WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jon Favreau Says Next Summer Will Be a "Bloodbath" for Movies

Posted: November 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jon Favreau Says Next Summer Will Be a "Bloodbath" for MoviesSubmit Comment
Jon Favreau is planning to release his "Cowboys and Aliens" movie during the summer of next year, but is worried that his film will get lost among the many blockbusters that are set to be released around the same time.

Looking at the summer of 2011, studios will release "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows," "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides," "Transformers: The Dark of the Moon," "Green Lantern," "Thor," "Captain America: The First Avenger," "X-Men: First Class," "Cars 2," "Kung Fu Panda 2," "The Smurfs 3D," "Rise of the Apes," "Super 8," "The Hangover Part II," and many others.

"It's Omaha Beach, it's going to be a bloodbath," said Favreau. "There's never been a summer like this next summer. It's going to be bloody [for filmmakers and the studios]. As we were sticking thumb tacks in a calendar we realized that this is going to be looked back upon as Omaha Beach."

He continued: "There's not a weekend where there won't be teeth on the floor. The audience wins but it's going to be rough for people making these movies. Then there was the big rush to 3D, so you have all of these people fighting for a limited number of screens and to get the 3D done, since most of these are hybrids or conversions, so this is a technology that is still in the relatively early stages and there's going to be a lot of blood pressures going up in the months ahead."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:16:17 PM

i agree Jon, Its bloody war hell!!! much better than 2010
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:26:41 PM

It's a bloodbath for sh*t directors and sh*t production houses and sh*t actors and actresses and sh*t etc.....
Oh and bloodbath for my wallet

For the good?

The summer of love

bandolero999 writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:37:13 PM

BOOOO Transformers and CPT AMERICA WILL FAIL
looking forward for Thor,Xmen First Class,even Green lantern is worth a look. Hangover 2 could suck balls thanx to dat fat f*ck Zach for getting Mel kicked out of the movie THe rest of the movies will wait to download, you wont get my money u bastards
telur writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:47:22 PM

At least i will see "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides," "Transformers: The Dark of the Moon," "Green Lantern," "Thor," "Captain America: The First Avenger," "X-Men: First Class,"Kung Fu Panda 2," "The Smurfs 3D," "Rise of the Apes,

but cowboys and aliens??? i think about it
c-prime writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:03:29 PM

If it's any consolation, Jon, you're movie is way above "The Smurfs", "Captain America", and "Pirates 4" on my watch list for next summer. (How the first flick even made it on that list, I have no earthly idea.) Give 'em hell!
jdl107 writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:04:26 PM

Omaha beach season.

This list made me realize, next summer is gonna be badass.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:17:56 PM

Should have thought about that before releasing that stuffed buritto o' sh*t, Iron Man 2, Favreau ...

In a non-related comment :

R.I.P Charlie O'Donnell, the announcer of Wheel Of Fortune ...
AshTrey writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:23:22 PM

Jesus Christ. I didn't realize all of those Superhero movies were coming out the same time... let the war begin
shayhiri writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:34:32 PM

And this is how the superhero/geek fad will end.

No one will wanna see such movies in the years to come.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 12:09:40 AM

Can we have a moment of silence for what looks like the defeat of prop 19 in california. Ive lost all faith in america... again.
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 12:22:24 AM

'...it's going to be rough for people making these movies.' --- by rough, do you mean director's like Michael Bay will only make $40 million in profit sharing vs. his usual $60 million (as he made for Transformers 2)?


Lick my bag Jon!
Monash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 12:29:49 AM

Summer of sequels and comic book adaptions
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 12:38:15 AM

... and crazy unprotected sex!!!
Man in Black writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 1:45:17 AM

On the bright side he didnt say next summer will bleed like jake on the rag ...
Rambo writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 3:36:12 AM

it better be bloody..it's the last summer before the end of the world
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 3:56:13 AM

Green Lantern is causing tunnel vision for summer of 2011 ...for me at least
trailertrash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 3:56:47 AM

Good point

Hope we get to see Expendables 2 before we all die !
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:19:36 AM

That's what the sequel should be about.

The Expendables (2) kick so much ass... they cause End of Days!
trailertrash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:30:31 AM

Amen to that !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 5:44:37 AM

next summer seems ok for movies.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 6:19:09 AM

Looking at the summer of 2011, studios will release "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,[sh*t!]"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides,[NO ONE CARES!] " "Transformers: The Dark of the Moon,[HELL ON A STICK] "Green Lantern,[YESS!] " "Thor,[THATS AWESOME!]" "Captain America: The First Avenger,[YAWN!]" "X-Men: First Class,[SWEET!] "Cars 2[WTF] "Kung Fu Panda 2,[f*ck A GOAT!] "The Smurfs 3D,[AVATAR 0.5]" "Rise of the Apes,[GIVE ME BACK MY HAND" "Super 8,[INTERESTING] "The Hangover Part II, [CHICKS WITH d*ckS, SLUTS WITH NUTS, c*ckS WITH FROCKS and many more]
anaheimducks writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 6:25:53 AM

Can't wait for next summer I'm gonna see them all except smurfs and harry potter.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 7:31:47 AM

f*cking 3D, it's going to ruin everyting, to be honest I liked movies now for over 20 years before 3D and now 3D is here I still love my regualr 2D movies. I'm not sating all 3D movies are bad but whatching them makes me feel like i'm on some theme park ride. The 2D movies are enough for my imagination.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:16:44 AM

@Scott B: Patience my friend. Baby steps. At least they're voting on it now. In 2012 there will be Prop 19s up for vote all over the country, not just Cali. Somebody's gonna get lucky and pass it soon. Thats if its supporters can put down the steamrollers for 2 minutes, get off their lazy assess, and use their god-given American right to VOTE dammit!!!
Bunny X writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 9:25:15 AM

Then extend the season out. I will never understand the fascination with summer blockbusters. I want to see movies in the Fall, Winter, and spring just as much.
coldplayesence writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 10:38:31 AM

I'm waiting for Harry Potter, screw all the others, especially Captain America, hopefully it will kill off Jonhnston's career for good.
billofill writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 2:20:07 PM

Rather have a blood bath then a repeat of this f*cked up year THANKS JON FOR IRONMAN 2 ya c*nt.
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:51:58 PM

lol...

I'm one of the biggest Iron Man fans around.

re: Iron Man 2...

1. Once had the entire first 12.5 years (first 150 issues) of the initial run in MINT condition.

2. Had a 'movie treatment' registered and floating around Hollywood for almost 10 years before the movie came out (yes, his initial flight through a tunnel was my idea).

3. Have one of these: http://cgi.ebay.com/SIDESHOW-IRON-MAN-COMIQUETTE-EXCLUSIVE-STATUE-NOT-FAKE-/140445769793?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item20b3386041

AND I STILL FELL ASLEEP DURING THE MOVIE!!!!!
darkraven28 writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 5:03:04 PM

Sounds like a more gigantic version of 2003's summer, where you had Matrix Reloaded, 2 Fast 2 Furious, Terminator 3, Bad Boys II, X2: Xmen United, and others. I kinda liked that summer. Although the Matrix sequels STILL don't quite make sense.
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 5:23:08 PM

Not unless one is smoking some of that fine Mel Gibson weed.
mrs.johnnydeppclaudia writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:34:49 AM

Man I can't wait for next summer!
mrs.johnnydeppclaudia writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 1:34:54 AM

Man I can't wait for next summer!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 6:07:27 AM

Man, he can't wait for next summer! ^

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved