WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"127 Hours" Mountain Climber on Releasing the Real Tapes

Posted: November 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"127 Hours" Mountain Climber on Releasing the Real TapesSubmit Comment
During the press conference for "127 Hours," James Franco and mountain climber Aron Ralston talked about the real tapes that Ralston made when his arm was stuck under a rock for over five days. The camcorder was his way of speaking to his family and was a very important part of the film.

Before making "127 Hours,' Ralston decided to show the personal (and very disturbing) tapes to Franco and director Danny Boyle, stating that he found sitting with a director and an actor very weird, "because it's such a poor performance." But it was the tapes that convinced everyone how powerful the story is.

Franco: "It's not in our film cause some of the messages go on for a very long time, details about where [his] ashes should be spread. [He] said a couple funny things. It's a little arrogant cause the places [he] tells people to put [his] ashes is like the top of this peak and here and all over the globe. In like a hundred places they're supposed to scatter [his] ashes.

What I saw on those tapes was a guy with the knowledge that he was probably gonna die, but the way he delivered the messages was with such dignity and really strength. It was just a guy talking to his friends and family in a very simple and intimate way, but also not wallowing in self pity. And that simplicity combined with that knowledge of death behind it was incredibly strong for me, and showed me a way to do the part, especially the video messages.
"

Ralston was then asked if he'll ever release the tapes, maybe with the DVD of "127 Hours." He replied by saying that outside of his family, friends and the filmmakers, no one will ever get to see the real footage.

Ralston: "I appreciate the interest and I definitely do recognize the intrigue that just knowing that there is a real piece of footage that exists. But at the same time, it was a personal artifact that I made for my friends and my family, many of whom have seen it. The people that I spoke to on the video have watched it, including my mom and my dad.

It was a very emotional experience for my parents to watch it with me. We literally went through an entire box of Kleenex sitting there and had to pause it many times because of the impact that it had on my mom where she was watching her little boy disintegrate on film.

She knew the story, this was four months after I'd already been rescued, was home, rehabilitated, and she said, 'Okay, I'm ready now to watch it.' But it was so profound for her to really go through and watch me just dissolve on the camera. By the time you're an hour through this footage, six days has passed and I've lost almost 40 pounds off of a pretty scrawny frame to begin with.

It's a human being who's been decimated and turned into a ghost. And that was so difficult for my mom to endure and I promised her that I would never share that publicly. That it was something that was just for my loved ones, so in the end, that's where it will stay.
"

Click here to read our "127 Hours" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 8:27:47 AM

Hhipe he's either left handed or at least got a lot of money to pay a woman for everytime he wants a handy j.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 8:48:10 AM

But he does look freakin' badass with that axe.
rocketman writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 8:58:21 AM

You've got to hand it to him,he coped well.Must be hard coming to grips with that,must be hard to hold on,stillseems like decent bloke,harmless enough.
CCBlev writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 9:25:11 AM

Wonder if his new arm come with a tool so you can attach a shotgun to it?
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 9:45:20 AM

" He replied by saying that outside of his family, friends and the filmmakers, no one will ever get to see the real footage.

I'm sure with enough money in his face he will change his mind.
rabid writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 10:36:54 AM

Someone get me that tape!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 11:10:22 AM

The mountain climbing version of Ash from Army of Darkness ... very, very cool.
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 11:47:01 AM

I respect Franco so much for his method acting. But to snap his own arm off for this film with the slim chance Sony would cast him as The Lizard in the Spidey reboot so he can grow it back is a bit optimistic.
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 11:47:58 AM

@CC - "Mountain Climber with a Shotgun! - killing wildlife, one shell at a time!"?
CCBlev writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 12:00:50 PM

Ranger-Genius, better than anything Hollywood has come out with in a long time.
whoever writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 3:10:44 PM

It must really suck losing your wanking hand!
trailertrash writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 4:00:59 PM

Your right he took the Stranger maneuver to a whole new level ..

Rocket - LOL !! Stumpy's all Right now...
minkowski writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 4:55:06 PM

"You've got to hand it to him,he coped well.Must be hard coming to grips with that,must be hard to hold on,stillseems like decent bloke,harmless enough."

I have to hand it to you, you armed your post with a high digit of handy puns. I really think you've got your finger on the pulse of this sad thread, so here's a high-five to you.
minkowski writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 5:00:01 PM

Does he have a pick-axe arm attachment? WTF?

Reminds me of those Japanese robot toys that come with detachable fists, where the arm has a hole for either a buzz-saw or a weed-wacker attachment. Definitely gives the phrase 'hand job' all new meaning.

I mean, what a handy thing to have for the winter months, when he'll need to clear his car of ice, but f*ck, whatever you do, don't pick your nose dude.

I do wonder if he has one with a bottle opener...instant party popularity, I'll say.
trailertrash writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 5:36:55 PM

lol

He's never been so popular now he wants an upgrade to a Swiss ARMy Knife ....
minkowski writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 5:39:30 PM

^^^Bawhahahah! Best effin' pun yet.

Poor guy, I do 'feel' sorry for him and limb-ited condition.
minkowski writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 5:39:52 PM

**his.
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 9:29:25 PM

@Trailer
ahahaha dude good sh*t... still pissed the movie was only released in 4 locations i so wanted to go see that friday -_- any word yet for a wider release?
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 9:37:52 PM

Rocket & Trailer --- you're on fire my friends!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 5:47:55 AM

BOSH! and then i stapled by balls to his chin!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved