WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Morgan Freeman Also in Talks for "Akira" Remake

Posted: November 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Morgan Freeman Also in Talks for "Akira" RemakeSubmit Comment
Two days ago, it was reported that the Hughes brothers (The Book of Eli) have offered the role of Shotaro Kaneda (the gang leader) in "Akira" to Zac Efron (17 Again, High School Musical). And now comes word from Bloody-Disgusting that Morgan Freeman is also circling the project as the Colonel.

Plot: Neo-Tokyo has risen from the ashes of World War III to become a dark and dangerous megalopolis infested with gangs and terrorists. The government seethes with corruption and only maintains a token control over the powerful military that prevents total chaos and hides the secrets of the past.

Childhood friends Tetsuo and Kaneda plunge into Neo-Tokyo's darkest secret when their motorcycle gang encounters a military operation to retrieve an escaped experimental subject. Tetsuo, captured by the military, is subjected to experiments that make him a powerful psychic, but, unfortunately for Neo-Tokyo, Tetsuo's powers rage out of control and he lashes out at the world that has oppressed him! Nothing can stop the destructive forces that Tetsuo wields except possibly the last boy to destroy Tokyo.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 10:00:22 PM

Alex, my friend, I'll give you a $100 if you can go one day without having a thread deciated to a remake or reboot.
elrei writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 10:05:35 PM

make that $200
jdl107 writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 11:41:22 PM

@CC:

It's movie news dude, what the f*ck?

Anyway, f*ck this. f*ck the Hughes Brothers, if they can't get a damn good visionary for this movie, one that just isn't about the visuals, then there is just no hope. To me it seems you're gonna need someone who is a David Fincher/Zack Snyder hybrid to do this.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 4:14:44 AM

How about: leave Akira the f*ck alone?
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 4:17:28 AM

if you build it, it will be sh*t!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 4:21:24 AM

I was quite hopefull when I heard that the Hughes Borthers was doing this. But now I have opposite feelings. Nothing against Freeman, but the mere thought that they are considering Efron is frightning.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 7:59:13 AM

You all know that you will be first in line to see it. I know we all hate to admit it but I saw Speed Racer too, I will see this no matter who is in it.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 11:27:39 AM

Hahah Hughes brother, Zac Efron and Morgan freeman, this sounds like a oscar worthy film, I guess Hollywood is trying really hard to ruin great films.
Bunny X writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 11:42:10 AM

did you ever have one of those ideas that started off promising, but instantly turned to sh*t? then, as you make grand gestures thinking you'll dig yourself out of the crap hole you created, it only makes it worse?
This, is it!!
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 2:44:42 PM

Funny thing is most of you hate Effron because he was in high school musical, hairspray, charlie st. cloud and other silly movies...but I bet everyone who "hates" him hasnt seen one of his movies, I admit I havent. Ive been waiting for him to do a real movie so we can all see if he breaks out and does something worth watching and who knows...maybe he can play a great Kaneda.

If not, then I'll say I dont like him either...but at the least we'll still have the original Akira anyway so we'll only lose $10
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 2:45:36 PM

...and 2 hours of our lives

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved