WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Won't Let You Buy or Rent "Tron" Until 2011

Posted: November 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney WonSubmit Comment
Disney has been promising to release a remastered version of the original "Tron" movie around the same time "Tron Legacy" opens in theaters on December 17th, but that will definitely not happen.

It has been reported that the studio is worried that the now-outdated effects and silly costumes of the original could hurt the box office numbers of the sequel and that's the reason why it would prefer if people forgot about "Tron" for a little while.

And now comes word from LA Times and CinemaBlend that Disney has ordered for all copies that are for sale or for rent to become unavailable. There are no copies in Best Buy, Borders, and Barnes and Noble, with staff claiming that there are a few left in the warehouse, but the system has placed them on hold, which means that they are not for sale.

Amazon is also no longer selling "Tron," but several private retailers are more than happy to get you a copy for around one hundred dollars. The Disney website has a link to buy "Tron," but when you click on it, you are taken to a trailer for "A Christmas Carol."

Some other online stores like DVD Empire and CD Universe list the film as discontinued. And even Netflix won't let users add the movie to their queue.

Disney reached out to LA Times and confirmed that the remastered version of "Tron" will only be released sometime in 2011.

Source: LA Times, >CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:38:47 AM

Thank god my son saw 'Tron' last month, he thought it was absolutely great and he understood the reasoning for the effects.
RobertHolik writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:56:14 AM

Great, I'll just download it then.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:58:30 AM

f*ck off Disney. Maybe you shouldn't have remade this in the first place
Rambo writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:17:47 AM

i'll watch it on cinema once and thats about it.
trailertrash writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:11:02 AM

Hey Disney how about you show a little faith in people and in Tron Legacy.

Anyone who watches a film which is nearly 30 years old and then is put off watching something made in 2010 is clearly a c*nt and deserves to be locked in a lift with "The Situation" until AIDS takes all their lives.
defiant1 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:23:19 AM

well its a good thing i've had my dvd of Tron for as long as i can remember. cuz believe me, i'm gonna wanna watch it again before i go see the sequel.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:26:09 AM

If you don't already have TRON in your DVD/Blue Ray collection then you are a douche anyway
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:44:41 AM

Too bloody right there Big_Daddy!!!

Lucky I bought "Tron" a few years back, but will definetly buy the Blue-Ray when it comes out.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:57:33 AM

The first time my son tried to watch it he couldn't get through the film so I showed him the trailer to Legacy then Put Tron onto his PSP now I cant get that little focker to stop watching it, and at the park the other day he threw a Frisbee at his little sis and said

"End of LINE"
billofill writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:18:22 AM

HDmovies has been playing it the last few months. And there ya goooooooo.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:35:02 AM

Wow, another retarded decision by Disney.

Now that news of this plan of their is out, they could end up losing business because of it. People will assume "well if disney's so ashamed of the first film then the second one must be just as bad".

Way to be, Disney. Walt would be proud.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:44:55 AM

that is absolutely ridiculous
rabid writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:29:50 AM

They're doing people a favor. They're digitally remastering the fx and probably making a 3D version as well.
But more than that, they know that if kids see the original first, then they probably would think the new version was too boring to see.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:06:54 AM

Being the resident Blockbuster employee I can attest to this fact. We were actually the last store in my area to have this as a rental, and either the customer that had it kept it or we sent it back to distribution recently because it has been deleted from our inventory.
rocketman writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:41:48 AM

Disney Won't Let You Buy or Rent "Tron" Until 2011

Rocket doesn't give a f*ck because he thought it was sh*t first time round.
SuluNakamura writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 12:28:35 PM

Bad move, Disney. It shows they're afraid they made a flop. Trying to take unnecessary precautions.. People will understand it's an old movie. Why are they acting like they're embarrassed of the graphics from many years ago?
SuluNakamura writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 12:34:05 PM

and I'm sure the execs at Disney are gonna have a huge smile on their faces when they see the numbers go up of people pirating Tron.
CCBlev writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 1:11:04 PM

Yes defiantly watch Tron once more before the sequel comes out.
FBO writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 1:58:58 PM

This mean's I am not going opening night. I'll wait for friends to watch it and tell me what they think.

It's like that senator from idaho who got arrested for trying to have sex in the airport. When he opened up his press conference to explain what happened and the first words out of his mouth were; "I am not Gay!" That's when i knew he was Gay.

So Disney saying; Don't watch the first one because it'll make this movie suck!" Is rea;;y saying; "This movie sucks!"
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:19:59 PM

I already have a (legal) copy of Tron on DVD. Bought it a few years ago as part of my VHS out, DVD in program... lol. Mine isn't 'remastered'... but I don't care.

@Big_Daddy - re: END OF LINE! --- lolol.


synthetic1985 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:46:14 PM

honestly, how can disney be so stupid??...everyone knows that the public would prefer to watch the first film before watching the second film so that way people aren't confused as hell trying to figure out the comparison's between the two films...what are they trying to do, purposefully bring down their numbers at the theaters?...besides, there's millions of people out there who already own the film, and someone here said it best, why are they embarrassed of the effects from the first film?...it was released in 1982 or 83...can't expect the graphics to be exactly the same like the new one...are they going to be embarrassed about the fox and the hound too just because it wasn't made in cgi?...so in short, when it comes to terrible decisions like this, i only have three things to say about it...f*ck YOU DISNEY!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:48:32 PM

also someone should point out to those dumbass studios...if it weren't for 'tron' there would be no tron legacy WOULD THERE??...not that i can afford movie tickets anyway, i think i won't miss much by not seeing it in theaters
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:58:16 PM

@Ranger

LOL. I burst out laughing when he did that.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:03:16 PM

Disney has always been really careful with the distribution of their titles.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:43:40 PM

@Big_Daddy - too bad you weren't taping that for YouTube Bro.

Priceless!!!

synthetic1985 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:47:11 PM

how would walt disney handle this situation?...a very important question people in that studio really need to ask themselves...and the answer is simple, walt would care less about how cheesy and outdated the effects are on ANY of his films...he considered each film of his, special...and he didn't make stupid money making decisions like this at all...but whatever, the studios just screwed themselves already...it's like that line from south park, 'that's ok eric, there are no stupid questions, just stupid people'...in this case, there are no dumb decisions, just dumb decision makers
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:59:01 PM

Boy will you feel duped if you pay $100 for a Tron DVD, $10 maybe

Does the $100 Tron DVD come with anything else: Maybe a

Free Ride to puke on the T-cups at Disney World
Signed Autograph Picture of Scarlett Johanson, Penelope Cruz, Selma Heyek?

Thoughts anyone?
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 4:15:33 PM

A coupon for a FREE rabies shot after Lohan bites you for not having any crack for her at a party?
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:38:39 PM

I already own the film on a double-disc DVD. What a bunch of f*cking fascists. People, if you want to download the film, then either torrent it or grab it from a web site like Rapidshare or Megaupload.
jigsaw23 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:47:21 PM

hahahaha tron will end on being on tv all week of the release of legacy and some stores still sell it ha ha ha
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:26:57 PM

I'm not sure what's worse: Disney pulling all the copies of a thirty year old film because it has...thirty year old graphics, or Disney's decision to make a sequel to a film that's...thirty years old.

It sounds like a cash grab on an unnecessary sequel that's quickly going worse than they had hoped.
Man in Black writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:00:39 PM

Disney you f*cks do you think if you do this people couldnt find it to watch it if they look hard enough . Piss off disney .
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:02:40 PM

I presume that TRON Legacy has a recap of TRON at the beginning then? Because if not then anyone who hasn't seen TRON (especially those who don't know anything about it) would surely be pretty confused about what the hell wss going on in TRON Legacy, wouldn't they?
darkraven28 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:04:38 PM

Disney? Didn't they just take over control of Marvel Productions, which owns Iron Man, which means that they might sack Robert Downey Jr. because (OH MY!) HE HAS a history of a past with drugs, like Keith Richards, who was Johnny Depp's obvious and constantly stated inspiration for Jack Sparrow? OH MY f*ckING BEARDED GODDDDDDD!!!! Does this mean Tron, the original, sucks? Never saw it but I wanted to just so I'd have a frame of reference when the sequel came out. Time to hit up Moviestop!!
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:09:09 PM

Just.
Download.
The.
f*cking.
Original.
Film.
To.
Say.
To.
Disney:.
f*ck.
You.
*ssholes.
LeeMaca writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:48:34 PM

wow if only there was a way the entire planet could get movies on demand without buying them.....hmmmmmm go f*ck yourself mouse!!
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:15:18 PM

Nice
torrent
post
Mink!
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:36:33 PM

Why.
Thank.
You,.
Ranger.
And.
f*ck.
Disney.
Forever.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:43:02 PM

L
O
L
!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:26:09 PM

what happened to freedom. We can even choose which movies to buy now cause some people dont know classic cinema if it smacked them in the face???

btw the new tron looks awesome!!
rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 9:07:59 AM

It's nothing new. Distribution companies do this all the time when they're getting ready to hype a movie. I remember them pulling Labyrinth. For the 3 years just before its 20th anniversary release, you couldn't buy or rent it anywhere.
darthraige writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 9:31:24 AM

Disney is God, and George Lucas is Jesus.
blahbla writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 1:10:40 PM

Currently downloading it, just out of spite; and i'm gonna download flight of the navigator too just for fun.
struck21 writes:
on November 28th, 2010 at 10:49:10 PM

That is the most BS I have ever heard. Tron was a omplete masterpiece back when it was made and still is today. Disney needs to let things be.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved