rising Sun" takes on a new meaning as does "Money Train".
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:59:54 AM

"White men Can't Jump" (good movie) Part2 will be:

"Black Man Can't Tax Dodge"
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:21:34 AM

@holtlt - I suspect Sizemore and Cage have dodged the... well cage, because they're white.

I'm white and I'm saying this.

The cops tampered with O.J.'s evidence, and their over-zealousness to convict him let him walk.

The investigation into Michael Jackson's death is a joke as well.

There are other examples I could quote... but most people know them.

I have NO doubt Snipes should go to jail. By the time you owe that many tax $'s, it means you've made a PILE more than what is owed. By that same token... maybe Nick Cage is headed there (it takes a few years for appeals to run out... maybe he's making payments on his debt... I don't know).

It's a double-standard for sure.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:52:02 AM

3 years to pump up his muscles for 'blade 4'
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:02:44 AM

Prison is dahr... to pump u up!
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:16:12 AM

You have a point with your post above Ranger, It will be very interesting to see what happens to Cage.

If jail is good enough for Al capone and Snipes it's good enough for Cage but will he end up there ? doubt it.

And who the hell is advising these guys with their money anyway!!

I know you can bend the Tax rules but never break them.

You earn it you have to pay it ...
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:26:43 AM

Thought he already had been sent down or is this a new tax dodge?
Trip Maverick writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:05:32 AM

I guess he was wrong in Passenger 57 when he said "Always bet on black". I just lost 50 bucks thanks Wesley!
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:10:45 AM

Rocket-

It's the same case i think, but it's just c*m to a Head for him in Jail .....
johnny_boy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:12:05 AM

Now because he didn't pay his taxes, now everyone in jail is gonna wanna tax that ass
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 7:02:18 AM

When Nicolas Cage heard these news he signed up for four new movies.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:29:51 AM

"Dont drop the soap homie" - Ab lincoln
bandolero999 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:51:23 AM

well now he can practice more of his acting skills and thats why Sly Replaced him for Terry Crews to be the token black guy
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 9:58:07 AM

@Trailer,ahh thanks,guess the Daywalker will be Daywalking a little bowlegged from now on for a while.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 12:49:47 PM

@rocket - trailer is right. Wesley just ran out of appeals.

Appeals... that's funny.

Watching 'Lock-Up' last night (about the U.S. prison system). Apparently the appeal process even exists for a guy serving 521 years. No wonder the courts are back up. What was he expecting... a reduction in his sentences by 400 years?! Big deal! lol.
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:05:32 PM

I believe that Nic Cage is square with the IRS. He had to sell a couple homes to do it, but he paid off the monkey.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:10:59 PM

Hahahahaha !!

That pretty much sums up the Judicial System , Doesn't it.

If you don't pay your Council Tax here you end up in Prison for 30-90 days, even if your 65 and retired they don't care.

Beat someone into a living pulp or steal from someones home, It's a Slap on the wrist or maybe even a little community service, It's a F'in Joke.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:13:55 PM

Lock Up , Not everyones favorite Stallone movie but i thought it was pretty good...

Rocket - lol Yep , He will be Wobbly Walker from now on..
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:19:04 PM

The states have this '3 strike rule.' Even for some of the more minor crimes, 3 strikes and you get sent up the river BIG TIME!!!

My question is: Why THREE f*cking strikes?!?! Maybe... MAYBE 2 TOPS! No one can tell me that ANYone stealing a car doesn't know they're committing a crime! And I know stiffer punishment wouldn't necessarily reduce crime. Texas has capital punishment and there are still TONS of idiots there doing capital crimes there daily... WTF?! But when someone has a life sentence without parole that literally exceeds their life span... put them down! Nuke 'em! What does it cost to house an inmate for 60 years, that will NEVER leave prison?!
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:20:21 PM

The guy on the show last night... no joke, 521 year sentence and he was 'appealing'?! R U f*cking kidding me?! How about when you rack up that kind of a sentence you actually lose some of the rights a first time car theft moron would get.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:21:44 PM

@Ranger

eye for an eye is a golden rule
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:24:24 PM

PS: I'm not necessarily for capital punishment (as it's proven that it is not a deterrent for criminals). I'm thrilled (sincerely) that Texas is one of the states engaged in it's practice. In cases where the guilty is so without ANY doubt... ANY, none, zip, zero! Yeah... put 'em down and free up a cell for the next murderous dipsh*t.
nicholas56 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 2:58:29 PM

do the crime, you pay time.
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:05:45 PM

I'm all for street Judges like Dredd,stop f*cking about ...
SACdaddy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:06:24 PM

Lets just hope he comes out ballin like Michael Vick in 3 years :)

Non-Americans, its an NFL thing, you wouldn't understand.

FREE WESLEY!!!
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:16:33 PM

First What the hell did the guy do to get 521 years !!

In the UK it cost around 40,000 a year to keep someone in prison (more if they are grade A sc*m bag)

We have Child killers like Ian Huntley and serial killers like Ian Brady The moors murderer sitting in our prisons at the cost of 1000's of pounds a year. WHY !!!

What is the point they will never be released back in to society again (As they shouldn't be).

When guilt is 100% like it is in those cases these guys should be put down like a rabid dog. Done, They deserve no more than that.

But the worry is the youth of today (god i'm not that old), They dont seem to have any respect (or even fear) of the Law anymore.

These kids would whip through their 3 strikes within about a week and they wouldn't care one bit.

20 years from now we might be needing to turn all The Holiday Inn's into some sort of open prison, which is somewhere else we like to send our criminals which is more like a holiday than a punishment.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:27:19 PM

Like Escape from New York.

521 years... honestly it wasn't for anything more than a couple of murders. But they really dropped the boom on him because it was his 3rd strike. Same as I said above... if there were as tough after the 1st strike (2nd. at most), those people he killed would still be alive. Tragic. But it's not like he blew us a school bus of kids or anything for that many years... the time is just because of his 3rd strike. 3rd. time car thieves, and minor stuff like that get HUGE time 3rd. time in.

Last night was a marathon of that series 'Lock Up.' San Quentin was one show. f*ck me! 4000 prisoners. 400-600 a DAY change hands. 900 security personnel. What a nightmare. I give those guards credit though. Balls the size of Volkswagens to be doing that job!

TONS of gang members (like there's a future in that?!), proving nothing of importance to each other on the inside. Their pecking order, and hits on opposing gang members, etc. etc. One big, useless f*cking game. A waste of life.

Amazing series to watch though... fascinating.

But if there's is 100% evidence... 100%, NO doubt, and the sentence (if WITHOUT parole), exceeds the max. lifespan (even say it's 90 years... even 100), then yes, they should be put down.

Jeffrey Dahmer was serving over 800 years... 'til they put him to work cleaning a bathroom with a brother, both with wooden-handled mops. Yet the guards 'didn't hear a thing'... LOLOLOL! I don't know what happened to the guy that killed Dahmer, but I'd like to buy his family dinner!

Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:39:48 PM

Remember 'Escape from Alcatraz' with Eastwood, that character 'Charlie Butts'?

Car theft... crossed a state line, making it a federal crime. Ends up in the toughest prison in America... Alcatraz. For car theft... lol. What a loser!
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:37:46 PM

Escape From NY !! Is Carpenter the next Nostradamus i wonder ..

Tough break then for the man with 521 year sentence , Least he can take comfort from the fact the world will end in 2012 anyway..

4000 prisoners. 400-600 a DAY change hands. 900 security personnel. WOW that is some place and Johnny Cash was a brave man going into that place to perform...

Make you right, respect for the guys(and Gals) that do that job not something i could do.

Friend of mine has family working in Chelmsford prison (Ronnie Barker's porridge tv show was based there and Paul Newman was meant to have escaped there in The MacKintosh Man) and they won't even talk about what goes on there, Stuff of nightmares is what they say...

And the guy who sorted out Dahmer , Bravo sir hero status for you for the rest of your life.

They should have tried that a few times here with some killers or perverts we have but the bastards seem to kill themselves first (Harold Shipman springs to mind),again the guards always seem to find them too late.. hmmmmm

Alcatraz i have been to and you can tell that is a place you wouldn't want to end up in no Sir and being there on car theft crime haha how's your luck (Great Movie BTW)

Watched a really good doc*mentary on that escape. They say they had no chance against the current in the bay on the man made raft they had plus the water temperature in the bay was too cold to swim in for the distance needed to escape, but you never know !!

Didn't realise a guy made to the Golden Gate bridge on a different escape some months later.


minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:48:28 PM

There's no clear and incontrovertible evidence that the cops tampered with the OJ evidence, but there are indications the police did a relatively poor job handling it.

There was no conspiracy to frame the man, plain and simple.

As for Sizemore, it had nothing to do with him being white. His charges were not FEDERAL, so he didn't have to spend nearly as much time in jail. The Feds have plenty of jail space, and don't offer parole or probation.

Snipes was arrested and jailed on federal tax evasion charges, and that's no joke, even though his crimes are classified as misdemeanors. He will do most if not all of that time.

In short, federal versus state statutes makes an ENORMOUS difference in how long you stay behind bars. Period.

It has ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with skin color, and feeding into the notion that state and federal judicial mandates are somehow racist keeps hatred and paranoia alive in this nation.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:54:40 PM

I'm not a huge fan of capital punishment either, but I'm not shedding any tears or losing sleep when they put to sleep some child-murdering serial killer.

And it's not much of a deterrent because it isn't done either quickly enough or with enough frequency.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 6:26:05 PM

pity that ameriKa's come to this...

because this man won't willingly co operate with government theft we're going to throw him in jail for three years...

the feds can kiss Wes' butthole, good for him not paying that sh!t

truly a pity seein him go to prison
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 7:40:44 PM

All I can say is...

"FREE HAT!"
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:15:28 PM

@Mink - thx. for the Sizemore clarification.

As for O.J. it was my understanding the blood over the fence, then some DNA stuff left the property room (disappeared, then re-appeared), and the Lt. in charge was a known racist. It wasn't a 'clean cut' investigation. But not tears for O.J. OR those nuked via Capital Punishment. I guess in history though there was one (at least) nuked, to be found out innocent later (that's gotta suck!). But when it's ONE HUNDRED PERCENT sure... yeah, bump 'em off. Make room for the next killer.

@tt - the guards not finding them in time... yep. Nice! The guy that offed Dahmer probably gets his choice of AIDS-free ass first-c*m-first-served in the prison!

What's for din-din 2nite? Mmmmm... FRESH FISH!!!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 12:14:19 AM

3 years for misdemeanors??? are you f*cking kidding me??
SACdaddy writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 9:23:42 AM

Wesley has been living in Africa the last 2 or 3 years. Federal prison can't be much worse.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:57:18 AM

As Wesley's being ass-raped in the prison shower stall, he can say, " Always bet on being assf*cked in the blackhole. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:57:57 AM

Hey Wesley,

Black Men CAN get assf*cked.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:00:00 AM

When Wes gets f*cked by his new 'boyfriend', he'll become "Brooklyn's Finest", with a whole new meaning.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:01:55 AM

This must be more embarrassing for Wes than

A. Being put in his place by Sean Connery in 'Rising Sun'

B. Being stalked by Robert DeNiro in 'The Fan'

C. Being replaced by Omar Epps in Major League II.

D. All of the above
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 11:04:32 AM

Hey Vandandy,COC(kTaster's Choice),ChezLounge, Amadouchebag and Jake_Asstomouthtaintmuncher ... Your boyfriend is going to jail.
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 2:05:52 PM

He'll be fine in there, he's a big black dude, who's a martial artist.
darkraven28 writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 9:20:40 PM

Simon Phoenix, you are fined three life years for a violation of the taxation and morality statute. Be well.
JKS1 writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:29:40 PM

Guess that means sexy 'Nikki' could get lonely during those 3 years - anyone have her number ?.....email address ?
JKS1 writes:
on November 22nd, 2010 at 8:33:33 PM

Wow !!

Looks like Max Rockatansky Junior has some serious race/sex issues !

Not at all bitter, jealous or frustrated are you ??

(LOL!!!)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved