WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Gosling's "Blue Valentine" to Keep NC-17 Rating

Posted: November 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan GoslingSubmit Comment
About two months ago we reported that "Blue Valentine," starring Ryan Gosling (The Notebook) and Michelle Williams (Shutter Island) was handed an NC-17 rating by the MPAA.

Now comes word from the filmmakers that they won't change the film despite being able to appeal the verdict. The problem is that they can't reference ratings the MPAA has given to other films.

"I've seen a lot of movies. I just saw 'Jackass' and I was dumbfounded you see a lot of fully frontal male nudity," said producer Jamie Patricof. "I want to talk to them and say, 'Really, 'The Lovely Bones'? Raping and killing 13 year olds is cool?'"

"The Lovely Bones" ended up being PG-13 and "Jackass 3D" got away with an R rating. So why did "Blue Valentine" deserve an NC-17 rating? The MPAA pointed to one specific scene, but didn't provide much explanation.

In that scene, Gosling and Williams try to save their crumbling marriage by spending a night away in a hotel. They get drunk and their problems intensify when Gosling wants to have sex and Williams doesn't. She eventually changes her mind if it means that he will stop bothering her. That hurts his pride and the result is a scene that clearly establishing that this couple isn't going to make it because love turned into contempt. There is nothing graphic in that scene, but it caused the MPAA to feel uncomfortable.

Source: E! Online


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:24:05 AM

Hollywood is so stupid with ratings. I recently saw The Hammer staring Adam Carolla and noticed it was rated R but was not inappropriate at all. Just a few swears here and there. Can't wait to not see this film to not get pussed at how retarded the MPAA are.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:42:00 AM

I understand the MPAA. I felt uncomfortable just reading about the scene. I mean, she's being a total bitch. Can't let the youth girls of today mimic that behavior.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:47:47 AM

"I've seen a lot of movies. I just saw 'Jackass' and I was dumbfounded you see a lot of fully frontal male nudity," said producer Jamie Patricof. "I want to talk to them and say, 'Really, 'The Lovely Bones'? Raping and killing 13 year olds is cool?'"

To the catholic priest they confide in (in making their ratings ruling), he sees it every day. So he's indifferent. Or he does it himself.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:48:51 AM

When you find the members of the MPAA at a swingers orgy party, then from that day on, things will go 'tits up'.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:50:37 AM

In that scene, Gosling and Williams try to save their crumbling marriage by spending a night away in a hotel. They get drunk and their problems intensify when Gosling wants to have sex and Williams doesn't. She eventually changes her mind if it means that he will stop bothering her. That hurts his pride and the result is a scene that clearly establishing that this couple isn't going to make it because love turned into contempt. There is nothing graphic in that scene, but it caused the MPAA to feel uncomfortable ....

just like Steve-O, in that sling-shot porta-potty.



Big_Daddy writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 9:03:33 AM

I guess all the females in MPAA felt it hit to close to home, not because they had pity sex with husbands but because it reminded them of how they lost their virginity to Daddy and how it ruined the relationship
Anung_un_rama writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:29:23 AM

MPAA have no guidelines they have no check lists nothing the clip bored is there for show.

there is a doc about how the mpaa work it called "Rate this" if you can find it watch it.
jgrantt18 writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 10:50:52 AM

This is stupid. The MPAA has never done anything right.
rabid writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:08:11 AM

Good. No reason to cling to these out-of-date rating systems anymore. The MPAA think they run the show. Time for directors and audiences to prove them otherwise.
BigTate writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:45:44 AM

I'm sick of hearing about studios kow-towing to what the MPAA thinks is appropriate or not. Why should studios be afraid of these ratings, and/or using them as a guideline for how widerange of an audience they will get??? Who cares?!? The LAST thing I'd consider in choosing a movie to watch is its rating. I read a synopsis, watch a trailer and see who's made the movie. From G to R/NC-17 is merely how cool a movie's going to be! I don't watch any G movies anymore, b/c i'm an adult. Screw the parents who cry wolf about the stuff in movies. Life sucks, get a helmet and stay out of the theater.
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 12:27:16 PM

MPAA like our government is a joke. Do away with it.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 1:15:12 PM

Why do people feel the need to post their thoughts in three different posts as opposed to one big post?
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:11:27 PM

freshfromthedeli -
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:11:56 PM

I hate
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:12:39 PM

That Too :)
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:13:57 PM

very
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:14:29 PM

unnecessary
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:16:45 PM

If you
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:17:17 PM

ask me
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:41:30 PM

Shut the f*ck up freshfromthedeli before I cold cut your ass into chicken salad. We post the way want to post. Either like it or go choke on your mother's dangler.

And the MPAA stands for Movie Pussies And *ssholes.

And...no one cares. This is Ryan Gosling. Like I want to see another weak-looking spineless white guy act like he just took a big shot of estrogen while taking a painful dump. He could never be action hero material. And that's all that matters.
trailertrash writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 7:39:54 PM

lol and well said...

Got to say don't think i've ever seen a Gosling movie and i doubt i will start with this.

Man in Black writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 1:33:01 AM

@ Mink .... or should i say Bill Hicks , good post , also do i have to be the *sshole that says it ... the MPAA should just SMILE AND BLOW ME ! f*ck your ratings you bunch of pompous c*nts !
darkraven28 writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 5:07:36 PM

I still frankly do not understand why when it comes to ratings, you can get away with ANYTHING when it comes to violence in movies and yet the MPAA goes f*cking crazy with the rating if people are having sex. That says something very wrong about the MPAA as an organization if they feel that violence (in a Saw film, for example) is more acceptable than an actual human interaction, I.E. sex, which is NOT a bad thing. f*cking hell. Come back to the states, PLEASE PAUL VERHOEVEN!!!!!
seveltoto writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 2:47:30 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved