WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Movie Theaters Will Watch Audiences to Monitor Reactions

Posted: November 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Movie Theaters Will Watch Audiences to Monitor ReactionsSubmit Comment
Movie theaters around the country are already using plenty of techniques to prevent piracy, including such devices as metal detectors, nigh-vision goggles and video/audio watermarks.

Now, Ariala Systems, one of the companies that specializes in anti-piracy techniques, has been given a $350,000 grant to develop a system that will monitor and analyze movie-goers in order to capture their reactions to advertisements and films that they are watching.

"Within the cinema industry this tool will feed powerful marketing data that will inform film directors, cinema advertisers and cinemas with useful data about what audiences enjoy and what adverts capture the most attention," said a collaborator on the project. "By measuring emotion and movement, film companies and cinema advertising agencies can learn so much from their audiences that will help to inform creativity and strategy."

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:46:52 AM

Excuse my ignorance, but how will this be a tool against piracy? And you don't need a 350 000$ device to detect the feelings of watching advertising. Hell, I tell you right now what it is: f*cking annoyed.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:59:26 AM

Or you could just ask?

Its easy really

Explosions= Hard on
Hot female in movie= hard on
said female naked=giant hard on
wife in theater with you= half hard on
buff actor in movie= flaccid
wife's reaction to actor=hard on
no one else in theater= hard on

you get the point



johnny_boy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:37:12 AM

Guess I better think twice before I let some woman give me a hummer while watching a movie
masht7 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:49:56 AM

So they'll now know when I'm jacking off to alien Scarl-Jo? That's the 21st Century for you, grandad.
solidkryptonite writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:58:48 AM

How about taking that money and use it towards something that disables cell phones? Tired of watching movies and seeing some pre-teen douche playing brick breaker.
otis writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:04:24 AM

Just because of this, I'm going to be crying a lot more in romantic comedies. And yawning more in action movies. And for the other category, say, Charlie St. Cloud-ish, I'll make sure to grimace during...I don't know. Wtf is that about again?

I'm with Freudian. What does this have to do with piracy at all??
CCBlev writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:28:10 AM

they'll see me sleeping alot.
rabid writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:52:39 AM

Ariala Systems sounds like a bunch of smart douchebags. They just came up with a way to steal more money from a paranoid movie industry.
I know one theater in my town that does something right. From the moment you walk in, your cell phone is dead. I love it. I don't know if they're using a blocker or just have thick bricks, but every theater should have a cell-blocker.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:16:20 PM

Yes, because we are all mindless machines that react to various stimuli in a predictable manner, producing an algorithm you can plug into a computer and produce new movies with. Hey, are you gonna give us a discount for all this free marketing research you get to do? Oh, yeah, you motherf*ckers, I thought not. Actually, youll probably just increase ticket prices to pay for the bullsh*t machinery necessary to watch a full theater audience in order to judge how well the already-bullsh*t commercials are doing their jobs. Hey, you should connect it to the internet so people can watch other people watching movies to decide whether or not they want to see it.

As more and more people watch stupid movies and become stupider, you can watch how they react and maybe push it further, making the movies stupider and thus the audience until we're all chowing on $20 troughs of popcorn grinning cluelessly like children eating milky cereal watching morning cartoons. DURRR MOVIE DURR HARR DURR.

NOT RELEVANT: I'm directing photography on an independent film based in Kathmandu, Nepal. Its called Mango Pickle (Aapko Achar) and we put together a teaser trailer with some of the early footage we shot. I'd really appreciate it if you guys checked it out and let us know what you think.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GzkgVWU6ec

Thanks
doneehoward writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:21:33 PM

They will realize that a lot of teenagers (and some other people) don't go there for the movie. :)
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:40:30 PM

Annnndddd masht7 beat me to it!

This is to gather typographical data on our faces to go into a data base to 'fight terrorism' (they call it... but really it's just to invade our privacy). Same sh*t they use at airports for face recognition.

f*ck YOU BIG BROTHER... f*ck YOU!!!

LEONCIO writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:01:29 PM

If they ask for my money just for watching their sh*tty movies, could I ask for their money for watching my gorgeous body?
ROY_MUNSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:28:42 PM

Now how am i gonna be able to stick my D*ck through the bottom of the popcorn and get some sl*t to Jerk me off?
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:41:59 PM

Same as always... cash!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:54:18 PM

I thought the article said they were looking to see what reaction people are making during the commercials.

Mostly, I try to get into the theater right as they end or listen to my Ipod with my eyes closed until the movie comes on.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:03:45 PM

I tend to masturbate.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:04:05 PM

... others.

'Til I get thrown out.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:04:25 PM

Hey... the lights were low. She looked 18!
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:05:10 PM

"STRANGER! STRANGER! STRANGER!"

Her words haunt me to this day!
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:06:06 PM

The cops were pretty rough with me... but I kinda liked it (especially the handcuffs)!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:18:22 PM

'film companies and advertising agencies can learn so much from their audiences'...i wonder how long it will take them to understand that we hate seeing remakes desperately trying so so hard to surpass its original but just CAN'T because of the obviousness that there was NOTHING wrong with its original and the whole crew and cast are just sell outs for trying to get fame and fortune off of somebody else's work...monitoring audiences doesn't help creativity...speaking of monitoring, i wish they could've seen my facial reactions when i watched alice in wonderland...my happy and excited eager face ended up upside down, made me realize how much more of a kick i got watching the original cartoon...would've been more happy and eager to see american mcgee's alice get made, and made well
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:03:08 PM

marketing bullsh*t no anti piracy sh*t its called a camera my question is who will be watching the video?
trailertrash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:41:49 PM

Will they be putting these in the gloryhole booths ??

Just asking thats all ..
darkraven28 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:55:11 PM

Well, now they'll be able to prevent death from a hard-on, like that guy who died watching Avatar. So, I suppose it's a win-win.
venomex writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:16:43 PM

bah, i used to do this all the time back when i worked in projection. i usually take a seat in the back when i was on break.

The biggest reactions i've ever seen were in full houses of star wars 3 (yoda fight) and batman 2 (joker's magic trick).

But i think my favorite was during opening night for "Dance Flick" and watching a half filled house not get any of the jokes.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:24:18 PM

I would go high-brow and talk about test screenings, teaser posters, teaser trailers, green-band trailers, red-band trailers, posters, promotions, hyped word on the street about the movie, the independent mind of the movie-going public ....

but this is Worst Previews.

If they want my reaction to a bad movie, just wait till it's over. I'll just walk down the ailse, out the lobby towards the entranceway to the main theatre lobby, stop at the entrance, drop trough, drop boxes and take a deuce on the floor. Then I'll whistle and stroll off as the usher tries to figure a way to clean up a burrito massacre at eight o' clock at night with just a broom and dustpan.

How's THAT for a review of your movies, Kevin Smith ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:25:29 PM

corr : ^ boxers


damn edit button ....
Aingx writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:59:40 PM

That's called 'invasion of privacy' and it's against the constitution......

Congrats, you f*cking socialist.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:33:03 PM

don't really mind as long as i can still be high as kite and can sneak in outside snacks.
WV-Films writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:43:35 PM

@ Aingx. It's not an invasion of privacy, because you pay to be there. However it would be an invasion of privacy if they watched you at home through your Kinect or PSeye.
WV-Films writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 7:47:56 PM

And also.....how ridiculous and just plain lazy can these people get? It's not that hard to know what makes a good movie. And if you followed a formula to build a movie by numbers, it would become sterile and lifeless. Interpretation and risk is what makes art. Dumbing it down to a science will kill that, and everything will be a clone of itself.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:05:54 PM

Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:06:06 PM

The cops were pretty rough with me... but I kinda liked it (especially the handcuffs)!





Then I will assume they were hot female cops. With big boobs.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:40:09 PM

Mostly...

The rest were big doughnut cops with moobs!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:07:56 PM

Guess they'll catch me buttering my popcorn.

And by buttering my popcorn, I mean having my girlfriend sucking off my d*ck in the back, with a blanket over her face. And if she complains that it is itchy and hot, I'll just smack the back of her head and remind her this is the only way I drive her ass home.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 1:15:18 AM

They really don't want to see my reactions to their movies.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved