WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Search for "Superman" Actor Begins

Posted: November 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Search for "Superman" Actor BeginsSubmit Comment
Director Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) and producer Christopher Nolan have started their search for the actor to play the title character in the "Superman" reboot.

Deadline has learned that the two men and Warner Bros are not against casting a lesser known actor, either someone new or a TV star. The plan is to find someone in the age range of 28 to 32 and it is expected that hundreds of actors will be looked at.

Talent agents are already submitting candidates, but are having trouble fitting the production into the busy schedules of many of the established series regulars. Many believe that Armie Hammer (The Social Network), Joe Manganiello ("True Blood") and Ian Somerhalder ("The Vampire Diaries") will be considered.

Even though the casting process will be a long and difficult one, Warner Bros must start filming by June or risk losing some of the rights to the character.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:01:34 PM

For God sakes, go with a relatively unknown actor. Don't pull a Nick Cage on us.
CCBlev writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:04:02 PM

Let the fun begin.
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:13:37 PM

Snyder for visuals and direction, Nolan for script and a god superman might just equal a success.

'Bout f*cking time, IMO.
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:15:01 PM

*good
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:24:34 PM

*is
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:28:46 PM

Why? Does the script call for a mentally retarded, illiterate c*ck-tease?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:38:50 PM

... and you just described every single character that has ever participated in the Twilight movies.
telur writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:56:02 PM

I choose... Ice Cube...
Frank4969 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:11:12 PM

I said it b4. I'll say it again. Give the part back to Brandon routh. He was the only thing good in superman returns. Give him a chance.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:30:55 PM

SERIOUSLY??? A Zoolander reference/joke and you delete it? Alex, you're out of your mind.

I'm out of here.
batdump writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:20:13 PM

how about Arnol Schwarzenegger... he'll be looking for work again come January hahaha
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:24:02 PM

i choose... Steven Seagal.
whoever writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:33:16 PM

What's the bet that some exec at Warners is gunning for the Old Spice dude!
masht7 writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 2:07:46 AM

Chris Evans has my vote.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 2:27:24 AM

Just bring back Brandon Routh and include a scene where, while in full Superman costume, he recites the "cleaning lady" speech from Scott Pilgrim again, lol!
jigsaw23 writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 2:28:28 AM

hmmmm i got to say joe but i see keanu reeves as supes well because he could be him, but he would have to work out, or not because he is THE ONE.
telur writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 2:48:18 AM

wait... how about Ryan Reynold? He can be any superhero...

anyway Ryan Reynolds Named Sexiest Man Alive too!!!

wow amazing!!!!
Rambo writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 3:27:35 AM

just don't bring us another Hayden Christiansen
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 3:36:45 AM

I have total trust in Snyder and Nolan that they will get this Superman Right...
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 3:39:17 AM

That said , I always thought Jeffrey Jones would have been good on Sesame Street....
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 3:42:32 AM

He never touched, He just looked !!
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 3:42:51 AM

Alot !!
CCBlev writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 4:55:54 AM

Trailer-Lol
I hear Van Douche is looking
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 4:56:51 AM

... for a heart defibrillator, last I heard.
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 4:57:11 AM

... or his next line of blow.
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 4:57:30 AM

... or to turn down another great offer from Sly!
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 4:57:57 AM

... his phone to ring for the next Kung-Fu Panda sequel!
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:11:41 AM

he's always been looking ....

http://www.hkcinemagic.com/en/images/movie/large/Kickboxer-JCVD_MichelQissi3_3b2893896a12f4268d0d562683c75210.jpg
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:16:49 AM

I always said his opponents had balls!
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:18:14 AM

That's why he got in to fighting in the 1st place, That and showers afterwards...
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:25:49 AM

@ Peter Parker...what was the zoolander reference joke?...don't feel too bad about it getting deleted...i've had more than one case where i commented on topic, with nothing offensive whatsoever, and it still got deleted...and @ Ranger, i'm sorry i ever brought up the name 'beiber' but try to understand, when i bring up such names, it's only to trash talk them...and it's fun to say degrading humiliating things about them...i hope that brightens future days for you...but back on topic though...if snyder and nolan can't make this superman better than it ever has been, well, no one can...and with technology at its absolute highest peak in film making, there's no reason why it couldn't be made better than it ever has been, but still, it all comes down to who can follow the comics better, and get the right cast to portray it all...but in my personal honest opinion, i think this superman reboot is a laundry list of bad ideas...it's not going to have the same effect as nolan had on the new batman films...and snyder's effect on this won't be the same as he had on 'the watchmen'...call it a gut feeling if you want, i just get this weird vibe like this whole thing is going to get real fugly...it worked for batman because batman needed fixing...the only thing wrong with superman in my eyes was superman 3 and 4...along with superman returns...and i still think brandon routh would make a good superman for this generation...he's of age, he's not from any tweeny bullsh*t film or tv show and can still play the part better than the mentioned actors in the article...but since the studio doesn't want brandon routh, i have to give them a little credit for taking a risk if they decide to use a relatively unknown actor, or actress haha, and i say actress because they made superman look like a total bitch in that last movie
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:39:51 AM

lol re: Bie(ugh)ber.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:43:59 AM

Get Chuck Norris to do it, save yourself millions of dollars in special effects.
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:46:15 AM

Chuck would have to whimp himself down to play Superman ...
trailertrash writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:46:57 AM

Still a great choice though..
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 6:04:00 AM

anytime i think of beiber, that 8 kilometers trailer of beiber as a girl pops up in my head now...it was nicely done, and actually makes me want to make a more nasty humiliating fake trailer...and then i'll submit it to amazon
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 6:06:35 AM

i love the article headline, it makes me think of adam sandler in the waterboy, 'did they ever catch that gorilla that escaped from the zoo and punched you in the eye?' 'no momma, the soych continues'
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 7:56:11 AM

Nick Cage
Woody Allen
Brad Pitt
Danny Davito
The Situation
Lindsey Lohan with a bowl haircut

Would make a wonderful Superman

Oh

How about the Fat bearded guy from the Hangover whats his name again?
rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 8:54:41 AM

Armie Hammer and Joe Mangianello have already ruled themselves out. Try and keep up Worst Previews.
rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 8:56:20 AM

Routh is also crossed off the list.
The rumor may very well be true that they are looking for a tv star... in which case I suggest Tom Welling.
gunfighterii writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 12:08:07 PM

Tom Welling... heres a few pics of Tom as movie superma i found on google:

http://i995.photobucket.com/albums/af78/gunfighter28/metropolisclark3ne.png

http://i995.photobucket.com/albums/af78/gunfighter28/Tom20Superman.png

He definatly looks the part, and can play it
give him a shot :)


Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 12:26:19 PM

@Crazyhorse - I think his name is: '*sshole Mel Hater!'
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 1:47:53 PM

Rang

Yes thats it

He's Probably why I wont see the film
Dre-EL writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 1:51:55 PM

Tom Welling is too short to play the man.

Here is a thought let supes be CGI. LOL.
Billy_Zane writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 2:21:58 PM

Adrien Brody or Donald Glover
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:10:33 PM

@Crazyhorse - same here. Free on cable is about the extent I'll go to watch this.
gunfighterii writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 5:46:15 PM

Welling is 6ft4 hows tht too small
LEONCIO writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 6:50:19 PM

I would choose this guy from the mentioned in the article:

http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/5172/35717407809587750723752.jpg

Or Henry Cavill, internet's favorite for years:

http://www.masalladeorion.es/wp-content/uploads/henry%20cavill.jpg

http://images2.fanpop.com/images/photos/4500000/Henry-Cavill-Dunhill-Ad-henry-cavill-4517685-1140-1555.jpg

http://cdn.buzznet.com/media/jj1/2009/06/cavill-upstreet/henry-cavill-upstreet-magazine-02.jpg

http://cdn.buzznet.com/media/jj1/2009/06/cavill-upstreet/henry-cavill-upstreet-magazine-01.jpg

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_MTCRMRa9ZfY/S9PLH7oNO7I/AAAAAAAAAuE/0MhEOlpyuB8/s1600/henry-cavill-upstreet-magazine-03.jpg

http://cdn.buzznet.com/media/jj1/2008/08/cavill-health/henry-cavill-mens-health-02.jpg

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/25/Henry_Cavill_Shankbone_2009_Vanity_Fair.jpg

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_EhD_0sDfQFM/SLtLzgW7WEI/AAAAAAAACGY/rLhKwhhnMP4/s640/Henry%20Cavill-23.jpg
Kain writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 4:22:41 AM

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_LmeuVPQ5yTk/SyiXQ1jsstI/AAAAAAAAAnM/hy9NGzJffVc/s1600-h/19062009301.jpg

I've got my agent trying to get me into this.
ecstasy_eyes writes:
on November 20th, 2010 at 7:45:30 PM

I really wish they would use Tom Welling after they end Smallville this season, and continue the story from that point.
Rick Taps writes:
on November 21st, 2010 at 10:57:33 AM

f*ck Tom Welling. Dude has a horse face and can't act for sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved