WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jessica Alba Considered Quitting Acting Due to Criticism

Posted: November 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jessica Alba Considered Quitting Acting Due to CriticismSubmit Comment
Jessica Alba revealed to Elle magazine that before having her baby she considered quitting Hollywood after facing harsh criticism from directors.

"I wanted to stop acting. I hated it. I really hated it," she said. "I remember when I was dying in 'Silver Surfer.' The director (Tim Story) was like, 'It looks too real. It looks too painful. Can you be prettier when you cry? Cry pretty, Jessica.' And then it all got me thinking 'Am I not good enough? Are my instincts and my emotions not good enough?' And so I just said, 'f*ck it. I don't care about this business anymore.'"

But after giving birth, Alba regained her confidence and returned to movie-making. "I'd been so afraid of criticism ever since I was young," she explained. "Every time I'd get a critique from someone or some redirection, I'd always take it very personally, but now I have no problem with it. It's just a chance to try things a different way."

Source: FemaleFirst


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 6:58:48 AM

And she hasn't quit?
VDODSON writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 6:59:49 AM

The only believable role I have ever seen Jessica Alba play was in The Killer Inside Me. She more than made up for the past ten years of sh*tty movies with that one role, gut wrenching my friends, gut wrenching.
KallousTom writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 7:35:03 AM

@VDODSON Agreed, that film was harrowing and both she and Kate Hudson were good in that movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 7:50:11 AM

@vdodson

I knw what you mean on that, she is sh*t in everything she has done but for some reason that role suited her down to the ground, makes you wonder what she likes to do in bed?..lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 7:50:51 AM

She choses Silver Surfer as a reference... nice
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 7:54:32 AM

The director (Tim Story) was like, 'It looks too real. It looks too painful. Can you be prettier when you cry? Cry pretty, Jessica.' And then it all got me thinking 'Am I not good enough?

Is she not aware that she is in films as eye candy?

I don't care what she says she is still a Monday in my book
otis writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:01:10 AM

"Every time I'd get a critique from someone or some redirection, I'd always take it very personally"

Yes, um, hi. That's the director's job. And it's the actors job to take it and move on. Jesus, these whiners never quit!
CCBlev writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:08:48 AM

I'm glad she considered but didn't. it would be a way more interesting article had she quit.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:14:23 AM

@vdodson

missed that film and on your recommendation will be watching it for a good Friday morning movie will update when done
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:27:02 AM

@Big_Daddy
there was this bit in the movie when Casey Affleck was holding her to bed, if you freeze frame the picture, you can see a teeny tiny bit of her fred quimpy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:48:39 AM

Jessica Alba Considered Quitting Acting Due to Criticism .... pardon me if I don't care.
VDODSON writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 9:03:34 AM

Bigdaddy- Hope you like it.
VDODSON writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 9:11:05 AM

Kallous- Your right man, Kate Hudson was in excellent form in the movie. The scene near the end for her was equally rough to watch.
Rambo writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 9:11:15 AM

please stop acting and do porn instead.that was god's plan for you all along.
beepboop writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 9:57:58 AM

"The director (Tim Story) was like, 'It looks too real. It looks too painful."
I'm not buying that.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 10:10:42 AM

@bitchhunter

Did not see that part but it was streaming will have to do that on dvd

@vdodson

good film thanks for the heads up on it. Good solid performance by the girls and surprisingly by young afleck all in all I give it a 7
manichispanic writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 10:17:30 AM

she acts?
AYT BALL writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 10:59:44 AM

Say what you will, i dont mind her
Dark writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:04:45 AM

So this bitch will go into a coma if she takes a clean good look at the comments on this page. Hey Alba! over here bitch. I also think that you suck! but I will do you any day.
darthraige writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:09:30 AM

Critics are a bunch of f*cking c*nts. Anyone can be a f*cking movie critic. There's no f*cking art to it.
Devil writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:11:31 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLueZQsyfVE

Check that out. She's making fun of Jessica Simpson. But if you think about it Alba is not any different than Simpson. Both of them are dumb as hell.
dynastygod2000 writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:34:42 AM

you stop worrying about what people say and you keep looking good in front of the camera....they made millions off your face alone.
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:36:03 AM

I just love her eyes and her 'no-spill' lips (top pair... the bottom set I'll suspect leak like Lohan's bum at a crack party).
rocketman writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:45:01 AM

So near yet...
darkraven28 writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:48:22 AM

Well, she'll quit once that comment she made about screenwriters goes all around Hollywood. No one will send her a script ever again. And it will be her own fault for saying scripts are never used by actors, which is the most f*cking idiotic comment I've ever heard an actor say in my life.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 1:10:55 PM

dynastygod2000 writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:34:42 AM
you stop worrying about what people say and you keep looking good in front of the camera....they made millions off your face alone.

Funny I put millions ON her face if you know what I mean! huh! huh!

anyway yeah a Monday and not very many females get that ranking in my book.
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 1:56:45 PM

she will always be the chick from Idle Hands for me lol
LEONCIO writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 3:02:01 PM

I read this about "Torn Curtain" in Wikipedia:

The working relationship between Hitchc*ck and Newman was also said to be problematic. Newman came from a different generation of actors from the likes of Cary Grant and James Stewart and questioned Hitchc*ck about the script and the characterization throughout filming. Hitchc*ck later said he found Newman's manner and approach unacceptable and disrespectful. Newman insists that he meant no disrespect towards Hitchc*ck, and once said "I think Hitch and I could have really hit it off, but the script kept getting in the way."
Paul Newman, who was known as a "Method" actor, consulted Hitchc*ck about his character's motivations and the director replied that Newman's "motivation is your salary." LOL.

Newman was a great great actor, but Hitchc*ck was the man. XD I can't imagine these retarded crybabies that call themselves "actors" working for directors like Hitch, they would probably kill themselves. XD
LEONCIO writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 3:04:35 PM

Shes's pretty hot anyway, she shouldn't quit. XD
Alex Cross writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 5:29:22 PM

I went back and watched Dark Angel season 1 the other day and Alba seemed to be a better actress then. She also looked better. Idk about now. She just doesn't seem as talented to me.
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 6:37:58 PM

I don't care if she can act actually.

I only want to hot glue her to my sheets!
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 7:43:49 PM

Boo hoo hoo


You could call me every name in the book I wouldnt care with the kind of money these people make
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:10:30 PM

@Alex Cross Girls usually look better when they're younger. Check out Jessica Alba in the movie Camp Nowhere and the TV shows The Secret World Of Alex Mack and Flipper where she frequently wears bikinis and swimsuits! :D
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:52:57 PM

When she starts sucking off horse c*cks and taking dog c*cks up the ass, then you let me know.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 11:04:49 PM

JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 8:10:30 PM

@Alex Cross Girls usually look better when they're younger. Check out Jessica Alba in the movie Camp Nowhere and the TV shows The Secret World Of Alex Mack and Flipper where she frequently wears bikinis and swimsuits! :D


@JS&BM!

Why not ... Jeffrey Jones TIVO'd that sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 12:47:00 AM

... on his 'Scratch n' Sniff-o-Vision!'
Man in Black writes:
on November 13th, 2010 at 1:21:24 AM

B-O-O H-O-O your replaceable.... what you dont like earning stupid amounts of money for the equivalent of having a grown up tea party on film ? Get the f*ck out of the way for the next piece O ass in hollyweird NEXT !
OzBox writes:
on November 14th, 2010 at 12:52:46 AM

Can't stand her in anything. What a shame she listened to her supporters. If she had quit there would more more stuff I could watch without her in it.
Ranger writes:
on November 14th, 2010 at 10:53:53 PM

@Oz - you have a nice p*ssy.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 11:32:12 PM

only considered??? what a shame.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on November 26th, 2010 at 7:47:09 PM

Good, please do...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved