WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Megamind" Takes First Place This Weekend

Posted: November 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Megamind" Takes First Place This WeekendSubmit Comment
DreamWorks 3D animated comedy "Megamind," voiced by Will Ferrell and Brad Pitt, took first place at the domestic box office this weekend by grossing around $48 million. The film cost $130 to make, which means that it will likely make back it's budget.

"Due Date," starring Robert Downey Jr and Zach Galifianakis, had to settle for second place with $33 million. It cost $65 million to develop, putting the movie in good position to end up with a hefty profit. "It was a huge weekend in general, and 'Due Date' did fabulously," said Warner Bros.

Landing in third place is Tyler Perry's R-rate "For Colored Girls," which grossed slightly over $20 million and becoming another hit for Perry. The film cost only $21 million to develop. "It was primarily Tyler Perry's fans and fans of the cast and of the property itself," said Lionsgate.

On the limited front, Danny Boyle's survival drama "127 Hours" opened in only four sold-out theaters, grossing $265,125, which is an incredible $66,481 per theater. Despite its start, the plan is to expand slowly and delay the wide release until December 3rd.

Sean Penn's "Fair Game" political drama opened in 45 theaters, grossing $700,000, which is $15,217 per location.

Click here to read our "Megamind" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 6:26:01 AM

first!where's my f*cking cookie?
johnny_boy writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 7:20:27 AM

Bad weekend for movies.


Oh yeah second!
johnny_boy writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 7:22:15 AM

Note to the black community: Tyler perry sucks balls. I know it and you know it. Stop supporting his movies. You don't have to support him just cuz he's the same color A's you. Thank you.

Third!
johnny_boy writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 7:23:03 AM

A's=as

CCBlev writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 8:08:09 AM

Fourth. Who gives a sh*t. O and Johnny, valid point, also, if there was a movie call For White Girls. It would be getting slammed, called racist etc. Which is a bunch of bullsh*t
Taco writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 10:44:44 AM

@ cc
Can you imagine the riots that would happen if there was a channel on cable called WET instead of BET?
Taco writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 10:45:06 AM

@ cc
Can you imagine the riots that would happen if there was a channel on cable called WET instead of BET? Fifth!
CCBlev writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 11:12:54 AM

Taco-yup, I am in no way was whatsoever racist. But that kinda sh*t pisses me off, if we had a WET channel, it would be the most racist thing ever and blah, blah,blah you know the rest. Personally I like the thought of a WET channel, it would be a porn channel, showing lots of hot white,wet college girls, you get the idea.
trailertrash writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 11:22:49 AM

Got the idea that i need to get to j*zzhut !!
CCBlev writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 11:49:57 AM

What a coincidence, I just got off of Spankwire my friend.
Stuntastic writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 3:36:30 PM

@Taco: Idk y someone always brings up the whole WET argument SMH. The only reason channels like BET exist is because major networks never really showed or portrayed minorities in starring roles on sitcoms. Now, there r exceptions like Good Times, Sanford and Son, and the Jeffersons, but they r few and far between. And honestly BET has just went to sh*t anyway along with MTV and VH1 by showing nothing but horrendous reality show programming. I can't really blame them cuz they're all owned by Viacom anyway. I really miss the days when music channels actually played music.
CCBlev writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 3:48:29 PM

Stunt-your not the only one. All Fuse plays is Lady CaCa take over. This alone makes me wanna destroy the planet.
Stuntastic writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:41:54 PM

@CC: Yeah, I guess it's so much easier (and cheaper) to develop low rate reality shows nowadays then to actually take the time to develop and produce a quality TV show. Now we're stuck wit bullsh*t like "The Situation" and the rest of the crew from Jersey Shore. I must say that I do agree wit yall on the Tyler Perry thing though. The majority of his movies do follow the same process...drama, more drama, Jesus, pray about it, unbelievable drama, more Jesus, and then ending. He really needs to step out of his element and try something different. Spike Lee eventually branched off and did something like Inside Man which was a great film and if I hadn't known it was from him I woulda thought it was from someone else.
Preditorian writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:55:48 PM

HEY! Back up off Lady Gaga, I reserve the right to kill that bitch, and none of you f*ckers who actually have a brain and know how to see the BS around us will get any time to torture her! MINE DAMNIT MINE!!

Ahhh to put fish hooks threw her Achilles tendon and hang her upside down while beating her kidneys with a bamboo stick to every beat of those f*cking songs she has bestowed the retarded people of this planet with. You wait and see, it will be on the news one day.. muahahah...

BTW I agree on the WET subject.

P.S. Tyler Perry with get same treatment, but ill just shoot him with arrows in non vital parts as he hands but the fish hooks.
Preditorian writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:57:04 PM

hands = hangs
whoever writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 5:18:28 PM

"It was primarily Tyler Perry's fans and fans of the cast and of the property itself," said Lionsgate.

Does that mean the Tyler Perry bought 21 million dollars worth of tickets?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 6:41:25 PM

Wow. That's like running Jesse Owens in the Special Olympic, movielogically speaking.

No contest, with those other "winners".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 6:42:47 PM

Zach must be feeling 'phantom pains', since he had his c*ck and balls cut off and handed to him in a 'male purse' by an animated movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 6:44:05 PM

johnny_boy writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 7:20:27 AM

Bad weekend for movies.



@johnny_boy

If I could "rearrange" those words :

Bad movies for (the) weekend.
minkowski writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 9:09:39 PM

"Spike Lee eventually branched off and did something like Inside Man which was a great film and if I hadn't known it was from him I woulda thought it was from someone else"

Which not surprisingly, coming from one-track Jones, was a story concerning...South African racism. Having him around is like having Danny Glover as creative counsel for a Lethal Weapon film: all you get is politically-correct black-issue crap.

And BET was made long after black people had a large presence on television. In fact, for a minority that represents a very low 13% of the population, they sure do demand a lot, don't they?

No offense, but there isn't a MET, is there, for Mexicans, right? No. They have Telemundo, but that's back in Mexico. I mean, is it my fault, or the fault of TV producers, Africans have neither television nor electricity in most places on the African continent?

"Now, there r exceptions like Good Times, Sanford and Son, and the Jeffersons,"

Those weren't 'exceptions', those were prime-time slotted shows featuring a nearly all-black cast. And then there was Cosby and Fresh Prince and Family Matters and so on. Different World, and more. Black people in the US make up 13% of the population, so why do you absolutely insist on 50/50 for everything?
CCBlev writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 9:11:27 PM

@Preditorian-We'll both share in the torture and killing of that diseased c*nt. As Trailer Trash on here, he'll tell you I despise her as much as Ranger does Lohan. DEATH TO CACA.

@Stunt-Agreed, I'd be happy if they brought back TRL.
minkowski writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 9:18:59 PM

Sounds like Preditorian has been watching The Collector again.

And shouldn't they have named this film, you k now, the one we're supposed to be talking about, MegaNeverMind. I'm not seeinig anyone giving a sh*t about an animated film starring the 'voice talent' of Will Ferrell and Brad Pitt, a mismatched talent cast if there ever was one.
minkowski writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 9:45:27 PM

Just for you, Preditorian:

http://tinyurl.com/2vfmwac

And I also now nominate Carin Ashley as the hottest woman that has ever lived.

And Neva'mind still sucks.
telur writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 3:07:40 AM

i know i will be no 1 box office
trailertrash writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 5:57:34 AM

Carin Ashley , Nice !!
Stuntastic writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 11:08:58 AM

@Mink: I was talking bout the bank robbin movie wit Denzel and Clive Owen that Spike directed. I'm not to sure which film u were talking bout. And blacks may only make up only 13% of the population, but sometimes it's good to see representations of blacks and other minorities in the mainstream, but from the looks of things Latinos will surpass damn near everyone within the next few decades
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 10th, 2010 at 6:40:57 AM

@CCBlev That's not true, there was a movie called White Chicks... who were played by 2 black guys... OK, you're right, carry on!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved