WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Movie Theaters Will Watch Audiences to Monitor Reactions

Posted: November 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Movie Theaters Will Watch Audiences to Monitor ReactionsSubmit Comment
Movie theaters around the country are already using plenty of techniques to prevent piracy, including such devices as metal detectors, nigh-vision goggles and video/audio watermarks.

Now, Ariala Systems, one of the companies that specializes in anti-piracy techniques, has been given a $350,000 grant to develop a system that will monitor and analyze movie-goers in order to capture their reactions to advertisements and films that they are watching.

"Within the cinema industry this tool will feed powerful marketing data that will inform film directors, cinema advertisers and cinemas with useful data about what audiences enjoy and what adverts capture the most attention," said a collaborator on the project. "By measuring emotion and movement, film companies and cinema advertising agencies can learn so much from their audiences that will help to inform creativity and strategy."

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:46:52 AM

Excuse my ignorance, but how will this be a tool against piracy? And you don't need a 350 000$ device to detect the feelings of watching advertising. Hell, I tell you right now what it is: f*cking annoyed.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:59:26 AM

Or you could just ask?

Its easy really

Explosions= Hard on
Hot female in movie= hard on
said female naked=giant hard on
wife in theater with you= half hard on
buff actor in movie= flaccid
wife's reaction to actor=hard on
no one else in theater= hard on

you get the point



johnny_boy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:37:12 AM

Guess I better think twice before I let some woman give me a hummer while watching a movie
masht7 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:49:56 AM

So they'll now know when I'm jacking off to alien Scarl-Jo? That's the 21st Century for you, grandad.
solidkryptonite writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:58:48 AM

How about taking that money and use it towards something that disables cell phones? Tired of watching movies and seeing some pre-teen douche playing brick breaker.
otis writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:04:24 AM

Just because of this, I'm going to be crying a lot more in romantic comedies. And yawning more in action movies. And for the other category, say, Charlie St. Cloud-ish, I'll make sure to grimace during...I don't know. Wtf is that about again?

I'm with Freudian. What does this have to do with piracy at all??
CCBlev writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:28:10 AM

they'll see me sleeping alot.
rabid writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:52:39 AM

Ariala Systems sounds like a bunch of smart douchebags. They just came up with a way to steal more money from a paranoid movie industry.
I know one theater in my town that does something right. From the moment you walk in, your cell phone is dead. I love it. I don't know if they're using a blocker or just have thick bricks, but every theater should have a cell-blocker.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:16:20 PM

Yes, because we are all mindless machines that react to various stimuli in a predictable manner, producing an algorithm you can plug into a computer and produce new movies with. Hey, are you gonna give us a discount for all this free marketing research you get to do? Oh, yeah, you motherf*ckers, I thought not. Actually, youll probably just increase ticket prices to pay for the bullsh*t machinery necessary to watch a full theater audience in order to judge how well the already-bullsh*t commercials are doing their jobs. Hey, you should connect it to the internet so people can watch other people watching movies to decide whether or not they want to see it.

As more and more people watch stupid movies and become stupider, you can watch how they react and maybe push it further, making the movies stupider and thus the audience until we're all chowing on $20 troughs of popcorn grinning cluelessly like children eating milky cereal watching morning cartoons. DURRR MOVIE DURR HARR DURR.

NOT RELEVANT: I'm directing photography on an independent film based in Kathmandu, Nepal. Its called Mango Pickle (Aapko Achar) and we put together a teaser trailer with some of the early footage we shot. I'd really appreciate it if you guys checked it out and let us know what you think.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GzkgVWU6ec

Thanks
doneehoward writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:21:33 PM

They will realize that a lot of teenagers (and some other people) don't go there for the movie. :)
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:40:30 PM

Annnndddd masht7 beat me to it!

This is to gather typographical data on our faces to go into a data base to 'fight terrorism' (they call it... but really it's just to invade our privacy). Same sh*t they use at airports for face recognition.

f*ck YOU BIG BROTHER... f*ck YOU!!!

LEONCIO writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:01:29 PM

If they ask for my money just for watching their sh*tty movies, could I ask for their money for watching my gorgeous body?
ROY_MUNSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:28:42 PM

Now how am i gonna be able to stick my D*ck through the bottom of the popcorn and get some sl*t to Jerk me off?
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:41:59 PM

Same as always... cash!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:54:18 PM

I thought the article said they were looking to see what reaction people are making during the commercials.

Mostly, I try to get into the theater right as they end or listen to my Ipod with my eyes closed until the movie comes on.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:03:45 PM

I tend to masturbate.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:04:05 PM

... others.

'Til I get thrown out.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:04:25 PM

Hey... the lights were low. She looked 18!
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:05:10 PM

"STRANGER! STRANGER! STRANGER!"

Her words haunt me to this day!
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:06:06 PM

The cops were pretty rough with me... but I kinda liked it (especially the handcuffs)!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:18:22 PM

'film companies and advertising agencies can learn so much from their audiences'...i wonder how long it will take them to understand that we hate seeing remakes desperately trying so so hard to surpass its original but just CAN'T because of the obviousness that there was NOTHING wrong with its original and the whole crew and cast are just sell outs for trying to get fame and fortune off of somebody else's work...monitoring audiences doesn't help creativity...speaking of monitoring, i wish they could've seen my facial reactions when i watched alice in wonderland...my happy and excited eager face ended up upside down, made me realize how much more of a kick i got watching the original cartoon...would've been more happy and eager to see american mcgee's alice get made, and made well
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:03:08 PM

marketing bullsh*t no anti piracy sh*t its called a camera my question is who will be watching the video?
trailertrash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:41:49 PM

Will they be putting these in the gloryhole booths ??

Just asking thats all ..
darkraven28 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:55:11 PM

Well, now they'll be able to prevent death from a hard-on, like that guy who died watching Avatar. So, I suppose it's a win-win.
venomex writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:16:43 PM

bah, i used to do this all the time back when i worked in projection. i usually take a seat in the back when i was on break.

The biggest reactions i've ever seen were in full houses of star wars 3 (yoda fight) and batman 2 (joker's magic trick).

But i think my favorite was during opening night for "Dance Flick" and watching a half filled house not get any of the jokes.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:24:18 PM

I would go high-brow and talk about test screenings, teaser posters, teaser trailers, green-band trailers, red-band trailers, posters, promotions, hyped word on the street about the movie, the independent mind of the movie-going public ....

but this is Worst Previews.

If they want my reaction to a bad movie, just wait till it's over. I'll just walk down the ailse, out the lobby towards the entranceway to the main theatre lobby, stop at the entrance, drop trough, drop boxes and take a deuce on the floor. Then I'll whistle and stroll off as the usher tries to figure a way to clean up a burrito massacre at eight o' clock at night with just a broom and dustpan.

How's THAT for a review of your movies, Kevin Smith ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:25:29 PM

corr : ^ boxers


damn edit button ....
Aingx writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:59:40 PM

That's called 'invasion of privacy' and it's against the constitution......

Congrats, you f*cking socialist.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:33:03 PM

don't really mind as long as i can still be high as kite and can sneak in outside snacks.
WV-Films writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:43:35 PM

@ Aingx. It's not an invasion of privacy, because you pay to be there. However it would be an invasion of privacy if they watched you at home through your Kinect or PSeye.
WV-Films writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:47:56 PM

And also.....how ridiculous and just plain lazy can these people get? It's not that hard to know what makes a good movie. And if you followed a formula to build a movie by numbers, it would become sterile and lifeless. Interpretation and risk is what makes art. Dumbing it down to a science will kill that, and everything will be a clone of itself.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:05:54 PM

Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:06:06 PM

The cops were pretty rough with me... but I kinda liked it (especially the handcuffs)!





Then I will assume they were hot female cops. With big boobs.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:40:09 PM

Mostly...

The rest were big doughnut cops with moobs!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:07:56 PM

Guess they'll catch me buttering my popcorn.

And by buttering my popcorn, I mean having my girlfriend sucking off my d*ck in the back, with a blanket over her face. And if she complains that it is itchy and hot, I'll just smack the back of her head and remind her this is the only way I drive her ass home.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 1:15:18 AM

They really don't want to see my reactions to their movies.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved