WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith is Trashing Movie Critics Again

Posted: November 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith is Trashing Movie Critics AgainSubmit Comment
Ever since "Cop Out" hit theaters, Kevin Smith has been bashing movie critics. And now that "Red State" is virtually complete, he is once again taking to Twitter and radio to express his opinion about how critics are simply not necessary.

Smith says that he doesn't hate critics, but simply disagrees with the fact that they get to see movies for free in order to write a review. His argument is that critics are just doing their jobs and sometimes don't want to see a certain movie, which means that they probably go into the theater hating it. He adds that he would rather show his movies to 100 fans and let them write reviews even if they don't have a newspaper.

Smith says that any exposure that critics create for his movies is unnecessary, since he can reach his fans on his own through channels like Twitter. He says that he probably has more readers than most newspapers.

More than anything, Smith would like to see his movies not be screened for critics, but if it's absolutely necessary, to charge critics a ticket price at the door. He says that this comes from his experience on "Cop Out," which was screened for critics, who ended up bashing his movie.

According to him, he wasn't offended, but was surprised to see reviews that treated the movie like it's supposed to be "Schindler's List," rather than a silly comedy. He believes that online critics look for creative ways to make fun of his movies and not do a good job pointing out their reasons for the negative reviews.

The point he is trying to make is that critics are no different from anyone else. And if they want to see a movie and then be able to crap on it, they should have to pay for it just like the rest of the movie-goers.

Editor's Note: I've seen some incredibly unprofessional critics at screenings, but not that many. Most do their best to be honest and fair. Their job is to provide free publicity which reaches hundreds of millions of people, who may not know Smith or of his Twitter account.

To me, it sounds like Smith wants his fans to review his movies in order to get positive reviews. He also wants to spread information on his own, which means that fans will never hear anything negative about his movies. This is exactly how North Korea operates.

As a movie critic, I think it's our job to give fans as much information about a movie as possible, and let them make up their minds about whether it's worth their money. That means that some reviews will be positive and some will be negative.

Source: WorstPreviews.com, Edge


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:45:43 AM

Mr. Smith,

Please make better movies as your cult following member growth has fallen off a bit in the last few years.
I have noticed at or secret gatherings that most if not all of your fans are extreamly over wieght ego maniacs. I want to continue my memebrship for years to come but at the rate your ging with a majority of your movies now being controlled by the mega corps, Im affraid that I will soon have no choice but to cancel.

I know that this will hurt your wallet even more by me not paying my 1.95 yearly fee but you are leaving me no choice. Upon cancellation I will return my IOU a good movie tokens you give out and the free hot dog and nachos voucher you give out.

Sincerely,

Big_Daddy
trailertrash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:46:07 AM

Cop Out got bashed because it was a pile of crap !!

It's that simple, Make a better movie next time Kev..
VDODSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:48:05 AM

Alex, then how the f*ck do you explain Dustin Putzman?
VDODSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:52:01 AM

Oh,and Cop out was one of the worst movies of the year. Its hard imagining that the same guy directed Mallrats, and that piece of crap. Kevin Smith's directorial skills seems to be decreasing, while his weight is increasing.
alexgi writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:52:23 AM

@VDODSON: You may disagree with some of Dustin's reviews, but you have to admit that he does a good job of explaining his points.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:52:30 AM

...and Armond White?
VDODSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:30:52 AM

Alex, yeah I guess your right. Even though I cant stand the Putzmeister, he always includes in length as to how he came to such a horrid conclusion.
ShizPaf writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:58:42 AM

If you really think Kevin would only tell people about the positive aspects to a thing then you have very little experience listening or reading what he has to say.He is quite self depricating at times, and not in the way a highschool girl fishes for complements.

If Cop Out is the basis for believing a director is lazy or going downhill then you must be comparing that to his last movie before that, Zack and Miri, which was excellent. And to establsh trend the two before- the pilot of Reaper(great start to a good show cancelled to early)and Clerks 2, which was everything it was supposed to be.

That being said yes Cop Out was less than it could have been, should have been. I still enjoyed it more than half the stuff many critics crow about.

Your point is valid that information regarding movies should be from all angles not just one source. But I understand his sentiment that many things seem decided upon before the truely important audience gets to sit and make their own opinion.

Oh just to clarify this is a general statement, commenting on not only this article, and subsequent postings by our members, but also his recent Smodcast.
whoever writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:04:07 AM

After that crack by Alex I would like to see Kevin dressed as Kim Jong-il!
johnny_boy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:41:57 AM

@Alex-IMO his points tend to be off. I'm sure many here would agree as well.
billofill writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:54:36 AM

Im one of his biggest fans and disregard Cop Out as one of his f*cking movies, He was a f*cking work for hire this time and it was a sh*t script and it showed. Hate to break it to him but his directing has never been all that great its the f*cking dialogue.
ShizPaf writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:03:09 AM

@ billofill most definate on the strong dialogue and agreed on the not very strong directing, at least visually.
BigTate writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:11:45 AM

Actually, when I watch the movies I read the Putmans reviews, I tend to agree with him most of the time. Alex, you're right at least he has points to make.
KS has certainly dropped the ball lately. Cop Out was terrible. Willis didn't say or do much of anything and Tracy Morgan ran wild. It's a sad day when his protege Ben Affleck has 1000x more chops behind the camera than Kevin will ever have again.
CCBlev writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:18:26 AM

Agreed, Kevin get back to making better movies, you ass wipe. Stop complaining! As for DP I figured he'd get bashed on this thread, truth is I know how much he's hated, but I'm actually neutral. Why you may ask? B/c I don't even bother reading his reviews to form an opinion.
LeeMaca writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:32:21 AM

Nope I gotta say with Dustin Putz he's not a good reviewer, making bad point after bad point and generally giving low scores to most of the best movies of the last year. I think anyone who couldn't see the expendibles for what it was (80's homage and f*cking awesome)shouldn't be writing reviews for movies. Now i'm not going to rip into him here bevcause alex just removes my comments every time I do (yet for over a year now i've been bashing Joe Johnson with no comment being deleted????lol) so in short Putz by name Putz by nature and joe johnson is a bigger douche
LeeMaca writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:32:42 AM

thank kevin smoths waistband
otis writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:35:03 AM

These points are unfounded. He wants to place the blame entirely on critics for a bad box office. Got some news. Critics aren't Yoda. Audiences get that. They tend to go to critics to get a feel for a film. And it just so happens that the feel of "Crap Out" was just that. Crap.

That's why we have Rotten Tomatoes- a collection of critics in one place. You can even read what your facebook friends thought. Which can be one of the best reflections of whether or not you will.

If you get a bunch of fans(or in Smith's case, plants that would gush over anything- even a giant sh*t Kevin made in the pot) to review you could very well be getting a hillbilly that lives in some hillbilly shack somewhere reviewing the movie. And that's a review that's worthy of a few seconds. *yawn*

Yeah, so...keep up doing your job Alex. The beauty of it is, we don't have to agree with you. Your job is not to necessarily always judge how the "general" audience will like it (Putman is a big example of this) but to account for artistic merit, quality of story, and whatever else scientific rating system you use.

Move along. Nothing to see here.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:49:36 AM

who cares what movie critics say anyway? even if a bunch of critics (usually people who wouldn't have gone to see the movie anyway) say something sucks, there will still be tons of other people who like it. or if a critic loves something, it doesn't mean it's good. tho i think smith KIND OF has a point about them already not liking something they don't want to see, i think it's mainly him being bitter about what they said about cop out. whatever dude, stand by your work. if he was as proud of cop out as he claims to be, then it shouldn't bother him so much.
rabid writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:49:37 AM

Critics bash movies because there's more money and sensationalism and name recognition in bad critiques.
The film critics in my local paper are unmercilessly hateful. The guy seems to think it makes him sound more intelligent, and the girl just doesn't like any movie that isn't a rom-com.
Bob82 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:52:37 AM

Although I don't agree that critics are responsible for the failure of his movies, I believe he has a good point about some critics behaviour.

There should be good and bad reviews, but there are a lot of critics that simply trash a movie because it's fun to do it. I've seen many reviews that talk nothing about the movie but all I can read is how the critic's full of himself, like he's so fun writing bad things about a movie.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:08:43 AM

Editor's Note: I want to be getting involved in the banter below but I'm trying to stay professional.
dynastygod2000 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:12:09 AM

kevin smith was, is, and always will be that dude.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:12:27 AM

Most reviewers are right about bad films being bad it's just films like Inception they feel the need to pick tiny little bad points out of it and call it over rated. Rabids right though critics in newspapers who probably don't share the same passion as full time critics don't have a clue.
KingAdash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:25:39 AM

"This movie was totally awesome. It had like cool special effects and stuff. And was funny and made me laugh and I liked the acting cause it was good" This is the kinda crap you can expect from a fan Kevin. Shut your mouth and make better movies, because if I'm not mistaken, weren't you on Ebert & Roeper reviewing movies in the past? Ya big baby!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:54:53 AM

Um, shut up? Make better movies then, christ. You actually do owe people something great when you ask them to pay to see your movie.

NOT RELEVANT: I'm directing photography on a movie called Mango Pickle, in Kathmandu, Nepal. We threw together a teaser trailer of some of the early footage we shot, I'd really appreciate it if you guys checked it out and let me know what you think.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GzkgVWU6ec

Thanks!
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:37:20 PM

Kevin Smith should trash his diet!

@Alex - sorry Bro. Re: Putzman. If it's a heart-warming, chick flick, Dusty cares to share points. If it's the Expendables his bias comes out by the ton. His 'point explaining' goes right down the crapper! And it's that very un-objective bias that make him suck.
ROY_MUNSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:42:01 PM

Zach and Miri was hilarious, outside of that kevin smith sucks
coldplayesence writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:52:45 PM

@alex: "explaining points" doesn't make them right or even to make sense. Explaining himself just make him lazy and more evidently, an attention whore.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:04:53 PM

Kevin,

A. Cop Out was pretty good ... as a coaster to keep my drink from prespiring water onto the dining room table. Other than that, it was a lame piece of sh*t. You know that. I know that. VIEWERS WHO PAID HARD EARNED MONEY knew that. Don't blame the critics just because you've run out of poop jokes, Star Wars inside jokes and the ability to shoot in more than one angle in your movies.

B. You must have a personal vendetta with critics. You've already killed Joel Siegel ... why is that ? Was he resembling physically a priest that f*cked you in your youth ?

C. If you want a ton of positive reviews, you have one of two options: 1.personally offer to blow every critic who is willing to CHANGE THEIR OPINION if you blow them or 2. blow Harry Knowles. Otherwise, DEAL WITH THE FACT THAT THE CRITIC IS ENTITLED TO HIS/HER f*ckING OPINION OF YOUR f*ckING MOVIE AND THAT YOUR f*ckING PRECIOUS LITTLE NUGGET IN THE PILE OF sh*t ISN'T THE ONLY ONE THEY HAVE TO REVIEW, DIPsh*t.

D. "Smith says that he doesn't hate critics" ... you obviously do, otherwise you wouldn't keep regurgitating the same old sh*t. Hey, why not bring up a stink when you made Jersey Girl, you fat f*ck ?

E. Do your standup (his fourth one just came out), because that's WAY funnier than this sh*t. Or release a sex tape of you, your wife and that abcess you had near your *sshole that made you lie down (like a motherf*cking retard) during jury duty. Otherwise, shut your f*cking trap and bang your cymbals, you f*cking fat spidermonkey.


Sincerely,



The audience that pays to see your sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:07:04 PM

When this fat f*ck gets booted off of Southwest Airlines, why the f*ck didn't he just pay to go on Jenny Craig ?

Too f*cking cheap, Mr. Smith ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:07:58 PM

The new movie from Kevin Smith :

" Mr. Smith Goes To Bitching. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:10:53 PM

Instead of titling the movie " Cop Out ", he should've suggested titling it
" Sorry For This Digital Dogturd ".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:12:04 PM

He oughta take a cue from his on-screen persona of Silent Bob and shut the f*ck up, while he's taking it up his abcessed-ridden ass.
triggax writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:26:14 PM

"This is exactly how North Korea operates."


Hahah.. Owned... Nice one Alex.

I like Kevin Smith because he tries to give back to his fans. Thats commendable. I don't like Kevin Smith because he trashes critics because they didn't like his movies....?

Yet, if you go to any film website that offers user reviews, they're all the same as the critics reviews.. The movie sucked..

You dont want people to bash your films? and you want critics to have to pay for them huh?

Well, make better movies... I f*ckin hated cop out.. Im not a critic. What does that say about critics? What does that say about your sh*tty movie? When you waste talent like Bruce Willis and Tracey Morgan like that, you're going to get some scathing reviews... That cast could have done sooo much more and I think the fat bastard knows it so hes being a cry baby.

I honestly dont like most of Kevin Smiths pretentious bullsh*t films.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 3:01:56 PM

@Max & Trig - well said.
spider-man writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 3:24:15 PM

David putzman is a moron who should stop writing. I acctually agree with kevin here, there is no need for reviews of movies as most people tend to make up there own mind on weather they see film or not. What iritates me is a certain reviewer says that a movie is sh*t...but the movie does good and is well recived
spider-man writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 3:26:59 PM

@alex...sorry but I have to agree with ranger...he's completley biased and we hate it
triggax writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 3:39:05 PM

I think perhaps, fatty should take some advice on filmmaking from his friend Ben Affleck.

Best advice I could give you. Go see The Town then talk to Affleck and he'll let you know how its done.
hunter207 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:42:31 PM

@Money: Viually speaking its interesting, but a teaser is supposed to give you a hint of the story. I was completely lost as to what was going on (Beyond a bunch of guys walking and then pulling a gun)
Rambo writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:52:30 PM

Smith should spend less time on twitter and more on writing a good script
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

... and eating more salad.
Champ1432 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:15:55 PM

lol Way to compare Kevin Smith to a Communist dictatorship.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:19:27 PM

... and a beached whale!
trailertrash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:35:00 PM

With a giant jacket on
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:39:34 PM

What kind of p*ssy is he to have to lie down during jury duty ?

Eastwood wouldn't have had to lie down.

Of course, Eastwood has a better track record than Pudgy the f*ck Penguin over there.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:40:34 PM

He could go on 'The Biggest Loser' and the tv show's title would have more than one connotation.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:41:35 PM

He's balding and we are pretty sure he can't see his own penis when standing in the shower.

She HAD to have married him for the money.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:50:10 PM

spider-man writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 3:24:15 PM
David putzman is a moron who should stop writing. I acctually agree with kevin here, there is no need for reviews of movies as most people tend to make up there own mind on weather they see film or not. What iritates me is a certain reviewer says that a movie is sh*t...but the movie does good and is well recived

@spider-man, the Not Ready for Prime-Time Worst Preview Commenters and the Usual Gang of Idiots (Worst Previews) ...

Time once again for a special " Happy Pre-Thanksgiving Editing, Charlie Brown! " :

David Putzman is a moron who should stop writing (no disagreement here. In face, Spidey's senses are a tingling pretty f*cking accurately. Continue, please.). I actually (not acctually) agree with Kevin (not kevin, since it's a name) here (no accounting for taste), there is no need for reviews of movies(,) as most people tend to make up there own mind on whether (not weather ... that is a physical phenomenon of nature, not an option) they see film or not (I agree with this. Moviegoers, for the most part, are not sheep led to the shearinghouse. Unless they are SAW fans.). What irritates (not iritates) me is a certain reviewer (that) says that a movie is sh*t (must be David, since Spidey mentioned him at the beginning of his comment) ...but the movie does well (good is okay, but well is stronger and may be grammatically correct. I'm sorry, but my grammar and punctuation book is across the room and I'm too f*cking lazy to just go get it.) and is well received (not recived) ....

This, my friends, is a well thought out and grammatically corrected comment ...

Bravo, Spidey, bravo!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:53:36 PM

Dr. Evil to Kevin Smith :

"Use your words like a big boy clone! ... "
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:05:11 PM

The real irony here is that in 10 years or whenever the hell "Red State" comes out, WP is gonna have a headline that reads:


"Movie Critics are Trashing Kevin Smith Again"

Not that I really care either way. As big of a fan of his as I am, I have to agree with the majority of the posters here; if you want people to praise your work, put some f*cking effort into it.
edantes writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:18:56 PM

I agree with the editor on most points. However, will you please sack your own Dustin Putman, without doubt the worst, most biased reviewer I have ever had the misfortune to read. Sreiously, burn him!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:29:41 PM

Christ on a cracker, Max! I hope you never go all grammar-crazy on my ass like that! That made me shiver a little, like the first time I heard R. Lee Ermey say, "I'm gonna poke out your eye and skull-f*ck you!"
trailertrash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:54:33 PM

ha ha, A Great Line from a Great Movie ....
Kill-the-director writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:33:57 PM

Do people realise that kevin didnt actually write cop out? Its not his fault it wasnt an oscar winning script. I've seen alot worser comedies than cop out, anchorman for example (Seriously do not understand peoples enjoyment of that film). I agree with kevin saying critics should pay for a ticket especially if they have never given kevin a good review and are already going into his next flick with a similar attitude.

I bet if he makes another jay and bob film the critics will still sh*t all over it not realising the film for what it is. Poop and weed jokes.

I must admit that if I ever listened to a review that I wouldn't have enjoyed half the movies I've seen.

I especially take no notice of reviews on WP. 8/10 for sex and the city 2. You gotta be kidding me.

I really hope kevin proves people wrong and sh*ts all over the critics with red state and hit somebody.
charmed23 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:13:25 PM

I have found critics reviews polar to my own reviews. After two years of unquestioningly listening to them I now only refer to them for my friends. With the tickets prices rising obnoxiously lately I only go to movies that I am interested, regardless of what other people think about it.
I've seen enough to realize word of mouth, peer reviews and critics are strictly for casual movie goers and for hardcore movies fans, personal opinion is what matters.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:21:35 PM

'I must admit that if I ever listened to a review that I wouldn't have enjoyed half the movies I've seen.' --- well said.
minkowski writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:34:22 PM

The guy is just pissed that he's lost whatever credit he earned from his first film Clerks, and now he can't come to the realization that his wrecked express train of a career has finally not only come off the tracks but is also running him down like Harrison Ford in The Fugitive.

It's over Fatty Arbuckle with hairy knuckles. Just go away.
minkowski writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:38:49 PM

"charmed23 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:13:25 PM
I have found critics reviews polar to my own reviews. After two years of unquestioningly listening to them I now only refer to them for my friends"

You should never listen to critics anyway.

I watch what I find interesting. If it sucks, then that's my loss. And I think I'm discerning enough to avoid films on the lower end of the scale. Furthermore, despite the critics commendations, I still haven't seen The Social Network, nor will I until it arrives on DVD.

In short: you cannot live your life on the opinions of others, not even well-paid fat film critics who may not have any of your interests or tastes in common. To do so is to forfeit what makes you unique, what makes you an individual.
tantrum4 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:43:50 PM

I totally agree with Smith. Critics are usueless. Why the f*ck would I listen to some jack off tell me what movies I should or shouldn't like? I've never listened to a critic in my life and have seen some pretty cool movies that most people won't bother to see because a critic told them not to.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:57:48 PM

Great Scott Pilgrim sucking off Jason Bateman!!! This fat f*ck again ?

Why can't he just have an epileptic seizure and just die ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:59:47 PM

minkowski writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:38:49 PM

"charmed23 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:13:25 PM
I have found critics reviews polar to my own reviews. After two years of unquestioningly listening to them I now only refer to them for my friends"

You should never listen to critics anyway.

I watch what I find interesting. If it sucks, then that's my loss. And I think I'm discerning enough to avoid films on the lower end of the scale. Furthermore, despite the critics commendations, I still haven't seen The Social Network, nor will I until it arrives on DVD.

In short: you cannot live your life on the opinions of others, not even well-paid fat film critics who may not have any of your interests or tastes in common. To do so is to forfeit what makes you unique, what makes you an individual.


@minkowski

Truer words were never uttered.
LeeMaca writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:00:33 PM

so to sum to up

Kevin you're fat
Kevin you're movies have been on a steady decline for a decade
Kevin your fatter
Dustin Putz is as useful as Kevin's Abs Cruncher
(remember those lol)
Valis writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:30:00 PM

I really like that this site has timely movie news and it's often relevant to my interests. I feel like so many articles just display poor journalism, though, with the writer's personal feelings about a given individual or topic slanting the article way too much. This is an example of that.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:32:53 PM

Kevin Smith may say that he wasn't offended by the bad reviews, but he is coming off as awfully bitter here. A real sore loser. Wonder if he still thought this when Chasing Amy came out. Or Clerks. Nah, that is because those movies actually got great reviews.
LeeMaca writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 12:02:56 AM

@ Vagis.....sorry VALIS
Whats the point in running a movie site, if you cant voice your own opinion now and then? and with 16 comments in two years you're obviously a big supporter of the site and no that Ed notes in the articles are very few and far between.
LeeMaca writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 12:09:17 AM

^know
Aaron writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 12:53:57 AM

"Exactly how north korea operates". What.. the.. f*ck?

You're comparing a f*cking movie maker to a fascist government?

Woa, dude. Take a step back.
spider-man writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 2:28:17 AM

@mink-well said my friend well said
Willy_Idle writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 2:30:28 AM

didnt think cop out was that bad
popcorn writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 2:58:28 AM

then make a good movie
kirkpaco writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 3:46:47 AM

Smith makes sh*t movies.
He had a few flash's in the pan, but most of his films are crap. Why else would he want his fans, who can only be getting tired of calling themselves Kevin Smith fans, to review his movies. He points out that people should halve to pay to see them, thus raising the box office gross.
Kevin Smith blows. He throws lofty terms around so that he can sound pseudo-intellectual, and moron fan base can feel justified for paying to see his sh*t.
He sucks. His movies suck. A one show pony trying to squeak by on the pot-head fan base.
Retire, Smith, and see if Marvel will hire you back.
And Jay and Silent Bob don't fly outside of your stoner circle, dumb ass.
Valis writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 3:54:29 AM

Lee, it's very unusual that I feel the need to add anything, because usually the only things that can be added to everyday movie news are bullsh*t opinions that no one cares about. I do read the site every day though.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 5:08:20 PM

I'ts called making better movies if you want critics to shut the hell up
Zorviva writes:
on November 8th, 2010 at 12:15:25 PM

I would have been more inclined to believe this if you hadn't thrown out the "COMMUNIST!!1!1" comment.
batdump writes:
on November 9th, 2010 at 11:08:59 AM

Kevin Smith is a sh*t director, and a sh*t actor, and a sh*t writer. Cop Out was trash and I love Bruce Willis, Zack and Miri was ok at best, Jersey girl was trash, Clerks 2 was ok at best. he should have quit after Dogma. or maybe even Jay and silent bob strike back...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved