WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Ferrell is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Posted: November 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Ferrell is HollywoodSubmit Comment
While Shia LaBeouf constantly ends up being at the top of the list of actors who gives movies the biggest bang for their buck. Will Ferrell keeps landing at the top of the Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actors list.

Forbes is reporting that Ferrell's films returned an average of $3.35 for every $1 that the actor was paid. This is now the second year that he has topped the list, but things could turn around next year due to the success of "The Other Guys" and "Megamind."

Eddie Murphy ended in second place with a $4.45 return for every $1 he got paid. And the actor was in "Shrek Forever After" that grossed $737 million worldwide. That means that he either got paid too much and/or his other films grossed too little.

Check out the top ten list below:

1. Will Ferrell: $3.35

2. Eddie Murphy: $4.45

3. Denzel Washington: $5.10

4. Seth Rogen: $6.75

5. Tom Cruise: $7.20

6. Drew Barrymore: $7.45

7. Matt Damon: $8.30

8. Vince Vaughn: $8.35

9. Adam Sandler: $8.45

10. Jim Carrey: $8.60

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 6:34:08 AM

Geez WP, tell us something we don't know.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 6:53:01 AM

Over paid and over rated actor. I think it's a disgrace that Seth Rogen is in getting paid close to Denzel and Eddie and making more than Jim carrey and Tom Cruise
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 7:16:45 AM

will ferrell isn't that funny to me...he's pretty funny sometimes, like in wedding crashers or old school, even step brothers, but other than that I don't die laughing when he puts on the comedy hat
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 7:48:03 AM

All he does is shouts.. the frat pack all play the same characters in every film they're in: Owen Wilson- Soft spoken hippy, Vince Vaugh- fast talking moaner, Ben Stiller- over actor, Ben Wilson- [see owen wilson] Will Ferrell- shouts alot.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 8:32:12 AM

I actually like Ferrell and I have enjoyed most of his films. However, I'm not a great fan of Elf, which is his best recieved movie.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 8:52:29 AM

I like all of will Ferrell movies for the first 45 minutes to an hour. then it feels like they slap some scenes together for the finish. They can never seem to button it up properly.
trailertrash writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 9:06:41 AM

RIP Dino De Laurentiis

One of the truly great movie producers of out time ....
trailertrash writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 9:09:16 AM

*Of our time
KindredMac writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 9:45:01 AM

@Johnny: It doesn't mean Rogan is actually getting paid as much as those guys. It's just the ratio. I could be paid $1 salary for a movie that brings in only $0.50 and I would be much more "overpaid" than the entire list.
CCBlev writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 10:11:37 AM

Trailer-Good call! Rip Dino.
Vince Vaughn what the hell has he been in altely thats been remotly good? I can't think of anything.
Jim Carrey still does movies???
trailertrash writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 10:53:57 AM

Sandler wouldn't be on this list if anyone outside of the US watched his movies.

Pretty much all his comedies gross $100mil plus in the US but then they just dont do the business around the world.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 11:25:52 AM

I wish to make it clear that, as it stands, this is far from a resolution of the cat paradox. For there is nothing in the formalism of quantum mechanics that demands that a state of consciousness cannot involve the simultaneous perception of a live and a dead cat
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 11:34:10 AM

Which brings me to the big question is Will Ferrell funny if you leave him in a box?
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 12:10:37 PM

Well Jesus... I said this 9+ months ago when that pay vs. ticket sales list came out.

This guy (and Sandler having made $25 MILLION for a picture) have the BEST agents in the world (or they suck c*ck and do anal better than ShayGirl).
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 12:20:03 PM

These lists crush careers and pay checks.

Hope you saved your $'s Ferrell... I told you it was going to be a short ride.

Now this is funny:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Mie9hhQTUM

And because I have always though Ferrell sucked (except ensemble pieces like: Old School and Wedding Crashers) - even Katan stole EVERY scene from him in Night at the Roxbudy, I haven't seen much of Ferrell's stuff.

A low-budget drama of all things is what I have liked him in best so far.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0380817/

Go drama, ensemble, or go home Ferrell.
aap212 writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 1:39:20 PM

1) This list doesn't take into account rentals, etc. The idea that Adam Sandler isn't generating much profit is silly. There's a reason he has more autonomy than almost any star in Hollywood.

2) Ranger, you don't need to worry about Ferrell's savings. He makes more money from Funny or Die than he does from movies.
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 1:53:37 PM

Oh, he's well off for sure. I just hope Hollywood listens to the fans (via ticket sales) and adjusts his pay scale accordingly. I have NO problem with an actor making $20mil a movie... IF they don't suck.

Even Ferrell is honest enough to laugh at his own success, admitting he makes a fortune running around and yelling. Good for him.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 3:32:56 PM

Rest In Peace, Dino De Laurentiis :

Iconic film producer Dino De Laurentiis has died. He was 91.

De Laurentiis was the producer of more than 500 films (!) and won an Oscar for the Federico Fellini classic La Strada. The Academy honored him with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award in 2001.

De Laurentiis began his film career in the Italian post-war neo-realist period before becoming one of the biggest producers of Hollywood sci-fi, fantasy and horror films.

He produced all of the Hannibal Lecter movies from Manhunter to Hannibal Rising except for Silence of the Lambs. He also produced Barbarella, Flash Gordon, Breakdown, U-571, Ragtime, The Bible: In the Beginning... , and the 1976 remake of King Kong, and exec produced Serpico, Dune, The Dead Zone, The Bounty, Army of Darkness and Conan the Destroyer. His earlier films include War and Peace, Waterloo, Ulysses, Riso Amaro, Nights of Cabiria and Europa.

And those are just some of the films he helped bring to life. There are many more that he helped get made that he never received official credit on.

Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 6:20:50 PM

@Max - nice post.

Cripes... 500 movies he was involved with?! Amazing!

RIP Dino!
trailertrash writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 6:41:24 PM

Nice Max ...

He loved the Spectacular thats for sure but that didn't alway workout well for him, Waterloo was proof of that.

Flash Gordon, Serpico ,Year Of the Dragon, 3 days of the condor, Manhunter, Maximum Overdrive, Silver Bullet, The Brinks Job and Kurt Russell 's Breakdown (One of J.T Walsh last films BTW)are some of my favorite movies he was involved with.

RIP Dino
popcorn writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 8:17:47 PM

im sure if they put Shia LaBeo in one of Will Ferrell parts he wouldnt do any better
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2010 at 8:35:39 PM

Oh, I don't NO about that...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IXCK1EyP4s
mateway73@msn.com writes:
on November 12th, 2010 at 1:35:32 AM

How is Harrison Ford NOT on this list? Everything he has made in the past 15 years is crap.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 8:03:05 PM

@Ranger

Thanks.

That was an article by by Jim Vejvoda of IGN Movie.com

I want to make sure Jim got the credit.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 15th, 2010 at 8:03:56 PM

He wrote it November 11, 2010

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved