WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner in Talks for "Escape From New York"

Posted: November 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy Renner in Talks for "Escape From New York"Submit Comment
Over the last few years, the remake of "Escape From New York" has had several actors and directors attached to it, but nothing ever materialized.

Now comes word from Bloody-Disgusting that Breck Eisner (The Crazies) is still attached to direct and is in talks with Jeremy Renner (The Town, The Hurt Locker) to star as Snake Plissken, the soldier/criminal who is given 24 hours to find the President in gang-rule Manhattan following the crash of Air Force One.

Back in June, Eisner said that he was putting the finishing touches on the script, which would be a new take on John Carpenter's 1981 film. "How the prison is created is going to be different than in Carpenter's version," he explained. "The anxiety of the world and anxiety of our existence post-9/11 is there, especially the anxiety in Manhattan post-9/11. Plot-wise, they're different, emotionally they're very similar. That's why it'll be interesting to tackle this movie, to have a slightly different take but with the same results which is Manhattan is turned into a walled prison."

Click here to read more about "Escape From New York."

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 6:46:20 AM

his no kurt russell but then again no one is
rocketman writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 6:47:45 AM

Better have a mullet.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 7:52:05 AM

If they want to f*ck with fans heads ... get Ernest Borgnine to play the cabbie again (before he's on a death pool) ... and have Dennis Haysbert parody his President from 24 in this ...
Rambo writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 7:56:42 AM

Renner is good enough for being a side kick...don't think he can carry a movie by himself
CCBlev writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 8:02:55 AM

What happened to Gerard Butler?
jdl107 writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 8:30:46 AM

I can picture him, with a Kurt Russell/Snake Plissken look. Long hair, peach fuzz.

But that doesn't mean it agrees with me,
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 8:34:46 AM

you wont get away with this gamble!!!
sc_kg writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 8:45:44 AM

I like Jeremy Renner, but I rather see Gerard Butler in this one.

But still, I dont mind if they hire him.
sc_kg writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 8:46:23 AM

@wonderBOY

You're wrong. Kurt Russel is. :)
velocityknown writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 8:59:42 AM

Josh Holloway. That is all.
SeWerin writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 9:13:29 AM

A bit small for the role...
SACdaddy writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 9:19:24 AM

Good actor but a terrible choice for Snake. Josh Holloway is the only choice for the role.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 11:10:55 AM

I never saw Escape from New York I guess I will have to watch it on Netflix but I did see Escape from LA and I cant see renner pulling that off so I doubt he will be able to accomplish this.

Josh Holloway would be interesting to see
Butler- ehhh not so good in gamer

Maybe they should just make a part 3 with Russell back in it I always like his movies in general even his Romcoms Captain Ron is a guilty pleasure
ShizPaf writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 1:24:41 PM

My mom's favorite is Overboard!
ShizPaf writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 1:27:13 PM

@ Big_Daddy "Maybe they should just make a part 3 with Russell back in it I always like his movies in general even his Romcoms Captain Ron is a guilty pleasure"

My mom's favorite is Overboard!
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 4:40:03 PM

"What happened to Gerard Butler?"

Butler would've been badass. Awesome choice, of course. Renner simply cannot carry a film, he doesn't have household recognition, a remake isn't needed and Renner doesn't have the right look. Period.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 4:43:25 PM

"√Butler- ehhh not so good in gamer"

Eh? Butler was fine in Gamer, it was the film that sucked. Horrible story, terrible editing and camerawork and sh*tty visuals. They tried so hard to do something visionary and different, and they only succeeded in making a film that was only a breakthrough in bad.

Butler played a perfect badass in Law Abiding Citizen. He has the chops and the look, perhaps even a better look than Russell who was too pretty IMO to play a hardened *sshole killer.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 6:29:36 PM

Why the hell are people seriously suggesting Josh Holloway? Because he's potentially up for a role in a lame Marvel film? Jesus Christ.

Yeah, he's buff and has the long hair, but he's too damned pretty and too damned a poor actor to carry a film. He'll bring the bitches, but unless you want Escape to be a chick flick, look elsewhere.

Like Josh can carry Russell's used condoms, much less wear his f*cking boots. Give me a break. Stop suggesting these Lost losers as replacements for cinematic icons.

What's next? Matthew Fox to replace Clint "Kill 'em All" Eastwood in the sh*tty remake of the The Good, the Bad and the Ugly?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 1:02:00 AM

It might work but still not keen on this remake at all.
jdl107 writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 3:19:21 AM

It doesn't seem like Neveldine/Taylor tried anything like that at all. I think that was their purpose was to make a weird, sick f*ckin'.... movie.

To me that movie was an acquired taste.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 7:51:16 AM

Sorry Mink I think you're way off on this one. Holloway has basically been playing Snake for the last 7 years or so. He's got the looks and the attitude for the part and he's a very effective actor IMO. Sawyer was the perfect "love to hate" anti-hero on LOST which should translate very well to "f*ck the world" anti-establishment Snake we've all grown to love. Holloway would have to change very little to transition into part. Get the man a f*cking eyepatch and start rolling the cameras :)

Butler on the other hand is by far the worst choice for the role IMO. If you remember the EFNY premise, you should know that Snake represents the only real American left in a neo-facist future gone mad. Butler can't even master an American accent without looking like he bit his tongue, so how can you expect him to embody the ideals and persona of a true American hero? He doesn't look the part or have the "I don't give a sh*t" attitude for Snake either. Butler should stick to his bullsh*t rom coms so he can stop teasing us with his action movie potential and fade back into pre-300 oblivion where he belongs. The man truly is one of the biggest disappoinments in recent film history.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 8:04:59 AM

Renner is way too small for Snake. He also might be one of the most overrated talents in Hollywood today. He's decent but there is no reason he should be up for every new role in the industry. He just doesn't have that IT factor that propells the biggest names in film to stardom. At least not yet anyway.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 8:12:15 AM

Let Renner take over the Bourne saga or the MI franchise (which I think is already happening) or just keep typecasting him as the loose cannon.
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:40:27 AM

Way to make me angry on a Monday morning!

This is clearly a sh*tty decision and EVERYONE here thinks so, stop trying to make this little fart knocker a lead actor, so people liked the hurt locker... doesn't make this dude the next Clint Eastwood, i mean COME ON look at the dude, hes more likely to be doing my tax returns that saving the world!

Josh Holloway or Gerard Butler possibly...
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:46:16 AM

RETRACTION!

i meant Josh Brolin (although ive not seen Jonah Hex) NOT Josh Holloway!

DOH!
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:47:25 AM

actually just bring Kurt Russle back as some pissed off old John Wayne style dude then people will watch it.
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 4:47:57 AM

actually just bring Kurt Russell back as some pissed off old John Wayne style dude then people will watch it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved