WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Deathly Hallows" Gets Highest "Harry Potter" Midnight Opening

Posted: November 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Deathly Hallows" Gets Highest "Harry Potter" Midnight OpeningSubmit Comment
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" grossed around $24 million from 3,700 locations during its midnight opening. That's better than "Half-Blood Prince," which had a $22.2 million midnight launch.

It also doubled the $12 million earned by "Order of the Phoenix" and nearly quadrupled the $6.3 million midnight opening of "Goblet of Fire." But the "Twilight" series maintained its midnight dominance.

"The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" hold the record with $30 million from 4,000 locations. The next on the records list is "The Twilight Saga: New Moon" with $26.3 million.

"The Dark Knight" still holds the opening weekend record with $158.4 million, despite earning only $18.5 million in its midnight debut. "Deathly Hallows" is on track to gross $132 million for the weekend, but some predictions place it as high as $157 million, which is still not enough to break any records.

Click here to read our "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" review.

Source: BoxOfficeMojo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:01:19 AM

f*cking Twatlight!!!
vaodsi writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 1:08:38 AM

"MINOR SPOILERS"
my fiancee dragged me to harry potter at midnight yesterday.. i actually enjoyed the movie a lot. Best one of the series by far. and not for kids. It's pG-13 for sexuality, violence and frightening sh!t.
nude hermione and potter make out (mist obscures nipples and other stuff)
a voldemort suspends a woman above a table then lets her drop, breaking her neck, then feeds her to snake.
Helena bonham carter carves "mugblood" into hermione's arm.
oh and it ends with the defilement of a grave....
pretty awesome movie. made me excited for the next one.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 3:59:27 AM

^sounds good

so i guess in part 2 we'll seen full nudity in 3d,rape and some good old animal masturbation.
shayhiri writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:27:29 AM

This here is not even a movie.

This is HALF a movie at best.
Half of a very stupid tedious movie at that.
Worse of all - it's the worse of the two halves.

Wish I had skipped it. I've never been so bored in cinema.

True my ticket cost only 2$ or 3$ - but it was a torture THEY should have paid me for.
shayhiri writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:29:50 AM

Seriously, it's the most boring of all the parts. Only uber-Potter-fans, which are worse than Twitards, could really enjoy it.

Only good thing is I could eye-rape Ema Watson the whole time, now that she's finally legal. Got nothing better to do for two and a half frigging hours!!
shayhiri writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:34:14 AM

Prince of Persia had parkour and Assassins!!

And what does the four-eyes nerd have?

A magic wand.

A tiny one.
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:37:16 AM

can't snap on harry potter...i mean when you get right down to it, would you rather watch twilight or harry pothead?...between those two choices, i'd choose harry pothead...i absolutely cannot stand twilight at all
shayhiri writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 6:03:20 AM

The only difference is lil Hermie is much easier on the eyes than this ugly stupid cow Bella. Not to mention much more intelligent and charming.

Still I'd only watch this... thing again, if they paid me... $1/min. And it's one hell of a long-ass monster of boredom.

I know, I know, I'm cheap. What can I do? I have three girlfriends and they don't come free, you know.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:16:08 AM

nude hermione = Awesome
Barney Stinson writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 5:52:37 PM

Hey Shay,

Shut the f*ck up and go blow Vin/Dandy.

Sincerely,

Barney Stinson
Pancakes writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 7:59:42 PM

"Still I'd only watch this... thing again, if they paid me... $1/min. And it's one hell of a long-ass monster of boredom"

Well fortunately shayhiri we live in a world where no one would pay you to hear your opinion on film, even the administrators on worstpreviews are thinking of deleting your account.
vaodsi writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 8:18:33 PM

not a potter fan. never read the books. Saw most of the movies (and only parts at that) still enjoyed it.
the other ones are way more boring... they are kid movies after all.
half blood prince felt underwhelming. This one actually had a sense of urgency and the characters weren't two dimensional.

ANd yes shay.. prince of persia was a movie full of assasins and 2d characters... and the only person i know who liked it was my 10 year old brother.

this harry potter definately had some slow moments.. it's called maturity. We are actually seeing (GASP!) character development!

but i suppose you are right. WHo needs character and story when you have ninjas and assassins and parkour?

seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 1:30:18 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved