WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lionsgate Moving Forward with "Silent Hill" Sequel

Posted: November 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lionsgate Moving Forward with "Silent Hill" SequelSubmit Comment
Bloody-Disgusting has learned that Lionsgate International will attend the American Film Market to begin pre-sales on "Silent Hill 2," the sequel to the 2006 video game adaptation from director Christophe Gans (Brotherhood of the Wolf).

A second installment was planned ever since the first film hit theaters and made almost $100 million on a $50 million budget. Writer Roger Avary (Pulp Fiction) was brought back to pen the script, but Avary ran into some trouble. In 2008, he crashed his car while intoxicated, killing his close friend and seriously injuring his wife. He was charged with vehicular manslaughter and was sentenced to prison for a year.

Avary was released back in August and was supposed to finish the script. Apparently he has done so, since the studio is now pre-selling the sequel and the screenwriter is officially on board. No word if Radha Mitchell will be returning, but she has expressed some interest in the past.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:26:35 AM

What the f*ck! They haven't started on this already. Get on it Lionsgate. Focus on this we don't need anymore Saw films anyways
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:42:46 AM

Lionsgate Moving Forward with "Silent Hill" Sequel .... and Avery plans to pen a coded message to his cell-mate lover from jail within it ...

" Thank you for not shiving me in the shower and offering to pick up the soap. Yes, sucking your c*ck was as close as I'll get to Nirvana ... " will be

" David, watch out for those kids. They don't seem right to me. "
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:55:46 AM

I do think that the first one was excellent, but do I want to see another one? Yes and no.

Yes, because I do want know were they will taking it. Will they continue on the story they created or start a new one, loosely connected to the first.

No, because there to many pitfalls to trip into. None of the games were direct sequels to each other, they were canonized stories within a franchise with hints to each other. That's why they were great. Can this be copied in a moviefranchise? Most likely not. That means they must continue on the first movie's story, which isn't bad per se, but the chances are they will toss in elements from the other games to please the fans (see Resident Evil). But the fans won't be pleased, they will be pissed, cause in doing so the filmmakers will show that they don't understand the source material.
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 9:00:33 AM

I would rather see a "the decent 3-D" than this sh*te
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 9:26:42 AM

The first movie was true in style and theme to the game, they really did manage to make Silent Hill feel like it did in the video game.

However Freudian_Nightmare your looking to much into it. As long as the movie keeps the same style visually as the first, the direction is the same then i'm sure a good story can be made of it. It has nothing to do with the games in terms of a direct story to them so don't compare the two.

Ok the game sequals weren't related to each other but how can you say the sequal to this is going to be a continue of the first movie when you haven't even seen the script or know anything about it, it could be different characters, new ones, ok Radha Mitchell is back but for all you know she could die very early on.

I'm a silent Hill fan but people like you don't realise that games and movies are seperate. You can't expect a studio to make a movie based on a game just for gamers because what about all the people who don't play silent hill. Maybe they just want to watch a good interesting movie.

And as for being faithful Silent Hill is the most faithful video game adaption ever made. Don't get me started on Resident Evil.

Just stop worrying about will it be like the games and just be glad they are making another.
CCBlev writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:12:03 AM

Done like the 1st one I'd see it. I kinda liked the 1st one.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:16:28 AM

Finally! It better be as good as the first one and have the soundtrack (entirely?) be from the games again.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 1:18:33 PM

First one was okay, but too flippin long.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 2:49:23 PM

@GuyBush: Oh, either I wasn't very clear (which, sadly, often is the case) or you just misunderstood me. I never claimed it should be like the games, quite the opposite actually. It should continue on the story they have established and keep the Silent Hill-vibe, without tossing in unneccessary plotpoints from the games.
anaheimducks writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 6:32:24 AM

Sounds good to me I liked the first one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved