WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" Trailer Screenshots

Posted: November 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" Trailer ScreenshotsSubmit Comment
The trailer for the upcoming "Green Lantern" movie has recently been released and today we have several screenshots from it to slow down the action and check out some of the detail. (watch trailer).

The shots show Carol Ferris with the Star Sapphire symbol on her helmet, Peter Sarsgaard as Hector Hammond, Mark Strong as Sinestro, Abin Sur, Tomar-Re, Kilowog, and many shots of the CG suits.

The new movie is directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) and is scheduled to hit theaters on June 17th, 2011.

Screenshots: (click to enlarge)

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: JoBlo

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:35:28 AM

They were spot on with casting Mark Strong as Sinestro, Ryan Reynelds I'm still not sure on.
coolguy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:36:10 AM

trailer was good, but the cgi doesnt look too convincing right now. hopefully itll look better when the film is released
masht7 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 6:41:50 AM

Did anyone else when the tagline text came up and the green flames think 'The Dark Knight'? Or is it just me?
johnny_boy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:04:11 AM

@Masht, that's what I said in the thread that featured the trailer, re the flames
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:07:16 AM

The pink geezer looks like Zordon dying in The Mighty Morphing Power Rangers movie (the scene brings a tear to my eye even now) and is that Steven Dorphh with the receeding hairline or is it just me?
Rambo writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:14:50 AM

still looks too cartoonish to me
CandyRunt writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:41:59 AM

Shoulda been Nathan Fillion, not just by going by the fan made trailer here!
SACdaddy writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:27:50 AM

^^ He would have been a perfect choice for this part.
ShizPaf writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:09:01 AM

They do look like DC cartoons, Warner or whatever. I think it fits well since my first reaction to these pics was that they look like action figures.You know they will sell GL on a ATV.
Doc_Harley writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:20:22 AM

Trailer looked good but I'm not excited by the CGI suit at all. Hoping they fix it before the movie is released. Loved Mark Strong as Sinestro and Ryan looks good.
Doc_Harley writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:21:31 AM


Nathan Fillion would have been great!
pnkntndr writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 12:32:12 PM

His mask almost looks as fake as Spawn's fruit rollup looking cape


That's Peter Sarsgaard
rabid writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 12:46:10 PM

it looks fake because it is fake. cartoonish because it is a cartoon. the costume is made of light sculpted by his mind. It's not supposed to look like a piece of vinyl that he spirit-gummed on.
CCBlev writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 1:08:05 PM

I'll wait till it comes out.
FBO writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 1:51:52 PM

That mask kills it for me
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:02:49 PM

Yeah, the mask looks quite horrible. I was unsure about this to begin with, now I'm even more concerned. Don't put your hopes that they will fix the CGI, this is the official trailer (right?).
KindredMac writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:04:37 PM

^^ Don't we ALL have to wait until it comes out?

Just saying....
FBO writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 2:07:53 PM

Yeah, they're not fixing any CGI. This is what the final cut will look like
Hero320 writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:11:12 PM

CGI really needs work... hope it'll get tweaked before actual screening.
gorgoroth writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:47:29 PM

is it me or does that picture on top make ryan reynolds look like ben stiller.
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:52:54 PM

Sick of all this hate crap about the trailer and what not. As a GL fan i couldn't be more stoked for the movie now. Theres actually a lot of things i love about the trailer and yeah I'll be glad to make a list of them:

-Star Sapphire symbol on Blake Lively's helmet
-Abin Sur is spot on
-The ring is awesome
-Oa is breathtaking and all the attention to detail
-Mark Strong as Sinestro is PERFECT!!
-The power fist is badass
-Hector Hammond makeup is fantastic (Parallax in his eyes?)
-When his uniform forms, the ring sparks only at the 1st & then the energy radiates out from the GL symbol that forms on his chest. Awesome.
-The costume is almost a mix between Kyle Rayner & Hals costume. Go compare them.
-Kilowog & Tomar Re are depicted well in detail which gives me hope that other GL aliens will be too.
=Finaly, I'm so glad they ended up going with the White eyes...
and yes my ONLY concern really is the mask too but some shots it looks fine and some shot it looks sketchy. That will most likely be fixed between NOW and JUNE.

So yeah this may have been a little excessive but I'm just trying to prove a point that I really did, overall, love the trailer. I'm over all this "GL trailer bashing". Good day.
markoz writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 3:57:04 PM

Could it be that it looks cartoonish so it can look normal in 3D?
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 4:14:02 PM

@Ted - good post. Same... really looking forward to this!

@markoz - possible. Good guess.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 4:37:46 PM

EVERYONE will say after viewing this movie...

heelswin writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 4:42:44 PM

When I look at this most of what I see looks okay, Except for when I look at Ryan Reynolds. He doesn't look right at all. The mask is weird looking and the suit looks off a little. The suits on all the other characters look fine to me but RR as GL just looks off to me
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 4:50:04 PM

Maybe he's just exhausted from f*cking the Mrs.

I would be.
trailertrash writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 5:08:52 PM


Good post, lovin' your passion for GL.

I don't know to much about GL but the movie looks like it will good fun and i'm big fan of Mark Strong too so i'm looking forward to it ...


You know that , i'm amazed he can stand up straight..
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 5:58:49 PM

minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:10:03 PM

Well, I'm not a GL fan, though I love Dc comics. GL usually can't carry a story well alone, so that's why they're often tossed in with the JLA and other DC heroes.

I mean, I hope the film sates the interests of GL fans, but I'm not buying into it, in large part because Reynolds just isn't a serious enough actor to pull of the role of a rather serious superhero.

He's simply too cartoon-ish an actor, and, granted that this film is likely aiming for the lover-aged demographic and not mature adult men, that may work in the film's favor for the target audience, but, for people like myself that expect some realism, as better exemplified by Batman Begins and the Dark Knight, we may be very well disappointed or alienated by Reynolds and his silly take on the character.

Furthermore, the CGI does look bad. Perhaps, as Rabid said, it's supposed to look that way, but I'm not buying that explanation because it's easy enough to add a luminescent post-production glow to a real suit; and for shots where you can't shoot with an actual camera, as exemplified by the realistic CG of the Iron Man suit, which was often confused with real shots, it has been easily demonstrated that CG cloth solutions are more than adequate for the task.

I think what we have here is a poor choice of Reynolds, in lieu of better qualified actors, for the Green Lantern; wither that or someone though Reynold would better connect with the younger male audience and women alike. In that case, you could argue that choosing Reynolds wasn't so much a compromise as a marketing ploy to boost revenue as far as possible, and if so, that bespeaks volumes to the Hollywood mindset that quickly sacrifices quality of film for quantity of cash. Think: Transformers and GI JOE.

Finally, the CG is obviously off, Rabid's explanation notwithstanding. Far more realistic CG shot can be performed, no matter the material or the take. There's simply no excuse for this film to look like a better version of Jim Carrey's the Mask, and given the unfunny comedic elements of the aforementioned Reynolds, I have to wonder if that was exactly what and where the studio wanted to go with this film.

Either that, or they simply cut corners with the post-production and chose a sub-par film FX company to handle the CG shots.

It simply could have looked far better.
c-prime writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 7:41:07 PM

@ minkowski: If "Green Lantern" keeps Ryan Reynolds from doing a feature-length "Deadpool" spinoff, then I'm wholly supportive of this casting.

You've got some valid points. You can best bet the casting decision was most definitely motivated by expectations of high box office receipts. Personally, though, I enjoy the acting and snarky comedic stylings of Ryan Reynolds. Not enough to ever sit through "The Proposal", mind you, but to a considerable degree. I think he's made some nefariously abysmal films feel moderately sufferable from time to time ("Blade: Trinity", anyone?), although, granted that still means he was in a bad film. The CG is a little bit crummy (I almost wish they didn't go with the GL mask now), but I'll suspend judgment until release day.

Don't forget, man, this movie's directed by the one and only Martin Campbell. Responsible for the best Bond films of both Pierce Brosnan and Daniel Craig's stints. "Edge of Darkness" was pretty solid as well. (And I'm willing to forget "Vertical Limit" ever existed.) Have faith, my friend. Have faith.
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:05:08 PM

It's not the skill of direction that has me concerned, it's the comedic stylings of the man best remembered for making Van Wilder more annoying than hilarious.

I'm sure Campbell could direct a rock doing nothing for ninety minutes and still have a winner, but the CG demands more refinement, and I'm just at that age where I find Reynolds far too immature for my comedic tastes.

Hell, I'm not sure I would have found him entertaining at age fifteen.

He should try to do more films like the Amityville Horror and Buried, where he puts on display a more refined and serious tone. That isn't to say I don't mind the occasional wisecracks, but I haven't seen a man do action-with-wisecracks well since Arnie left the business, and Reynolds, toned abs or not, is certainly no Arnie.

Anyway, I'm an enormous believer in the seriousness of comic book films, and I'd feel more positive about this film if they had tightened the look and jettisoned Reynolds for someone else. Too late, huh?

Is it me, or is almost every action-fantasy film going the Chris Evans/silly script/look route? Where are the serious, jaw-dropping films? And no, I'm not asking to see Sucker Punch either, as visually impressive as it looks.

It's funny, because just today, I had an awesome vision of how the original Transformers film could been told, and specifically, a moving image in my head for how Cybertron would've looked had I had anything to do with the films.

But instead, I got Bay's utter garbage. And then they ass-f*cked GI JOE, one of the most easily adapted-to-film toy franchises, into a mind-numbing cluster-f*ck of uber-gay junk, starring that illiterate moron whats-his-name.

Damn, I'm off-topic. What the f*ck were we jawing about?

Oh yeah. Even Inception let me down with it's silly, illogical premise and the lack of genuine humanity. Yeah, yeah, the story tried to shoehorn it in, but it came off cold and inept.

Anyway, maybe it's just me, but they don't make movies the way I see them in my head, and that's what I'm always comparing films to, which is really the source of my frustration.

It's like a film will, at best, get some things right, and we root for what looks good, but invariably, they also get other things wrong, like Predators, which was a surprisingly good action film, far better than AVP and AVP:R, but somehow, they managed to mildly f*ck the film up with excessive additions of new concepts that didn't mesh well with either the film or the franchise's history.

Uggh. To each his own, I guess.
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:48:24 PM

To the cry-babies moaning about the CGI, they still have SEVEN MONTHS to finish it! They can do a hell of a lot of polishing in SEVEN MONTHS (well, OK, more realistically 6 months) so I'm not too worried about it myself. (I think it looks OK already anyway.) I also don't have a problem with a somewhat lighthearted superhero movie (yeah, I liked both Fantastic Four movies, so sue me!) and personally wouldn't want an emo fag Green Lantern so Ryan Reynolds is fine. And, yes, I do think he's funny. Van Wilder, Blade Trinity, Waiting, Just Friends, his tiny role in Wolverine and even a couple of moments in Buried prove his comedic quality. Quit moaning bitches!
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:24:18 PM

^^You sound like a real faggot, but then that's what we get from a guy asking us to blow him.
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:26:43 PM

And the shots in question are more likely the finished shots, moron, just like when the makers of Transformers put that film's teaser trailer on the internet, many months before the film's opening, with all the finished shots contained therein.

So go suck a fat one, just like your daddy taught you.
c-prime writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:37:23 PM

"I liked both Fantastic Four movies, so sue me!"

If such legal action was possible in any society on this Earth, I absolutely f*cking would.
c-prime writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 9:59:52 PM

@ minkowski: More solid contentions. The "G.I. Joe" sentiments are wonderfully expressed.

I agree, superhero flicks with serious tones have been dwindling these last few years. Perhaps the studios aim to keep stuff lighthearted so as to pander more to the younger demographics with fleeting attention spans. The trouble with that is that many of them have not really grown up with all the comics and the lore and whatnot and can only really appreciate these flicks as glossy, escapist summer thrills. Others, like yourself, watch comic-book movies for nostalgia and hope to see respectful adaptations, sh*t done right (not something cheap and watered down for the masses). There's nothing wrong with that first group I described, really, but it does seem as current comic book movies are designed for the ones with low expectations, the people that just want to ogle bright explosions and the customary twentysomething bombshell cast member with ravishing tits. (Don't mistake me, those things definitely have there place, but a little more substance wouldn't hurt, either.) I wish there were more situations were both parties could have their expectations met, but alas...our top scientists just cannot seem to produce that perfect Christopher Nolan/Michael Bay hybrid yet. Keep working, boys, we'll get there. We'll get there...
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 10:36:21 PM

@trailer & Ranger
Thanks guys its not often I vent that much on here but yeah just needed to vent that out a little. I will not go into this any further so my voice stays where I stand and can't wait for GL in June.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:30:24 PM

Yeah the mask kinda looks like sh*t, but im actually kinda looking forward to this. Even though reynolds should have been the flash not green lantern.
on November 19th, 2010 at 2:08:43 AM

@minkowski What, you mean the teaser for Transformers with the Mars rover? Yeah, great comparison. Let's find some examples of trailers with unfinished effects shall we?:



Cloverfield (I couldn't find a link but the first trailer definitely had unfinished effects.)

There are many more but I can't be bothered to look more up. Do you honestly think that not only does it only take whoever is doing the effects less than 9 months to finish the effects of an effects-heavy potential blockbuster but that Warner Brothers then just leaves it on the shelf for another 6 months and doesn't touch it until the release date? Really??
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 7:10:43 AM

rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2010 at 9:01:53 AM

CGI looks fine to me. It will look better in 3D. These are probably the finished shots.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved