WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese's 11 Favorite Horror Films

Posted: November 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin ScorseseSubmit Comment
Over the Halloween weekend, The Daily Beast asked Oscar-winning director Martin Scorsese (The Departed, The Aviator) to put together a list of his favorite horror films of all time.

Scorsese went on to name movies that he enjoyed as a child and young adult, ignoring everything that was made after 1981. His top choice is "The Haunting" from 1963, a movie he saw when he was only 21 years old.

Update: As sc_kg points out below, this list is from one year ago. We'll keep the article for people who have yet to see it.

The full list:

1. The Haunting (1963)

2. Isle of the Dead (1945)

3. The Uninvited (1944)

4. The Entity (1981)

5. Dead of Night (1945)

6. The Changeling (1980)

7. The Shining (1980)

8. The Exorcist (1973)

9. Night of the Demon (1957)

10. The Innocents (1961)

11. Psycho (1960)

Source: TheDailyBeast


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:24:10 AM

No. The list was made for "Shutter Island" premiere. Old news, babe.
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:29:43 AM

Why is there a photo of Brick Top at the top there...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:37:10 AM

trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:29:43 AM

Why is there a photo of Brick Top at the top there...

@trailertrash

That's actually Woody Allen, in his Halloween costume. He's going as a more relevant director.

Nice list, Marty.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:38:37 AM

The only reason Marty liked the Entity was because of the naked boobage scene ... but then again so did every guy whacking their c*ck off in the theater.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:39:33 AM

HAHAHAHA! Brick Top, nice.
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:46:24 AM

Max- lol

"but then again so did every guy whacking their c*ck off in the theatre"

The good old days , they chuck you out for that now, I've tried to watch Black Swan 5 f*cking times now !!
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:48:33 AM

Ari - Cheers, just watched Snatch again great movie.
Sonic writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 8:41:00 AM

Why top 11 because he like's to go one step beyond:-)
Big_Daddy writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 8:58:42 AM

Update: As sc_kg points out below, this list is from one year ago. We'll keep the article for people who have yet to see it.

Nice sc_kg!
CCBlev writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:39:48 AM

What no Blackula? I'm hurt!!
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:47:07 AM

Or Scream Blacula Scream

What sort of list is this ...
rocketman writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:26:00 AM

@Trailer lolz,he'll cat your jacobs off.

And the Entity is faking scary as hell so Marty can have that.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:29:54 PM

'In the quiet words of the Virgin Mary... come again?'
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:34:55 PM

Rocket lol

Ricky - just going to post the very same thing ... lol
Captain Bennett writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:59:41 PM

Wow! Big suprise there isn't a film made after 81 on the list. f*cking old people.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:04:58 PM

I thought of 'The Changeling' even before looking at his list... and it's there. Anything George C. Scott baby... he was the man!
Ari Gold writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:13:45 PM

Look at that!! We have Bennett on the boards now! Worstpreviews has really come full circle.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:27:35 PM

C'mon Bennett... let's pah-tee!
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:31:44 PM

"f*cking old people"

We talking about Demi Moore again....
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:32:27 PM

@rocket - re: The Entity - the sound played whilst Barbara was getting nailed by the demon... yeah... that sh*t will keep people up at night!!!
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 8:05:01 PM

Scott was the man: Hustler,one born ever minute, Patton , Dr Strange love, Taps all good movies

He was one of those actors who had a real screen presence about him even though he wasn't always the main star in the movie.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 8:27:36 PM

Well said.

Patton is up there for me like Hoffman's: 'Death of a Salesman'
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 8:39:46 PM

He just likes movies with "The" in the title.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 9:11:46 PM

Who doesn't?!
trailertrash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:25:00 AM

Love Patton as well.

I have never seen Dustin's Death of a Salesman, I think it was a made for tv movie and i've never seen on tv of for sale.

But will keep an eye for it.
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:30:48 AM

I think you're right. They used the stage (partial) sets and made what does look like a 'made for TV' production. I haven't seen it for sale... but I personally think it's his best work. His character's lucid moments come and go within the same scene. His temper explodes. Favors the loser son, spurning the better one... etc.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zo3LWPy-XvI
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:33:25 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CK3ErZ_mTFQ&feature=related
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 4:37:47 AM

Well, now I know what I'm getting myself for Xmas:

http://www.amazon.com/Salesman-Private-Conversations-Dustin-Hoffman/dp/B00007ELDP/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1288773366&sr=8-1
trailertrash writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 5:30:57 PM

Nice clips. Looks good and how young is John Malkovich wow

Hoffman was at his Boxoffice & performing peak when he made this, right in the middle of Kramer Vs Kramer, Tootsie (Ishtar oops) and Rainman.

Nice to see he made this in between those big Hollywood movies, The guy is a class act.

I would definitely watch this , nice find on Amazon too.
darkraven28 writes:
on November 7th, 2010 at 5:16:15 AM

The Entity was some f*cked up sh*t right there.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved