WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Harry Potter" Blamed for Decline of Owls in India

Posted: November 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Harry Potter" Blamed for Decline of Owls in IndiaSubmit Comment
India's Environment Minister Jairam Ramesh revealed that the number of wild owls in the country has been dwindling due to the popularity of the "Harry Potter" books and movies.

The craze has led to an increase in people buying owls from illegal bird traders. "Following 'Harry Potter,' there seems to be a strange fascination even among the urban middle classes for presenting their children with owls," said Ramesh.

Thousands of endangered owls are also being sacrificed during Diwali, a Hindu festival. The owls are being caught, traded or sacrificed in black magic rituals, while others are being sold for "Harry Potter"-themed birthday parties.

Source: The Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 8:44:59 PM

Blaming Harry Potter? Lick me!

How about getting off your ass and making the penalties so financially crippling, no one would dare be caught with an owl.

Blamers... HAH!

I mean... I blame Shannon Price for the death of our little Gary, but SHE DID IT!!!!!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:02:46 PM

I'd totally buy one after seeing the movies! lol
trailertrash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:03:46 PM

She sure did ...

This is a Hoot of a story
shayhiri writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:05:40 PM

Ignorant brown savages.
trailertrash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:08:32 PM

Is there a web address i have a birthday party to sort out and they love Harry Potter ..

Got to pop out and see a man about an Owl..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:26:15 PM

Hey India, maybe the problem is you're sacrificing them for your barbaric rituals, *ssholes!
Salvador writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:27:23 PM

Mhmmm...

The sacrifice owls for black magic rituals, but they try cows like Gods?
Salvador writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:33:15 PM

Again.. I mean "They treat cows..."

I think I'm tired, better go home. See you.
SaulSilver writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 10:00:51 PM

I can't wait for the Owls to rise up and take their revenge.
boogiel writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:24:50 PM

@Saul
LOL!! Revenge of the owls
jdl107 writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:35:47 PM

"Ignorant brown savages."

You just contradicted the sh*t out of yourself, sir. Ma'am? Whatever.
jdl107 writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:37:56 PM

Hmm, India, crys a lot. That is what i seems like to me.
Man in Black writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:40:44 PM

These dumb bastards never seen when animals attack ?
CCBlev writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:10:09 AM

WTf, lay of the curry crack you Indian bastards.
I dunno but it's kinda trippy to see Radcliff that young in that pic.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:18:01 AM

Mmmm... Emma...

http://inlinethumb16.webshots.com/21839/2507540780101365693S600x600Q85.jpg
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:19:16 AM

http://mallgirl.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/emma-watson-burberry-ad-01.jpg

I think I need to go rub one out. BRB!
CCBlev writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:26:41 AM

Ranger-Thnaks now i have to go back to j*zzhut. i just "got off" there too!
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:55:47 AM

India is making news? REALLY? They probably eat the owls and pointing fingers at the owls...

whats next...

"Kung Fu Panda blamed for Decline of Pandas in Japan"
darkraven28 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:16:44 AM

Is it wrong to say that a nuclear accident depleting the owl population of India would be funnier? f*ck no. A nuke depleting the owl pop. of India would be f*cking hilarious.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:03:09 AM

@Ranger I beat you to it about 8 years ago! ;)
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:09:38 AM

lol.
trailertrash writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:48:14 AM

Nice pic's of Emma

When she is all old a ruff and wrinkly , will she be blamed for the decline of tissue sales all over the world , i wonder
Rambo writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:49:21 AM

The owls are not what they seem
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:56:55 AM

Even though I hate Harry Potter, I do believe that slaughtering the owls to please the gods have a stronger impact on the owls decline than having them as birthday presents.

And who the f*ck gives their child an owl? I mean, they have some pretty sharp beaks and claws. I guess nothing says "I love you, son" more than having your child being faceraped by an owl.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:09:46 AM

"Harry Potter" Blamed for Decline of Owls in India .... no wonder people make fun of a country that holds the cow sacred and washes themselves in a river full of feces.

That's f*ckingly retarded.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:10:47 AM

f*ck India with Ghandi's d*ck.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:11:27 AM

Hey India,

Give a hoot, don't persecute!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:23:13 AM

@Freud Face raped by an owl you've just made my day lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:25:55 AM

Maybe they could outsource owls.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:29:38 AM

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:56:55 AM

Even though I hate Harry Potter, I do believe that slaughtering the owls to please the gods have a stronger impact on the owls decline than having them as birthday presents.

And who the f*ck gives their child an owl? I mean, they have some pretty sharp beaks and claws. I guess nothing says "I love you, son" more than having your child being faceraped by an owl.


@Freudian Nightmare

Maybe that's all Muhammad, aka "Bob", can afford on his .17 per hour answering our problems on why our DSL line doesn't work and why we are having problems, since that job got outsourced to a nation that doesn't mind sweatshopping its own people to handle customer service .....

" Hellllooooo, my name is Mu ... I mean BOB ... dank you for calling A T&T ... how can I helpppp youuuu ? "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:32:33 AM

^ But f*ck him and his child anyway.

That's what XBox is for.

When's the last time Master Chief face raped a kid or ass f*cked him, while he's wearing an altar boys garb ?
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:52:08 AM

Hey yeah, sacrificing endangered owls make sense. Probably worse for the owls than f*cking Harry potter... fools!

NOT RELEVANT: I'm directing photography on an independent film in Nepal (just north of India). Its called Mango Pickle, and we put up a teaser trailer with some of the early footage we shot. You guys should check it out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GzkgVWU6ec

Lemme know what you think!

Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:40:53 PM

@Money Looks ok good mise-en-scene you just don't maximise the potential of it. The camera shots looks a bit amateur. you could have done so much more with those pidgeons flying off aswell lol
OzBox writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 7:22:41 PM

So typically Indian, blame someone else for your own problems. The sc*m bag peasant owl trappers aren't to blame at all. And it's not imaginary friend's fault that owls must be sacrificed. Life must be sh*t on a stick in Indian, gotta do what ever you can to make it better.
warlord writes:
on November 6th, 2010 at 1:04:30 PM

yea dont blame cow worshoping freaks who steel these owl's blame a book

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved