WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: John Cusack as Edgar Allan Poe in "The Raven" Thriller

Posted: November 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: John Cusack as Edgar Allan Poe in "The Raven" ThrillerSubmit Comment
Director James McTeigue (Ninja Assassin, V for Vendetta) is filming "The Raven" in Budapest and we now have the first photo of John Cusack as poet Edgar Allan Poe. Check it out below.

The thriller is a fictional story about what would happen if a serial killer challenged poet Edgar Allan Poe (Cusack) to solve a series of killings inspired by his own stories.

"It's sort of 'Se7en' meets a series of Poe stories. It's set in 1850s Baltimore, and it's about creating Poe's version of 1850s Baltimore, him moving through it. So it has a lot of the Poe stories interwoven into it," McTeigue previously stated, adding that Poe's real life will be used in the film as well.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: Gawker


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 9:22:29 PM

Nice shoes.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 9:22:55 PM

I didn't know Poe wore Nike shox...
CCBlev writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 9:31:12 PM

Are those the Air Poe's?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 9:40:44 PM

I thought Poe had a Hitler 'stashe? What the heck is up with this goatee?
minkowski writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 9:50:17 PM

Cusack looks nothing like Poe. Couldn't they have found a guy that at least resembles America's greatest horror writer?

Who's to play HP Lovecraft in his film? Roy Schneider?
minkowski writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 9:51:35 PM

And I never liked Cusack. The last truly great film he ever did was Better Off Dead. Since then...right off the cliff, with the 2012 being the plunge point.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 10:10:33 PM

You didn't like Hot Tub Time Machine Mink? I thought it was kinda funny.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 10:51:33 PM

OH NO is another epic period piece guys dont bash this movie otherwise we'll have to hear it from Bulgarian Sensation Shyamalan or watever the f*ck his name is

I really dont know how Cusack gets roles he dont fit in this one more like a johny depp role to me.I liked Hot tub time machine though funny movie with some old skool actors like chevy chase and Crispin Glover definitely better than Grown ups and that seth Rogen stoner movie
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 11:14:09 PM

John Cusack has just the right amount of depression in his tone and acting style to portray someone like Edgar Allen Poe. However, I don't know if this characature of Poe is right for Cusack necessarily
rabid writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 12:06:16 AM

He's a bit gaunt for Poe, but otherwise it's a fair resemblance.
Cusack usually picks great roles, so his inclusion makes me think the film will be worth seeing. My favorite Cusack film was Max, about Hitler's art agent.
rabid writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 12:06:55 AM

I take that back. Cradle Will Rock was the best role of his career.
FBO writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 2:33:04 AM

i am not thrilled about the hair and make-up design. Imo, Cusack is the best actor for any Poe role but in this picture it just doesn't work. So either i am wrong or they're going to royally screw this movie over
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 5:47:26 AM

it definitely has potential, but yea it kind of looks like they just slapped a goatee on Cusack and snapped a pic. need a trailer!
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 8:56:35 AM

A Hollywood murder mystery who done it! Just what we all needed because Poe is OH! so boring and all. F*cking pesky reading..who needs it.
minkowski writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 2:34:10 PM

The right hair and the right goatee do not make a Poe. Cusack simply does not have the right features or the right facial shape for Poe.

As for HTTM, it could have been better. I like the back-to-the-eighties concept, but the way they played it, it was like they felt the eighties just sucked, and going back was hell. And I hated that.

Plus, the concept of having a squirrel turn a hot tub into a time machine didn't work, the ending was predictable, and I felt much of the crew, especially Cusack, hated doing the film.

But the 80s=suck thing was annoying. Like I wouldn't want to go back to a better, more upbeat time, rather than this dark age of cynicism and malaise.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 16th, 2010 at 8:49:50 PM

As much as I love John Cusack's acting and sense of humor (including self-deprecating humor) and most of all, his chic sensibility -

This makes him look like Rip Torn after he lost a lot of weight taking heroin for years ...

f*ck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved