WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battle Royale 3D" is Coming to America!

Posted: November 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battle Royale 3D" is Coming to America!Submit Comment
Back in May we reported that Kinji Fukasaku's cult action-thriller "Battle Royale" was being converted to 3D in order to be re-released in Japanese theaters in November.

Now comes word that the gory film, which is one of the best-selling Japanese movies ever, will finally be available in North America. Anchor Bay has acquired rights to the 3D version, the original version and the sequel during the American Film Market. This will be the first time that "Battle Royale" will be distributed in the US due to Columbine and fears of a legal backlash.

Released in 2000, the gory film grossed $26 million in Japan and sold to 35 territories worldwide. At the time of its release, Japanese politicians attempted to ban the film which depicts a group of delinquent students hacking each other to death on a deserted island in order to win the ultimate prize, their life.

Source: Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 9:42:45 PM

AWESOME that its coming here, it sucks they want to 3D0-a-fi it. but i can here republican's yelling already
gimple writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 10:54:47 PM

Haha I love this movie, but I don't think id watch it in 3D.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 10:58:40 PM

f*ckING HELL NO!!!!!

That's as bad an idea as Battle Royale 2 : Royale with Cheese ....

LEAVE THIS MOVIE THE f*ckING HELL ALONE. I'VE SEEN IT IN 2-D AND IT DOESN'T NEED TO BE IN f*ckING 3 f*ckING D.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:00:16 PM

thats even worse than a american remake
CCBlev writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 12:20:47 AM

I might have to check this out.
Ranger writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 12:50:58 AM

I wonder if it's much like...

ultimatesurrender.com?

Ranger writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 12:52:43 AM

The only sport you can get 'Cauliflower c*nt!'
Man in Black writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 1:04:05 AM

Well sh*t son give us a trailer .
rabid writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 2:40:18 AM

That's the best news I've read all day. The new Battle Royale isn't as good as the original, but it's still f*cking ace. And in 3D, it'll be extra slashier!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 5:04:58 AM

Manga blew the movie out of the water. Easily the most violent imagery I have ever seen, and the its got great characterization and story pacing. Also; tits. Download scans of it or something because its a f*cking awesome read.

Movie's alright but doesn't need a 3d re-release... it needs an HBO miniseries.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 6:08:38 AM

The original live action Battle Royale was awesome! Must have watched it at least 20 times while trying to expose my friends to it in college. I have no idea why they would release it in 3D other than to make more money. I guess laziness ain't just an American filmmaking phenomenon anymore.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 6:39:56 AM

On a side note, I was amazed to see the 7/10 rating Putzman gave Unstoppable. Maybe he finally was able to remove his head from his ass and is learning how to have a little fun at the movies for once. Or maybe Denzel was able to take another mediocre Tony Scott dud and turn it into a entertaining film like he's done many times before.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 9:33:56 AM

Battle Royale is such a great movie. There is a total rip off of it, a book called 'The Hunger Games.'
rabid writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 1:42:42 PM

I heard the 2000 remake was not-so-great compared to the original. Anyone vouch for this?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 2:09:02 PM

Its banned in America? I bet Amazon has it. I got it from Netflix to watch, movie is f*cking insane though, actually one of the hardest to watch movies the content is beyond disturbing
minkowski writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 5:38:15 PM

The original and the remake sound terrible.

You guys have horrid cinematic tastes. I mean, a bunch of kids killing one another sounds like a terrible idea for a film.

It's like each generation grows increasingly more depraved, nihilistic and sadistic.

I'd weep for the future if I gave a sh*t.

"AWESOME that its coming here, it sucks they want to 3D0-a-fi it. but i can here republican's yelling already"

Actually, moron, it's typically liberals doing the banning. The most you might get out of the right is a pathetic boycott of Disney, which did and does nothing at all.

So please, shut your ignorant pie-hole.
minkowski writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 6:36:50 PM

You guys are idiots. The film wasn't banned in the US, it just never had a North American distribution right covering the US. But it has been seen at film markets and shows.

And second, jesus, there wasn't a 2000 'remake'. The novel came out in 1999, the film was released in 2000 with the manga adaptation following, and with a sequel, Requiem, debuting in 2003.

And for people supposedly in disdain of 3D, you seem to change your tone when people get hacked into pieces.
rabid writes:
on November 14th, 2010 at 10:42:38 AM

Anyone that uses the word "liberal" as a pejorative is a douchebag extraordinaire and is worthy of being laughed at.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 11:16:14 AM

get off your high horse mink
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on November 17th, 2010 at 9:54:14 PM

3D is lame.
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 2:03:53 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved