WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Says We're a Decade Away from Glasses-Free 3D Watching

Posted: November 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Says WeSubmit Comment
In a conversation with BBC, director James Cameron once again stated that studios should be shooting their movies with 3D cameras rather than converting them to 3D in post-production. He added that the process will soon become so cheap and simple that there will be no excuse not to shoot films in 3D.

"The thing that's going to be the coffin nail for conversion is when the broadcasters start broadcasting thousands, if not tens of thousands of hours a year in 3D," said Cameron. "If you've got 5,000 cameras doing live sports feeding in over many different network delivery systems, it's going to be pretty hard for Hollywood producers to claim that 3D is just too complicated to make a movie in 3D, when it's being done every day by people a lot less talented and a lot less well-funded."

The director went on to predict that we are only a decade away from watching 3D movies without 3D glasses. He said: "Once we get to auto-stereoscopic, that's watching 3-D without glasses, it is going to be the way we watch all of our media. That's probably eight to 10 years away."

Source: BBC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
shayhiri writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:03:15 PM

So spoke the movie prophet.

J.C. is the Jesus Christ of movies.
Salvador writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:19:23 PM

I hope not.

Does he consider himself a talented person to make a movie in 3D?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:40:32 PM

It's a bit closer than 10 years. Mitsubishi is already pretty far ahead in their tech and so are SHARP and Intel. I'd say 5-7 is more like it.
Shakazooloofoo writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:45:56 PM

If anybody has the slightest pulse in the industry they could tell you this. James Cameron is no Jesus of the movies. More like a paul...or moses
LeeMaca writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:49:46 PM

why has nobody taken out a hit on this shmuck yet
minkowski writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:49:58 PM

Lower bounds is 8 years, upper, ten. That's a two year margin.

But I really don't care. 2D stories presented in a 3D format have no intellectual appeal.

They are for the two types of people: the superficial idiots, and those that would exploit the first for profit. People like Cameron.

Sadly, it's 18-20 years before we live in a world without Cameron.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:52:29 PM

3D usually is just a way to make a sh*tty movie look "cool"
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 10:51:23 PM

In 10 years when 3 d is everywhere I will be watching porn on my holographic iPhone in 4 d ......a nice little romcom starring lohan called scratch and sniff
c-prime writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:00:50 PM

"Sadly, it's 18-20 years before we live in a world without Cameron."

@ minkowski: Not if Linda Hamilton resolves to quit her bipolar meds this New Years, gets vengeful a week later, and decides to follow the lead of Phil Hartman's wife.
Man in Black writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:36:15 PM

http://en.akihabaranews.com/64054/home-entertainment/ceatec-2010-toshiba-introduces-two-3d-glassless-tvs-in-japan here you go jimmy
CCBlev writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:11:31 AM

Yea well wheres the 4D at?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:28:37 AM

"Hey JC!!! Shut the f*ck up!!!!"
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:53:33 AM

So Camerons God now? he can predict the future... f*ck him
darkraven28 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:07:32 AM

3-D porn? Nice!!!!!!!!
takai writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:36:43 AM

Nintendo's already there.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:50:46 AM

There already exist 3D-TV without goggles. They are absolute crap and expensive as hell, but they exist. Don't understand why JC has such a hard-on for 3D, but everybody has their own fetisch.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:59:13 AM

James Cameron Says We're a Decade Away from Glasses-Free 3D Watching ... but the real question : Are we a decade away from his violently brutal and unsophisticated death involving a bar of soap, his shower and the faucet ?


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:00:48 AM

Shakazooloofoo writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:45:56 PM

If anybody has the slightest pulse in the industry they could tell you this. James Cameron is no Jesus of the movies. More like a paul...or moses


@Shakazooloofoo

Paul Greengrass or Moses Malone ?


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:01:45 AM

^ If we are going into fiction, I've always thought Cameron was more Howdy Doody myself .... he, he, he... I said doody ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:04:18 AM

c-prime writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 11:00:50 PM

"Sadly, it's 18-20 years before we live in a world without Cameron."

@ minkowski: Not if Linda Hamilton resolves to quit her bipolar meds this New Years, gets vengeful a week later, and decides to follow the lead of Phil Hartman's wife.


@c-prime

Wasn't the director of The Hurt Locker Cameron's wife ? But I get the gist of what you've said. And if you saw Hamilton's guest star role in Chuck, we may be there. All we can hope is that she has armor piercing bullets when she does it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:06:19 AM

Ted Mosby writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 12:53:33 AM

So Camerons God now? he can predict the future... f*ck him

@Tom Mosby

Nope. Not QUITE a supreme being yet. He hasn't f*cked enough young, elementary school boys yet to even be a priest .... at least, not that we've hard of.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:08:02 AM

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:50:46 AM

There already exist 3D-TV without goggles. They are absolute crap and expensive as hell, but they exist. Don't understand why JC has such a hard-on for 3D, but everybody has their own fetish.


@Freudian_Nightmare

That's what he films his sex tapes with Kathryn Bigelow in .... so he can watch and jack off to them later when she's away.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:35:40 AM

3Ds been around for years the c*nt acts like he invented it, you're not a good enough film maker to be giving any one tips you're average in all areas. All your films follow the rules and conventions of hollywood, you take no risks, you look like John Lithgow as Trinity and you sold your soul to a vietnamese egg merchant in the summer of 78... now f*ck off!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 9:48:52 AM

Forget 3D, IMAX is better. Has anyone been to the Franklyn Institute's Omniverse theater? I LOVE that theater so much. You really feel like you are a part of the action! Make movies using that technology! Better than having to wear glasses for 3D!
c-prime writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:04:06 AM

@ Max Rockatansky Junior: Actually, Kathryn Bigelow and Linda Hamilton are both his ex-wives. I guess he's got an affinity for scatterbrain brunettes.
rabid writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 10:59:46 AM

It only took a very short time to invent 3D tvs that don't require glasses using micropixels, and they're still being perfected. Projection is a different monster altogether. The only glassless free system for projection right now requires up to a dozen different projectors and a camera with 12-faceted lenses. Ten years sounds like a reasonable estimate for theaters.
I look at it this way. Once we perfect stereoscopic projection, we're only a leap away from the free standing holograms we see in sci-fi movies.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 11:58:31 AM

He's right. The ever increasing speed of technological evolution and innovation! Who knows where movies will go after 3d...

NOT RELEVANT: I'm directing photography on an independent film based in Kathmandu, Nepal. Its called Mango Pickle (Aapko Achar) and we put together a teaser trailer with some of the early footage we shot. I'd really appreciate it if you guys checked it out and let us know what you think.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GzkgVWU6ec

Thanks
ROY_MUNSON writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:48:42 PM

avatar sucked and james cameron is a washed up douchebag
warriors187 writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:03:35 PM

@Mink
Nice seeing you around again, buddy

Oh, and f@ck James Cameron.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 4:11:27 PM

So basically we have to wait until 2020. better make spare time and wait until that comes out.
Atemisk writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 5:33:42 PM

I'd more interested if in the next 10minutes 3D vanished off the face of the planet. 3D sucks a fat sack of sh*t.

3D is an easy way for them to trap movie theaters into a 6 week arrangement for a movie that would normally get 2. On top of that the very best looking 3D looks miserable. This garbage tech as to go.
rabid writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 8:29:35 PM

3D is going nowhere so get used to it. You may see it as a box office fad (its as much a fad as imax) but 3D content is here to stay. Television and gamin go perfect with 3D on home video systems. The only reason it's been slow to be integrated is because we didn't have computer monitors that refreshed enough to hide the flicker between frames. Now that we finally have 120H monitors hooked to computers with powerful 3D video cards and plasma-lit color, it's preposterous to think computer manufacturers and users would put the genie back in the bottle.
Projector technology can't keep pace with the personal home monitors. The movie theater has just become a public showcase of what you can soon have on your home theater, but the future of electronics is tied to giant, powerful 3D personal monitors.
Once you start gaming in 3D, it's very tough to go back to 2D, with no real reason to.
WV-Films writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 5:46:48 AM

I think it'll be sooner. Like 4-5 years. If they say 8-10 now, people will be more likely to run out and grab a current 3D set. With the 3DS, and Toshiba's new 3D display on it's way out, it'll only be a matter of time before it's released to the home theater market.
rabid writes:
on November 5th, 2010 at 10:54:08 AM

The home theatre market will be chockfull of glassless 3D within 2 years, but the glassless 3D movie theater is a much tougher nut to crack since the image is projected, not backlit.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved