WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Zemeckis Passed on "Superman" Reboot

Posted: November 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Zemeckis Passed on "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Right before Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) was announced as the director of the "Superman" reboot, Robert Zemeckis (Forrest Gump, Back to the Future) was rumored to have been in talks.

MTV news now caught up with Zemeckis, who confirmed that he was offered the job, but at no point was he interested in the project. "I passed on that faster than a speeding bullet," he said.

Zemeckis went on to say that he never even took time to consider the offer. He explained: "When they asked if I wanted to make the, what is it, seventeenth version of 'Superman,' I said, 'No, I don't think so.'"

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 9:29:18 PM

Despite some of the flims Robert has done that are/were questionably strong/weak (ex : Polar Express, Beowulf, Back to the Future), Robert was smart not accepting Superman because if it failed even worse than Superman Returns, he would have been seen as the *sshole that damaged the Superman mythos, and who the f*ck frankly needs that, right Bryan Singer ?
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 9:47:43 PM

Smart move
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 10:30:11 PM

I agree with CC

But Synder's take is very interesting, I've read the first 10 pgs, which are absolutely dark and wicked, but I wonder how the new origin will go with fans.

Just not to sure on Synder with his stylistic techniques of filming....
Superman in slo-mo is a no-no
CCBlev writes:
on November 1st, 2010 at 10:46:22 PM

J.A.- O come on now. Supes saving a falling Lois Lane in slow mo wouldn't be cool? Never mind you're right.
manichispanic writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 12:30:51 AM

ok
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 1:58:49 AM

So J.A where do you come across these top secret screenplays?
telur writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 2:43:55 AM

Robert Zemeckis don't want direct a movie with the younger Christoper Nolan to produce... simple as that
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:45:12 AM

The studio didn't want to let him do his motion capture on Superman.
prowler writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:26:05 AM

as long as you makeing stupid cartoons for children, you are happy bobby... my god...
BobMcBob writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:44:46 AM

good
billofill writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 11:03:15 AM

"When they asked if I wanted to make the, what is it, seventeenth version of 'Superman,' I said, 'No, I don't think so.'"

AND YET HE MADE the 10,000th version of A Christmas Carol hmmmmmmmmmm.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 12:10:53 PM

Superman is a boring, unrelatable character does anyone even want this film to be made?
rabid writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 1:00:03 PM

only me and millions of other superman fans
rabid writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 1:01:29 PM

The character has evolved so much in the books and on tv, but the movies are stuck on Donner's crappy 1980s version.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 5:59:11 PM

I wish people would stop giving Zemeckis all the credit for Back to the Future. Another guy worked on the script too. You know, Bob Gale?

And Snyder hasn't written a script for Superman as of yet. What JA is talking is likely the Goyer script, which WB claims is a mess.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 2nd, 2010 at 6:51:31 PM

@DarkKnight

I met Zack Synder in the BFI while he was promoting Legends of the Guardians in London, awesome dude, we had a little convo, bought him a Mocha Chocha Latte, and well he granted me the privilege to read the first 10 pages.
Which are very interesting.

@Mink
Where does it claim that WB things its a mess?

I reckon they'll probably think that due to its new origin story, but I liked it and its pretty impressive
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 3rd, 2010 at 10:55:44 AM

superman fans can f*ck off and die
exist2live writes:
on November 4th, 2010 at 2:51:01 AM

rabid
Its important that the new film stay far far away from doing a Donner/Reeve tribute. Yeah, the first two movies were great. Lets move on. Talk about being outdated.

You know you're doing something wrong when Smallville has done more with Superman than a big budget Hollywood movie did.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved