WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Moviegoers Fainting During "127 Hours" Amputation Scene

Posted: November 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Moviegoers Fainting During "127 Hours" Amputation SceneSubmit Comment
"127 Hours" hit theaters last weekend in limited release. It will expand on December 3rd, but many of you may have already seen it in New York, Los Angeles or at the many film festivals the movie has been screened.

I don't think it's spoiling anything if I mention that the movie includes a scene in which mountain climber Aron Ralston (James Franco) has to cut his arm off in order to save his own life. Reports are coming out that the scene has caused many viewers to not only faint, but also throw up and walk out of the theater.

I want to mention that I found the movie amazing, but I too had trouble sitting through the amputation scene. Other critics around me, who always sit quietly, were squirming, talking to themselves, or looking away from the screen. TV producer Courtney Phelps revealed that it was much worse for her.

"I started to feel like I was going to throw up. So I went to the bathroom, and then I started feeling dizzy and my heart started racing," she explained, adding that she ended up fainting on the restroom floor and was treated by paramedics. "I have never had, even remotely, an experience like this. I'm a television producer. I know this stuff is not real."

During the same showing, another moviegoer suffered a seizure. Fox Searchlight commented on the issue, stating that there have been no reports of lasting sickness and that it will not change their marketing material to caution moviegoers.

It's important to mention that the scene doesn't show much blood. In fact, the arm is usually out of focus. The fainting is due to Danny Boyle's incredible filmmaking and the knowledge that this is a true story and that anyone could end up in a similar situation.

During our recent interview with Ralston, he was asked if he believes that every person would cut his/her arm off to survive. Ralston replied by stating that he's not sure, adding that he has people coming up to him all the time telling him that they would NEVER be able to do that.

Question: If you have seen the movie, what did you think of the amputation scene?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 6:23:29 AM

This is Great PR for the movie ...
m3talface writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 6:25:23 AM

Pussies.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 6:41:43 AM

Never understood why people faint during movies. I can confess, I did feel something moving in my stomach when I saw "Salo - 120 days in Sodom", but that's just a sign that you have your humanity intact. But other than that, I never felt anything remotely near fainting or other physical illness.
Tozic writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 7:02:52 AM

I also threw up when I saw spiderman 3
and no one interviewed me to tell
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 7:34:53 AM

I felt a slight rush during Irreversible
CCBlev writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 9:57:52 AM

I'm gonna go see this, sit by some hot chicks and when they pass out, I'm taking full advantage of them.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 11:05:38 AM

@Big_Daddy I new some1 would mention Irreversible, the rectum scene actually used a low frequency sound designed to make you feel disorientated, on top of the most f*cked up scene its definetly a tough watch...
mariachi writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 12:34:08 PM

Uhh...
Spoiler alert??
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 12:38:43 PM

'Moviegoers Fainting During "127 Hours" Amputation Scene'

Fainting... really?! What a bunch of pussies.

I'd outright VOMIT!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 12:41:03 PM

"I started to feel like I was going to throw up. So I went to the bathroom, and then I started feeling dizzy and my heart started racing," she explained, adding that she ended up fainting on the restroom floor and was treated by paramedics. "I have never had, even remotely, an experience like this. I'm a television producer. I know this stuff is not real." --- Oh, it was real alright! I slipped you a roofie, then slipped in myself.
JohnZee writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 12:54:50 PM

Okay just in case anyone is wondering. We go to the movies together and some scene in that movie manages to scare you so badly that you pass out, I'm probably going to have to piss directly into your open mouth...

...Just thought I might want to warn everyone.

Schwasted writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 3:10:56 PM

The amputation scene is freaking intense! One of the coolest scenes in the movie, Danny Boyle is a genius. 127 Hrs will definitely get a mega wide release by the end of the month. It should stay in theaters through February, but should stay permanently because its awesome
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 3:53:32 PM

This guy was able to do it in real life in order to save himself but these wimps can't sit through a fake version on the big screen. Talk about intestinal fortitude, or lack there of.
GIST writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 3:55:41 PM

Pussies.
GIST writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 3:56:36 PM

m3talface beat me to the punch on that one.

*blush. FAIL.
m3talface writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 5:47:41 PM

lol at Gist. Seriously though, it's just a f*cking movie! I just don't see how anyone would be THAT disturbed by ANY film. Maybe I'm just desensitized?
Lederhosen writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 6:24:28 PM

I fainted when I watched the Blubberella trailer...yikes!
minkowski writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 7:31:55 PM

Whatever. So he cut his arm off. Give the guy a hand for losing an arm.

Now, had he CHEWED the f*cker off, and lost some teeth in the process while molar hacking through bone and gristle, then that might be worth fainting over.
minkowski writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 8:48:54 PM

"If you have seen the movie, what did you think of the amputation scene?"

Considering that I ate a rare porterhouse thereafter, not much.
minkowski writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 8:52:09 PM

I find it hilarious they got a good-looking guy to play Ralston, who looks like Ron Howard with Down Syndrome.

It's like they thought that having a handsome actor play his role was some of consolation prize for him losing an arm.
minkowski writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 8:58:37 PM

If this guy keeps this sh*t up, he's gonna have a nifty role in the next Transformers film as Starscream's dildo.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 10th, 2010 at 12:36:12 AM

I saw it in New York last weekend and, yes, its another amazing Danny Boyle feature with a mesmerizing (and probably Oscar winning, or at least nominated) performance from James Franco. But the amputation scene is crazy. I remember literally not breathing and just watching the scene take place. The editing is so frantic its like watching a Paul Greengrass flick and the music is so brilliantly creschedoing as the scene progresses you feel your own heart racing as an actor dramatizes a real person cutting off an appendage. Its a truly remarkable sequence. There is not a lot of blood (its just gross when there are cuts to it all over the wall and his face) but the severing of the nerve is cringeworthy and Franco's face after he does it is sheer horror. It reminded me of Cary Ewles from Saw, to put it into perspective. Brilliant movie though, one of the year's best, definite Best Picture and Director nods as well
Man in Black writes:
on November 10th, 2010 at 2:14:53 AM

What.... really ... tossers.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 10th, 2010 at 8:40:11 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare Why did you have to mention Salo? I never want to think about that movie ever again!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 10th, 2010 at 8:50:46 AM

@minkowsi It's not exactly a new trend, the real cop & waitress that It Could Happen To You was based on didn't look like Nicolas Cage & Bridget Fonda (and there was no romance and the cop's wife wasn't a bitch either) and the real George & Kathleen Lutz (from The Amityville Horror) didn't look like James Brolin & Margot Kidder! (The real Kathleen Lutz actually had blonde hair, something they got right in the remake.)
Chronnick writes:
on November 18th, 2010 at 8:27:56 PM

@minkowski I find it HILARIOUS you put down Aron with YOUR opinion of his 'looks'.

YOU look like Ron Howard with Downs Syndrome!

Aron Ralston IS a decent looking dude!
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1737008/
At least as good lookin as Franco and
WAY Better looking than your jealous babyface BIG talking mug.. how old are you? 12?

And with your own words YOU are a self-proven idiot... People who dish out crap like the garbage spewing from your cake-hole are usually also gutless cowards that hide behind their mommies skirts.
Go TROLL somewhere else..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved